Taxi drivers get defensive after poor poll results, say Uber and GrabCar offer no insurance; SPAD blamed

Malaysia-Taxi-01

With results of a Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) online poll recently showing that 70.3% of its 42,265 voters favour the regulation of ride-sharing services and apps, taxi associations have begun pointing fingers at its regulators.

A report by The Star quoted several unhappy taxi drivers who said that Uber and GrabCar’s services do not offer its customers insurance. It was also stressed that the betterment of their service is SPAD’s responsibility.

“If an accident happens, who will pay?” asked Federal Territories and Selangor Taxi Association president Datuk Aslah Abdullah. “They want nice cars and a service that comes in five minutes. But, the consequence is, who will pay?” Aslah told the English daily.

It was also reported that because Uber and GrabCar’s drivers mostly have private insurance arrangements, they would not be able to claim for any damages because ride-sharing is deemed a commercial activity.

Malaysia-Taxi-02

The SPAD poll also revealed that 89.1% of its voters were unhappy with taxi drivers overcharging customers and not using their meters. Also, another 86.1% had previously used ride-sharing apps before, and 71.3% found these services more reliable than taxis.

Deputy chairman Kamarudin Mohd Hussain of the Malaysian Taxi Drivers’ Transformation Association (PERS1M) suggests that SPAD is to be blamed for Uber and GrabCar’s rise. By not improving the service, public demand for these ride-sharing services grew.

Apriman Darlis, secretary for the Kuala Lumpur and Selangor Application Taxi Drivers Association (PERTAPPS) said that it was SPAD’s responsibility to educate its drivers about not cheating their customers. He was referring to the 89.1% of voters who were unhappy with drivers overcharging customers.

Aslah echoed the secretary’s statement, saying that taxi drivers would not cheat their customers if SPAD’s enforcement on them was a lot stronger. He also said that public passengers should not encourage these cheating drivers by getting into these taxis and agreeing to pay their high prices.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• joyah on Dec 07, 2015 at 10:13 am

hahahahahahahahaha..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 131 Thumb down 2
    • Nazee on Dec 07, 2015 at 11:01 am

Ridiculous people. Especially that clown who say its the fault of lack of enforcement. I could take his statement to also mean if police did not exist all taxi drivers would automatically rape and kill their customers and its only by having enforcement that they will refrain from that???

The guy doesn’t even deserve to run a stall at a kopitiam much less a taxi association.

Pity the honest taxi drivers who have to put up with these baboon like bosses.

He want enforcement? Okla let citizens have the power to make citizen arrest on taxi who doesn’t use meter and make sure they get JAIL for 3 month minimum for the offence.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 143 Thumb down 2
      • Gold Avanza on Dec 07, 2015 at 1:33 pm

How about a non profit car pooling app? Driver gets paid. Platform maintained. Maybe got some money left for a willing passenger insurer. Let’s do it if it can kill the gangster taxis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Stop accusing. Go blame SPAD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 41
  • jobless on Dec 07, 2015 at 10:16 am

From the way most taxi drivers drive i tink passengers r more likely to be invloved in accidents compared to uber etc…wats the use of insurance if the passenger does not live or serious injury

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 1
  • Nasi Lemak Managed things on Dec 07, 2015 at 10:16 am

Gangster Taxi 1 Malaysia ni buat lawak la! Kakaakaka!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 2
  • Winner on Dec 07, 2015 at 10:19 am

Losers always get defensive and complains and blame God or oters….winners seek to improve themselves, than God will oso help u

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 1
  • Jay Law on Dec 07, 2015 at 10:20 am

i have persona insurance, nty taxi drivers

• Carpool on Dec 07, 2015 at 10:29 am

Emmm, so car pooling must be free? If my collegues pay me back its considered “commercial”?

I wonder if these comments will put off car poolers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • C.P.MOHAN on Dec 07, 2015 at 10:34 am

If serious about improvements start by not blaming others. if insurance is the issue then fix your dissatisfaction on this issue and just like to know what is the insured amount for a passenger(s) injured/killed in a taxi accident and will non-metering in taxi nullify/loophole for insurance claims.

