Qoros 5 SUV debuts in Guangzhou – from RM100k

Qoros 5 SUV-04

The Qoros 5 SUV has officially made its debut at the 2015 Guangzhou Auto Show, after being teased by the Chinese-Isreali carmaker earlier. Bearing the tagline “Daring and Caring,” the SUV won’t go on sale in China until Q1 of 2016, although pre-sales have already begun, with prices between the 150,000 yuan to 220,000 yuan mark (RM100,795 to RM147,845).

The same modular platform that underpins the Qoros 3 hatchback/sedan and 3 City SUV is used for the 5’s platform. Said platform hosts a multi-link rear suspension setup with four-stage adjustable damping. The body structure is comprised of 12% thermal-formed high-strength steel and 61% high-strength steel for rigidity and safety as well.

In Qoros’ press release, the only dimensions provided were of the SUV’s wheelbase at 2,697 mm and width of 1,869 mm. To tackle “most types of terrains,” the Qoros 5 boasts a ground clearance of 180 mm and something called DPF/anti-axle tramp (Qoros power system protection) that “protects the powertrain and provide the stability under extreme conditions.”

As for the SUV’s powerplant, fitted here is a slightly uprated 1.6 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine that is also applied to the brand’s other vehicles. Here, the Euro 6-compliant mill produces 154 hp and 230 Nm of torque, sent through a six-speed dry dual-clutch automatic transmission.

On the visual front, Qoros gets 19-inch multi-spoke alloy wheels wrapped in 235/50R19-sized Continental Sport Contact tyres, LED projector headlights, a panoramic sunroof and silver-painted roof rails. The bottom portion of the vehicle starting from the front bumper lip leading to the wheel arches, sides and rear bumper are also painted black.

Inside, the cabin shares a similar design to that on the 3 City SUV, save for a few minor details like the trim that runs across the dashboard and through the air-con vents, which now stops before the instrument cluster. The hand-operated handbrake has also been replaced with an electronic one as well. Qoros also claim that NVH levels are five times better than the national standard too.

Qoros 5 SUV-07

For infotainment needs, there is an eight-inch 800×600 resolution capacitive MMH (Multi-Media Hub) touchscreen installed. The unit features the company’s QorosQloud proprietary list of services and channels audio through to a BOSE premium audio system that includes tweeters located in the A-pillars.

Safety-wise, the 5 gets the latest Qoros Advance Dynamics Control System (QADCS), so expect it to feature a suite of active safety systems such as ABS, EBD, BA, stability control, traction control and Cornering Brake Control, items already available on other Qoros models. The carmaker says the 5 was developed by the same team of safety engineers who made the first Euro NCAP five-star-rated Chinese car.

What do you think of the latest entry in Qoros’ line-up? Would you be interested in a vehicle like this here in Malaysia? Do let us know what you think in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Wazizi on Nov 23, 2015 at 6:41 pm

Yes, I would consider this based on the specs provided here if it is abt rm100k…

• Wolpe on Nov 23, 2015 at 7:09 pm

Didn’t know Ringgit is so weak against RMB now, used to be RM1=2RMB…

• I dare not buy this car cause this car definitely not halal. Sure assembled by people who eat pork. No way will I buy this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 30
      • policeman on Nov 24, 2015 at 12:21 pm

German is big pork eater, so no Mercedes, BMW, Audi and Porsche for you that only eat chick.

• karam singh on Nov 24, 2015 at 12:32 pm

Racial & Religion discrimination ?

• Mudguard on Nov 23, 2015 at 6:56 pm

No 4wd? How to fight other SUVs?

• If you want 4WD, then the price would be in the range of CRV. How to compete? It’s the typical case of lppl!

• Why do you need 4WD in an urban area? Just burns more petrol and more mechanisms to worry about getting spoilt.

• Veneno on Nov 23, 2015 at 7:31 pm

that Evoque’s shoulder line..

