Mitsubishi Mirage facelift goes high tech in Thailand

Mitsubishi_Mirage_facelift_Thailand-1

Just unveiled for the US market in LA last month (labelled as a 2017 model, no less), the Mitsubishi Mirage facelift has been launched in Bangkok at the 2015 Thai Motor Expo. On top of its reworked design, the updated hatchback gets quite a few high tech additions too.

On the outside, you’d immediately see the new face – now with a proper grille. The headlights are bi-xenon items on higher-end variants, flanked by LED daytime running lights. New 15-inch wheels and LED taillights are all part of the visual update.

On the safety front, the facelifted Mirage gets Radar Sensing Misacceleration Mitigation System-Forward, as well as Forward Collision Mitigation System-Low Speed Range to match the latest Pajero Sport. Autonomous braking technology on a car as small and affordable as this (from 383,000 baht/RM45k) is unheard of before.

The car also features Active Stability Control, Hill Start Assist, ABS, EBD and BA. Airbag count, however, stays at just two.

Under the hood, the same 78 hp/100 Nm 1.2 litre three-cylinder engine and CVT gearbox combo is retained. Now though, it adheres to Euro 5 emissions standard, emits just 98 grammes of CO2 per kilometre and is claimed to average 23.8 km/l on the combined cycle.

So the question is, if the Mitsubishi Mirage arrives here in Malaysia with all the high tech additions intact, would you be interested?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• fast5 on Dec 03, 2015 at 2:45 pm

Yeah getting ready to order the clearance stock model… expect huge discounts !

• If the car arrives with all the safety and tech goodies intact I would be very keen to seriously look at this as an additional car for the family

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • whNot on Dec 03, 2015 at 4:02 pm

definitely interested

• Same L0rrr on Dec 03, 2015 at 4:12 pm

No regret when buy this sushi cars.. low FC, reliable engine & good RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • mat yun on Dec 03, 2015 at 4:53 pm

45k in Thailand, expect for 60k plus in Boleh land…

• Full spec..I am ok. Buy

• Urghh on Dec 03, 2015 at 8:07 pm

They’re using the current Attrage’s upper grille… so ugly.

• Chris Ong on Dec 03, 2015 at 10:05 pm

My wife is happy with the current outgoing Mirage. Good FC and ease for day to day commute. No regret.

• Nasi Lemak Managed Country on Dec 03, 2015 at 11:46 pm

Come to bolehland, become expensive or all the feature removed…. Bodoh land la… Sedih dgn nasi lemak managed country….hari2 mkn nasi lemak jadi nasi lemak… Otak pun penuh nasi lemak!!!!

• Yes we definitely waiting for efficient and high integrity leaders. Do our part in recognising and welcoming them. They are on their way here. But why must you equate the hopeless leaders with our beautiful, dependable and humble nasi lemak. You’re doing injustice and out rightly degrading our national symbol.

• Battu on Dec 04, 2015 at 9:26 am

hope can come to malaysia with all specs fully in tact. Finally got ESC.

• Malaysia boleh! on Dec 04, 2015 at 2:00 pm

The design is still ugly…proton iriz is far more beautiful than this…I dont care with that fc..but, that 1.2 litre engine sure make me stress and scary when try to overtake a lorry on uphill..I think Iriz is more safety too..its have 5 stars NCAP,6 airbags…with that annoying grille and ugly rear looking, I dont buy this car..Better buy Iriz and I really like the iriz semi bucket seat..Actually, I really can’t wait proton iriz 1.3 vvt turbo next year!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14