Peugeot 308 THP Active bookings open – RM121k est.

Peugeot_308_THP_Active-1

The order books for the new Peugeot 308 THP Active are now open after the C-segment hatchback was previewed in showrooms not too long ago. The 308 Active still carries an estimated price tag of RM120,888, and enters the model range just below the standard 308 THP.

Being more affordable than the original sole variant that was introduced back in August 2015, the 308 Active relinquishes a few features and equipment to reflect its price tag.

Starting with what is retained, the 308 Active’s powertrain setup still consists of a 1.6 litre four-cylinder twin-scroll turbocharged engine paired to an Aisin-sourced AT6 six-speed torque converter automatic transmission (with Quickshift). The petrol mill still outputs 150 hp at 5,000 rpm and 240 Nm from 1,450 rpm.

As for the list of changes, the exterior of the 308 Active now sees the use of halogen reflector headlights instead full LED ones. They still retain their automatic on/off function. The bumper has also been modified to accommodate the repositioned LED daytime running lights and fog lamps, with the front parking sensors being omitted.

The 308 Active now comes with smaller 17-inch “Rubis” alloy wheels this time round, instead of the larger 18-inch “Sapphire” wheels on the current model. The changes affecting the wheels extends to the spare in the boot as well, which is now a full size steel one instead of a full size alloy spare. The chrome window lining has also been removed here.

Other exterior changes on the 308 Active include the absence of a keyless entry system (with push start), as evident by the keyholes near the door handles. At the rear, the reverse camera has also been removed, but the reverse sensors are still retained.

Inside, the Peugeot i-Cockpit is still present, albeit with a few changes. The trip computer display screen is now of the monochrome variety compared to the full-colour one used in the current model.

Eleswhere, the Alcantara sport seats are now reupholstered as fabric ones instead. The driver-side seats now lose their electric massage and lumbar function as well. Both front seats are still manually-adjustable as before. Looking up, the panoramic roof has been removed as well.

On the other hand, many other features are retained here. This includes the 9.7-inch HD touchscreen infotainment unit, 3D Arkamys sound system with six speakers and electronic parking brake.

Safety-wise, the 308 THP Active holds on to its impressive safety suite with six airbags (dual front, side, curtain) and ESP. However, driver assistance systems that include dynamic cruise control, emergency collision alert and emergency collision braking aren’t available here.

A total of five colours are available for the Peugeot 308 THP Active – Pearl White (RM1,590 option), Rouge Red (what you see here), Mocha Brown, Artense Grey and Nera Black. The new Pug, with its competitive price positions it to compete against the Ford Focus, that is priced from RM113k.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• DennisY on Dec 07, 2015 at 6:03 pm

I own a Pug 308thp. Many niggling problems, incompetent SC and feels like Pr*t*n Edar kind of service quality and consultation. Yes it handles much better than the japanese in the same class but what’s the point you had to worry perpetually on the faults and dread the SC. “Motion and Emotion” konon. “No motion, all emotion” more like it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • Peugeot on Dec 08, 2015 at 10:10 am

When you are pissed and jumping up and down, waving your fist, screaming, that’s Motion. So Motion an Emotion is correct, bro…

• lowprofile (Member) on Dec 08, 2015 at 1:59 pm

Which model/version do you own?

• DennisY on Dec 08, 2015 at 3:08 pm

Year 2011. Sensor problems… Oxygen sensor, gear sensor, temperature sensor, thp pump issue, engine faults. Yes covered under warranty but each time my car sits at least 3 days at SC (bluebox) .. And sometimes they “forgot” to diagnose. It was a nightmare during my 3years warranty period

• Nasim’s estimated prices are always 5-15k more than the actual OTR…

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 07, 2015 at 6:43 pm

Too expensive for too little spec. At RM110k might be able to sell a bit better

• I’ll see you at 110K for the full-spec in another year.

• Gaviny on Dec 07, 2015 at 7:51 pm

People seem to have wizened up to pijot cars, almost never see any 308 on the road, but Volkswagen still enjoy good sales

• 1formymaid on Dec 07, 2015 at 8:04 pm

Wah so cheap I want 10!

• 2016 civic please

• Sam Loo ( ori1 ) on Dec 07, 2015 at 9:56 pm

Get an Elantra instead.

• Onanodus on Dec 07, 2015 at 11:05 pm

The headlights are manual-levelling, not auto-levelling.

• James May on Dec 08, 2015 at 5:46 am

The new 308 is actually a really good car performance, looks and value for money but this dumb down spec model is really appalling and takes away the awesome features that you want to buy the car in the first place . My recommendation if you are considering to get this car, go find a dealer that sell the full spec, older stock unit and fork out an RM4-5K extra (totally worth the extra investment)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
    • Sammy Loo on Dec 08, 2015 at 12:30 pm

or you can get a used full spec unit after 2 years with only 50k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • FIST (Member) on Dec 08, 2015 at 7:28 am

Pass

• car enthusiast on Dec 08, 2015 at 7:52 am

If you are wise consumer by all means avoid this car as well the dieselgate problem brand. No to say this brand of car is not good its just that this type of car has series of complaints and problems and last of all resale value is so bad you virtually will burn a big hole in your pocket. Always be smart consumer and buy a toyota altis or wait for the new honda civic. Just look at the sales results. Follow the crowd and be wise in your decision. A car is a heavy liability. Be smart in your choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • komarad on Dec 08, 2015 at 9:44 am

what! no panoramic roof?? cancel booking…

• Dr Mamak on Dec 08, 2015 at 10:02 am

I still won’t buy from AP King.

• Sammy Loo on Dec 08, 2015 at 10:54 am

Reliability, resale value are definitely the concern for most car buyers in Malaysia. This is why the Japanese is outstanding here.

This Pug will definitely hurt your pocket a lot when you wanted (or forced) to sell later.

• jobless on Dec 08, 2015 at 1:55 pm

They got greedy increasing prices by Rm30k from old 308…nw they panicking as stoks sitting in showroom collecting dust

• I own a facelifted 308t. It is a good car indeed.
    Powerful and decent safety features for the price.
    So far face minor prob. Handled well by sc.
    So worth buying if not bother the resell value.
    Good too as you pay less insurance fee.

• Drop so many features still so expensive, ptuihh.

• Chong on Jan 24, 2016 at 2:21 pm

Anyone want this 308THP full spec please write to me, I have one six months old can sell you at 120k. You can choose your brand new number plate.