• Crv and Cx5 killer if the price is right. But because of Israeli connection it wont make it to Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • dodgeviper88 on Nov 23, 2015 at 8:15 pm

If one were to be open-minded about cars in general, China cars has improved by leaps & bounds over a relatively short time of 10 years. One can only imagine 10 years from now how much can China cars improve further.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • Jaguh Kampung on Nov 23, 2015 at 10:17 pm

Well, Jaguh kampung beg to differ. They still think that a non-Euro 5 compliance, fuel guzzling and unrefined 1.6 bolt on turbo engine mated to a noisy CVT is very good. While the world changes, jaguh kampung is always in a pompous self-inflated complacency. Reality is never a vocabulary for them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 20
    • Aero (Member) on Nov 23, 2015 at 11:00 pm

Yes, Chinese cars have improved exponentially, but don’t forget, it’s only because Chinese companies have a ton of money to splurge on automotive engineers and designers from Europe, U.S. and Japan. Some Chinese car companies have even bought entire Western companies altogether.

Just go through the portfolio of some of the better Chinese brands, they only got better after they hired outsiders. The average Chinese engineer still has a lot to learn. No, I’m not trying to start a racial debate, this is from a purely business perspective. Of course, in time, the knowledge from the hired members will trickle down into the locals. But that could still take some time. Ultimately, China’s car industry cannot depend on outsiders forever, else they will lose too much money, and their local engineers will never rise up the ranks and get a chance to showcase GENUINE Chinese engineering, not just Chinese-branded Western engineering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 44
      • Jaguh kampung statement. Chinese companies have not build a better car because of market, not because they are unable to do so. You much understand China people are very Kiasu like Singaporean, they only buy on brand not performance and others. So there is no point for them to build a good car but can not sell.
        GENUINE Chinese engineering??
        China is now building their own aircraft carrier.
        China build many very high performance J15s,J16s and stealth fighter with their own build jet engine.
        China has their own space program.
        China build our Penang second bridge.
        China build their own, one of the world best speed train link most of the main city few thousands km.
        AND THE LIST GO ON……
        You must still sleeping in Kampung my friend.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 151 Thumb down 54
        • Johnny China on Nov 24, 2015 at 3:46 pm

You are talking cock! Check you facts before you write anything!

China is now building their own aircraft carrier. – Bullshit. China copy design from Russia. Their aircraft carrier Liaoning taken from Russia Admiral Kuznetsov-class

China build many very high performance J15s,J16s and stealth fighter with their own build jet engine. – Bullshit their Shenyang J15 and J16 is developed from Russian SU-27K. In fact the J15 was initially powered by Russian supplied AL-31 turbofan. The current WS-10 turbofan core is copied from the CFM-56II

China has their own space program. – Without Russia there will be no Chinese space program. Even their spacecraft is a copy of the Russian Soyuz.

China build our Penang second bridge. – Bridge was built by UEM and China Harbour together. So cannot claim that China build the bridge alone.

China build their own, one of the world best speed train link most of the main city few thousands km. – emmm just look at next door neighbour Russia. Their trains crossover the Siberian desert! Japan and France has better high speed train and they have been running for more then 50 years!

AND THE LIST GO ON TO SHOW YOUR KATAK DIBAWA TEMPURUNG MENTALITY

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 86
          • fireman on Nov 25, 2015 at 12:31 am

Another sleeping kampung folk!!!
            Go and google China is building their own aircraft carrier, your first fact already wrong, I don’t want to waste my time to talk about others.
            Well, you can keep on talking copy copy…that is how ignorant people blame on China with USA’s propaganda, We Malaysian also copy China in playing firework, also copy China using paper.
            Wake up and go aroung and see the world. And also smell what The Rock is cooking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 48
          • Johnny China on Nov 25, 2015 at 9:30 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 279
          • Johnny China, what you talk is China first aircraft carrier.
            john is talking about the 2nd aircraft carrier the Chinese are building right now. So in the way his is right and you are wrong.

