Euro 5 petrol gazetted to arrive in 2025, diesel in 2020

petrol11

The government has revealed new gazetted dates for the nationwide introduction of Euro 5 grade petrol and diesel in Malaysia. The full specifications of the fuel types have also been announced.

According to a document released by the Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment, Euro 5 petrol will be ready at the pumps by September 1, 2025 – this includes RON 95 and RON97. When it does, the quality of Euro 5 petrol will adhere to the new standards for sulphur and lead. You can refer to the full specifications in the document embedded below.

The remaining minimum standards for Euro 5 petrol such as Reid Vapour pressure, oxygen content, benzene, olefins, aromatics and more will be enforced in stages, throughout years 2026 and 2027.

Likewise, gazetted dates for the nationwide availability of Euro 5 diesel have also been confirmed to be September 1, 2020. As per the new regulations set by the ministry, maximum sulphur levels for the new Euro 5 standard shall not exceed 10 mg per kg from the fuel’s introduction onwards.

Screen Shot 2012-11-06 at 4.21.30 PM.png

From then on, the government will enforce further Euro 5 diesel standards such as its density at 15 degrees Celsius, distillation temperatures at 95% and percentage of polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons.

Currently, Euro 5 diesel fuel is available in Malaysia courtesy of individual initiatives most notably by BHPetrol, Shell and Petronas. However, their availability has not been mandated by the government. Meanwhile, Euro 4 RON 97 petrol is already available nationwide, but Euro 4 RON 95 petrol will only be available come October 1, 2018.

To recap, Malaysians can mark their calendars for the nationwide arrival of Euro 5 petrol by September 1, 2025, and Euro 5 diesel by September 1, 2020.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Euro 5 on Dec 02, 2015 at 5:35 pm

So will Shell bring in the Euro 5 diesel early??

• BNaik on Dec 02, 2015 at 6:56 pm

Thanks BN and PM because as 3rd largest gas and petroleum country we finally the 1st to use Euro5… Others country and 1st world and 2nd world all are bullshit… BN boleh Najib boleh !!! By 2025 we will be 40 years old finally can use cleaner fuel oil !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 16
      • Pariah Government on Dec 02, 2015 at 7:25 pm

Real pariah Government. All our neighbours converted to Euro 4 or 5 long long time ago. We refuse to do so to save Petronas money ie it cost more to refine to Euro 5 standards.

In Europe, Euro 2M is considered and equal to poison. It is so toxis that it is SAME as drinking poison if you breathe the emissions.

Our Government just not bothered about us. Now wait 10 years? Seriously wait 10 more years?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
      • Malam Jumaat on Dec 02, 2015 at 7:53 pm

Malaysia Gomen workers should learn from Europe. They value clean air and very responsible.

Please lah Gomen of Malaysia… Work hard, don’t be lazy, makan nasi lemak and sleep in office, think about Malam Jumaat whole day and whole life looking to kahwin empat and begging for Government to help for everything

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
      • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Dec 02, 2015 at 8:07 pm

Why do we have to wait another 10 more years?

Very simple. It is because of Songlapping.

One man can songlap RM2.6 billion is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions.

Taib songlap US$20 billion (RM84 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor and given a Tunship.
        What about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials?

It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap.

This is why we have to wait 10 more years with diry air

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • hailthepurist on Dec 02, 2015 at 7:05 pm

already dead waiting..

• Why must we BEG??? on Dec 02, 2015 at 7:29 pm

The people of Malaysia should not beg for clean air. To breathe clean air, it is our right. All over the world, governments are moving to hybrid to give their people cleaner air.

In Malaysia, government blackmails us to get clean air. One day tax incentive is on for hybrid, then another day, tax incentive is off for hybrid. 10 years ago, told us clean diesel is on its way. Now 2025 comes, they will say 2030.

The Government of Malaysia blackmails its people for the right to breathe clean air.

