Germany, UK to ban petrol and diesel vehicles by 2050

BMW_i3_service_repair_06

Up to 13 European and North American governments have announced that they will introduce a ban on all petrol and diesel-powered vehicles by year 2050. The news has been widely reported following the ongoing United Nations Climate Change Conference in Paris.

As part of an ambitious strategy to prevent negative climate change and promote green mobility, a zero-emissions alliance was formed earlier in August 2015. It aimed to speed-up acceptance and adoption of zero-emissions vehicles (ZEV) around the world – particularly battery-electric and fuel-cell vehicles.

The international alliance consists of countries such as Germany, the Netherlands, Norway and the United Kingdom. From the US, several states have individually signed up for the cause. These include, California, Connecticut, Maryland, Massachusetts, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island and Vermont. Canada’s Quebec is also involved.

All of these listed countries and states have agreed to enforce a new law that would ban all petrol and diesel-powered vehicles by year 2050. According to NGT News, a full ban on these vehicles would reduce “more than 1 billion tonnes of CO2 emissions per year, lowering global vehicles emissions by 40%.”

A sum of 35 years stand between now and the implementation of the ZEV alliance’s action plan, which leaves car makers a lot of time to prepare for the change. Question is, will drivers and vehicle owners be ready for this? Tell us what you think in the comments below.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• And for M’sia, only get Euro 5 petrol by 2025 & diesel by 2020 nation wide!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
    • UMNO Private Bank on Dec 09, 2015 at 11:10 am

Malaysia will never ban petrol cause they need Petronas to survive. Petronas is UMNO’s private bank. They don’t need to annonce to shareholders how much they earn.

Everytime UMNO need to songlap money, just dig into Petronas Private bank. No need to pay bank, no one to answer to.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
      • please think rationally on Dec 09, 2015 at 3:38 pm

if you ask me, i want petronas to survive too. Unless you have been living under a rock for the past 50 years, malaysia main souce of income is from petronas you know.

So if petrol/diesel vehicle are banned then does that mean petronas need to close shop?

petronas close shop = malaysia no income = how to pay for hospitals/roads/gaji = ppl lose job= inflation naik = everyone happy??

from you comments it seems you hate umno, nothing wrong with that, but this is basic economics man, if a country main source of income is lessened then how would the country develop? print more money?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
        • Nissan on Dec 09, 2015 at 4:48 pm

Do Singapore has any oil field?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
          • Inked on Dec 09, 2015 at 4:57 pm

Does Singapore have umno?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
          • Amriji on Dec 09, 2015 at 5:04 pm

Has Malaysia done and planning to do what Singapore has done? If none or not planning to, PETRONAS need to survive to support the Malaysian economy in order for all of us to survive (not necessarily prosper).

• Jimmy on Dec 09, 2015 at 12:49 pm

And we are still fighting for nonsense.

Capable people earn big money through proper channels, counted in billions per year, no need to eat cakes, and generous enough to donate for welfare. These are truly capable people. Gate and Bufe and Facebook.

To be respectable, you do not need to be superrich (possess rm70million instead of rm70billion), but you possess good values.

Of course, girl cannot choose a husband with good values but earns rm2k per month.

• So TLDR, moral of the story is gud values dun buy you girl, only money does. So no use in real world.

• Proton 15% TIV in 2015 on Dec 09, 2015 at 10:11 am

As much as euphoric and exciting it may sound to the ears of the green activists, banning fossil fuel on vehicle applications is just a wishful thinking.

Heck, we are living in a fossil fuel age. Our civilisations and logistics are moved by fossil fuel. Our international strategic equilibrium is also dictates by the very nature of the fossil fuel as a strategic commodity and bargaining chip. Too many power plays and complicated vested interested in the questions of banning fossil fuel, even though it’s just about land vehicle and not extended to aerospace and other applications.

How many years had passed since the Kyoto Protocol? And how much effort multinationals had pulled together thus far? Call me a cynic, I am not convinced at all.

