Great Wall M4 now offered with seven-year warranty

Great_Wall_M4_seven-year_warranty

If you’re looking to purchase a Great Wall M4, good news ahead. Great Wall Motors has announced that it will be offering a seven-year (unlimited mileage) warranty for those who book the B-segment SUV. The offer has already started since December 1, 2015, and will continue until December 30, 2015.

As a quick recap, the Great Wall M4 is available in three trim levels – Standard, Comfort and Premium, with prices starting at the RM49,739 mark (on-the-road inclusive of insurance). Recently, an Elite add-on kit was introduced for the M4 Premium, priced around RM10k.

All three variants are fitted with a 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated VVT MPI four-cylinder petrol engine providing 105 hp at 6,000 rpm and 138 Nm at 4,200 rpm. Transmission options for the sole engine option includes a six-speed AMT and a five-speed manual gearbox.

Among the features available on the Great Wall M4 include an around-view monitor and MP5 double-DIN entertainment system with navigation and DVD playback. Safety-wise, the AMT-fitted M4 comes with ESP and ESC. ABS (with EBD and BA) plus dual airbags are standard on all variants.

GALLERY: Great Wall M4

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• George Abdul on Dec 03, 2015 at 1:12 pm

Import car with cheap (affordable price) and 7 years warranty…. So now the questions Proton still have anymore excuses ??? For not able to pride good yet affordable price car ???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 11
    • As someone had said in Proton’s thread, whats the point gip 7 year warranty when spareparts take 1 month to arrive? ;-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
      • john is otak batu on Dec 03, 2015 at 4:12 pm

On basic calculations 365×7=2555 days to enjoy your leave at their SC after u happily buy this highly praised china junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
    • Sammy Loo on Dec 03, 2015 at 4:37 pm

This is not an imported dimsum car, it is CKD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • wiwiwiwiw on Dec 03, 2015 at 1:44 pm

7-year warranty, for purchase this month only?
    Did GW just pulled a Proton to clear this year’s stock?

• Lifetime warranty on Dec 03, 2015 at 2:29 pm

No choice but Proton give 10 years warranty instead.

• Goodjobrpoton on Dec 04, 2015 at 8:30 pm

I heard Proton giving out lifetime warranty for any proton car and life time free maintenance, parts replacement and service. Good deal. The deal start from 31st Dec 2015,11:59pm to 1st Jan 2016 0:00am. You got 1 minute to buy but heard that all proton dealers close after 5pm…..

• Similar priced dinasaur persona come with 2 year warranty and not esc esp.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Everything looks ok to except its Logo

• Nenek Kau on Dec 03, 2015 at 2:06 pm

i dont think the company can last until 7 years from now….hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
    • Oh mak lu cina on Dec 03, 2015 at 3:03 pm

That above statement is TRUE if you are referring to PROTON.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
    • Plot Twist: GWM = Perodua, 7 years from now. No more Diehardsu. No More GWM.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Dec 03, 2015 at 2:09 pm

The entire Proton ecosystem is about enrichment of certain bumi. It’s not about producing competitive vehicles. There where DrM’s strategy has failed majority of Malaysians badly. So you end up with a high priced mediocre product that can’t compete with other brands that solely concentrate on vehicle development to produce the best quality at the cheapest price. For them to do that, they hire best brains irrespective of race and source from capable and high quality suppliers. So Proton’s formula was wrong from the start. Stop blaming others for your own failures.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 7
  • What’s the point of 7 or 10 years warranty if it spent most of its time in service centre and not on the road. Hopefully it is not the case with this car…but we need to wait and see first. Hopefully we’ll get honest feedback from owners soon.

• MWowner on Dec 04, 2015 at 8:34 pm

I got this car almost one year now. I spent total 3 hours at service centre for 3 normal schedule services. The car still live and kicking. But one important thing, mine one CBU from China, not the one CKD in Gurun, so not sure the quality are the same or not.

• John2 on Dec 03, 2015 at 3:41 pm

It is using Toyota Vios engine so it shouldnt be too bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Sammy Loo on Dec 03, 2015 at 4:42 pm

It is copying the Vios engine but it is not a Vios engine. The engine is developed by Great Wall. Good luck with it’s reliability, including the AMT.

