SPYSHOTS: 2016 Proton Perdana seen from the side

2016 Proton Perdana spyshot

By now we’ve seen so many spyshots of the 2016 Proton Perdana that it feels almost trite posting them here. However, these new photos sent in by reader Farizul Jaafar do show the new flagship D-segment sedan in a slightly different perspective.

This is the first time we’re seeing the new Perdana flat from the side, giving us a better view to properly take in the new proportions. From here, it’s clear that most of the 150 mm length increase over the donor eighth-generation Honda Accord (4,999 mm vs 4,849 mm) has come from the rear of the car, with the glasshouse stretched at the rear to suit. The result is a more elegant-looking profile, even if it does look rather rear-heavy.

Other things to note on this particular mule are the poor-fitting Accord head- and tail lights standing in for the production Perdana’s bespoke units, along with a rear bumper that looks closer to the Accord’s than the sportier item with twin integrated exhaust exits that will actually go on. The character line along the side also looks to be lower here than on the Honda, although that could really just be an illusion created by cladding.

2016 Proton Perdana spyshot

It’s confirmed that the 2016 Perdana will be built at Proton’s Medium Volume Factory in Shah Alam, alongside the Exora MPV (the current government-use version is assembled at Honda Malaysia’s plant in Melaka).

Engine wise, it’s set to retain Honda’s 154 hp/189 Nm R20A3 2.0 and 177 hp/222 Nm K24Z2 2.4 litre i-VTEC engines – for now, at least. Both engines will be mated to a five-speed automatic transmission. The Perdana will be offered to civilian buyers in the first quarter of 2016.

GALLERY: 2016 Proton Perdana teased

GALLERY: 2016 Proton Perdana rendered

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• What makes proton any different from Trumpchi? They are both making cars based on an old car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 52
    • domesticsales on Dec 07, 2015 at 6:34 pm

why dont u mention perodua as well?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
      • there’s a difference between rebadging & redeveloping a last gen platform.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
        • karam singh on Dec 08, 2015 at 4:33 pm

yeah.. true that,
          this old Honda accord platform have very good safety rating & handling.
          compared to the new Accord, just some material change & simple redesign , lighter around 30kg of the old platform.

• Proton license built and improve on it, others just steal. Thats the difference.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
    • bodopiang on Dec 07, 2015 at 8:09 pm

Who cares, cars can be built from old platform like Ford C1 platform for present Biante!

• Jimmy on Dec 07, 2015 at 9:24 pm

Nothing is wrong with that, think some more.

But, the rims and wheels look tiny, these make the butt ultra lengthy, disproportionately.

Put a dark colour lower lid to the rear bumper to make it look slanted, like the previous generation Mazda6.

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 07, 2015 at 9:29 pm

i must say it is better than my son saga but still a junk no RV car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 24
      • karam singh on Dec 08, 2015 at 4:37 pm

FYI, this car have better safety rating than the new Camry.
        Go to youtube, search ‘camry iihs’
        watch it yourself. compared it to the accord.
        I don’t care about RV, I care more of my safety.
        Old camry got POOR rating, new camry got only ‘Acceptable’.

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 08, 2015 at 12:20 am

From Preve, Suprima S till Iriz, we see something in common: so much patterns and shows before launch, so much Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok after launch, so little sales, every quarter big discount free gift here and there.
      Aren’t you guys bored of these grandma story cycle?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 34
      • karam singh on Dec 08, 2015 at 4:45 pm

D-segment king of safety – Accord.
        Mazda 6, Camry,Teana,- rating acceptable.
        Only the Accord got Good rating.

*japs D-segment only
        so,me also getting bored of SamLoo RV things.
        Please focus on safety.
        always bodykits here & there.TRD this, TRD that
        still slower than others.
        why dont give better safety?

• I’m bored of ur grandma story cycle

• Mozilla Chrome on Dec 07, 2015 at 5:25 pm

They should launch this car soon and price it less than RM100K or this car would not stand a chance against 2016 Civic which is all new inside out.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 15
    • Civic is C segment while the perdana is D segment.

• Mozilla Chrome on Dec 08, 2015 at 10:35 am

Yes, this Accordana is D-Segment while 2016 Civic is C-Segment. But then 2016 Civic gains extra height,length and width compared to its predecessor, thus the size is comparable to the Accordana. Furthermore, most Malaysians purchase car based on the price range (read: value for money), not by segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
        • karam singh on Dec 08, 2015 at 4:39 pm

But…. new Civic only have CVT

• Mimau on Dec 08, 2015 at 6:36 pm

I dont think Civic will reach 5m length like this Accordana.. that’s S-class size.

