SPIED: Genesis G90 (EQ900) – S-Class, 7 Series rival?

2015-hyundai-genesis-g90-spyshots-1

Photographs of the new Genesis G90 have been making several appearances on various social media sites ahead of the model’s Korean debut set for December 9 (2015). The flagship limousine photographed here is the first model to come from the recently established Hyundai sub-brand, and will replace the Equus at the helm of the Hyundai Motor Company’s entire line-up.

While the majority of the world will know the car as the G90, in its native Korea, the limousine will be badged as the EQ900. If you look closely at the rear end of the vehicles here, you can spot its EQ900 badging.

Elsewhere, the car looks very similar to the design sketches that Genesis revealed some weeks ago. The signature hexagonal front grille, elaborately-designed LED headlamps, multi-spoke “spinning” wheels and distinctly elongated body shape amongst other key items are all accounted for in these images.

The photos also depict the production G90 to appear as massive as its official figures suggest. Previously, Hyundai revealed that the flagship sedan has a 3,106 mm-long wheelbase, while the overall body measures 5,205 mm long, 1,915 mm wide and 1,495 mm tall. A long-wheelbase model has also been confirmed, increasing the G90’s overall length to 5,495 mm and its wheelbase to 3,450 mm.

The numbers confirm that the G90 is larger than the W222 Mercedes-Benz S-Class — even the G90 LWB trumps the Benz V222 long-wheelbase “Sonderklasse.” It’s no secret that the Hyundai sub-brand is out to steal a few customers from the German trio of brands that make the Benz S-Class, BMW 7 Series and Audi A8.

But to cause any sort of threat to German hotshot limousines, the G90 will have to offer a certain level of luxury and performance (among other elements) that many perceive Korean models typically lack. That said, Hyundai has maintained an air of expected confidence when describing its new Genesis brand’s offerings.

2015-hyundai-genesis-g90-spyshots-2

When design sketches of the G90 first appeared, Woong-Chul Yang, vice chairman of Hyundai Motor, said, “the Genesis G90 will deliver a concept of ‘New Luxury’ to our customers. The G90 sits at the pinnacle of the Genesis brand and demonstrates how we apply our human-centred values to give our customer true satisfaction in every aspect of the vehicle ownership experience.”

For power, it has been rumoured that the G90 will offer three engine options — a 334 PS 3.8 litre V8 GDI, a 370 PS 3.3 litre V6 twin-turbo, and a 425 PS 5.0 litre V8. An eight-speed torque converter automatic transmission will be available for each of these engines, sending power to the rear wheels. An all-wheel drive system is also said to be on the cards.

As mentioned, the Genesis EQ900 will make its market debut in Korea next month, while other markets will have to wait a little longer into 2016 before seeing G90-badged versions of the car become available.

GALLERY: Genesis G90 sedan exterior and interior spyshots

GALLERY: Hyundai Genesis 3.8 V6 in Malaysia

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• shawal on Nov 26, 2015 at 3:19 pm

Rather pompous….
    kim jong ill approves…

• karam singh on Nov 26, 2015 at 6:32 pm

Its look good. Try putting this car with Continental brand logo.
      It gonna sell very well ;)

• Lance on Nov 26, 2015 at 3:32 pm

People buy a S class, 7 series, A8, Jaguar etc not only because of luxury. They wouldn’t want to be in an expensive Korean car parked next to a S class or Maybach. If they can afford a S class why would they buy a Korean luxury car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
    • Legoland on Nov 26, 2015 at 6:17 pm

I agree with you. Unless this car can do something really special or has very unique features.

• Jimmy on Nov 26, 2015 at 11:02 pm

1. 5888 x 2188 x 1588, with WB 3688. Size does matter as far as safety is concerned.
        2. 6 stars, one star better than XC90, with 20 airbags and superthick doors with super side protections. Intelligent front and rear protections.
        3. super large legroom with full reclining function with superOsim.
        4. Noble analogue clock from Swiss and top-notch audio.
        5. light sensitive glass with variable transmissible light penetration which can be preset.
        6. Magic carpet & library silence.
        7. Super nanoe & N-99.
        8. Automatic healing exterior paint with anti-dust function which make it glossy all the time.
        9. 4.5 sec & selectable sportscar handling and silky smooth transmission.
        10. Hypercar braking ability.
        11. Transverse left-right movements. Variable ground clearance.
        12. Super door for easy ingress and egress, with good welcome lights.

