Taxi drivers threaten to block main roads in KL if ridesharing services Uber and GrabCar are not banned

KL04_181115_PEMANDU_TEKSI

A group of taxi drivers have threatened to block many of Kuala Lumpur’s main roads if their demands are not met. The warning came after several taxi drivers gathered at the Padang Merbok carpark before marching towards Parliament to protest against ridesharing apps like Uber and GrabCar.

During yesterday’s protest led by the Klang Valley Taxi Driver Action Committee, the group claims that such ridesharing services severely impacted their livelihood. They are also pointing the finger at the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) for failing to ban Uber and GrabCar, demanding that the Commission’s leadership be reshuffled.

The protest organiser Kamarudin Mohd Hussain told The Star, “if there is no response or the right attention from the Government, we will have another large demonstration on several main roads. Maybe Bukit Bintang (or) KLCC.”

As a response to the protest, SPAD chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Syed Albar told the newspaper that it (the commission) was working to improve the taxi industry. “We cannot do it in the same way that they do because we are the regulators. Obviously, not everything that we do, they (the drivers) are satisfied,” he said.

KL06_181115_PEMANDU_TEKSI

Syed Hamid added that he was not worried by the threat, saying that demonstrations will only cause further distress to the public with road congestion and fuel more negative feelings towards the taxi industry.

“They (taxi drivers) are free to express their unhappiness but it is not by taking their frustration or unhappiness to the streets as it won’t be of any help. Instead they should come forward and provide us with their input as we are already taking steps to review and make changes to the taxi industry,” he told The Sun Daily.

Malaysian Taxi Drivers, Limousine & Car Rental Operators Association (Petekma) chairman Mohd Syahrir Abdul Aziz also shares the same sentiment, adding that the protest was a failure, as many taxi drivers refused to take part because the gathering was deemed to be politically motivated.

Taxi Drivers Protest Against GrabCar 1

Speaking to Bernama, “the gathering today appeared to be politically motivated because we (taxi drivers) should be dealing with the government and the relevant agencies, and not with the representative of an opposition party.

“I don’t see how this is going to solve the problem. In fact, it will only worsen the situation because they (participants) should use the right channel to voice out their opinion and not by organising a demonstration.”
Mohd Syahrir was commenting on the organisers’ actions, where during the protest, they handed over a memorandum relating to the matter to an opposition representative outside the Parliament building.

However, he does not deny that the rise of ridesharing apps (Uber and GrabCar) has made it difficult for taxi drivers to attract customers. “We have raised the matter with SPAD and also Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Nancy Shukri by sending a memorandum on the grouses of taxi drivers several months ago,” he said. Nevertheless, he urged taxi drivers to be patient on the matter.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Wazza on Nov 19, 2015 at 10:36 am

Makin bodoh pemandu teksi ni

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 2
    • SPAD is the MAIN Problem! on Nov 19, 2015 at 11:39 am

Actually, the big problem is SPAD. SPAD is allowing all this protest to go on. Why? Very simple. All this drama calling Albar to resign is just “drama”

SPAD’s chairman Albar’s wife owns many teksi companies. When Uber and Grabcar came into Malaysia, her companies lost a lot of money and is losing a lot of money.

So, SPAD, as any husband who is scared of his wife would do, quickly ban Uber and ban Grabcar.

You see, in Malaysia, there is no such thing as CONFLICT OF INTEREST.
      SPAD is now closing an eye to all this violence and protest because Albar’s wife is not happy with slow business.

All these violence is approved by SPAD. Infact, it is indirectly sanctioned by SPAD.

Don’t forget, besides Albar’s wife, ALL the licenses for companies running cabs are all owned by UMNO big boys.

Nobody can touch them la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 8
      • hondaman on Nov 19, 2015 at 4:11 pm

No idea is it? posting recycle post in all PT article.

• Same L0rrrr on Nov 19, 2015 at 5:08 pm

Malaysian road would be much more peaceful and safer without taxis. Pls… continue protest, dun stop it.

