Volkswagen Selayang 4S Centre launched – second Volkswagen Technical Service Centre in Malaysia

Volkswagen 4S Selayang Technical Centre-01

Volkswagen Selayang 4S Centre has just been launched by Volkswagen Malaysia and Goh Brothers. The centre is also the country’s second Volkswagen Technical Service Centre. Cost to set up the centre amounts to approximately RM25 million. It has a staff-force of 30 personnel all together.

Comprising 55,000 square feet, the centre has a total of five floors, while the showroom has the capacity to display seven cars. It’s also the first-ever Volkswagen showroom in Malaysia that boasts a customer reception and lounge situated on the mezzanine floor. It is equipped with cable TV, WiFi internet, a business centre as well as a kids room.

Service bays are divided between three floors with a total of 20 work bays. In addition to that, it can be expanded to include another 18 bays over two other floors. Furthermore, the parts storage spans over four floors and measures over 3,000 square feet.

Volkswagen 4S Centre Selayang Launch-03-2

Goh Brothers has invested RM3 million on equipment, tools and manpower for the after-sales division. Another RM1.5 million has been spent on the Body & Paint workshop – it has two spray booths, two accident repair preparation bays, an alignment bench and a mechanical measuring system. Also present in the new centre are air-conditioned rooms dedicated to major engine repairs and build-up.

Additionally, RM1 million has been spent on tools and workshop equipment from Germany. Some of these tools include Volkswagen diagnose computer systems, battery testers, a special vehicle hoist and an Electro Kardiograms (EKG) that measures vehicle complaints in real-time and uploads it directly to research and development at the manufacturer, in Germany.

The new centre is situated at Taman Perindustrian Selayang, Batu 8 1/2, Jalan Ipoh, 68100, Batu Caves. The sales section is open from Monday to Friday from 9am to 5pm, Sunday and public holidays from 10am to 5pm. The after-sales section is open from Monday to Saturday from 8.30am to 5.30pm.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• alex chan on Dec 03, 2015 at 5:00 pm

nice!, i see much improved after sales service by VGM. a good effort indeed.

i`ve once send my jetta for clutch pack replacement (underwarranty) and they gave me a passat for a replacement.

yup, some people (as we know in Paul Tan there is soo many negative thinking mindset, all car brand will be bashed blindly) may experienced DSG issue. but those DSG and the twin charge engine is the reason i bought the jetta, ironic rite? :D

if you are looking for RV, peace of mind, old tech engine, mundane drive, high fuel consumption please go to toyota.

we only life once. and i`m enjoying it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 39
    • Hope they can make back the 25mil from the investment. Good luck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Vwistheworst on Dec 03, 2015 at 6:17 pm

Hey bro no amount of good service can cover a thoroughly unreliable product. And I am not just talking about engine or transmission. Aircond rain sensor bend lighting electronic brake and god knows whats next. Its your choice to be ignorant but you hv been warned!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
    • godcar the best on Dec 03, 2015 at 6:31 pm

Wait till yr warranty runs out. You will cry big time. Good luck. Remember to refinance your house or take personal loan ya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Jetta? Previously I tot I’m lucky as u. Clutch issue been fix in short time. Now…. engine issue. Bro, hopefully u get courtesy car when u send in nexnext round.

• Acrix on Dec 04, 2015 at 9:08 am

Be prepared for the future. You may say that now but wait till you have same clutch or DSG issue yearly and they run out of courtesy car for you. Your nightmare will truly start once warranty is over.
      This is speaking from experience where i had 2 DSG issue and leaking turbo within 2 years of ownership of a Scirocco 1.4TSI. Had to leave car in service center for 4 months total within 2 years of ownership.

• camtakpro on Dec 04, 2015 at 9:49 pm

DSG issue fixed. Isn’t it? Just put in mineral oil.

• Acrix on Dec 05, 2015 at 10:17 am

You think its fixed??? Go buy one VW with dry DSG and try for a year and see. I serviced my car on time each round and change mineral oil. Guess what???
          30000km first mechatronic issue and had to leave in service center for 6 weeks. No courtesy car.
          60000km second mechatronic issue and again had to leave at service center for 5 weeks and this time it takes the cake because DSG failed during my wedding day for heavens sake.
          After 2nd mechatronic issue i noticed loss of power and after checking the turbo is leaking.
          So i can tell you DSG IS NOT FIXED. It is still an ongoing problem regardless if its on mineral oil or not.
          My brother brand new Golf 1.4 TSI bought in late 2014 and guess what. DSG issue occured when its not even 1 year old. So do you still think the god damn DSG is fixed??
          Don’t talk crap when you have not owned a VW before!

• Smlok on Dec 09, 2015 at 6:31 am

This is true my bro golf tsi mechatronic issue recurring every 30k cycle, this is so wired

• Smlok on Dec 09, 2015 at 6:27 am

No worry just standby one Myvi every thing will be fine

• William on Jun 22, 2018 at 4:59 pm

Me too. I love the dsg and the twin charge engine. I got my mechatronic changed at 102k km, alternator changed at 107k km n clutch pack at 114k km. All under warranty but i only hv courtesy car once when i claim the alternator due to long waiting for parts. Anyway i m enjoying the car performance.

• Already no people buying, what for opening new centre?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
    • alldisc on Dec 03, 2015 at 6:12 pm

2-3 yrs back… Yes, 20 bays will be useful and fully optimized. Anyway, goh brothers also have another 5 VW outlet… In Ipoh and Penang. 1 in klang if not mistaken.

They are also authorized dealer for Toyota (telagamas) and Lexus (Penang).

Money is not an issue.

• chris ho on Dec 03, 2015 at 5:22 pm

My rattle remain unsolved after 2 and a half years and 8 times repair attempt.

I have been contacting VGM on this issue and there is no one in the office taking any responsibility. They keep on passing it onto another person in charge until my complaint disappear or purposely lost in their system.

Does Paul Tan team know anyone in VGM service team? Appreciate if you can provide a solid contact

• alldisc on Dec 03, 2015 at 6:15 pm

If not mistaken, VW TTDI by Cergaz Autohaus is the first to have reception and waiting on mezzanine floor. This was 5 yrs ago.

• Zoom Zoom on Dec 03, 2015 at 6:40 pm

When sales good (>1000 per month) you take your customers for granted & play tai chi…

Now sales drop to 395 units/month then only start to worry , give huge discounts & improving.

Good luck in bringing back your customers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • kinokuniyah on Dec 03, 2015 at 9:03 pm

once bitten, twice shy……

never again buying a VW…..

Service really sucks and dissapointing.

• german engineering at its best, semua kena tipu..conti car konon..

• i talked to one of the toureg owner, he bought it for 400++k and after 2 years of owning, he managed to sold it for 67K. always break down, even the owner did not dare to drive it far from the house, worried it might break down. told me better go for reliable car after so much losses

• ahmad ariff on Dec 04, 2015 at 12:16 pm

a good car with a lousy after sales service, THAT’S FOR SURE !!!.. i currently owned a cross touran & a polo sedan which currently sit’s idle at F.A Wagen P.J, waiting spare parts from Singapore to arrive, & can you imagine it’s already 2 weeks now!.. it’s only because of only coolant system problem…

• THey will pusing your warranty and parts kao kao…..

• Wow……hopefully they wont pusing here and there.

• Unhappy VW owner on Nov 24, 2016 at 2:36 pm

All Bullshiting , a simple leakage problem still cannot tackle , my car had send multiple of time fr repair and problem still exists .