Possibility of price increase next year – Perodua

perodua-ceo-028

There is a possibility of price increases next year if Perodua can no longer absorb the impact from foreign exchange. This was shared by Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh at the launch of the company’s “Dude, That’s My Car!” book in KL this morning.

Aminar admitted that company is impacted by the ringgit’s weak performance against major currencies like the US dollar and Japanese yen (MYR is the worst performing currency in Asia this year) and Perodua has been absorbing the the added cost of imports, mostly transacted in the above two currencies.

“Until it’s impossible to absorb, there is a possibility that we may have to increase prices,” Aminar said. “We have not made a decision yet,” he however stressed, urging consumers to take advantage of the year end deals offered by Perodua. “Jangan tunggu, datang sekarang. Tahun depan tak tentu lagi,” he said.

The P2 head also elaborated on the situation, saying that as a national car company, Perodua has many objectives. Although profits are important to any business that has shareholders, there’s is the element of social responsibility to consider. “The question is how do we balance this,” he said.

Perodua Sentral PJ 9

In September, Tan Sri Asmat Kamaludin, group chairman of Perodua stakeholder UMW Holdings, said that costs have increased for imported cars and components, but current car prices will be held for as long the car companies can take it due to the market being very competitive.

“We have been impacted. To give you figures, it’s 2 to 3% of our bottom line [profit before tax] two to three months ago; now it’s 5%,” he said then. The ringgit most recently closed at 4.2115 to the greenback and 3.4350 to 100 Japanese yen, according to Bank Negara figures.

Forex issues aside, Perodua is on course to achieve its 2015 sales target of 208,000 units, which if successful, will be the brand’s best ever performance in a calendar year. Should Perodua hit the mark come year end, it would have also maintained its market leading position, comfortably.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• andrekua on Nov 26, 2015 at 12:34 pm

5% of your bottom line and you feel impacted? I read in forum that they managed to get 5.5k discount for myvi which is more than 10% off and they are still making money. I wonder who is lying.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
    • Pengguna Bijak on Nov 26, 2015 at 12:53 pm

For peace of mind, many still buying Perodua in shiploads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Nov 26, 2015 at 2:33 pm

Why are cars getting more expensive? Very simple. It is because of Songlapping. Aren’t we already paying 3X the Global Prices of Cars? Car prices were also high when the Ringgit was strong last year.

One man can songlap RM2.6 billion is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions.

Taib songlap US$20 billion (RM84 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor and given a Tunship.
        What about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials? Now got even Songlap from anak yatim and orphans.

It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap.

This is why we get low spec lousy cars with super high prices. Our guardians are more interested in Songlap than fighting for the rakyat to get good and safe cars that are also reasonably priced.

When people can curi from anak yatim, we Malaysians now have to pay extra for our cars to support their stealing behaviour.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 20
        • Gargantia on Nov 26, 2015 at 2:56 pm

That’s the total “LIE by P2 CEO… yes weak against dollar BUT NOT Yen, Ringgit were low but always strong against Yen (due to Japan Government tactic to attract tourist)… HOW CAN HE LIE to Rakyat, this’s pure cronies policies to protect their own maximum profit !!!! Bullshit P2 !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
    • I told everybody but no one believe. Perodua juz same with Toyota each car profit 150%-200%.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
      • Wahai Orang Orang Kampung on Nov 26, 2015 at 2:39 pm

Kerajaan anda, hukum anda puas puas. Masih lagi nak undi BN ke? Perodua is 100% GLC. Toyota UMW owns majority share in Perodua.

Ingat, musuh anda bukan kaum lain, tetapi kerajaan anda sendiri.

Tahun ini, kerajaan Malaysia akan untung tax paling tinggi sejarah Malaysia 50 tahun.

Dari GST sahaja, Kerajaan sudah pungut RM50 billion dalam 6 bulan. Itu GST sahaja. Belum kira income tax, corporate tax, eksais and duty, investments by EPF, Khazanah, PNB etc etc.

Tahun ini, kerajaan Malaysia akan untung beratus billion lebih berbanding tahun sebelum ini.

Tapi, kerajaan masih nak hantam orang bangsa dia sendiri!

Kalau kerajaan sayang rakyat, kerajaan mesti tak naik harga keretanya sendiri ie Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 26
        • 100% GLC??? on Nov 26, 2015 at 4:47 pm

Seriously?? 100%?? you gotta be kidding me. Perodua belongs to toyota. Almost everything belongs to Toyota. do some reading before commenting.

• OMG…boycot and dun buy P2 cars..

• camtakpro on Nov 26, 2015 at 4:02 pm

Nvm. Locally made Iriz will retain the price and take over MyVi.

… or will it?

• karam singh on Nov 26, 2015 at 12:40 pm

Up the safety spec, yes it still gonna sell well

• So called local product!!.. no point patronise them!. Still burden Rakyat on excuse of foreign exchange rate?…sounds like foreign CBU???!!!.. Better close down lah.. Cronies!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • darn i thought its a malaysian car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • david on Nov 26, 2015 at 2:55 pm

Whose action caused our currency to plummet, can Perodua tell that guy to fix the problem! Don’t always solve the problem downstream, do it at the root cause! It’s like asking us to protect ourselves against burglars instead of fighting crime to reduce burglaries..

• George Abdul on Nov 26, 2015 at 3:09 pm

That a CEO TOP CLASS LIE statement do he join the “3 lan’s” to make stupid lies, Ringgit not always weak against YEN infact the currency are the best prove show YEN weak against Ringgit depend on daily currency !!! Bullshit cronies policies to protect huge profit… stupid government policies to protect them !!!

• Psyduck on Nov 26, 2015 at 3:52 pm

Dirtiest tactic to scare Malaysians and to increase more year-end sales so that the Management team can receive fatter bonuses next January. Even by increasing prices, they will continue to boast openly that they are still manufacturing the cheapest (not safest) car in Malaysia – with next year’s expected gloomier economy, Malaysians will suffer even more from all directions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Jemput turun on Nov 26, 2015 at 4:13 pm

Konon kesian xuntung lah, rugilah, tapi muka msh tersenyum…ceo yg bagus akan potong gaji sendiri dulu sebelum tolak kos ke rakyat

• CEO Kelentong on Nov 26, 2015 at 7:23 pm

Jangan tipu la CEO! Sales Toyota tak jalan, nak bagi
    naik harga Axia Myvi pulak. Siapa tak tau Toyota & Perodua diorang UMW Toyota yang punya. Director UMW Toyota Tamak..gaji, bonus elaun berjuta-juta!!

• Makcik Jinggu on Nov 26, 2015 at 8:35 pm

price increase next year???

FYI, Prices of EVERYTHING is ALREADY up many many DONKEY months ago.

You dont you know????
    Make donno?
    or just Plain stupid??

• inderaloka on Nov 29, 2015 at 1:32 am

BN janji harga kereta turun.