Lexus LX 570 introduced in Malaysia – RM924k

2015 Lexus LX 570

So here it is, the big one – for its final model introduction of the year, Lexus Malaysia has brought out the previously-teased cannon that is the LX 570. It’s the first time that the third-gen SUV – essentially the posh relative of the Toyota Land Cruiser – is being sold here through official channels.

The J200 isn’t exactly new, having been around since 2007, but the beast has seen a number of facelifts (three, to be exact) to keep it prim and in line with the times. The third facelift took place this year, and the refreshed LX made its debut back in August. The market debut of the vehicle here brings the count of the local Lexus SUV range to three, the RX and NX being the others in the lineup.

The LX – which is fully imported from Japan – measures in at 5,080 mm long, 1,980 mm wide (sans side mirrors) and 1,865 mm tall, with a 2,850 mm-long wheelbase. The eight-seater is as heavy as it it’s massive – the SUV begins to tip the scales at 2,510 kg.

The latest redesign has seen all the exterior bodywork, with the exception of the door panels, being renewed. As previously mentioned, there’s a one-piece spindle grille that is accented by a satin chrome trim to provide the SUV with a more aggressive face. The LX also gets new LED head- and tailights, as well as revised bumpers all around.

2015 Lexus LX 570

While a 20-inch split 10-spoke wheel is the normal base unit for most markets, Lexus Malaysia has chosen to go with a 21-inch 10-spoke unit that is part of the Enhancement Pack as standard fitment on the local car – the machined-finished wheels are wrapped with 275/50 dual-purpose rubbers. Elsewhere, six exterior colours are available for the LX 570, and buyers will be able to pick from two interior colour themes, which are coordinated with the exterior colour chosen.

As you’d expect, plenty of kit in the interior, which features genuine wood and metal-like accents to give the cabin luxury and plushness. The facelift brings about a new three-spoke, wood-rimmed steering wheel – with partial leather wrapping – and a new leather-wrapped shifter, which sits on a new straight-type selector. Also on, a 12-way powered driver’s seat and a 10-way powered front passenger seat.

Novelties include a heating function for the steering wheel, which allows the temperature of the wheel to be adjusted according to preference. The analogue clock, meanwhile, uses signals from GPS satellites to maintain perfect time keeping. There’s also a wireless smartphone charging pad in the front console, which is compatible with a Qi-supported device or a device with Qi-supported accessories, eliminating the need for a connecting cable.

The LX 570 is equipped with a Mark Levinson Premium Surround System as standard – the 19-speaker system is equipped with 16-channel DSP amplifiers. Second row passengers get a Rear Seat Entertainment system, which features dual 11.6-inch screens and USB ports.

Additionally, a control panel on the rear arm rest allows control of the ventilated seats and fully-automatic air conditioning system, which comes with four-zone independent temperature control. Boot space is 259 litres with the rear-most row deployed.

The update also brings along a triple-linkage multimedia system that integrates the information on the 12.3-inch centre display (with a Remote-Touch Interface in tow), head-up display and 4.2-inch TFT colour display sitting between the speedometer and tachometer. The 12.3-inch Electro-Multi Vision (EMV) display has a treated screen to diffuse reflections and suppress glare.

Moving on to the mechanicals, the suspension system is long-travel independent double-wishbone at the front and five-link at the rear, both with coil springs. There’s adaptive variable suspension (AVS), and auto height control as well.

Output wise, the Malaysian-spec LX 570’s 3UR-FE 5.7 litre V8 offers 362 hp at 5,600 rpm and 530 Nm of twist at 3,200 rpm, identical to the Australian-spec model that was also revealed earlier today. Interestingly, the figures are somewhat lower than the North American LX variant, which has 383 hp and 546 Nm.

The mill is mated to an AE80F eight-speed automatic transmission, which has been adopted on the facelift to replace the AB60F six-speed unit found previously. The new unit gives the LX 570 a shorter first gear, longer top gear and closer spread of intermediate ratios (first, 4.795; second, 2.811; third, 1.844; fourth, 1.429; fifth, 1.213; sixth, 1.000; seventh, 0.817; eighth, 0.672; and reverse, 3.785) than the six-speeder.

The full-time all-wheel-drive driveline includes two-speed transfer and variable fore-aft torque split via a Torsen mechanical limited-slip centre differential. Performance numbers include a 0-100 km/h sprint time of 7.7 seconds and a 210 km/h top speed.

Fuel consumption meanwhile is rated at 20.2 litres/100 km urban, 10.9 litres/100 km extra urban and 14.4 litres/100 km combined, Braked towing capacity is 3,500 kg, though it’s unlikely that most owners will be hauling things in such fashion.