• Bristol on Dec 08, 2015 at 8:19 pm

That’s y Malaysian not educated in buy car in segment. FYI, EEV also based on segment.

• Civic is C segment car, you want to compare it with Accord size car?

• alldisc on Dec 10, 2015 at 5:47 pm

price wise applies to our market.

as usual national D segment is priced similar to Japanese C segment and was evident between year 2000-2006 when PV6 was sold at 103K while corollas and civic sold between 100-120K

• Albert on Dec 07, 2015 at 8:12 pm

Those used car dealers holding on to the 2007-2010 Accord will get competition from this Accordana,if it is priced around Rm90K plus.
      One thing for sure,those hardcore fanboys will place their bookings even tho delivery may be later.After all,it is a Honda engine without any PUNCH CVT cursed gearbox.
      A Perdana with a Honda engine carries some weight,but how many can afford the rm90-100K price tag? They cant lower it to rm70K cos Suprima will kaput.
      I dont see Proton coming out of the woods with just one socalled ”new car”(a rebadge job).
      One used car dealer advertised in MUDAH a Proton Iriz 1.6 2014 model(premium model) for rm 40K.In other words,the seller traded in his Iriz at around rm33K!!! In 1 year he rugi rm27K!!!.
      Sam loor must be very happy to see the very low resale value of Iriz 1.6 CVT premium model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
      • Don’t dream. Heard that the cost to produce is already more than 90K. Meaning that selling price should be more than 140k on the road. Better buy Sonata or optima or the ori Honda accord.

• carlies on Dec 07, 2015 at 8:50 pm

Exactly. But frankly, Proton had lost all the golden opportunities to grab the market back as they are not market-sensitive at all.

Their reaction are too slow and incompetence where a rumoured “All New Proton Perdana” decade ago and now still camouflaged heavily. Good luck Proton.

Better prepare a grave than a launching. No one looking at this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
      • lowprofile (Member) on Dec 08, 2015 at 8:01 am

There are perhaps many waiting for it. Perhaps only the few in here are negative and not looking forward to it. Haven’t seen it yet, won’t know right? Good to give it the benefit of the doubt. Could be much better than what is thought. Could also be one that could actually hold its value because it is a Honda underneath.

• fed up fella on Dec 07, 2015 at 8:56 pm

Don’t mind me saying this,but the Perdana is a D-segment car which is set to be a rival for Honda Accord and Toyota Camry… Pricing it above 100k but somewhere around the Honda Civic’s price should be good enough to challenge Honda and Toyota

• Can dream only. Heard that the production costs per unit is already more than 90K. selling price should be around 140 – 150K. how to sell? this price bracket is dominated by SUVs. Better buy the original Honda Accord.

• Bruise on Dec 08, 2015 at 8:24 pm

As usual the Perdana car price juz below 30k from lower spec Camry. So new Perdana should be the cheapest D segment car in Malaysia.

• wish the best on Dec 07, 2015 at 5:46 pm

we wish them the best

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 9
  • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 290
    • Hello on Dec 07, 2015 at 6:58 pm

Proton fans will say handling is superb. But theyve never driven a real drivers car before.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 30
    • Deathcrane on Dec 07, 2015 at 7:39 pm

Your comment is brainless. No fact, only hatred due no money to buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • redidiot on Dec 07, 2015 at 8:02 pm

Oh… Kalau egineer local, tigasuku la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • lotusftw on Dec 07, 2015 at 8:12 pm

Lol old Accord no Lotus RnH. Jap cars handling sucks.

• Hello on Dec 08, 2015 at 8:51 am

Proton fans never even driven a lotus before. Funny lot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
      • Richard Johnathan Lim on Dec 08, 2015 at 9:11 pm

Japanese D Segment car’s handling are not the best, with an exception of the older generation Honda Accords and the 2nd and 3rd generation Mazda 6.Unfortunately, the 9th generation Accord is worse than the 8th generation.If the 8th generation Accord is sporty, added the Lotus Ride and Handling, the new Perdana will be a great handling car.

• Jimmy on Dec 07, 2015 at 9:27 pm

Modify for the sake of modification is berpandai-pandai; only tin setengah penuh does that.

btw, I agreed with you.

