LA 2015: 2017 Mitsubishi Mirage – facelift with a grille

2017 Mirage GT

Now, this is more like it. The 2017 Mitsubishi Mirage has been revealed at the 2015 LA Auto Show and it debuts with a proper grille. What? The outgoing North American Mirage, which is identical to ours, has the meekest of faces and a slim letterbox slot of a grille.

Besides the new grille, lights and front bumper, the refreshed small car also includes a new hood and redesigned wheels, rear bumper and tail lights. Two new paint colour are available – Wine Red as seen here and Sunrise Orange.

The redesign is functional as well. The front bumper features a chiseled crease for smooth airflow. The front tyre air dam is optimised, and a rear tyre air dam is added to reduce drag resistance. At the back, the new bumper is optimised for air flow while the angle of the rear spoiler has been changed to reduce lift. These enhancements reduce coefficient of drag (Cd) to 0.27.

Inside, the Mirage receives a design update with new seat fabrics and a revised gauge cluster, steering wheel and shift panel.

In addition, a new available 300-watt Rockford-Fosgate audio system with EcoPunch is available with Smartphone Link Display Audio, Apple CarPlay and Android Auto, the first MMC model to feature this infotainment system in the US. Higher SE and GT variants get a new illuminated semi high-contrast combination meter.

The 2017 Mirage continues to use the 1.2 litre three-cylinder MIVEC engine. With the addition of a roller-type camshaft, the US market car’s 3A92 engine now pushes out 78 hp and 100 Nm of torque, up from 74 hp. Our Mirage does 78 PS and 100 Nm.

2017 Mirage GT

Also improved for the new model year are the handling and brakes. MMC says that optimising the spring rate and damping force of the shock absorbers while adding stiffness to the front end has improved the subcompact’s handling and stability. Bigger diameter brake discs (251 mm) are used in front, while the rear brake drums are bigger by 23 mm. The brake pad material is new, too.

All US Mirage variants have seven airbags, ABS with EBD and BA, Tyre Pressure Monitoring System and ASC. CVT-equipped cars come with Hill Start Assist.

In Malaysia, the Mirage received a minor update in May this year. Will we eventually get this more comprehensive, bolder facelift? Let’s hope so.

GALLERY: 2015 Mitsubishi Mirage, Malaysian-spec

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• comel wor……

• hailthepurist on Nov 19, 2015 at 2:13 pm

this or iriz..

• Same L0rrrr on Nov 19, 2015 at 5:05 pm

Expecting stupid non sense like Iriz is sexier, designer go home bla bla bla.

Car is for transportation, not for fashion. How sexier a Proton is, it is STILL a Proton.

• nameless on Nov 20, 2015 at 11:49 am

yo, dont matter it is called Neutron, Nucleus, or Atom.. the point is both were failed..

• Even better!

• gumtree on Nov 19, 2015 at 1:41 pm

come to malaysia we get those stupid fugly halogen headlamps….haihh

• nabill (Member) on Nov 19, 2015 at 1:55 pm

this , along with the Kembara , has to be the worst ever car i have ever driven…makes u hate life so bad…everyone should go for a psychiatrist help if u thinking of getting one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • Mind if u share ur experience how it feels? Compared with the viva/myvi bcoz most of peoples have exprnc with these p2 car

• nabill (Member) on Nov 19, 2015 at 7:31 pm

zero power,combined with that irritating cvt , yess , u do get pretty good FC but its sacrificing every single bolt to achieve that…it feel cheap throughout…there is no such thing as ride and handling , its ride but NO handling,even a u-turn will be an experience in itself…
        i have an FLX that i use sometimes n that is a million times better…in every single way,maybe not fc but i have a life…!
        plz do test drive…sometimes words are not able to describe an awful thing…dont let the leather seats fool u btw

• Mirage user on Nov 19, 2015 at 8:00 pm

I think u must be eating nasi lemak everyday, dats y ur comment oso like nasi lemak mindset… I am mirage user, it is a perfect car compared to malaysia made junks. No issues so far, n i oni nid to spend for the maintenance. Fuel consumption very gud, handling for such a small car is excelent, de feel fantastic… The malaysia made junks cant even near 1% to this car.. Go back to malaysia made junks n support them till u die.. Tasteless nasi lemak user!

• mmm cheapskate on Nov 19, 2015 at 3:04 pm

meanwhile in msia mmm take out all the safety fatures, leaving only 2 airbags only. bare minimum safety, shame on u mmm, i’ll take picanto any day than this mirage junk. also picanto is cheaper, LOL

• iiAmgPackage on Nov 24, 2015 at 2:47 pm

Maybe sooner when MM wants to clear stock, they’ll facelift the model with more bells and whistles like how they facelift the ASX.

• Bolehland on Nov 19, 2015 at 7:39 pm

In bolehland with nasi lemak management, the spec will get lesser equipments with higher price… This is a cheating land!

• rushdi on Nov 20, 2015 at 6:52 pm

mirage is a good car. but i dont think all these us spec will come to Malaysia for sich economy car