The whole purpose of a government is to look after the well being of its rakyat and provide the rakyat security. That is the definition of a government. A government collects taxes from the rakyat, in return, they provide a safe, secure country for its tax paying rakyat.

In this case in Malaysia, Malaysians have been suffering with dirty fuel and higher emissions for over 15 years when all over the world they have upgraded their fuels to give their people cleaner air. They also promote cleaner hybrid engines to provide cleaner air and they give their rakyat cleaner petrol and diesels that emits very low Co2.

Don’t talk about cars now. Lets talk about the health of a nation. Because of the dirty petrol and diesel and not promoting hybrid cars, the air pollution is so hazardous to the rakyat, it is the result of countless of cases of lung infection, cancer and respitory illnesses. All our hospitals are full daily mainly because of respitory illnesses. Older people suffer most because of polution by the low grade fuel given by our government.

Have you seen your old mother and father pant and gasp for air?

That is because the government of Malaysia has failed its rakyat giving them cleaner air to breathe. They don’t care for the 30 million people suffer and the environment. They want you to use more dirty petrol and fuel and pollute the environment.

The Environment Ministry and the Minister has no balls. His job is to ensure a cleaner environment.
        All over the world, the oil companies are so scared of the governments and they comply with all the Euro5 regulations imposed by their caring governments. But not in Malaysia. Government does not care at all about the Environment at all.

Besides Hybrids, government must ensure all companies come out with Hybrids to promote lesser emissions into the environment.

The Government of Malaysia has failed its rakyat in giving a clean environment, safe and secure country for the rakyat to live in. The government takes the tax payers money in vain here. It is not doing it job. It is as bad as some African war torn country. Don’t be fooled just because Malaysia has no war and is supposedly peaceful. The dirty air and environment itself is war on your lungs and respitory system and this war is far worse than your physical war of guns, mortars and tanks. It is a silent killer. The dirty fumes emitted from vehicles because of the dirty fuel and non hybrid promotion kills more people per annum than any war will.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • by that time EU countries are switching to Euro 7

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • Madani and MAI - Where are you? on Dec 02, 2015 at 7:45 pm

What happened to MAI bull about EEV and clean environment Government is pushing??

The fact MAI and the government could introduce clean Euro 5 diesel itself proves one thing, we could have done this long ago, but MAI and the government did not bother to do so because they could not care a damn about the well being of Malaysians. They rather see Malaysians suffer with high fuel bills and clog up their engines with dirty petrol and diesel.

Madani and MAI are frauds created by the government to confuse people and delay the process of giving us cleaner fuel and cheaper cars. Every NAP, Madani will come up with complicated formulas to confuse people. But what people want is very simple. It is
      1) Cleaner diesel and petrol
      2) Cheaper cars

The above two, Madani and MAI try to brush under the carpet. As for fuel, they want Malaysians to suffer. They want us to use more petrol and suffer. The fact that Malaysia had the technology and ability to introduce clean Euro 5 diesel itself shows that Madani, MAI and the Government was very happy to see the rakyat choke with hazardous and dangerous smoke and fumes with our dirty Euro 2 diesel for the past 10 years.

So many people in KL for instance, wait at bus stops but are smoked by dirty Metrobusses and they choke and choke on a daily basis. Most of us, before buying our cars have experienced this. The ministers, in their heavily escorted cars see this but just close an eye. They sit in their fancy cars with police escorts and see the Metrobus emitting thick black smoke suffocating the public. They don’t care. Why? Because the bus companies, the

Metrobusses are all owned indirectly by the Ministers. So are most of the stage, intercity busses and lorries that emit thick black smoke.

But MAI and Madani don’t care. Let the rakyat suffer. Let the pakcik and makcik choke and die. We don’t care. That is their attitude.

• 2025, all cars will be on electric, may be hydrogen.

• Legoland on Dec 03, 2015 at 8:17 am

Yeah, they’re losing the plot. Technology is changing rapidly. The type of petrol may not matter much by then. Perhaps thats why they’re doing this too – to wait and see.

