Hyundai unveils new i20 WRC car for the 2016 season

2016 Hyundai i20 WRC-06

Hyundai Motorsport has been testing the new i20 WRC rally car for some time now, over 8,000 km clocked to be precise, and the 2016 FIA World Rally Championship challenger has finally been unveiled at the team’s factory in Alzenau, Germany.

The five-door ‘New Generation’ i20 WRC marks the opening of a new chapter in the short history of Hyundai Motorsport, building on two successful seasons in the WRC. Following its foundation-laying year in 2013, the team developed a brand new WRC car from scratch for its first season, where the i20 secured its maiden win in Germany. The second season was more consistent with four podium finishes and a fight for second place in the manufacturers’ championship right up to the season finale. Citroen prevailed.

Early this year, Hyundai committed to a year-long test and development programme for a WRC spec of the road-going new five-door i20, with its competitive debut set for Rallye Monte Carlo 2016. After 8,000 km, it has proven to be quicker than its predecessor, with the team’s drivers also praising improved drivability.

2016 Hyundai i20 WRC-05

Hyundai will field three cars in every round of the 2016 WRC, with Dani Sordo, Hayden Paddon and Thierry Neuville all confirmed for a full season, sharing cars #3, #4 and #20. The team will begin its third season with two new i20 WRCs and one previous model at Monte Carlo before switching to three new ones from Rally Sweden. This season’s goal is “to fight at the front in every stage and to mount a heightened championship assault.”

The team has also retained the services of rising star Kevin Abbring, who will remain as test driver. The Dutchman will contest selected WRC rounds in a fourth car as part of his agreement, but his primary focus will be on managing development of the team’s 2017 WRC car and R5 customer car activities.

Speaking of that, The R5 project under the customer racing division will roll out in the next few weeks. There will be a development phase during the first half of 2016, homologation of the car in mid-2016, and order taking in the second part of the year.

Will Hyundai finally give defending champs Volkswagen a run for its money next year? It’s a good time to do so as Citroen will be sitting out of the 2016 season to develop its new 2017 car.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Kereta ini tak ada power lah. Bette ruse our Proton rally. I trust in our Proton. they are top quality cars but so reasonably priced. Don’t know why silly Malaysians complain about high car prices!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
  • thinkthank on Dec 11, 2015 at 8:32 am

Whatever lah Hyundai… we know your real engine is manja cannot withstand stressed on ENGINE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Consumer on Dec 12, 2015 at 1:38 pm

Are you saying Hyundai engine having reliability issue(aka. x tahan lasak)? Then in your opinion what kind of engine is tahan lasak enough? Please share. Cheers..

• Kautim Satu Malaysia on Dec 13, 2015 at 10:28 am

Engine from Proton lagi teruk. Engine can rosak even driver was an auntie.