• Johnny China on Nov 26, 2015 at 3:10 am

I made a mistake…..I give up…..

• Ohh
            Johnny China is right actually Muya and fireman we are both wrong.
            after reading Wikipedia I am wrong. Johnny China is correct 1st aircraft carrier is Russian. China is building extra aircraft carrier but not own design. They just copy design from Russian blue print and built. that is not kiang their own aircraft. this confirm Chiana copy king.
            I now see your are completely right.

• Johnny China on Nov 26, 2015 at 8:55 am

John are you an Indian or Filipino?

• I Am an American and you?

• Johnny China on Nov 26, 2015 at 7:21 am

It is obvious that John fireman and Muya you are the same person. And now trying to pretend to be me in the last statement. It is really sad that you even take the time to refresh you page 200+ time to dislike my comments. I really pity your sad life.
          I really give up on you….

• Johnny China on Nov 26, 2015 at 11:58 pm

Well actually I myself have a sad life too, keep replying to your comments and keep on refreshing my page to dislike your comments.

• ProtonGSC on Nov 24, 2015 at 8:10 am

Your knowledge of comment are childish, How much total of P1 had take R&D funds over 30 years? and don’t tell me P1 able to own Lotus “entirely” but still can’t build a proper car until now?!!! The average “one race” still alot to learn… and not racial comment here either but just logically view of a Rakyat.

• The Archbishop of Banterbury on Nov 24, 2015 at 10:09 am

they should sell Lotus to Richard Branson or any Brit… Lotus handling my foot…

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 23, 2015 at 8:44 pm

kereta yahudi…boikot…sokonglah kereta buatan malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 26
  • I don’t mind actually. Our current market already being over run by japanese and Korean cars. So, why not China……!!!! There’s a lot of negative side from local especially when you mention, China. But nowadays, it doesn’t bother anymore, as all cars pricing is like rich man only able to afford. If the design like this, and able to meet an attractive price……..then, it’s a killer for others brand.

• thepolygonal on Nov 24, 2015 at 9:07 am

I wouldn’t mind too… seeing a few GWM M4 around everyday nowadays. I guess they are slowly accepted… just like how the japs and koreans were.

• Ahmad on Nov 23, 2015 at 9:18 pm

Wont make it to Malaysia as Qoros is chinese-israeli.

• The Archbishop of Banterbury on Nov 23, 2015 at 10:39 pm

Kosher FTW!
    (I’m atheist anyway, rage as much as you want)

• Aero (Member) on Nov 23, 2015 at 10:44 pm

The sad thing about Qoros is that although their cars are a step ahead of most other Chinese badges, their sales are terrible in China. Even Taiwanese Luxgen has better sales in China, and Luxgen cars are NOT even cheap !

• Crapola on Nov 24, 2015 at 8:24 am

Petrol?…prefer Diesel.
    Such is SUV, regardless if it is turbocharge, it going to chew my wallet in the petrol station more often with petrol.

• David Soo on Nov 24, 2015 at 2:02 pm

Yes why not…..its backed by European Know how and if its reasonably priced…..

• batumudo on Nov 24, 2015 at 3:01 pm

‘dry dual clutch’. Another DSGate in the making if coming to Malaysia

• wow. syg sekali kereta israel corp jv dgn chery. kalau tak da israel punya pengangan sure laris masuk Malaysia kalau harga tak lebih 30% harga di China. tgk dlm laman web auto china size setanding Audi QS

• di sebalik kejayaan QOROS, mgkn tak lama lg jenama yg diketawakan kita skrg Chery akan jadi pengeluar automatif terkemuka. Memandangkan Chery adalah pemegang saham utama QOROS bersama2 Israel Corp. China ni selalunya cepat cedok ilmu partner diaorang. tak caya tengok nanti