Perodua launches ‘Dude, that’s my car!’ book on Myvi

Perodua Myvi Book 2

There was a Perodua launch at Nu Sentral this morning, but it wasn’t for a car. The Malaysian auto market leader launched a new book titled Dude, That’s My Car!. The paperback tells the story of the Perodua Myvi, and concludes the popular hatchback’s 10th anniversary celebrations this year.

Dude, That’s My Car! tells the story of how the Myvi came about and how, in our view, the car was well accepted by the Malaysian public,” explained Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh, who occasionally drives a 10th Anniversary Commemorative Edition Myvi. “As a finale for the Myvi’s 10th birthday, we decided to capture its history, present as well as a glimpse of its future in this book,” he added.

Aminar was just being his humble self – the Myvi has been Malaysia’s most popular car for the best part of a decade, nine consecutive years to be exact. It is also Perodua’s most successful model with 870,000 units produced and sold (till end October 2015) in a decade, overtaking the pioneering Kancil at 770,000 units.

2015_Perodua_Myvi_Facelift_Premium_X_vs_Advance_ 01

Now in the second-generation facelift, the company has set its sights on the one million unit milestone, which could happen by the end of 2017.

Authored by Ahmad Tamimi Omar – former reporter, current head of media relations at P2 and friend of this writer – Dude, That’s My Car! chronicles the life of the Myvi in a casual and colourful way, supported by illustrations and graphics; but it’s also serious enough to be classified under Malaysian Automotive History by the National Library.

Perodua printed 2,000 copies and is collaborating with MPH to distribute the book. Of the 2,000 copies, 1,500 are for sale, and P2 will consider another print run if there’s demand. What makes the Myvi so popular with Malaysians? Dude, That’s My Car! answers the question.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Change to “Dude that’s my Rubbish.”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 8
    • Or “Dude, that’s my Coffin!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
      • Emkay on Nov 26, 2015 at 9:44 pm

Screw u kid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
      • Open Letter To Perodua on Nov 27, 2015 at 9:05 am

Thank you for coming out with this book BUT what Malaysians want is lower prices. Your boss Najib already promise the rakyat 30% reduction in car prices. As a national car maker, you should start first reducing your car prices before others start to follow.

Do you know why you have done well the past 20 years? You have done well merely because MITI has jacked up the prices of all other cars by RM30k that we Malaysians are forced to buy your car, being the cheapest.

But your car has ZERO safety features which puts of lives and our family in constant danger. We can only pray that we don’t meet an accident. If that happens, we are dead on the spot. Until today, still no VSC. VSC is now basic and compulsory in any car in Europe.

Again I tell you, Please don’t compromise on yours cars. You have indeed done well with other cars but at our detriment and at the expense of our safety. We are no more your guinea pigs Perodua. Give us cheaper prices as well as VSC and more airbags.
        People always pick and condemn Proton but you too have got all the Protectionism like Proton. Yes, Proton may have sucked tens of billions to stay afloat, but you Perodua, though you have not sucked that much, you have benefitted from MITI protectionism.

Honda for instance was about to sell their Honda City for RM50k. But this proposal was shot down by MITI. How do I know? Well I used to work for Honda at a very high level. We used to negotiate with MITI. But MITI was always demanding we increase our prices.

Surprising why MITI is asking us to increase our prices. What else? It is to protect Proton and Perodua.

So, Perodua, don’t be proud of your achievements, especially this DVVT. Your cars, still can be reduced further and improve safety features. We are overpaying you as you have still not reduced your car prices by 30% as promised by your big boss Najib.

You are still screwing the lower income people. The big guns in Perodua Boardroom all earn 6 figures per month so they don’t know about the man on the street who still earns RM900 per month. People say, even with RM10k is hard to live in KL. Can you imagine somebody earning RM900?

We tend to blame Toyota and Honda for high prices but let us assume they are for the middle class and Perodua is for the middle lower and lower income people.

Perodua is still very pricey and burdensome for the lower income. Don’t be proud Perodua. Lower your car prices Perodua. Don’t waste time with nonsense books

• 1JutaAxiaSedan on Nov 26, 2015 at 5:23 pm

10 years from now Perodua will launch book “Dude That’s My Sedan” in commemorating the 1 Million units of Perodua Axia Sedan sold.

