Sarawak set to become a toll-free state by next year

Tuin-Salahuddin-Bridge-2010-640x390

By early next year, Sarawak is expected to become a toll-free state after the abolition of the Tun Salahuddin Bridge toll plaza, which is scheduled to come into effect by the end of 2015. Sarawak chief minister Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Adenan Satem had earlier promised to abolish various tolls in the state.

“We have already scrapped the tolls at the Lanang Bridge in Sibu and Asean bridge in Baram. By the end of this year, no more tolls at Tun Salahuddin Bridge (sic),” said the chief minister. In the report by Borneo Post, he reiterated that the upcoming Pan Borneo Highway will be toll-free as well.

“Similarly, with the implementation of the Pan Borneo Highway later, we do not impose any toll because we want to reduce the burden of the cost of living (sic),” he said. In May this year, the Lanang Bridge scrapped its toll collection, followed by the Asean Bridge connecting Miri and Brunei (for locals) a month later. The Igan Bridge in Sibu meanwhile, never had a toll.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Anti CO2 on Nov 25, 2015 at 3:34 pm

While in Pen Malaysia, all highway contracts get extended…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
    • Anti CO2 on Nov 25, 2015 at 3:37 pm

Oh wait, my bad… I think our beloved PM has other wayssss of ‘reducing’ rakyat’s burden…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • George Abdul on Nov 25, 2015 at 4:40 pm

Same were under Malaysia but why the r’s double standard??? Law to protect the cronies??? Rakyat when will wakeup???

• Ootai on Nov 25, 2015 at 8:13 pm

Sarawak election is coming. Tea leaves also counts. Anything good for rakyat declared. What many sarawakians want is to leave bolehland, beside having free hiways.

• squall_shinoda on Nov 27, 2015 at 8:06 pm

Because the Pan Borneo Highway project is just an upgrade of the existing federal road to a divided highway with partial access control and not a controlled-access expressway like those in Peninsula. Have you ever tried Ipoh-Lumut Highway FT5, AMJ Highway FT19 or the recently-completed Segamat-Jementah Highway FT23..? Those are what the completed Pan Borneo Highway will look like.

• Kerajaan Penipu on Nov 25, 2015 at 3:38 pm

Each and every toll company is owned by UMNO through various GLCs and EPF, Khazanak, PNB, Ministry of Finance etc

So, every single toll concessionaire is actually the Government. If the Government cared for the rakyat, they won’t do this to the rakyat.

Malaysia is the only country in the world where 1KM of highway cost over RM100 million to build (house and land acquisition is separate and makes the figure even higher)
    This is despite we using super cheap Bangladeshi labour to build road.

The Concessionaire (the Government) lie that they have coughed out so much so they need over RM100 million compensation plus 50 year toll contract that can increase every few years.

Please lah Government of Malaysia, pls don’t cheat the rakyat even more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
    • Jimmy on Nov 25, 2015 at 5:51 pm

They should vote for their BN who take good care of them.
      Their CM is as good as Guan E.

• Semenanjung No Need Toll on Nov 25, 2015 at 3:40 pm

Why is there toll in Semenanjung??? Very simple. It is because of Songlapping. Too much of Songlapping money which can originally be used to build FREE highways.

One man can songlap RM2.6 billion is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions.
    Taib songlap US$20 billion (RM84 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor and given a Tunship.

What about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials?

It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap.

This is why we get higher tolls every year. Our guardians are more interested in Songlap than fighting for the rakyat to get lower tolls and abolish the unfair contracts the concessionaires have.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • What happen if we boycott next GE … let the 42% only go to GE (if there still 42%)!

• applegreen on Nov 25, 2015 at 3:56 pm

Negeri ‘Talian Hayat BN’ maa. If pakatan win next GE in sarawak sure federal will build back toll plaza across sarawak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Ootai on Nov 25, 2015 at 8:20 pm

Pakatan wins Sarawak?? The current cm will ensure it will never ever happen. Lol.

• Silthice on Nov 26, 2015 at 9:21 am

Sarawakian don’t want pening sula party in Sarawak

• albag on Nov 25, 2015 at 4:39 pm

LOL at Semenanjung toll to increase price again next year…

• You know why? Because there is no DUMNO there!!

• Sing Wai on Nov 25, 2015 at 5:19 pm

Hahahah……KL Selangor support oppo. Then…no need to BN to protect there.

• While peninsular Malaysia set to become most expensive highway tolls next year and many many years to come.

Be proud to drive on peninsular road. As you are successful to be able to pay.

• rakyat tersepit on Nov 25, 2015 at 5:34 pm

Hooray! No tall for Sarawakians who most probably voted for this government yet more and more toll hikes for Klang Valley people who most probably did not vote for this corrupted government. Oh malaysiaku.

• wuawua on Nov 25, 2015 at 6:11 pm

but then, minimum wage is lower, most stuff more expensive, even car price around 3k-5k more at sarawak.. I not saying it’s fare, but it’s always been not fare since ever

• i agree wit u..car in sarawak always 3k to 5k higher than penisular…try increase in minimum wage then federal gov wil say no on wage increase

• teacher on Nov 25, 2015 at 11:03 pm

Fair not fare.

• the dentist on Nov 27, 2015 at 2:00 am

Car price might be higher, but road tax is lower.

• Wayang Kulit Man on Nov 25, 2015 at 9:05 pm

now tol free…..sweet talk now, to wins heart of ppl and ultimately the election.

Once winning the election, rakyat will bayar, bayar, bayar.

later, tol naik, bayar lagi, lagi, lagi…..

SOP for BN govt.

• superbird #43 on Nov 25, 2015 at 9:25 pm

zecon can close shop already.

• Susukotak on Nov 26, 2015 at 8:32 am

Correct me if im wrong. There are one state without toll. Then sarawakian too late to enjoy it

• safari on Nov 26, 2015 at 8:55 am

Adnan Satem for PM. Bye-bye DSN, we love AS.

• jclark on Nov 26, 2015 at 11:32 am

that just shows they need the votes in swak more than peninsular :P