There will come a time where fossil fuel will be depleted and human will need to build a new civilisation based on other source of energy. By then, internal combustion engine will be relegated to just another museum piece. But I am fortunate to have live in an age where automobile was, akin to personal horses in the medieval age. It’s a sign of personal ride, passion and beauty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
  • kereta_lembu on Dec 09, 2015 at 10:13 am

I don’t think consumers will complain if automakers can produce ZEV that is comparable or more powerful than our existing petrol/diesel engines. The only problem is, oil plays such a significant role in the world today and people go to war because of oil. To wipe out the use of petrol and diesel in cars would kill the world’s economy. I don’t think this will be allowed to happen unless we run out of oil and we have no other option.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Inked on Dec 09, 2015 at 5:00 pm

They’re moving to other energy sources. Thats why a competitive education system is important for Malaysia so we can produce bright leaders and innovators. Sadly we are heading in the wrong direction. People are more concerned about khalwat and penyanyi tak pakai tudung than constructive stuff.

• sepul on Dec 09, 2015 at 10:15 am

Oh boy. Utopia City in Appleseed is becoming a reality.

• azrai on Dec 09, 2015 at 10:19 am

Bad news for Petronas and our G. Today the Brent Crude already touch USD40 per barrel. Our 2016 budget is based on USD48 per barrel estimation.

• Vesuvius on Dec 09, 2015 at 10:29 am

Really dumb idea.

No viable alternative to oil based engine are available which is as efficient and cheap to operate. The Europeans are being forced to convert to electric based technology by the Americans for some reason.

Anyway for the rest of the world, especially Malaysia, it is not going to happen for another 100 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
    • Bendit on Dec 09, 2015 at 10:57 pm

U funny. If all the world’s cars converted to euro and us requirements you think Malaysia has a say in what other kinds of cars manufacturers should make?

• Oh no! on Dec 09, 2015 at 10:36 am

I prefer bigger cc NA rear drive car. But it seems these kind of engines will no longer exist in nesr future. Honestly, I am not a turbo and hybrid fan.

• Arul Kandang on Dec 09, 2015 at 7:29 pm

Too bad. At some point in time some people preferred kereta lembu to motorized carriages.

• Good idea, more cheap petrol and diesel for third world like us

• thomasnotmyname on Dec 09, 2015 at 11:19 am

Malaysia government ban petrol and diesel vehicles by 3050

• Electric motor is superior to fuel engine system in any way.
    Uniform torque figure from 0 rpm, no gearbox, zero engine maintenance, less noise, better pick-up, to name a few.

The only think that hold back electric car feasibility is infancy of high-energy density battery technology. Current electric car could travel as far as 150km-200km at best which is a little inconvenient relative to fuel powered vehicle.

• winwin on Dec 09, 2015 at 7:31 pm

Anyhow Petronas will not die so easily. We still need crude oil to produce bitumen for our roads, jet fuels, to make plastics.

• There is the Tesla Model S….granted,it’s not available here yet it has an effective range of 400km. Oh yeah, it’s gonna cost a Million bucks at least.

• seewai on Dec 09, 2015 at 1:18 pm

I’ll go ZEV anytime when they’re cheaper than fossil fuel powered vehicles, in Malaysia.

• mr1031 on Dec 09, 2015 at 1:32 pm

yeay! good..now leave us alone with our soon to be extinct technology

• otheridustry on Dec 09, 2015 at 4:19 pm

haha serve you right Oil n Gas people ! Arrogant, lavish Oil and Gas people, you wont be rich anymore! huuhuuuuu

• Amriji on Dec 09, 2015 at 5:11 pm

If you are a Malaysian, then you are truly ignorant, without oil & gas industry, the Malaysian economy will not hold has a potential to collapse. And this will affect other industries in Malaysia as well since Malaysia has not really diversified its economy during the O&G boom. So we Malaysians…especially ordinary Malaysians will suffer.

• Nissan on Dec 09, 2015 at 4:41 pm

What alternative will they use to power the engine? Electricity? What fuel will they use to generate electricity?

• looks like we gonna have to accept nuclear reactor, unless BAKUN project fully functional, i heard the initial BAKUN project can cover up southeast asian, is that true?

• awannano on Dec 10, 2015 at 7:16 am

Bongok. They expect heavy vehicles to run on electricity? Energy density of battery is one thing. The other thing is charging time. There is no technological breakthrough yet to allow this. Technology can’t be advanced by decree.

This was why auto companies cheated on emission tests (Too bad VW got caught). There had been no major tech breakthrough, but the emission regulations were tightened every year, beyond what current tech is capable of. Stupid regulators.

• Just because you can’t think of how it doesn’t mean others can’t