Fiat Tipo – full details of C-segment sedan revealed

151111_Fiat_Tipo_08

After it was revealed last month that the Fiat Tipo name would be resurrected on a new global C-segment sedan (badged as the Fiat Aegea in Turkey), the Italian carmaker has released full details on its new offering.

The Tipo measures 4,532 mm long, 1,792 mm wide and 1,497 mm tall, with a wheelbase of 2,636 mm. The rather milquetoast styling provides the car with a drag coefficient of just 0.29 Cd, thanks to an optimised roof profile, windscreen curvature and body shape, best-in-class wheel coverage and side profile, as well as specially-designed side mirrors and tail light shape.

Inside, practicality has been given top priority – the car has been designed to fit adults measuring 1.88 metres tall in front, and 1.8 metres at the back, and legroom is said to be class-leading. There’s also a 520 litre boot – expandable through the 60:40 split-folding rear seats – along with up to 12 litres’ worth of storage compartments in the cabin.

151111_Fiat_Tipo_06

Standard-fit is a Uconnect Radio infotainment system with Bluetooth, while higher-end models get Uconnect 5″ and Uconnect 5″ Nav systems – both get a five-inch touchscreen, DAB radio, USB and AUX-in connectivity and an SMS reader, while the latter adding a TomTom 3D navigation system. A 160 W four-speaker sound system is standard, with the five-inch touchscreen versions getting a 220 W six-speaker setup.

Engines consist of a 95 hp/127 Nm 1.4 litre Fire four-cylinder petrol mated to a six-speed manual gearbox, along with a 110 hp/152 Nm 1.6 litre E.torQ petrol connected to a six-speed auto. On the diesel side there’s a 95 hp/200 Nm 1.3 litre and 120 hp/320 Nm 1.6 litre Multijet II turbodiesels, paired to a six-speed manual.

151126_Fiat_Tipo_32

Under the skin, the Tipo’s body features around 80% high-strength steel, with advanced hot-pressed high-strength steel low down contributing to improved handling and safety performance whilst reducing weight. Safety equipment includes up to six airbags, ABS with EBD and Panic Brake Assist (PBA), Electronic Stability Control (ESC), Hill Start Assist (HSA) and a tyre pressure monitoring system (TPMS).

Fiat promises reduced NVH levels thanks to state-of-the-art soundproofing techniques, such as the ample use of noise-deadening material, air flow optimisation and the use of metal sets to increase rigidity in the main fixing points of mechanical components.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Tipoo on Nov 30, 2015 at 1:24 pm

Itu nama kenot make it la in Bolehland. LOL

• Malam Jumaat on Nov 30, 2015 at 2:06 pm

fiat damn good car. Only thing in Malaysia it was handled by Torino Motors, people who like to sleep, makan nasi lemak, think about Malam Jumaat whole day and kahwin empat. No focus at all. Always want government help

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 21
      • Salambangi on Nov 30, 2015 at 3:01 pm

Dear malam jumaat

Its one of the least reliable cars in the US even though it’s nice to drive. LGE sympathiser..

• redidiot on Nov 30, 2015 at 10:06 pm

Dont take this the wrong way: please do explain what you meant by being least reliable.

• Albert on Nov 30, 2015 at 3:10 pm

Malam Jumaat, Tun called them LAZY.Just like the KIA distributor ,they are a bunch of hopeless clowns,always walking with GAYA and SYIOK SENDIRI syndrome.
        Even with everlasting perlindungan,they are still struggling…..vaping their lives away.Pathetic and shambolic.
        In Bolehland,only Perodua,Honda,Mazda,Benz are considered OK.The rest,including mighty Sime Darby /Hyundai/Ford and UMW are underperforming.

• Its design is like from India

• nabill (Member) on Nov 30, 2015 at 1:51 pm

Im seeing few hints of suprima S to be honest!

• megavalve on Nov 30, 2015 at 1:54 pm

Looks far better than the new Proton Persona Iriz Sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • Aero (Member) on Nov 30, 2015 at 2:51 pm

So, do you have a time machine, or work for Proton? How do you know what the new Persona looks like ? It’s not even complete !