Maybe not even tiga suku, it is probably one-third.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • Proton 15% TIV in 2015 on Dec 07, 2015 at 11:26 pm

Butt hurt fanboys thumb down you more than 200 times, wow!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
    • Same L0rrrr on Dec 08, 2015 at 12:21 am

Agree, the more it stick to original model, it still better (wira). No rebadge (suprima s) = no sales at all!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
      • Bruise on Dec 08, 2015 at 2:04 am

Suprima S more than ur Lexus enough

• Aik, now compare with Lexus pulak? Not the new Vios meh?
          Btw how many Suprima sold last month?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • wiwiwiwiw on Dec 07, 2015 at 6:08 pm

Just how many people do they need to tease (bodek Mahathir) the Perdana?

• andrekua on Dec 07, 2015 at 6:14 pm

Tun kept yelling Proton are capable of this and that and now they are trying to sell you an OLD car for a new price.

Dont mistake me, because generally I dont hate re-branding as long as it make it affordable. However, trying to sell an OLD car for a new price and call it the nation pride, well, thats something that even I cant stomach.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • lowprofile (Member) on Dec 08, 2015 at 8:09 am

Let’s put it this way, no donor company will ever give the latest models to another company for re-branding unless it owns that company. It will always be an old platform or a combination of old engine and transmissions. Seriously, this is the way business works unless again, you have huge numbers to commit, Honda wouldn’t give the latest as it too needs to make sure that their model survives in the market. So, Honda needs to have the competitive edge of a newer model while they give the older one to Proton. I think the ‘new’ price they sell it will probably still be lower than the price Honda asked for when they sold that model back then.

• poor people on Dec 07, 2015 at 6:22 pm

price should star at 75k

• Should have extend the wheelbase to make it look nice.

• Muhammad on Dec 07, 2015 at 6:42 pm

All da best to your Mr M and your Proton. I pray that you close shop after this model. I wish this will be the last Proton model in Malaysia soil. The car market in our beloved land will be so much more vibrant and cheerful without you poisoning us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
  • seancorr (Member) on Dec 07, 2015 at 6:43 pm

Yep it looks weird, the rear end is too long

• Tadalaku 1M on Dec 07, 2015 at 7:42 pm

aiyoo, no need to be secretive or mysterious, Proton.
    Proton seem to be syoik sendiri everytime there was a “new” launch.

Everyone knows this car is cut & paste from somewhere, somehow. Nothing is new, nothing to shout about.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
    • lowprofile (Member) on Dec 08, 2015 at 8:13 am

Just curious, how do you know it is cut and paste without even seeing it yet?

• DPCraft on Dec 07, 2015 at 7:51 pm

Eh, rear looks a bit different from the rendering.

• Nabei on Dec 07, 2015 at 8:05 pm

Frm side, looks like My grandfather s Kingswood

• Aero (Member) on Dec 07, 2015 at 8:09 pm

It looks very promising, but I think the lesson here is that Proton must improve the quality and reliability of their new cars, and revamp their Proton Edar aftersales.

The problem now is that Proton’s newer models like the Prevé, Suprima and Iriz are all very nice, safe and competitive, but they are not selling very well. It’s not because they’re bad cars, it’s because Proton’s quality control and aftersales is a joke. Why do you think UMWT and Perodua is doing so well even when their cars are overpriced milo tins ? It’s because their QC and aftersales are miles ahead of Proton. Malaysians don’t care about airbags and ESC, we care A LOT MORE about quality and efficiency.

From what I’ve seen since 2012, Proton has hardly improved their aftersales and only marginally improved their quality control. The Prevé and Suprima is so unreliable, just check the owners groups on Facebook like PREVOC. Not even 3 years old, already got a whole list of problems. As for the Iriz, it’s still too early to say whether Proton’s QC improved under DRB-HICOM’s management, but I’m not holding my breath. I do not expect Proton’s cars to be bulletproof, I know that Proton cannot afford to sign contracts with the best vendors and dealers, they have limited cash reserves. But most Malaysians won’t care, and won’t empathise, so Proton will have to go all out and not depend on the sympathy of their supporters. Don’t forget, Proton has far more haters than supporters, we are a vanishing minority.

I think Proton should concentrate on making their cars more reliable first and foremost. If they can make less problematic cars, their service centres would have fewer problems to fix, hence aftersales is indirectly improved.