• albag on Dec 02, 2015 at 6:06 pm

wow 2025 2030 2040 2050 2100 sounds so far away

• Konga on Dec 02, 2015 at 6:06 pm

As I mentioned earlier najis purposely have strong team of Dumb n dumbers in cabinet dats y v have these type of news average everyday

• Pondan on Dec 02, 2015 at 6:19 pm

listen first la… will only take it when it’s implemented. when it delays, there will be 101 of excuses for the delay… what’s new

• kapchai on Dec 02, 2015 at 6:22 pm

2025? Many of us won’t live to see that

• Before those who think we should go straight Euro6 start to bash, let me gip you an idea how difficult that would be (E2->E6). Imagine E2 is the capability to fly just below the clouds, and E4 is right at the edge of the stratosphere. Moving from E2 to E4 is difficult but not impossible right?

Now imagine E6 is flying to the moon. Yes, its that big of a difference. And for diesel E6, it requires another chemical called AD-Blue, which is stored separately on the vehicle. So pump stations need to have another storage tank for this.

Now you know. So bash with this knowledge in mind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Simpleton john strikes again.. Pride and joy of BN PR machinery. Do you think that visitors of this site have been abroad or oblivious to accept your half baked excuse/explanation. FYI, ad blue additives are also available in smaller packs, and could be easily stocked by petrol kiosks. If there is sizeable demand, most kiosk operators will be more than happy to keep stock; it is not a must to have a separate tanks etc. Kalam nak kelentong pun, biarlah kelentong yang orang boles percaya….!!

• Oh ye ke? Stesen besar kat hiway boleh lah cari tempat kat dalam kedai mereka. Yang stesen kat kampung pulak, kalau kedai sebesar bilik tidur macam mana simpan, beb?
        Kat negara barat, simpanan bawah tanah adalah terhad, jadi bolehlah beli ADBlue dalam paket kecil dan buang dalam tong sampah. Kat kampung pulak buang kat merata-rata. Lagipun u tau 1 trak pakai berapa AD Blue? 25 liter, beb!
        Brapa 1L paket u mau buka dan buang untuk isi semua. Itu untuk 1 trak, kalau 1 angkatan?
        Kesian itu pemilik stesen minyak kena sewa 1 tong sanmpah besar untuk buang semua paket yang telah digunakan.
        Bukannya nak kata E6 tak boleh dicapai, tapi kenalah buat secara peringkat. Hanya RBA bangang saje yang tak tau kesulitan nak proses minyak senanglah nak bash macam sial.

I am doing it Malay cuz you ended your rant in Malay, but I can just as well reply in English if you want.

• Legoland on Dec 03, 2015 at 8:21 am

Do you know how petrol outlets are managed? Its not up to the whims and fancies of operators; the petrol companies provide a lot of support. The operators don’t need to worry about changes. The shells and caltexes are very good at rolling out new update programs. So dont overthink on their behalf.

• Albert on Dec 02, 2015 at 6:42 pm

I am not interested in 5 ,10 years tokok on Euro 5.
    I am only interested to get petrol at Rm1.50/litre and less.
    You can get Euro 5 besok,but if the price of petrol is RM3.50/litre…your roti chanai will cost you Rm2 per piece.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Bertie, to get RM1.50/L is not impossible but at E1 levels of emission or even higher. Now imagine diesel emissions at E1 levels. If you cant stand the black smoke now, you will puke at the black cloud emitted by the trucks&buses.
      Oh you might get your roti canai at Rm0.60. But due to air pollution from E1 emissions, your medical bills will shoot up higher than KLCC.
      So you game now?

• Mozilla Chrome on Dec 02, 2015 at 6:52 pm

Hopefully by that time stupid current government will be changed!

• intermilan on Dec 02, 2015 at 6:52 pm

Wow..! Gazetted delay for the n time.. marvelous..