• It’s a challenge to the traditional taxi’s way of doing business. Instead of pointing fingers and pouting however, they should ponder on the public’s view of their service and change whatever that needs to be changed gradually and surely. React with innovation and out-of-the-box thinking instead of whining and threatening. Sit down with SPAD and Uber/Grabcar and create a better service. It’s shameful to call yourselves Taxi Drivers’ Transformation Association and do mainly complaining. Transform yourself. It’ll take time to alter the public’s perception of your service but take the steps now. Gain the public’s support. You can’t stop change.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
  • Mann Bell on Dec 07, 2015 at 10:36 am

they’re still acting like they r the king. they’re not wrong not even one bit. everybody else is wrong except them. very very ignorant!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
  • Anonymous on Dec 07, 2015 at 10:38 am

My message to the taxi association. El Stupido!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • Kenneth Fook on Dec 07, 2015 at 10:44 am

Boy Boy, arent we all surprised by these jokers respond. Dont even need to be doing the survey in the first place. Everyone knows how sucks these cab drivers get.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Thinkonit on Dec 07, 2015 at 10:50 am

On insurance issue : Does anyone realise that if you have an accident with a public taxi and traffic police confirms taxi driver is at FAULT. You CANNOT claim his insurance for your car repairs. You have to claim own insurance and loose NCB! Isn’t it nonsence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
    • MeToo on Dec 07, 2015 at 12:03 pm

Strange.

I was in a 4 car pile up. I was the 3rd car, the last car was a TAXI.

The result, all 3 cars SUCCESSFULLY claimed the Taxi for damages.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • I disagree. My family car had an accident where the taxi jumped a red light and banged our car. The taxi driver refuses to pay and even encouraged us to lodge a police report because he says we cannot claim from his insurance anyway. Sure enough we made a police report and its made known that the taxi was at fault but the insurance company refuses to allow us to claim from them.

Conclusion is you cannot claim taxi insurance even if they are at fault

• maseratista on Dec 07, 2015 at 3:52 pm

i think you got a crappy insurance company. in my case i banged a taxi because he uturned in an illegal area. make a police report (the taxi was at fault) and my insurance company handled the rest after that. even got my car back in less than 2 weeks because i said to my insurance agent that is my only car. hey, maybe i got lucky?

• Anonymous on Dec 07, 2015 at 5:38 pm

Did you really check which side’s of insurance was being claimed? Of course you can get the repairs with insurance claim but the point is, taxi’s or yours.

• maseratista on Dec 07, 2015 at 9:19 pm

obviously i checked. even renewed my policy with ncd intact (55%). I checked and confirmed everything with my agent thoroughly stage by stage from just after the accident, at the police station and he even update me of the arrival of the tow truck (dont ever get a random one at the police station). im still thankful that i got a good one. all im saying is that it is alot more job to do compared to conventional private-private accident but definitely not impossible. hassle your insurance company and agent to get things done.

• camtakpro on Dec 08, 2015 at 7:11 am

Most likely the taxi is directly under SPAD gangster association.

• thinkonit on Dec 07, 2015 at 3:17 pm

Well, it happen 3 years ago on our company car.
        Taxi’s insurance group is like govt vehicles, public buses, army vehicles. Cannot claim from them as inform by our insurance. Probably taxi belongs to crony taxi companies.

• love_uber on Dec 07, 2015 at 2:44 pm

I agreed to thinkonit. we couldn’t claim taxi insurance even they in fault.

I hate them drive reckless, jump queue and drive very slow in middle of two lane. purposely blocking the traffic.

• Most taxi driver r low life creature even below the garbage collector. on Dec 08, 2015 at 2:16 pm

I hate them too..they did all this on purpose. U can tell looking at thier mirror. Thats y god make the asphalt their second home. Bless them to Eat shit n sleep along the road the whole life. No way out.

• Let the dogs bark at full capacity

• Malaysians on Dec 07, 2015 at 10:57 am

Don’t twist another thing out. Solve the real issue 1st then only talk next. Customer need confort ride not hooligan ride like being kidnap to ride roller coaster

• “He also said that public passengers should not encourage these cheating drivers by getting into these taxis and agreeing to pay their high prices.” … and that’s what the public is doing. So what’s the complaint again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • Kelvin Yam on Dec 07, 2015 at 11:01 am

“It was SPAD’s responsibility to educate its drivers about not cheating their customers.”
    Budak sekolah rendah ke? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
    • To protect taxi drivers right…….but they barely did their job……even do also like a joke pointing n blaming ppl on weak stand

• ben yap on Dec 07, 2015 at 11:03 am

if educating the taxi drivers is SPAD’s responsibility, than what are these associations for?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • This is what called “TAXI LOGiC!!”