New to the drivetrain is an Integrated Drive Mode, which manages the powertrain, chassis elements and air conditioning for optimum performance in different conditions. Six modes are available, selectable via a rotary control and operable while the vehicle is moving – these are tagged as Normal, Eco, Comfort, Sport S, Sport S+ and Customise.

2015 Lexus LX 570

Driver assistance features include crawl control, which provides improved throttle modulation when manoeuvring over rough, uneven or difficult surfaces at low speeds as well as hill assist control, while Active height control is available for off-road use and makes use of the AVS to allow the vehicle to cross very rough terrain.

As for safety kit, a raft of systems is available under the Lexus Safety System umbrella – aside from the usual bag (VSC, traction control, Isofix), the LX 570 comes equipped with ten airbags, all-speed active cruise control, blind spot monitor with rear cross traffic alert (plus reverse camera), lane departure warning and a tyre pressure monitoring system.

There’s also a Multi-Terrain Monitor, which displays the images of areas around the vehicle when traveling at low speeds (up to 20 km/h) and as a perimeter safety confirmation – it also offers an underfloor view, helpful when navigating off-road.

Finally, we get to the matter of pricing – the Lexus LX 570 goes for RM923,960 on-the-road without insurance. The brand’s flagship SUV comes with a three-year or 100,000 km warranty (whichever comes first), and there’s no hassle when it comes to service – Lexus Malaysia is offering a five-year or 100,000 km Free Schedule Maintenance Service package with every purchase of an LX 570.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Mamasan on Dec 01, 2015 at 9:00 pm

Insanity is the best word to describe the price of this car.

Who would choose an 8 year old design ahead of a similar priced (relatively new)Range Rover?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
    • Same L0rrrr on Dec 02, 2015 at 1:16 am

Why so expensive? Ask proton!
      Why you can’t afford it? Ask your own working attitude.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 24
      • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Dec 02, 2015 at 9:56 am

Why is toll and transport getting higher and higher? Very simple. It is because of Songlapping.

One man can songlap RM2.6 billion is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions.
        Taib songlap US$20 billion (RM84 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor and given a Tunship.

What about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials?

It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap.

This is why we get higher tolls every year and transport going hgher and higher. Our guardians are more interested in Songlap than fighting for the rakyat to get lower tolls and lower transport charges.

• Then who do you belip? PR? Forgetaboutit! They rather consolidate their fiefdom or chumming with invaders, than to help you

• OMG…i would choose Hummer H3 even look more solid and muscular than this expensive sexy LX…

• ABTguy (Member) on Dec 02, 2015 at 9:21 am

Woo hoo, 20litre per 100km FC.

This is real insane !! Sorry man, dislike for this overpriced Toyota.

• Lexus - King of RV Depreciation on Dec 02, 2015 at 9:42 am

Lexus maybe a good car but buyer beware. It is the King of RV Depreciation. 2010 Lexus LS460L top of the range now selling for RM120k. Used car dealers will beg you to even take it for RM99k even. Shocking because less than 5 years ago, the car was close to RM900k.

In 4 years plus your car can jatuh from RM900k to RM99k.
      That is how bad Lexus RV is. If you can afford to bear with the falling RV, go ahead and buy it and enjoy it.
      Bear in mind also, most of the Lexus buyers, after susah payah paying 5 years every month, have to still top up berpuluh ribu their loan when they sell their car.

So besides super duper expensive parts, more expensive than even BMW, Lexus buyers always cry when selling their cars.

Make sure you are super rich before you buy this junk cause in 4 years time, it will be sold for RM100k

• OMG….This is Sabah & Sarawak rich man favourite…

• Mercedes on Dec 01, 2015 at 9:08 pm

So ugly, box look-alike with high price tag, only idiot will buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • venven81 on Dec 02, 2015 at 12:46 am

Couldn’t agree with you more dude! Fugly car with sky-high price tag. Toyota (or Lexus) die-hard fans will come out with all the excuses they could find to justify the selling price. Just wait and see…

• iiAMGPackage on Dec 01, 2015 at 9:11 pm

With that price, might as well be wiser and buy the Range Rover.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Woot Woot on Dec 01, 2015 at 9:12 pm

a 1 million toyota? forget it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • Wiwiwiwiwiw on Dec 01, 2015 at 9:21 pm

How much is the roadtax for privately own 5.7 litre petrol SUV?

• John 2015 on Dec 01, 2015 at 9:25 pm

Almost 3 X E-Class price….. for Flirty Rich People

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 01, 2015 at 9:26 pm

i like this car…but would you buy this over a range rover or cayenne?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • Superglue on Dec 01, 2015 at 9:34 pm

tak cantek pun………

• spongewai on Dec 01, 2015 at 9:40 pm

wahh, that is a ridiculous price wei!!?