• ben yap on Nov 20, 2015 at 10:16 am

sohai keep saying the same thing over and over again.

• omegle on Nov 19, 2015 at 10:37 am

dude pls….just don’t…..

• PDRM Got No Balls on Nov 19, 2015 at 11:41 am

With road closures today in KL plus this protest, it will cause mayhem in KL. Somemore today got ASEAN Summit. This will be so shameful to Malaysia. And worse still. it poses a SECURITY threat. Wahai PDRM, ini national security lah Bahlul!

PDRM scared to do anything. Like stated above, polis were to scared to do anything. They only brave to arrest the jobless man who stole bread to feed his hungry children and encourage the Public Prosecutor to jail this guy for 10 years.

This Hooligans, PDRM dare not arrest. Why? Very simple. see who owns all the teksi companies. This is why PDRM is super scared. Teksi companies lesen are so lucartive.

They are all given to UMNO big boys. With just one lesen, you can earn tens of millions per annum

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • LOw Budget on Nov 19, 2015 at 10:40 am

“Threaten to block K.L. main roads”
    Idiots worst than pests..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • If I had a rocket launcher like in GTA5, all those taxis gathered would be burning.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
  • So it’s rogue taxi drivers vs the people KL. Yeah good luck with that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • nowhat on Nov 19, 2015 at 10:51 am

Police, please jail them all.

Nobody gives a damn about this bunch of people who delivery substandard service and wants to be protected from competition.

The fastest way to a holistic reform would be to throw they all out of the system and start fresh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • MikeWong on Nov 19, 2015 at 10:54 am

Just a bunch of hooligans. Always rob customers, which smart citizen need all these bunch of crap. UBER ftw.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • dodgeviper88 on Nov 19, 2015 at 10:57 am

Threaten to block roads? Aren’t you bunch of baffoons doing that all the time with your sudden stops in the middle of the road and unscrupulous parking everywhere & anywhere? Should boycott all these idiots

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • nabill (Member) on Nov 19, 2015 at 10:58 am

Is there a shelltox to get rid of these ppl?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • I had a chat with many taxi drivers they said many who make noise about Uber and Grabcar are actually not drivers. Those are mostly taxi licensing companies management and also drivers who “rent” their taxis and licenses to other people to make money while they shake their legs at home. Now many licensing companies and people who “rent” their taxis are losing money because the customers who apply for license and request to “rent” have dropped due to many joining Uber and Grabcar.

The taxi drivers told me they are not afraid of the competition as long as they up their standard or join Uber or Grabcar.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 0
    • old dog on Nov 19, 2015 at 11:48 am

Cronies power and want monopolize.
      You realized many looks like ganster instead? (they are i guess)

• Get a life! Today is Cheras Ikea opening day. Instead of so free talking brainless thing, please improve your service and serve customers better. Those buy flat packed discounted furniture need your service. So free to whine and complain, better spend your effort on improving your service isn’t it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Any truckies (truck drivers) here in KL? If you happened to be one, can you please drive your big trucks and crash through their barricade and crush all their taxis for heaven sake? I am sick of listening to cry babies and childish behaviours of our taxi drivers. They really need to go back to their mama.

• This is why we choose Grab car or Uber lol on Nov 19, 2015 at 11:14 am

Bunch of Monkeys, their actions make us want to choose the Uber or Grab car more.

• MitchelJohn on Nov 19, 2015 at 11:22 am

Good then

got ASEAN Summit coming right up and a lot of security forces are patrolling the area.

Kill on site, don’t let a single of this MFs live

• I think Malaysians in general have had enough with this excessive freedom of expression thing. So many rallies organized in KL.

It’s so tiring, so troublesome, so annoying. It just affects everyone’s life.

• There is quite a large line between the peaceful exercise of the freedom of speech (such as it is here in Malaysia) and violent protesting.