• For people that refuse to use meter in a beat-up junk, it is amusing that they are so concern about insurance suddenly.
    Btw we as passenger also not worry about the insurance, dia orang mau sibuk apa?

• who says uber doesn’t provide insurance? check your facts la dei..

• Typical bn government style of thinking, never review themself but blame to other. Anything happen is not their fault.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Now it sounds like a theft was blaming police department did not educate them not to commit crime

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • seancorr (Member) on Dec 07, 2015 at 11:54 am

Haha so they admit they cheat people and they suck big time. So what about Uber which runs without any enforcement and the drivers are good n the cars are nice? Nothing to say about that?

• Amelia on Dec 07, 2015 at 12:10 pm

Fistly, the fact that SPAD exists is a problem. SPAD only regulates public transport and is directly under Jabatan Perdana Menteri.

This is stupid. Why do we have a separate organisation to control public transport when we already have JPJ which is responsible for all things road related? JPJ means Jabatan Pengangkutan Jalan and public transport should be under “Pengangkutan Jalan”!

Why does SPAD report the the Jabatan Pedana Menteri instead of Kementerian Pengangkutan? The ministry that is supposed to be in charge of transport has no control over the organisation that controls public transport!

The truth is, SPAD exists so that the Prime Minister can assign some UMNO Ketua Bahagian to lead SPAD and “cari makan” that way in exchange for support of his people within UMNO. This is because SPAD has the authority to issue licences, permits, etc to bus and taxi companies etc. So it’s easy to “get some on the side” while you issue all these licences etc.

The first thing we need to do is get rid of SPAD and bring public transport under where it logically belongs – JPJ and the Kementerian Pengangkutan.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
    • alldisc on Dec 07, 2015 at 1:04 pm

normal.

just like there are 2 authorities for housing – SPNB and PR1MA.

and having 2 ministries for education – Kementerian Pelajaran & Kementerian Pengajian Tinggi.

• keropla88 on Dec 07, 2015 at 12:20 pm

blaming culture….. what a disgrace for me as Malaysian. Typical culture creates typical mindset of people.

• johnnydd on Dec 07, 2015 at 12:38 pm

insurance? is that the best come back u have? I believe that is also a lie, i don’t believe u cared that much for customers..if u had, taxi drivers won’t be this screwed up..statistics don’t lie

• These people will blame anybody but themselves. Why can’t they be more proactive and start catching their own fellows instead of leaving it up to authorities. I am sure among themselves they will have a good idea on who is cheating and who is not.

• “He also said that public passengers should not encourage these cheating drivers by getting into these taxis and agreeing to pay their high prices.”

That we did, my friend. We used the ride-sharing apps.

• road user on Dec 07, 2015 at 1:28 pm

what taxi doing now is like the trishaw man complaining about losing their “rezeki” when taxi arrives.

the most important thing to resolve is the fundamentals of things, the overhead for taxi is not low, we knew it, rental, meter calibration, inspection, service. Not to mention some “donation” in order to pass the examination as the one who examine your car sign the pass, not machine, so humans likes to take “donation”.

Permit – why should company owning permits? it should be given to individuals, and regulate those people, review their performance based on customer feedback on annual basis, you cant score then say good bye to your taxi driving permit. more efficient to do so.

Inspection – an effective method to conduct inspection is a must

enforcement – any public who reports a taxi driver who doesn’t use meter with solid proof will get rewarded. and the reward is a good ones. You no need to hire SPAD officers to do this.

• Malas-ian on Dec 07, 2015 at 1:33 pm

Let’s have all our ministers, deputy ministers and all the top govt officials use taxis as their official cars. No need Perdana/Accordana etc. Just call a taxi. Concern about safety? It’s not like their life worth more than ours.

