Volkswagen – UK sales dropped 20% in November

VW_Golf_BlueMotion_1

It appears the whole Volkswagen “dieselgate” scandal in the United States might be affecting sales across the Pond, too. Autocar UK reported that the Das Auto brand has seen a near-20% sales slump in Britain in November, compared to the same month last year, according to new car registration figures published by the Society of Motor Manufacturers and Traders (SMMT).

Wolfsburg registered 12,958 cars in Blighty last month, a drop of 19.99% compared to the 16,196 cars it rolled out of dealer forecourts in November 2014; fellow VW Group brands Audi, SEAT and Skoda saw similar decreases of 4.41%, 23.83% and 10.98% respectively. This is despite UK car sales as a whole rising 3.8% in the same period, with 178,876 cars registered last month.

However, Volkswagen is reportedly still bullish of its fortunes, as it expects the overall year’s sales to be up on 2014 by the year end. “The gap is not a true representation of our overall sales trend,” said a spokesperson. “These ‘spikes’ in volume manufacturer results can be explained by, for example, delivery schedules of major customers and suchlike.”

Indeed, despite the poor November showing, Volkswagen’s sales for the year to date are up 4.50% compared to the same period the year before. As for the other VW Group brands, Audi’s sales are up by 4.37%, but both SEAT and Skoda are down by 8.16% and 1.40% respectively.

The news comes hot on the heels of a similar sales drop of almost 25% suffered by Volkswagen in the US – it sold 23,882 cars there last month, 8,000 units less than in November 2014. As for year-to-date performance, Volkswagen managed to sell 318,484 units, compared to 332,912 last year over the same period.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Menteri Bangau on Dec 07, 2015 at 2:50 pm

Volks malaysia, u better price ur golf at rm50k, then i will buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Since VW resale value is as bad as junk.
      I don’t mind buying NEW if the price is junk too.

• VW Owners - NO RV on Dec 07, 2015 at 4:13 pm

My friend tried to sell his 2014 Passat, accident free and only done 20k KM, used car dealer gave him RM65k. Brand new he buy RM170k. Tak sampai 2 years.
        All VW owners in Malaysia should sue VGM or take a class action suit against VGM. In 20 months car can go from RM170k to RM65k

• shameless company on Dec 07, 2015 at 4:18 pm

Thick skin and shameless company. Already nama busuk gila gila overseas, also nama busuk in Malaysia maximum because of DSG lies, you dare to even come here and tell no increase in price?
          Now everybody boycott VW because VGM is full of lies like their parent company VW AG. So desperate, now VW salesman wait at banks beside Maybank ATM to promote their VW cars.
          Nobody wants VW cause DSG still halts and breaksdown non stop. Even people using mineral oil also, the car still judders and breaksdown. Is this German quality??

• Introduce your friend to me. I offer him 70K for his Passat :P

• not vw owner on Dec 07, 2015 at 6:24 pm

you should not take price offered by used car dealer as the second hand value. used car dealer need to make profit, so they will buy your car much cheaper than market price. and also you should not sue car company when the second hand value drop hard. you should sue your a$$ since you are so stupid to buy that particular car. next time buy axia if want to save money. sedar la diri tu miskin hahah

• Sell me at RM 10k also I reject la.

• Malaysia sales figures?

• lao yee on Dec 07, 2015 at 4:20 pm

I guess most of the paul tan followers sick with VW news.

• They brought this on themselves. Had it good for so long… maybe it made them cocky to this point of disrespecting the customers and cheating the regulatory authorities. They became too big in the head they had to fall in this very deep hole that’s getting deeper. It’s a long way back up … and I can’t say I wish them luck.

• Tadalaku 1M on Dec 07, 2015 at 7:47 pm

kesian VW. I bet the owners of VW in MAlaysia are crying at home…..knowing that their car’s 2nd hand value drop like a rock….

Later, when their cars give problems, they will surely scared to death….becoz spareparts/repair are expensive and problematic.