We have a handful of trusted taxi drivers that we use all the time. Their excellent dedication to customer service and safe driving styles means that even in the face of Uber and Grabcar, they are still busy and collecting fares from repeat customers.

• Kenneth Fook on Nov 19, 2015 at 11:25 am

Looks silly on the govt if they were to ban uber and grab. But give an impeccable image on Malaysian with the next ASEAN Summit coming up.

• smlok on Nov 19, 2015 at 11:26 am

a bunch of idiots

• siaocom on Nov 19, 2015 at 11:29 am

Block LRT line towards KL as well.

Bebaskan Kami Dari Penghambaan Zaman Moden – no one is hambakan u dari zaman moden. Is yourself hambakan yourself. U guys can’t accept modernisation. Nowadays ppl start to going high tech while u guys still dun wanna think openly and accept new challenges.

• third world on Nov 19, 2015 at 11:33 am

In this country, if ppl cook nasi lemak and sell but taste no good, it is because your mouths problem, or the ingredients they buy from pasar is bad. Nasi lemak seller has no wrong. These taxi service im a guy i dont care to sit also… pls gov has to do something to upgrade the taxi service.. fair competition.. macam Grabcar/ Myteksi they have no effort/ incur cost to their business… stop using samseng way of dealing with things

• Jose Mourinho on Nov 19, 2015 at 11:34 am

Please don’t blame the people for not using taxi nowadays.
    For some taxi drivers ,You should be aware that ,taxis nowadays does not provide a good service and charge a unreasonable fare for their customer even a short distance drive for example from KLCC to Pavillion cost them a whooping RM 40 .
    If you want to fix this matter ,please look to yourself before you judge what are the benefit of uber services provides.

• Jobleas on Nov 19, 2015 at 11:40 am

Hapuskan semua bas dan LRT in Malayasia so semua rakyaat hanya boleh naik taxi

• Glad to heard that, please proceed. Your stupid action will just make more ppl avoid Taxi and go for other services.

• old dog on Nov 19, 2015 at 11:45 am

most drivers DOES NOT own the cars, and they rented license from the CRONIES COMPANY…many already plan to change jobs regardless UBER (its only a small portion people using UBER btw) but any excuse to flex the cronies muscle.

they are in the midst of changing cars to Toyota (surprise!) but charge Rm50 more daily to drivers, and hence will charge more to whoever take taxi end of days, so they need MONOPOLIZE!!

• cendol (Member) on Nov 19, 2015 at 11:46 am

Now what does Ku Man has to say about it, the Mayor of KL?

• I will NOT take the TAXIs in KL at least.
    If your service wasn’t so bad, these companies won’t come up in the first place. Now you want people to save you??? Grow up or go home!

• superbird #43 on Nov 19, 2015 at 11:51 am

bring ’em on.
    we’ll see who will bite the dust later.

• Uber n Grabcar user on Nov 19, 2015 at 12:00 pm

Gangster Teksi 1 Malaysia ni masih tak ubah perangai ke? Selalu tipu orang, buat mcm jalan bapak die, masih mau protest lg…. patut rakyat malaysia protest ni olang… Aiks…

• Jonathan Liaw on Nov 19, 2015 at 12:34 pm

Stupid choice. Not doing anything to improve their services but making people avoiding them only. I did told myself that I won’t take normal taxis anymore ever since that 1 taxi driver driving a grey/blue saga (I’m sure it’s from a taxi company) tailgate me in a single lane road near Bangsar south, Nexus there. So I let him overtake me and he went all the way to the front upon reaching a red light but doesn’t stop and keeps moving only. Imagine if there was passengers inside during that time. Siao eh

• Block, jangan tak block.

Sound so like the “refugees” in Europe that threaten to go back to Syria if their demand for cash and pizza are not met.

• logic on Nov 19, 2015 at 12:45 pm

You can not force people to take your Taxi. Are they ISIS or what ?