• Consumer on Dec 07, 2015 at 1:39 pm

At least Aslan said it right,”He also said that public passengers should not encourage these cheating drivers by getting into these taxis and agreeing to pay their high prices.”
    Thats why most of them use Grabcar/Uber now than waiting there to be ‘chop’ like cabbage.

• Henry on Dec 07, 2015 at 1:54 pm

With their answer, I really wonder what kind of transformation is this association working on now?

• Wee fuk yew on Dec 07, 2015 at 2:15 pm

As a president of an association, if you cant influence your members to abide by the laws, you are considered useless and irrelevant. You might as well resign as you dont have the support of nearly 90% cheating drivers. Please dont blame others if you are a gutless president of the association.

• Jason43214213 on Dec 07, 2015 at 3:29 pm

Lol, not just SPAD la, blame the gov – corruption highest in asia.. thumbs up, these taxi drivers are just following their leaders, abang jibby..

• Joannas on Dec 07, 2015 at 4:35 pm

couldn’t blame the lowly educated ones from making stupid comments, could you?

• What to do? on Dec 07, 2015 at 5:18 pm

Integrity is about doing the right thing when no one is policing you. There is no need for enforcement if all are ethical but that is like expecting it to snow in Malaysia. Corruption and unethical practices are so deeply ingrained everywhere it’s a way of life now.

• MBoleh on Dec 07, 2015 at 5:41 pm

Relax lah Kamarudin, at least you guys have won the Guinness world records as the ‘WORST TAXI SERVICE’ IN THE WORLD. Be proud of it Bozo.

• What a load of crap reasons given by the taxi Organisation. Better for SPAD to terminate these companies and legalised Uber or Grabtaxi or others that can give competitive yet reliable services

• “He also said that public passengers should not encourage these cheating drivers by getting into these taxis and agreeing to pay their high prices.”

That’s rich. You think we want to pay that exorbitant rate? People paid because they needed transportation at that time.

• if you buy your car and have a friend/family member in your personal car and so happens meet with an accident, (touch Wood) what difference is it with the taxi’s? we have personal, health, automobile insurance, on top of Road Taxes and Tolls etc, how much more money goes into Government organizations without a need for a reform at grassroots with the intention to serve better rather than to make a quick buck for the reigning managers launching “feasibility studies” and “reports” without any accountability and action.

• Nasi Lemak 3.0 on Dec 07, 2015 at 10:07 pm

Dei Gangster Taxi 1 Malaysia(GT1M), may i know how much a customer can claim if they involved in an accident? How much you are going to pay if a customer died in an accident? 100k plus? Either you will say no such thing or give few 5k-10k. You think people life is worth 10k? What the f–k you can do with 10k for living? You nasi lemak just make ppl rage!

• So, if an accident happens while riding a taxi, will the taxi pay?

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Dec 07, 2015 at 11:14 pm

No worries…if anything happens to me while i travel in my friend’s car or uber, i can claim my PA insurance. But i dont intend to increase my chances of claiming it by travelling in a taxi.

• Mamat on Dec 08, 2015 at 1:06 am

Taxi at Kelana Jaya lrt is not using meter

• Ggwp noob, blame time, haha

• QuoteHe also said that public passengers should not encourage these cheating drivers by getting into these taxis and agreeing to pay their high prices.: ”

That is why the Taxi drivers do not have enough customers for a decent living.

Don’t Blame others, its all your own fault!!

• fadhil on Dec 08, 2015 at 9:36 am

We understand that you may have some safety concerns, however, we’d like to take a moment to share with you the various safety precautions GrabCar has taken to ensure your safety.

The GrabCar driver app is the ONLY ride sharing app in Malaysia that provides drivers with a one-touch access to PDRM.
    We have a 24/7 support hotline, equipped to assist you in case of emergency.
    For every GrabCar booking, the driver and the passenger(s) are covered by insurance.
    There is an on-ground patrol team at selected areas that’s dedicated to your safety (Cyberjaya, Subang, Sunway, Damansara, MidValley, KLCC).
    We also have a team on stand-by ready to help drivers with any issues while on the job.
    If you have any further questions or concerns, do not hesitate to contact us at 1300 80 5858.

• Why are there so many taxi associations? From the short article above, there are already 3?