#1JutaAxiaSedan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 31
  • tokmoh. on Nov 26, 2015 at 5:37 pm

OMG who the hell cares?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 4
  • Wiwiwiwiwiw on Nov 26, 2015 at 5:47 pm

Dude, where’s traction control?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 5
  • Shud just titled it ‘Dude, My Myvi is stronker than imported Pajero Sport, Lagi best yo!’

• “Dude, that’s my car..that skidded because Perodua has never heard of ESC”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • CrazyMobilo on Nov 26, 2015 at 6:26 pm

This so called Malaysian Favourite is a tin kosong by itself,
    NO SAFETY,
    NO TECH,
    SUPER OVER-PRICED!!!
    Yet we Malaysians love this car a lot?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • Certain sections of Malaysian luv to gamble, and what better wager than to gamble with their lives

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • john is otak tahi on Nov 26, 2015 at 11:07 pm

You gamble your own lah.. y drag malaysian into your nonsense

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • sick&tired on Nov 26, 2015 at 6:31 pm

who in their right mind would pay for a sales brochure?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • Jemput Naik on Nov 26, 2015 at 6:35 pm

Wat a joke…do u tink Mivi owner really s proud of their cars?? 99.9% of them drive Mivi coz no choice …they forced to park far far away at CNY ir Hari Raya malu coz other relatives driving Vios City

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
    • movingcoffin on Nov 27, 2015 at 3:50 am

Vios is rubbish too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • Sammy Zaik Loo on Nov 27, 2015 at 6:59 pm

Wat a joke…do u tink toyotaik jamban car owner really so proud of their cars?? 99.9% of them drive toyotaik jamban car coz they blindly trust their taik sales advisors words that they will be hailat if going for non-toyotaik cars …they forced to park far far away at CNY or Hari Raya malu coz dunwan being labelled as the most dumbest and sorhai person in this earth after VW owners (pay so much to get taik quality cars with heavily stripped down safety features)

• Jemput Naik on Nov 26, 2015 at 6:39 pm

Lagi satu…ckp mau naik harga kreta excuse ringgit jatuh x untung tapi still want to publish ” syiok sindili” punya buku..wat ceo is tis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • Milotin 2.0 on Nov 26, 2015 at 6:45 pm

Dude, thats my Milotin!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Jemput turun on Nov 26, 2015 at 7:05 pm

Dude nobody cares about yur stupid book…and nobody cares if u drive a brand new Mivi today becoz left right front back oso full of MIVI

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • George Abdul on Nov 26, 2015 at 7:46 pm

Rakyat ask him back “Dude, where the heck the affordable car price in Malaysia?” Why increase price? Bullshit !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • normal_user on Nov 26, 2015 at 8:11 pm

A car is worth to be written about if its iconic, millions global sale, victorious in numerous race/rally or appeared in blockbuster movies (italian job/bond). This one too “masuk bakul angkat sendiri”. Smart people wont buy such thick sales brochures.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • nabill (Member) on Nov 26, 2015 at 8:17 pm

Dude, thats so lame…

• iamsuperpro on Nov 26, 2015 at 8:23 pm

LOL perodua forever stupid company.

those tagline build car people first and this dude my car. bodoh macam ceo dia.

• Happy Family on Nov 26, 2015 at 8:25 pm

How about “Dude, why tin milo kosong Myvi so expensive?”

• Generally, MyVI is a good car. Everyone knows about it. However, p2 really need to introduce a really NEW myvi with new chasis, new engine, better safety and handling. The others? just follow the old recipes of myvi. Personally I can live with myvi, but definitely not at the present time when other cars are much more better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Ootai on Nov 26, 2015 at 10:30 pm

P2 can’t do anything unless toyota/daihatsu give them.

