Perodua Axia G to get ABS in 2016, price up RM1,500

Perodua_Axia_Standard_Launch_ 001

The Perodua Axia Standard G variant will receive a bump in safety beginning January 2016 with the addition of the anti-lock braking system (ABS). However, this will be accompanied with a price hike of RM1,500 for the variant.

This brings the price tag (OTR inclusive of insurance) of the Axia Standard G up to RM33,627 for the manual and RM36,627 for the automatic. This price hike is the second after Perodua had earlier raised the price of said model by RM990 in October 2015. Previously, the cheapest Axia with ABS was the SE, priced from RM36,637 (MT) and RM39,637 (AT).

“For our customers who have booked their Axia G between October 1 and December 10 but have yet to receive their vehicle; Perodua will offer a RM500 Perodua voucher as a token,” Perodua President & CEO, Datuk (Dr) Aminar Rashid Salleh said.

“Bookings made from December 11 onwards will be subjected to the new price and delivery will be from January 2016 onwards. We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused and we thank you for supporting Perodua,” Aminar said.

This is certainly a positive move from Perodua. Just last month, Driven Web Series rounded up the most affordable cars in Malaysia that are (at the very least) equipped with ABS, which at that point included the Axia SE. With this, the Axia Standard G is now the cheapest vehicle offered with said safety feature.

That said, it has to be mentioned that all three of Perodua’s entry-level variants – the Axia Standard E, Myvi Standard G and Alza S – still go without ABS.

GALLERY: Perodua Axia Standard G

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Passerby on Dec 14, 2015 at 11:56 am

36k for a Milo tin kosong? bolehland boleh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
    • Pppppp on Dec 14, 2015 at 2:29 pm

They should’ve included it at first place, instead of stupid things like retractable side mirrors, front parking sensors etc. Seriously, who needs those for such a small CITY CAR ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • toyota duel airbag RM 90k on Dec 14, 2015 at 3:15 pm

sad that axia 35k ? don’t be so sad, i already know some idiots paying RM 90k for vios duel airbag and NO ESC.. and there are some other idiots paying up to RM 140k for nissan x-trail junk with duel airbags only ! … don’t say bolehland , its just the mentality of the ppl, malaysia is so beautiful and wonderful country

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 4
      • Yaya… sit down and ponder why ppl dont buy your junk with vsc and 10 airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • Honda Jazz Low Spec RM70k tin Kosong?
      how?

• youarelazyworker on Dec 14, 2015 at 6:48 pm

You work harder, can? No PT surfing during office hours, ok?

• Corporal on Dec 15, 2015 at 12:04 pm

Low spec Jazz might only have 2 airbags and no ESC but its chassis is still top class and able to achieve IIHS Top Safety Pick 2014 and has higher front impact score than Preve and many other cars larger than it in ASEAN CAP and ANCAP.
        So while its sad that ESC is not offered as standard at least it is not a tin kosong

• Bad move Perodua. ABS and EBD should be standard in modern day vehicles and you are charging more for basic safety equipments? Shame on you for not including any traction control nor stability control on any of your vehicles.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 9
  • Sammy Loo on Dec 14, 2015 at 12:06 pm

Finally Perodua realised ABS is a standard safety feature. Learn from Toyota, all cars should come standard with ABS.

Nearly RM2500 increment in 2mths, whover that bought between Oct to Dec will suffer the most. The RV of the G spec without ABS will be badly affected.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
    • karam singh on Dec 14, 2015 at 1:21 pm

Stability Control pleaseeee
      rainy season… need all the driver assist safty as standard

• aaronflex on Dec 14, 2015 at 12:08 pm

This car is getting ripped!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Kalau waiting list Proton kena tggu lama mcm ni mesti dah kena kutuk kao kao kan?????

• abang on Dec 14, 2015 at 1:07 pm

Kereta Proton mana ada long waiting list. Sure ready stock punya. Tak laku lah katakan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
  • bukapintubayartol on Dec 14, 2015 at 12:37 pm

Good on you P2!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Pontan-HairStylist on Dec 14, 2015 at 12:51 pm

dashboard inspired by toilet urinal bowl !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Kepala hotak hang, awal-awal dah patut pasang ABS itu! Baik hang jangan pakai seluar, 10 tahun kemudian baru pakai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • blaster88 on Dec 14, 2015 at 1:44 pm

If I am not mistaken, in EU and Australia, its against the law to sell cars without traction control much less ABS. It should be a standard feature on all cars like aircond etc. Mind boggling that we have to pay extra for safety features….Malaysians wake up!!! Its your family and your life we are talking about…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Ollie on Dec 14, 2015 at 2:35 pm

Its true. It is mind-boggling that cars without ABS and traction control are allowed in Malaysia. Its not just the passengers of the said car at risk; its the other road users AS WELL WHO will get hit when these cars lose controls!!! How many lives at stake!! WaKE UP !!