• shameMalaysian on Nov 19, 2015 at 12:47 pm

Hey, what about request for stop all public transport services except taxi and stop selling personal vehicles to Malaysian. And let everyone only have taxi to use? Happy? How stupid is that

• Momoo on Nov 19, 2015 at 1:19 pm

Just do it dude

• wtf with I love PM? Harapan just for you?

• thepolygonal on Nov 19, 2015 at 1:36 pm

Time change and so does methods of business and services… we will not use a typewriter if we have a computer and a printer… unless we really have too. We don’t see POS malaysia banning people from using emails.

• Gunner on Nov 19, 2015 at 1:49 pm

Just because uber, grabcar gets ‘haram’ed it doesn’t mean their customers will use your taxis instead. They rather walk or tumpang kawan.

• Ahmad on Nov 19, 2015 at 2:05 pm

First and foremost, has Uber/Grabcar really caused that much harm in the taxi industry for them to turn to animals? This kind of imature behaviour would cause even more hate to them with no sympathy if they would cause such disturbance on public roads. Imagine those who drive to work, or needed to take the bus from the LRT and to see the road being closed by havoc from these animals and expects us to be in the same car as them. PUUI spit at u.

• Ahmad on Nov 19, 2015 at 2:10 pm

These animals cant even spell ‘Amerika’ – Amereka

• Taxi drivers busy trying to beat their competitors by showing a few card on the roadside. While Uber&grabcar, busy investing on marketing and services to attract more customers.

• Jejambu on Nov 19, 2015 at 2:25 pm

I have come acrossed many incidences of thug activities at Tropicana City Mall where there is a resident thug who threatens residence staying at the condo there whenever they are being picked up by a vehicle and they damage private vehicles. To the extent that even relatives/friends are afraid of picking any resident from the Condo. Even the Auxiliary Police manning the area do nothing at all!

• vangang

• Adrin on Nov 19, 2015 at 3:26 pm

I didn’t know a cockroach infestation can cause traffic jams in KL.

• Have being avoiding cab services for so long..due to bad experiences. however, i took the services recently and find that the cab service today and 15 years ago – have not improve at all. Most of the cab is in very bad condition and still overcharge customer. i still remember when they charge me RM 25 one way from Petaling Street to LHDN Jalan Duta. Which actually only cost RM 8 at the time. So why should we listen to this bunch of hooligans

• Their behaviour is disgusting. Who do they think they are? Can do what they like. There are laws to be obeyed and if they really go ahead make sure their license is revoked and never drive a taxi again.

• Rokuth on Nov 19, 2015 at 5:40 pm

I wonder if these taxi drivers realize that while they are busy protesting, people are calling grabCar and Uber because there aren’t any taxis around?

• loveruber on Nov 19, 2015 at 10:01 pm

I am in a Uber car now, great service and nice car, not those outdated squeezy and smelly wira and iswara…pls protest more, it is very annoying to see those yellow-red rubbish cars on the road.

• iiAmgPackage on Nov 19, 2015 at 6:57 pm

I hope these taxi drivers will see what’s coming in their way after blocking the main roads in KL. People would just look down towards them especially tourists. Malukan negara sendiri je.

• loudnessjr on Nov 19, 2015 at 7:19 pm

Thug life

• thugsamalooer on Nov 19, 2015 at 10:03 pm

Bugs life…very annoying and disturbing. Rubbish of the country.

• do it , just do it, I like to see what happens next..

• TaxiKLbodoh on Nov 19, 2015 at 9:54 pm

Noob KL taxi drivers, if your service are good why scared of Uber and Grabcar take your business away. These idiots don’t bother to improve their service quality thus chop here and there. Gov should just suspend all taxi drivers license in Kl and let Uber and Grabcar took the line in that KL area. KL taxi number 1 in the world, worst service and attitude in the world. Shame of the bolehland!