• Wee fuk yew on Dec 02, 2015 at 8:25 pm

By the time Euro 5 is introduced here the tecnology has moved up to maybe Euro 10. Things just dont stay the way they are forever waiting for somone to dilly dally with a decision. We will forever be condemned to using third world equipment at the rate our lawmakers are moving with the rest of the world. 10 years is a looooong time in a fast moving world.

• FreeMarket on Dec 02, 2015 at 10:28 pm

Pls let free market force do the work for you if you can’t do anything. Open up the petrol market let free market force these petrol companies give the consumers the best petrol and prices !By 2025 car will be using electric or other energy !

• Tabouleh! Then later unrestricted foreign kompenis come in and then Party Hard politikus will shout and protest that these kompenis will dominate and then increase the petrol prices as they like (sounds like Edra issue, eh?).

• Superglue on Dec 02, 2015 at 10:52 pm

i am not surprised at all from this songlap govt…..

• old dog on Dec 02, 2015 at 11:03 pm

making a 10 years later promise is useless might as well dont tell and keep quiet..

• PungutLebihUntukSamy-PLUS on Dec 03, 2015 at 12:57 am

Takes 10 bloody years to introduce a standard that was discovered in 2009 but only takes 1 day to announce a price in toll hikes.
    Hidup Businessmen Negara!!! You make your country live in poverty indeed :-0

• RicoT on Dec 03, 2015 at 1:21 am

Given that,
    Euro 1 : 1993
    Euro 2 : 1996 (+3 years)
    Euro 3 : 2000 (+4 years)
    Euro 4 : 2005 (+5 years)
    Euro 5 : 2009 (+4 years)
    Euro 6 : 2014 (+5 years)

Assume average +5 years for next Euro emission standard,
    Euro 7 : 2018
    -> Malaysia introduce Euro 5 diesel : 2020
    Euro 8 : 2022
    -> Malaysia introduce Euro 5 petrol : 2025
    Euro 9 : 2026

Wasn’t it the same situation as we are now?
    Euro 6 – Euro 2M = 4 generations behind
    Euro 9 – Euro 5M = 4 generations behind

• Seriously?

In Europe, ‘Euro 5′ has been introduced on 2008, and implemented on 2011. They (the Europe) only takes two years for them to change their emissions’ standard.

Why we are going to implement Euro 5 for RON95 on 2025? For real sake, 10 years later? It just don’t make any sense AT ALL.

This has shown that our government have FAILED (in behalf of us) to protect and reserve the air cleanliness for us. An embarrassment for us Malaysians to show other countries on how we take care on our air environment.

Cleaner, lower cost petroleum products is all every vehicle owners wanted. But with the government right now…it’s all nothing but “Tinggal Kenangan”. I bet, on 2025, they will like announcing “harga minyak RON95 dan diesel Euro 5 adalah RM 2+, RON97 Euro 5 RM3+”. And, at that time, Europe (along with other countries) is already at its new emissions standard. Such a shame.

• batumudo on Dec 03, 2015 at 9:36 am

Vape BANNED immediately because of ‘potential’ hazardous say the Bini Najib Goverment. Meantime, malaysian can inhale current proven hazardous fuel, say the Bini Najib goverment.

• useless politicians & their advisors making another nonsense decision for our strive towards becoming developed nation by 2020.

• Jobless on Dec 03, 2015 at 9:12 pm

Biasalah, our glokal cars cannot work with latest products…and i just discovered today tat my 22 year old Potong Wira petrol tank cover labelled “Ron 97” tat means should be using 97 instead of Ron95 which spoiled my engine a year after

• songlap+bodoh on Dec 05, 2015 at 9:06 am

Abolished hybrid tax exemption. Delayed bringing in cleaner fuel. Our gomen is only interested in songlap and not the lives of the rakyat and the well being on Malaysia. It’s so obvious in the automotive industry alone. Don’t be fooled. If we lift our head and look around, it’s songlap-songlap or bodoh-bodoh gomen.