Proton must understand that all the airbags and safety modules will not make up for shoddy quality control and aftersales. The new Perdana had better be reliable, or else all the toys and safety kit will not convince anyone to buy the new Perdana over a Vios or City.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
    • Shamgti on Dec 08, 2015 at 1:49 am

My 2013 preve exec 5 times remap ecu and tcu la..from the day i bought until now got a lot of pblem,cannot climb genting highland road.Malu la..No rv.

• alldisc on Dec 08, 2015 at 9:50 am

It is quite heavy for a 1.6 engine without VVT and using CVT where a lot of torque is wasted at low rpm.

The turbocharged spec fares a lot better

• blackgenius007 on Dec 07, 2015 at 8:20 pm

Why make the boot sooooooo looooong??

• old dog on Dec 07, 2015 at 10:36 pm

reports already shown SUV sale will over take Sedan…and Protong still waste time in this sedan…oh wait, they have government buying at least…
    Why building a product cant sell out of the country? what kind of proud is that?

• Dr Mamak on Dec 07, 2015 at 11:22 pm

Power windows how?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • Bruise on Dec 08, 2015 at 2:07 am

Yala…caveman, no more issue already, now better than Toyota that cause fire lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • lowprofile (Member) on Dec 08, 2015 at 12:05 pm

Its a Honda. Honda power windows how? Should answer your question.

• rakyat jelata on Dec 08, 2015 at 5:10 am

proton should do more rebadge rather than develop car from ground up.. its cheaper, and the price should be cheaper to.

• Yes Im sure there a lot of dignity to re-design bumpers and skirt unlike those mods shops, right?

• CarmenTung on Dec 08, 2015 at 7:26 am

I hope it equipped with all modern safety equipment like blind spot assist, lane assist and 360 monitor cam else I better opt for KIA.

• car enthusiast on Dec 08, 2015 at 7:56 am

Proton has reach a stage that it really needs to improve its brand image. With so much intense competition consumers are flooded with so much choices these days. Improvements after improvements are being belted out very often. Launching this car head on against two giants ie Accord and Camry will be giant task not only in pricing but brand image. The market segment will be those who are driving a C segment and wish to upgrade.

• Gaboi on Dec 08, 2015 at 8:11 am

I will buy this perdana. then i will replace the head lamp, bumper and badge to Honda Accord. So then i will feel drive the Honda Accord like the Perodua kancil to Daihatsu Mira.. or Myvi to Passo

• Bruise on Dec 08, 2015 at 8:28 pm

Unfortunately, the outer look is totally different. Myvi can do so bcos is same outer look with Passo or Sirion

• fuzikawa on Dec 08, 2015 at 8:20 am

You can do better that what’s written up there bashers. Your comments are getting more pathetic each day..C’mon.

• CrazyMobilo on Dec 08, 2015 at 9:09 am

Very Appealing car.. Hope its is spec lives up to the hu-ha going on..
    Would love to get 1 on year end reduction price soon.

• Asian Jaguar on Dec 08, 2015 at 9:59 am

It looks different especially the C-pillar door window kink.

Maybe Proton got jolted by harsh comments on the previewed ugly rear buttocks design, quickly do redesign all over again and discarding the whole idea of copying Jaguar.

Finally Proton swallow their pride and listen to critics? Hehehehe

• fuzikawa on Dec 08, 2015 at 3:52 pm

It doesnt take days to change the mold and dies if you really understand automotive industry. Proton did a Camo, well that’s possible.

• Vincent Ang on Dec 08, 2015 at 12:02 pm

Please kill the Thundercat logo and improve your product quality.

• nomoneygobuyplotong on Dec 08, 2015 at 3:29 pm

Aiyaaaaa… No talking2…. No money go buy plotong maaa… Plotong gives free oso i dun wan..

• The interior juz same with Optima design, go google search the Optima interior, very very cun wor

• nomoneygobuyplotong on Dec 08, 2015 at 3:35 pm

Plotong put big tires, can go 190kmh.
    Change rims, can go 210kmh.
    Put a front lip, can go 250kmh.
    Put a back spoiler, can go 300kmh.
    Lastly put a big sticker ‘PLOTONG OWNER CLUB’, can go 420kmh maaa…
    Hehehee… Sangat sayang sama keleta loo..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • akoo (Member) on Dec 09, 2015 at 8:51 am

why they stop the car at right lane in highway?
    what happened?