Proton Design Competition 2015 – winners revealed!

Proton Design Competition 2015 29

Proton has announced all the winners of the Proton Design Competition 2015 – the Category 1 contest was won by a group of three students (Najwa binti Abdul Aziz, 16, Muhammad Arif Fadhli bin Ishak, 15 and Ilia Farzana binti Ibrahim, 16) from Sekolah Agama Menengah Bestari Subang, while 22-year-old Muhammad Ismail bin Ibrahim clinched the individual title for Category 2.

The team from Sekolah Agama Menengah Bestari Subang received a RM10,000 cash prize and trophies for their winning entry, the Proton Enigmas; the first and second runner-up teams also received trophies as well as cash prizes of RM7,000 and RM5,000 respectively. Seven consolation prize-winning groups took home medals and a RM1,000 cash prize each.

As for Muhammad Ismail, an Automotive Design student from UiTM Shah Alam, he bagged a RM15,000 cash prize and a trophy for his top entry, the Proton Maxima. The first and second runner-ups gained trophies and cash prizes of RM10,000 and RM7,000 respectively, while the seven consolations prize winners also received a trophy and a RM1,000 cash prize each.

The winners were also taken on a tour of Proton’s Research and Development (R&D) Centre, as well as being given a special presentation by head of design Azlan Othman. There, they were given a sneak peek at what Proton was currently working on, as well as a look at the processes involved in automotive design.

Proton Design Competition 2015 28

The contest began in June and saw a total of 430 entries (an increase from last year’s 337) from both categories. Category 1 was open to groups of up to three, aged 13 to 17 years old, while Category 2 was open to individuals aged 18 and above. Only Malaysians with a valid Malaysian identity card could participate.

To recap, budding designers were asked to design a Proton concept car for the Malaysian family, reflecting technologies we may see in the next 20 years. As with last year, entrants were required to submit coloured exterior renderings of their design, while those falling into Category 2 were also required to produce an additional coloured interior rendering.

New for this year were the addition of a requirement for hand-drawn ideation sketches for both categories, as well as vehicle packaging diagrams for occupant and powertrain layout for Category 2.

In addition, entrants had to submit a written proposal detailing their car’s design concept, unique selling proposition and proposed powertrain system. Given that this was first and foremost a design competition, submissions were naturally judged on their aesthetics and presentation, but specific emphasis were given to the authenticity, originality and innovation of the designs.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Banyak Banyak Malu Proton on Dec 01, 2015 at 5:53 pm

For a company that has sucked billions of our LHDN money yearly and intotal about few hundred billion since its inception in 985, to give a RM15,000 gift is very sad.

Proton not only sucks billions per year, it has made 30 million Malaysians suffer for 30 years with super high car prices to protect and promote Proton.

Even if Proton was kedekut, at least Billionaire Tun M, with all his hidden billions, should have sponsored a better prize.

At least give a RM100k or a RM1 million education fund to the Grand Prize winner and RM100k education fund for 2nd and 3rd.

So memalukan. Disgraceful. Proton has sucked so much of money from us Malaysians and has cause all other cr prices to shoot up substantially making every household suffer so much and yet, their competition prizes are pathetic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 67
    • The prizes are dissapointing?

More like the designs are pathetic, only 1 or 2 designs actually have effort put into, and no, not the Maxima.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
      • Same L0rrrr on Dec 02, 2015 at 1:03 am

Think our new prius is ugly? Eat these!

• alldisc on Dec 10, 2015 at 5:43 pm

it is a shame that the winner was chose based on its criteria to swim (or mere float?) in flood.

it is hard to see the attraction or impact it can make to the world market; which proton should really looked into instead of trying to woo local market.

• Milly on Dec 02, 2015 at 9:47 am

if you have nothing good to say then you should not say anything at all in the first place.
      the prizes goes in tandem with the criteria. the competition was held to inculcate creative minds. it is more of talent display.the money part is just a bonus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Mozilla Chrome on Dec 01, 2015 at 5:53 pm

Such a waste of time and money. Can clearly see the disappointed face of Tun M…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 13
  • Open Letter to Proton on Dec 01, 2015 at 5:57 pm

Hello Proton, you got so many Proton lying in the yard, unsold, some for many years. Eventually it goes for demolition.

Can’t you not give each of these winners a car? Instead of seeing the car rot and rust away?

This alone shows how badly managed Proton is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 23
    • you are so silly. can a 15 years old students drive car? what about petrol and maintenance? road tax? if a person is not yet employed, who is going to pay for these? think!