• Tigerkonga on Dec 01, 2015 at 9:46 pm

Price really kill the mkt in malaysia

• jinggo on Dec 01, 2015 at 9:48 pm

Nakharooommm!! memang bangsat punya harga! puihhhh!!!!

• ridiculous pricing. I rather buy a BMW X6

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • karam singh on Dec 01, 2015 at 10:05 pm

the rear soooo hideous.
    the korean SUV looks better.

• Proud Malaysian on Dec 01, 2015 at 10:33 pm

Fuel consumption of 20.2 litres/100km. Petrol price dropping. Ringgit dropping. RM923k. I’ll be the first one to queue for it in Lexus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • khairul on Dec 01, 2015 at 10:49 pm

RM1million for this kind of vehicle…..better buy truck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • whatff on Dec 01, 2015 at 10:53 pm

they need rich, blind and stupid person .. wait we have alot of those, menteri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
    • apamau on Dec 02, 2015 at 4:10 pm

I saw the real car in Japan in recent trips and it’s really look nice, fierce and up class. Overall looks much better than range rover in all way.

As for the price comment, i guess this is not target for those who can’t afford. most people buy this type of car with cash. when u view this as a peanuts then u are the right target they are looking at.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Dec 01, 2015 at 11:04 pm

Malaysian are si beh rich. They keep launching expensive car this show malaysia is still going strong despite currency drop.

• UMW Ruined Toyota Lexus on Dec 01, 2015 at 11:51 pm

I’m very sure it will be have a promotions, events or roadshows soon.

Better switch to Infiniti or Germany luxury marques.

• Shafiq on Dec 02, 2015 at 12:07 am

Looks Toyota land cruiser to me to be honest. If I had all the money in the world I would still buy a Lexus, but hate that grille. I hate it because I feel like its very weak and will crack or break in very small accidents or off roading.

• Gracke on Dec 02, 2015 at 12:35 am

Lexus!! Please do not force your designer if really no idea and fire the head of designer too who approve this!!!

• dugongx on Dec 02, 2015 at 12:42 am

Fugly, overpriced, fuel guzzler, slow and weak engine dated junk. Only real sohai will buy this 1 million ringgit toyota. If you really like it then Wait 2 yrs later Lexus will give massive 100k discount or better still buy 2nd hand 2 yrs later at 200k.

• Head Hunter on Dec 02, 2015 at 6:19 am

Im afraid this will further justify the high prices for recond Land Cruisers. The basic of all specs can now be had as low as 280K and that’s a 2008 model. With this coming in Im not surprised if we have LCs in the 500K range. Totally not worth it.

Land Cruisers and LX have always been a utilitarian vehicle, used for offroad skirmishes but now, it has truly lost its soul. Even the upcoming Hilux is losing the low range gear lever, replacing it with a switch.

Hate this car, hate the price but love the performance. Hopefully it doesn’t breakdown as much as the Range Rover. Too expensive.

• Leafable on Dec 02, 2015 at 6:52 am

Range Rover Vogue anytime.

• ss427 on Dec 02, 2015 at 7:57 am

Sam Loo, this one got RV or not? After 1 yr can I sell it back to you at RM$900k? LOL If not this POS has no RV also ya

• DPCraft on Dec 02, 2015 at 10:50 am

Every thing is ok, except the rear design, honestly the NX has the best rear design for a Lexus SUV

• who would want to spend close to RM1mil for this ugly car ^^

• Jamesninget on Dec 02, 2015 at 1:04 pm

Haha..very funny this bolehland.in usa they sell usd88k..in bolehland we get 924k and 9year loan..in usa they got 5year loan.thats why people bankrupt..because of the expensive house and car..tahniah kita terpaksa bayar hrga mahal utk pmimpin kita..where is ur promise najib to decrease car price..

• apamau on Dec 02, 2015 at 4:14 pm

Looks like we are not their target.. people who buy this type of vehicle don’t look at loan.., the word won’t be utter out at all. most are cash deal, they may just ask, why only 1 variant, any high spec model ?
      And we are those who say they are stupid and idiot, which.. haha.. coz we like to spend our time.. haha.

• That price is totally nonsense

• 1 million for a TOYOTA??????????!!

Lol.. good luck in selling this. With the price close to 1 million I can have MUCH MORE alternatives. How to pick up chicks in this boxy ugly Toyota?

• i love the design! It Fits the Awful Category. Its like a marriage between Rosie O Donell and Darth Vader.-

• apamau on Dec 02, 2015 at 4:37 pm

Looks like we are not their target.. people who buy this type of vehicle don’t look at loan.., the word won’t be utter out at all. most are cash deal, they may just ask, why only 1 variant, any high spec model ?
    And we are those who say they are stupid and idiot, which.. haha.. coz we like to spend our time.. haha, it’s our