• Sammy Zaik Loo on Nov 27, 2015 at 7:07 pm

Another point you’ve missed out, Myvi as well other P2 cars also need to improve their manual gearbox shifting quality (current P2 car line up mostly have poor biting point as well as not so smooth, at least compared with Proton’s Getrag manual gearbox which are lot more better than P2)

• domainicus on Nov 26, 2015 at 8:32 pm

I am not going to jump on the bandwagon of haters. Myvi is affordable. The equivalents is just not reliable and dependable enough. Not everyone is rich ok? Blame you-know-who instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
    • An Iriz is only a couple hundred RM more expensive but fully loaded. A myvi just fires blanks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 13
      • George Abdul on Nov 27, 2015 at 8:40 am

But don’t forget Iriz(beside manual) lousy Campro (high fuel-efficient) and “punch” cvt was same poor performance as unsafe Myvi.

• Caleb on Nov 27, 2015 at 10:35 am

Voldemort? :O

• policeman on Nov 26, 2015 at 8:42 pm

On the first pic there’s a yellow sign at the back that says “RUBBISH STAMPAH SOLD HERE” Illiterate Perodua, sampah pun tak tau eja.

But at least they do acknowledge that they sell garbage.

• kenneth Fook on Nov 26, 2015 at 8:49 pm

DUDE, thats my trash when the gov screw us over… =(

• Ah beng junior on Nov 26, 2015 at 8:50 pm

Yo, check out my Godcar !!!!

• Kenneth on Nov 26, 2015 at 8:59 pm

Dude, you should be ashamed of yourself for selling the same car for 10 years with practically no change. As for being popular with Malaysians what choice do Malaysians have? They are assaulted left and right by high car prices and buy a milotin Myvi because that is all they can afford.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • George Abdul on Nov 27, 2015 at 8:46 am

And yet P2 looking to increase price… How ridiculous is that !!! CEO blame on currency… how low mentality he preceded !!!

• Mat Myvi on Nov 26, 2015 at 9:02 pm

Notice the dude on the right trying to supress his smile and laughter thinking “sapelah si bodoh yg akan membili buku syiok sindili ni ” …probably the target market r those low class Mivi drivers whom u see speeding recklessly on our roads everyday

• myvipower on Nov 27, 2015 at 3:54 am

That’s because even GTI cannot beat Myvi

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 27, 2015 at 7:17 am

If car prices go down we will see the same kind of idiots in better cars speeding down the roads. This time they will go a lot more quicker and will go 6 feet under with more innocent people on the road…these bunch of retards need some harsh education on the road before they are cleared to drive.

• alldisc on Nov 26, 2015 at 9:04 pm

dude, i spun my car in heavy rain.

• BOYRACER on Nov 26, 2015 at 9:45 pm

Dude,that’s my sunglasses.

• Dude! on Nov 26, 2015 at 10:27 pm

Jeez! Not this same old crap again.

• The Archbishop of Banterbury on Nov 26, 2015 at 11:01 pm

Dude, why that crap exists?

• remoter on Nov 27, 2015 at 3:56 am

Because you can only afford remote control 8.0l car, lol

• The Archbishop of Banterbury on Nov 27, 2015 at 7:23 pm

OHRLY? those turd shouldn’t exists in the first place. And you care to reply my comment, eh? Butthurt much?

• A stupid and redundant question: What makes the Myvi so popular with Malaysians?
    The true answer: Overtaxed prices for foreign automotive brands for Malaysian drivers. If P2 and Proton didn’t exist since the beginning of the car industry in bolehland, all Malaysians will be driving Ford Fiestas, Honda Jazzes and Suzuki Swifts like the rest of the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
    • Ticket on Nov 27, 2015 at 1:39 am

Either you are stupid or you are Jap car dealer agents. Without national cars, foreign car brands would not have competitor and easily jack up car price and also you think gomen would lower the tax without P1and P2. Look at how Indon is dreaming having their car national brands to counter over price japs car there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
      • Focket on Nov 27, 2015 at 3:24 pm