• jilak! on Nov 19, 2015 at 9:58 pm

I saw someone in pic was holding I love najib….lol, he should write I love rosmah, i love jilak rosmah too, then najib will come to him…if not, najib will never even bother to look at these idiots..hahahaha!

• crapola on Nov 19, 2015 at 10:45 pm

Well, taxi cab needs to make a living.
    Here is the thing….competitiveness…

Uber/Car pooling services… clean car, cheap and directly to your destination with no additional fuss about traffic jam….false meters or bargaining…

Are most cabs clean?…nope. Do they bother cleaning it since it is rental?…nope.
    Air con is like 5 years never cleaned.
    The meter keeps ticking during jam, and you kinda lost with prices…
    They might go all sorts of route to get to your destination…
    We cannot rate them, and at times, they don’t even want to go to your destination because blah blah jam.

…..There was a time they were monguls….tycoons that could decide…
    So now…they are waiting to be fed with “equality” when faced with competitiveness and yet, no improvements…

Sorry. Can’t help you poor chaps…until you buckle up.SPAD is also just spoon-feeding them if they get rights on this…
    They will run wild again like protected species and without changing their services and arrogance.

• saruwaan on Nov 19, 2015 at 11:11 pm

I’m a foreign student myself and I just couldn’t stop myself from commenting over here. Although there are a bunch of taxi drivers who are decent, honest and who respect the passengers, most of them do not fit to this category; most of them are really cheap and treat us customers like crap. Especially if they find out that we are foreigners, their level of disrespect and dishonesty in charging higher prices knows no limits.
    Grab car and uber drivers on the other hand are the most welcoming, honest, respecting and hygienic. Since I have come to know about them, I hardly ever take a taxi; their services are incomparable.
    Please, don’t listen to this bunch of morons who want to steal our peace at heart while we travel. I believe we customers have the right to chose who we want. We have made our decision. So stay quiet and move away peacefully.

• I believe that its great for uber and grabcar to enter the taxi service in this country. Good competition can enhance the taxi service. They should see this as an oppurtunity and learn from the competitors instead of protesting for something that is useless for the economy and also the nation. Besides, with the increase in some taxi drivers to charge not based on the meter fare, i think we should just remove these kind of taxi drivers. There are many other honest taxi drivers whom are not affected with the new taxi service app. Because they believe in giving better service than just cheat the people of their money.

• ben yap on Nov 20, 2015 at 10:17 am

I’m going online now on my Uber partner app to get more passengers.

• idon'twanttoloveanymore on Nov 20, 2015 at 11:04 am

Well..it’s about taxi..Uber and etc. But why does the first picture macam at the wrong direction?

• Nordin on Nov 20, 2015 at 11:13 am

The real problem is the exorbitant rental concession holders are charging taxi drivers. Just imagine, RM23/_ per day for permit, chargeable everyday except 2 days for Hari Raya holidays. That’s for Proton Saga BLM. Very2 unfair!

• Celine on Nov 20, 2015 at 9:44 pm

Saya mewakili semua student yg belajar kat college ingin membantu atas pihak Uber dan GrabCar!!!..Adakah anda tahu betapa mahalnya bila kami mengambil teksi terutamanya myteksi Dan teksi sewa merah? Kita pelajar dan bukannya kaya sangat untuk bayar mahal mahal … I pernah ambil teksi dan semakin mahal kini..malah ada satu pemandy teksi tu charge 2 ringgit semasa memandu..lps tu dia tambah lagi 2 ringgit bila I sampai sana.. dia ingatkan saya tak nampak dia dah tambah duit tu .. Illegal ke legal ke…kita pelajar x kisah langsung..sebagai pelajar kita juga ada bajet!!!..Lepas I tau ttg Uber ,saya rasa semua pemandu teksi patut mempunyai sikap seperti uber ramah mesra bukannya muka masam selalu. Jangan hanya fikir demi kepentingan diri sendiri.tlg fikirlah demi orang lain yg mempunyai masalah kewanggan juga