• karam singh on Nov 26, 2015 at 6:30 pm

Maybe because there some of abit abit off budget.
      Better off to new Luxury sedan than used one.

• Jimmy on Nov 26, 2015 at 10:23 pm

You are not in this market. A difference of RM100K sounds a lot to you.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 26, 2015 at 8:57 pm

i think the korean are mistaken if they can do a lexus….the lexus was successful because it was better than the competition when the ls400 first launched…however, with this hyundai, the only game it has it the probably slightly lower price… which doesn’t count for much in this category

• eVaz88 on Nov 26, 2015 at 3:38 pm

Doesn’t look that good to me. Any car with long wheel base = S class, 7 Series, A8, LS competitor? I don’t think so. Don’t looks that luxury to me. I rather go for Toyota Crown TBH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • wow! great job Koreans & europeans!

• Accordana on Nov 26, 2015 at 4:02 pm

I’m so proud of this new Hyundai Equus truly the actual Asian 7-series.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Asian 7 series or poor man’s 7 series.

• nebuchadnezzar on Nov 26, 2015 at 6:12 pm

what car you are driving man? must be driving 20 year old corolla. talk is cheap brah

• mr1031 on Nov 26, 2015 at 4:22 pm

at least there are moving forward..

proton?? alahai……the supposed global car IRIZ have yet to go global..adoiii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • I guess there are some pipu who belip making cars shud be like taking exams, thinking its better to copy and score than to try ur own and fail

• Merc SLK on Nov 26, 2015 at 4:46 pm

Wow, great design!!! Front with Audi grill and BMW headlamp, meanwhile the rear with Merc S class signature look!!! Get this car, you get the best of all 3 !

• tycoon88 on Nov 26, 2015 at 5:25 pm

Anyone here remembers the classic Syangyong Chairman? I feel this new genesis wins the former by a mile!

This genenis is for people who have money and want to be different from the rest. Just like buyers of the SY Chairman!

• Luxury made for the poor.

• Chyan on Nov 26, 2015 at 9:34 pm

Oh shut that pessimistic mouth of yours will you.
      People like you is why the internet is so negative.

• The Archbishop of Banterbury on Nov 26, 2015 at 10:59 pm

what’s the USP?

• Prime on Nov 26, 2015 at 11:59 pm

Bravo Hyundai! They have really improved through the years and their strategy of hiring and learning from the best in the industry will only make the Hyundai and the Genesis brand leap forward to new heights. In a country like Malaysia where the majority drives a branded car to display ones status to friends and neighbours, a luxury brand like Genesis will be a hard sell.
    However it really depends on how YOU define luxury. For most it will depend on Brand image and acquisition costs, but for some, luxury is about impressing themselves instead of impressing those around them.
    I can’t wait for the G90 to arrive. It’s technology and stance with amazing but understated design is a clear indication of what can be achieved when the best auto specialist from the East and West come together. Success in the auto industry requires hard work, accountability, clear objectives, firm commitment and hiring the best minds. Malaysia has a long way to go.

• Apart from the grill looks too obnoxious, everything is looks really good in this car ! I really hope it’ll come this country as an alternative to S-class, 7 series, A8 or LS

• Sam Loo ( ori1 ) on Nov 27, 2015 at 8:06 am

Bring it in.

1 year on, it will trade in for RM30k

• Sam Loo ( ori1 ) on Nov 27, 2015 at 10:52 pm

Please head to the nearest kimchi showroom and get a unit now. Why wait?

• Prime on Dec 06, 2015 at 6:59 pm

Hmmm 4400 preorders on the first day, must be 4400 high net worth individuals who couldn’t give a damn what the other 99% of working class think of them. What are they thinking! What about the RV? And the car hasn’t been unveiled yet! What would their neighbors say? What would their friends say? Fancy buying a car that beats the S class in safety and ride comfort and looks. Crazy!!, I would rather be seen sitting in and forcing a smile in my S-class. My muka more important then my comfort lor. …