• Kennytkg on Dec 14, 2015 at 2:42 pm

Naive of u to think safety is free….nothing is free in this world…later they add traction control and hiked up price then u will say so expensive for a small car…

• somuchgreedy on Dec 14, 2015 at 6:50 pm

Huh? P1 can offer 6 airbags without any additional cost. Why not P2?

• Sammy Loo on Dec 15, 2015 at 2:05 am

Sales figure proven that people are going for lower price than better safety feature.

Until one day JPJ includes the safety training as part of license exam, else P2 can continue to sell cars without ABS. Not to mention ESC, majority buyers have got no idea what is that.

• start a fight on Dec 14, 2015 at 2:07 pm

when they announce they would not hike their price due to weakening ringgit.. they introduce add on with hike to hide the hike in price. clever, very cleaver.

• Kereta buruk on Dec 14, 2015 at 2:40 pm

Hapuskan kreta tiada ABS

• Told u all already, Axia, Myvi, Vios and Saga are rubbish. Cancel booking those car and choose the better one. Ur life is more important than RV and FC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • happy Picanto owner on Dec 14, 2015 at 3:30 pm

The Picanto(M) 1.25L I bought on June having safety package of 6 airbags, ABS, EBD, BA, VSC, TC, HHA, 4 disc brakes with only 35K OTR (2013 stock, after great discount and GST refund)

Solid chasis with thud sound when you close the car doors.

Some more the model I bought is CBU from Korea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • Godzilla God Car on Dec 14, 2015 at 3:34 pm

Owning perodua is helping the world population. Natural selection ways by sending owners to hell if luck runs out.

• it actually reduces the death rate.
      people willing to take 9 years loan to buy Axia Low spec, to avoid buying a Yamaha LC RM8k motorcycle.

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 14, 2015 at 4:46 pm

I hate companies who demand customers to pay for standard safety equipment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • farghmee on Dec 14, 2015 at 5:12 pm

What year is it?

• transformer on Dec 14, 2015 at 6:28 pm

i m still waiting for the day when ASEAN NCAP award star by crashing lowest priced variant rather than most fully equipped which cost arm and legs especially in ASEAN countries.

Example : Crash test and award star rating with Altis 1.8E(2 Airbags & NO ESC) instead of the 7 Airbags equipped plus ESC Altis 2.0V(with Additional Safety Package)

• ncpau on Dec 14, 2015 at 6:56 pm

It could miss one or 2 stars. The requirement is different for different year of test.

• Aero (Member) on Dec 14, 2015 at 7:40 pm

Well, it’s good that Perodua is finally listening now, but I hope they will do the same for their other models and not stop here.

• Meichael on Dec 14, 2015 at 9:53 pm

For this kind of price, I will only buy it if the music player supports mp3 and usb functions, and the car comes with full bodykit as well.

• Perodua price increase, nobody bat an eye. Proton price increase everyone loses their mind! Double standard!

• Axia is a good-enough starter car for those thinking of a safer alternative to biking and also unreliable public transport. Having a small footprint but with room enough for 4 adults it’s both very usable and convenient. Being an EEV helps in alleviating petrol-price worries. Looks decent too. Not recommended for speed-demons, the RV-obssessed or the status-conscious.

• superbird #43 on Dec 15, 2015 at 12:39 am

finally……, perodua came to their right mind.

• Kereta kecil harga pula mahal. Lepas tu tambah ABS naikkan harga. Pengguna yang jadi mangsa.

• Dato Sh Yahya bin Sh Mohamed on Jan 22, 2016 at 12:59 pm

Bagaiman nak buang bunyi bising yang akan berhenti apabila ada kenderaan lain rapat 90 degree, bising nya tak berhenti selagi kenderaan ada sebelah, biasanya apabila traffic jam atau d lampu traffic, saya rasa macam menyesal , tolong bantu

• matdan on Jul 16, 2016 at 7:09 pm

after the Bezza released. how much does this Axia cost ? any revised price because the standard G now almost the same price on both

• mary magdaline on Sep 26, 2016 at 12:55 am

AXIA G is a new model. Then why is it perodua using old battery. Nowdays battery no need to add water.
    Can we install a new battery.

• Judion Wong Hong Mo on Dec 01, 2017 at 3:37 pm

I’m excited about this perodua axia car and I need to know what is the policy I can get this car….