Like I said, you won’t go wrong with sushi cars, it is common that people feel safe when knowing a new car is using a Toyota engine. Unfortunately it is not for Great Wall case.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
      • BorneoOilAndGasMan on Dec 04, 2015 at 12:08 pm

My younger brother’s GW M4 is 7months old and trouble free so far.
        My so-called TRD Sportivo Hilux on the other hand has had the rear right brake light malfunction and left front led drl replaced. Toyota my arse.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
        • Sammy Loo on Dec 04, 2015 at 12:49 pm

You judge a car with 7 months? Even a VW DSG 7 speed dry clutch gearbox will hardly fail you in 7 months time.

Good luck in the years to come and glad that you have chose the Hilux.

• toyotakanasai on Dec 04, 2015 at 8:38 pm

Rm50-60k for a car that moves you around is a decent buy. If u spend 100k for a problematic toyota WITH ITS TRADEMARK 2 AIR BAGS, even ori Sam Loo will hang himself.

• ilovetomyamchick on Dec 04, 2015 at 8:40 pm

sushi car my ass….this is tom yam assembled car already. Still dreaming? they put a toyota logo on the car and you think it is sushi car? lol….

• Japanese lapdog on Oct 18, 2016 at 1:16 am

Hello salesman, which sushi car i can get for 80k and what spec? I sure hope its not a milo tin either.

• ben yap on Dec 03, 2015 at 6:29 pm

proton remove 7 years warranty, great wall offer it in return….. LOL….

• old dog on Dec 03, 2015 at 10:42 pm

will get this over IRIZ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • BorneoOilAndGasMan on Dec 04, 2015 at 12:10 pm

I agree with your choice bro.

• labrat on Dec 04, 2015 at 2:32 pm

Happy chinese new year bro..nnti lepas pakai 1 tahun atau 2 tahun, bgitw kat semua org yer keta ni ok ke tak..semua org nak tw ni..hehehe..untung ada awak boleh jdi bahan eksperimen jugak nih!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
      • mantapnyamai on Dec 04, 2015 at 8:50 pm

satu tahun, masih cantek. ako 1st batch owner. Luar dan dalam masih solid. paling penting tak ade suara”kok-kok’ dalam kereta seperti apa yang u dengar dalam proton car lepas satu tahun. mantap.

• Legendary mitsubishi on Dec 04, 2015 at 6:51 pm

Does all the safety features are really working or not? Yeah, the Great Wall doesnt have any experience at all…and I can’t trust this AMT gearbox…the sparepart is also take a long time to arrive if this car got a problem..better take Iriz or iriz active in the future..more safe, more features and I think Iriz has more better suspension setup for comfortable driving

• legendmyass on Dec 04, 2015 at 8:43 pm

Yeah you are right, proton got tons of spare parts for your Iriz because they can only selling iriz in Malaysia. And few people buy it. So this car spare parts like a mountain in their store. You can get them in minutes. Congrats for your dream Iriz.

• Good Say on Dec 04, 2015 at 8:46 pm

I saw those Rm2 shop selling proton air filter and air con filter. Not RM2 but RM2.12 including GST. Great news for proton owners. I wonder next time I can buy the engine or whole car in RM2 shop.

• unlimited mileage. 7 years. WOW. good job GWM. udahlah spec bgs kereta cun harga pun murah. sgt2 bgs

• mrkthxbai on Dec 11, 2015 at 3:09 pm

yucks!!

• Stevy on Dec 13, 2015 at 10:31 am

Great Wall China actually a very famous car manufacturer in China. Especially in 4×4 category and they famous in building pickup and SUV. M4 is the low end model for affordable category and they already got latest update including cruise control and nicer steering wheel. But, Malaysian mindset still thinking that China products should be cheap and therefore we all bring in cheap level products. Don’t blame China, blame yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Herman on May 19, 2016 at 11:25 am

Yes…u got it right. The GWM has penetrate euro market and australian as well, not to mentioned korea, philippines and other asian markets too. They have been around for a long time actually, to be exact, since 1984, I think it is a bout a year older than Proton or any of our national car. The choice, at the end of the day is still individuals own preferences, u feel that Japanese or korean cars are still the best, get that but if your pockets says otherwise, I would take GWM as my choice as its quality and build I can say, at par with any established asian produced vehicles.