• Nabei on Dec 01, 2015 at 6:00 pm

What kind of shit design he does? Even a cho kai can draw a better car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 18
  • Shi san-fan on Dec 01, 2015 at 6:06 pm

Only 2 chinese? where are the indians? damn man…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 25
    • TigerRoars on Dec 02, 2015 at 10:06 am

dont be a racist. the design was selected based on authenticity, originality and innovation of the designs.not copy paste from some other car manufacturers and put a sticker on it. the judges were varied and selections were based on those criteria mentioned above.
      dont spread things when you dont have the correct information.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
  • Nabei on Dec 01, 2015 at 6:06 pm

Chow kai design a better car like kia cerato

• Proton maxima = tesla model x? (similar features)

• nabill (Member) on Dec 01, 2015 at 6:57 pm

Thy should hire some of thse contestants, train them few yrs n nurture thm to be the next gen of designers… Since we dont really have any proper automotive college of design…

• Welldonekeyboardwarriors! on Dec 01, 2015 at 7:07 pm

These are the winners?
    Where are the so called engineers? infamous auto designers? Where are the future designs that so many people are talking and bragging about?
    Ergghh….these are the best you can do? Yeah, at this rate, Malaysia is pretty doomed. Trust me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
  • Unbelievable! Coffin shape car spots 1st

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
  • laoshi on Dec 01, 2015 at 8:12 pm

now i see why proton doomed..they choose all these ugly design = lack creativity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • alldisc on Dec 01, 2015 at 8:55 pm

That champion design… Car can float in water. Pls take note. Very useful.

But nothing else but float

• peroton on Dec 01, 2015 at 9:31 pm

design yg takkan jadi kenyataan. for what?

• This is downright dissapointing, I can’t believe Proton actually chose these designs, unless of course, there are no better designs. Even reading the description of the concept vehicles made me sick, tak tau proofread kah?

• Jobless on Dec 01, 2015 at 10:02 pm

The real winner is the company who ORGANISEDtis stupid time wasting contest

• You mean the real winner is Proton? cuz they the ones that organised this contest. ;-\

• BOYRACER on Dec 01, 2015 at 10:56 pm

Wow!!I didn’t know that a lot of the commentors in Paultan are actually naturally talented designers.
    Pity that other car manufacturers does not employ these people.If not our roads would be filled with beautiful cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Tinmilo on Dec 01, 2015 at 11:47 pm

Congrats….give all that car to your grandpa..

• richard on Dec 01, 2015 at 11:55 pm

does anyone notice Proton Maxima similar like Mercedes F015?

• I think Proton should open this contest to our local university students especially engineering students. I believe they can come out with more engineered design. just my 2cent

• Actually I wonder what this competition hoped to achieve? Scout for Proton designers? Marketing strategy to the young? I don’t get it. Proton needs to tighten up QC. Hire a team that takes no bullshit when it comes to quality. then Proton can go somewhere. As for design, they should standardize their designs throughout their product ranges, just like what mazda is doing, for example. Mazda 1, 3 and 5 have a simillar design, but altered to matched the size of the car. THey can save a lot of RND there

• Katash07 on Dec 02, 2015 at 1:29 am

I wonder if people actually read the article.

1. These are designed by highschool students, what do you expect?

2. Dorky designs doesn’t mean impracticality.

3. Concept car. Ring any bells?

4. If you are so smart in commenting other people’s effort, why don’t you submit your own design to Proton. I bet they look more like a friggin potato than a car.

Point here is there are hidden talents in these students. Just need a good guide and i trust that they can do wonders.

• kawan ali baba on Dec 02, 2015 at 2:30 am

kereta apa ke ja dah ni??? penuh dgn titik buta…

bang ngang punya proton

design org takda hotak macam tu boleh menang?

proton mmg dah patut tukar nama jadi PRO Tun…
    syarikat kereta paling ta hi dlm sejarah dunia.

• GodCar on Dec 02, 2015 at 10:25 am

UiTM student. No wonder he got first prize. Protek Protek Protek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • why does the maxima looks eerily resemblance to a citroen cactus?

• kazanixm on Dec 02, 2015 at 1:31 pm

TBH, i think Proton Modula design could be the next gen for current Exora, but please retain the Exora name.

• Winners given special presentation by head of design?
    habis… dari winners terus jadi bodoh.

• shffjfr on Mar 13, 2016 at 6:31 pm

on wht date this competition will be held again?

• waah..so many talented people among this comment….