Porsche sells 200,000 cars in a year for the first time

porsche-cayenne-gts-fl-malaysia 17

For the first time in the company’s history, Porsche has managed to sell over 200,000 vehicles within a year. Up to November, the company has sold 209,894 cars. That’s a 24% increase compared to the same period last year. In fact, Porsche recorded a total of 189,849 cars sold for the whole of 2014.

Last month alone, the company managed a total of 18,110 units. A key model that contributed to that number was the Porsche Cayenne. Sales of the SUV has soared by 39% compared to November 2014. Throughout the 11-month period, the Cayenne has also seen an increase of 68,029 units sold worldwide, up by 14% compared to last year.

China came out on top as the best single market for Porsche. It sold a total of 54,302 vehicles, representing an increase of 34%. Coming in second is the United States, with a total of 47,891 vehicles shifted, marking a 9% increase. That said, the European continent marked a 30% increase with a total of 70,509 vehicles sold.

Detlev von Platen, member of the executive board, sales and marketing, Porsche AG, said “with more than 200,000 Porsche models delivered, we have reached a milestone of our Strategy 2018 well ahead of schedule.”

Whether the brand will be affected by recent suspicions involving the V6 3.0 litre TDI engine in the States, remains to be seen. Despite that, exciting times are ahead for the brand, as it has just confirmed that the Porsche Mission E, a fully-electric sports sedan with 600 hp, will be heading into production, while the newly named 718 Boxster and 718 Cayman, is to be introduced in 2016.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Ollie on Dec 10, 2015 at 12:09 pm

Our beloved Proton is on track to sell 100,000 cars this year. Porsche about to hit 200,000.

Profit-
    Proton: -RM500mil
    Porsche: EUR 1.5 bil (projected) or RM 6,000mil

Proton lovers, how do you lose 500 mil a year, even after gov grants and tax incentives?
    When Proton is the cheapest car in the market or equivalent to Perodua? You still have 2nd highest market share (up to 2015, projected to be 4th in market share by 2016 onwards, and bankrupt by 2017).
    Why are you still complaining about market conditions and foreign cars when you still sell more cars than Toyota, Nissan, Honda?
    How do you lose money by selling 100,000 cars, and avg RM50,000 revenue per car, even at tiny 2.5% profit margin, which is the average for all car dealers in Malaysia, thats profit of RM 1,250 per car! That should net you RM 125 mil profit/year!
    How do you lose money? Why do you say people don’t support Proton when its still second highest market share? When Proton is still cheaper than any foreign car?

Or are you all just living inside a coconut, ejaculating thoughts about how we must have a national car project because a powerful Pharaoh said so?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • frossonice on Dec 10, 2015 at 12:59 pm

So, say what if the gomen force Proton to close down as dreamt by many-many people here.

DO YOU THINK the gomen will abolish/reduce whatever taxes imposed on vehicle sold here?

Not.A.Chance.

• Ollie on Dec 10, 2015 at 2:10 pm

funny guy. did i mention anything about tax reduction and its connection with Proton? I care about high taxes, sure. But even if no change in tax structure, I want this nightmare called Proton to be obliterated. If you don’t share the same sentiment, I would say you are a born loser. To be successful, you must recognise failure. To improve, you must identify weaknesses. Proton has never improved because they don’t have the strategic know-how to improve on their failures. And people like you and Mr Aero just defend their failure. Tax issue is connected, but not the same as Proton’s existence.

• movingcoffin on Dec 10, 2015 at 10:53 pm

If no p1, buy moving coffin p2, is that what you want? Go ahead.

• Sammy Loo on Dec 10, 2015 at 2:52 pm

Sadly, the parent (VW) might need to dump it soon to pay the loan for their lies.