Nobody gives A Fxxk about Indonesian market friend. Malaysian car prices should be compared to US, UK and other European countries. These are the largest car markets in the world apart from China of course. The QnQ writer has a legitimate point compared to your small Stupid and Understated comment. Want to condemn or fight, dont like malaysia. Just migrate. Simple.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • True indeed. There are many many more Malaysians who cant even afford a vehicle or a home.
      These Idiots from Perodua and Proton are ripping our rakyat off by placing Sky High Prices for shitty cars which we are forced to buy unlike the rest of the world who never gave a Fxxk or even heard of a Myvi (Fxxkxxx Hopeless). Excellent comment and seriously pity the poor rakyat.
      Young and Senior working adults overseas dont have to worry about owning a garbage Myvi because they have many other excellent and affordable cars to buy unlike us Sad Malaysians with not much of a choice. Even the filthy DRB-Hicom Controls Honda Malaysia cars which is pathetic.
      Walking into a Perodua Showroom feels truly depressing my friend. This Myvi is a disgraceful car to own. For example, malaysians should get a Kia Piccanto instead based on the episode from Driven recently, its safer and has better specs than the depressing Myvi. Even the name Myvi sound like Fxxk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • sepul on Nov 27, 2015 at 9:23 am

Your statement is half true. Even before Proton existed, car prices is already started increasing at the time. The overtaxing is happening since Tun M became the PM.

Malaysia should have stayed as an agricultural country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
      • Our friend’s main key points are
        1)Proton and Perodua should never have existed with horrendous vehicles to buy which is entirely a cold hard TRUE fact.
        2) Overtaxed car prices in Malaysia which are currently still the second highest in the world after Singapore. Nuff Said. Peace

• Encik on Nov 27, 2015 at 2:14 am

Sabar Kawan. Diorang di Perodua ingat kita semua rakyat Malaysia bodoh. Tak membaca laman web seperti paultan.org. Saya punya ayah pun terpaksa membeli kereta Sampah Myvi ni.
    Keluarga saya pun tidak mampu membeli kereta Honda pun. Rakyat negara2 lain tak payah risau sebab tiada kereta sampah Myvi pun. Jiran saya pun sampai sekarang mampu memiliki motosikal Honda EX-5 Sahaja. Ini celaka punya GST dan Cukai Kereta yg terlalu tinggi telah memaksa ramai rakyat Malaysia membeli kereta besi buruk ini. Memang Sedih nak tengok Myvi ni. Sakit Hati.
    Rakyat negara UK dan US mampu memiliki kereta Ford Mustang, Chevy Camaro, Mazda 6, Honda Fit, Cadillac CTS-V dengan harga berpatutan berbanding rakyat malaysia.

• seems like everybody love to be like what indonesia be…no industrilization….p1 developing our country also…exporting their car to australia such as…p2 what they gave???always making a high price car…

• IrizX on Nov 27, 2015 at 7:23 am

I can understand why this car was vest seller back in 2005. There really isn’t a lot of choices then. Potong models were pretty much horrible back then.

Fast foward 10 years later, there’s many better Proton cars at similar prices and even foreign which is affordable. Don’t know why people still wanna buy this sampan.

Yeah, i owned one of this sampan back in 2005. Used it for 4 years. Rubbish car.

• namanama on Nov 27, 2015 at 9:30 am

Seriously,what’s the point of this book?? For Myvi fanboy??

• ben yap on Nov 27, 2015 at 10:28 am

change to “dude, you got scammed”

• Pofessor Myvi on Nov 27, 2015 at 11:09 am

Dont play play….after Mivi drivers read tis book they will jadi orang yg berilmu dan manjadi pemimpin negara masa depan

• analysis on Nov 27, 2015 at 11:12 am

Well, back in 2005, Perodua myvi was born based on affordability, Japanese technology and compact car which proton saga had at that time. It is clear it was born to challenge, beat and kill proton saga which proton was fail to replace until 2008 and even so, this second generation proton saga didn’t had Japanese technology. Therefore, that is why perodua remain no one since perodua myvi born in 2005.

• RM29.90 on Nov 27, 2015 at 2:10 pm

Perodua produced a total of 2,000 books and has collaborated with MPH Group Malaysia Sdn Bhd to distribute it in major bookshops nationwide. The book sells for RM29.90.

• DUDE wheres my cars on Dec 01, 2015 at 1:20 am

Better if i buy topgear malaysia 10.60 got 2 LOL

• Kenny on Nov 28, 2015 at 12:39 am

Is anybody proud to drive a Myvi? It’s a car that people buy because it’s cheaper than the jacked-uo prices of foreign makes. Most people will junk their Myvi and upgrade to a better car as soon as they are financially able. There is no need to come out with this book for an unremarkable car which most people consider a stepping stone to something better.

• Dude mak kau hijau