Why do I even waste my time reasoning with retards…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
      • Aero Fails on Nov 30, 2015 at 5:49 pm

You must be butthurt proton owner with evolution sticker type R3. ok, please continue to vape and waste your life. The hardworking will be driving Toyota Camry.

• Captain Obvious on Nov 30, 2015 at 1:57 pm

Kuat Tipo ni

• This is what happens when Ford Mondeo make love with Honda Civic.

• wiwiwiwiw on Nov 30, 2015 at 2:27 pm

It would be ironic if VW name their cars
    VW Tipu

• cendol (Member) on Nov 30, 2015 at 2:31 pm

Proton should rebadge it and name is as Proton Tipu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • aBg_rOnGak on Nov 30, 2015 at 2:36 pm

Looks quite good to me….but the price, what’s the range? Perhaps lowly public servant like me can’t afford….but still, a good , cheaper (really hope so) manual car is hard to come by…

• Mr Fakta on Nov 30, 2015 at 2:37 pm

Jangan kene tipo

• Aero (Member) on Nov 30, 2015 at 2:46 pm

Fiat should come back to Malaysia. Their new cars are so much more reliable and competitive. Right-hand drive conversion does not appear to be a problem. Fiat is already present in nearby India, they could export RHD CKD packs to Malaysia (just like the VW Polo currently).

The only problem is that nobody seems to want to champion the Fiat brand here. Naza and Sime Darby are struggling to turn-around Hyundai/Kia/Peugeot etc., and Tan Chong Motor is also having trouble with the Renault Fluence. VW Malaysia is dying too. I guess most Malaysians would rather stick with the better known brands… even if it means stripped down specs, minimal safety and whatnot. What to do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • Albert on Nov 30, 2015 at 2:58 pm

Aero,the most stuck up businessman in Bolehland should take over this distributorship.
      The bladdy Honda dealer who boast he owns a fleet of helis should take up this challenge.But cos oil and gas is in the doldrums,he might be having cash flow problems now.
      In recession now,selling cars requires the salesmen to take the extra mile.Those who depended on everlasting perlindungan are having trouble now.

• Rajin Berusaha on Nov 30, 2015 at 4:04 pm

Give it to those seriously hardworking businessmen like Tan Chong, UMW or Oriental group.

They can make it highly profitable, well managed, target-oriented and require no bailouts whatsoever.

• Highly profitable (sure, with cheap specs and no safety), well-managed (your kidding, right?), target oriented (only need to target ahbengs, lalas, unker, and blind loyalists in between. Not much of a challenge), require no bailouts (what right do private kompeni have to request bailout by Gov?)

• wiwiwiwiw on Nov 30, 2015 at 4:22 pm

Very true

• alldisc on Nov 30, 2015 at 3:25 pm

Fiat is world’s top 5 car maker with many brands under its wings. cars like Alfa Romeo, Lancia, Ferrari, Maserati… even Chrysler and not to forget Fiat itself.

With Naza holding distributorship in Malaysia for both Ferrari and Maserati it is quite surprising it is not so much interested in bringing in at least Fiat cars back into malaysia. used to be very popular back then. 124, 127, 128, 131, 132 …Strada. before losing to the Japanese brands in the mid 80s.

or perhaps Naza is more interested in property and make good money out of it?

• Yeah…. the name is a problem… being too close to ‘tipu’ it’ll be the butt of jokes. Hope the local distributors rename it – if they know what’s good.

• Ex Sportivo on Nov 30, 2015 at 5:53 pm

Even though i used to own a Fiat, this tipo wont be able to survive here if sold here. The design is ugly. I would rather drive the korean than another Fiat.

Trust me, the reliability of italian of yesteryears will make you cry. I know i been thru it and it’s an experience i will never forget. Will i buy another fiat ….hahahaha i must be mad.

• Very disappointing to see so many discrediting comments about FIAT, I believe most founded on prejudice created by some unreliable Fiat networks. I have owned three Fiat cars (old 500,127 and a Stilo jtd 4doors) and other seven cars from various manufacturers including a German one,I can honestly say that the Fiat cars proved to be very good value for money, reliability and performance, no better and no worse than some of the other cars of different makers I had. Design wise now a days all cars have many resemblances as it is the computer that dictate what it’s fashionable, funky and functional..