PLUS toll hike – Works Ministry says no decision yet

NKVE_KM15

The speculation on the PLUS toll hike continues – The Star reports that the Works Ministry has come out to quash rumours of the impending increase, saying that that there will not be an automatic hike. Earlier news had indicated that the highway concessionaire had been allowed to raise prices by as much as 5% next year under revised agreement terms.

While confirming that PLUS had renegotiated its concession agreement that provides for a 5% toll increase every three years, Works Minister Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof said that the government had yet to make a decision on the new toll rates.

“We wish to point out that there would not be an automatic hike for Plus and the government has yet to make a decision on this,” he said via a statement. He added that a committee will be formed by the end of the year to discuss the new toll rates.

toll booth

Fadillah explained that the agreements with PLUS were renegotiated based on a previous concession agreement, which had allowed a 10% hike in toll prices every three years. “When PLUS was completely acquired by UEM and EPF in 2011, the agreement was renegotiated and reduced to a 5% increase every three years,” he said.

Stating that the last increase in toll rates for PLUS was back in 2005, Fadillah stated that since then, toll rates had not been allowed to increase despite the provision to do so in the 2008 and 2011 agreements. He said that with regards to this matter, the government had compensated PLUS.

The report added that Fadillah said the Works Ministry intends to honour the promise made by the government back in 2013 that it would reduce toll rates gradually on intercity expressways by 2018.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• No decision? If they don’t increase for next 10 years, I will vote BN la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Dec 02, 2015 at 10:42 am

Stupid , If they never increase for th next 100 years, i will also NOT vote them.

• khairul on Dec 02, 2015 at 2:13 pm

If they tackle grafts and jail those crocodiles like Jibby. Then that I would give them my vote.

• MeToo on Dec 02, 2015 at 11:13 am

Sure! BN will promise u that on election year…. after that… You know la… Janji Dicapati..

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 02, 2015 at 11:44 am

To be or not to be? It is all about money.

Think the government will care about you? 5 years once for a week, or less…

• BigBalls on Dec 02, 2015 at 10:35 am

Wayang only lar, confirm will increase next year.

Just like ERL, tolls, electricity tariff, lrt, ktm etc…

Malaysia apa pun naik, only integrity and transparency takda naik

-BigBalls-

• waters on Dec 02, 2015 at 10:47 am

I thought Fadillah was a lady.

• If their manifesto to reduce toll also cannot be honoured, what makes them think people will buy their ambiguous statements like “no decision” & “next year revised agreement terms”?.

• Ismail on Dec 02, 2015 at 11:03 am

No one likes a toll hike. Why don’t they do variable pricing by demand? Hike tolls during rush hours, but make them less expensive off-peak. Why should someone driving at 5 AM when there’s little demand pay the same as someone driving at rush hour?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • RempitMat on Dec 02, 2015 at 2:16 pm

u tak suka u guna tollfree toll la, tiada siapa yg paksa u guna toll

• MeToo on Dec 02, 2015 at 11:05 am

Dont need to wayang kulit la, since when Tol doesnt increase? Only on Election year… after that increase will double up…

• John2 on Dec 02, 2015 at 11:17 am

Did VW pay paultan to always put that stupid toll pictures as though VW dominate malaysian roads?

• hshshah on Dec 02, 2015 at 2:52 pm

this all politic la.. I bet 5 mouth before election toll drop to 10 sen or govermant to consider for free toll. 5 mount after win election govermant have to increase toll because bla bla bla

• hadi75 on Dec 02, 2015 at 3:19 pm

What he meant to say is….toll hike is confirm