SPIED: 2016 Proton Perdana shows us its side again

2016-Proton-Perdana-

The 2016 Proton Perdana has been spied testing again. This time, paultan.org reader Airul Amirul sent in a photo of the national carmaker’s upcoming flagship D-segment sedan that was sighted near Proton’s Shah Alam factory,

When the new Perdana was first previewed at this year’s Alami Proton event, it was clear that the new Perdana will look largely different from its donor car, the eighth-generation Honda Accord. This side view of the Perdana appears to reinforce that opinion.

Among the differences involve an increase in the car’s length by 150 mm from the donor car to 4,999 mm. As previous spyshots have revealed, it appears the majority of that growth in length is centralised around the rear of the car. That extension has resulted in a reworking of the car’s rear doors that now “kink” outwards just after the top of it, as opposed to the Accord’s doors, which slopes inwards.

There is also less camo on certain parts of the test mule here, beginning with the alloy wheels that match up to the ones we saw at the preview. Additionally, the headlights and tail lights seem to resemble the previewed car more closely, unlike the previous test mule that had the Accord’s light units.

The 2016 Proton Perdana will be built at Proton’s Medium Volume Factory in Shah Alam, together with the Exora MPV. Engine wise, it’s set to retain Honda’s 154 hp/189 Nm R20A3 2.0 and 177 hp/222 Nm K24Z2 2.4 litre i-VTEC petrol mills, mated to a five-speed automatic transmission. The Perdana will be offered to the public in the first quarter of 2016.

GALLERY: 2016 Proton Perdana teased

GALLERY: 2016 Proton Perdana rendered

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kancil Hybrid on Dec 14, 2015 at 4:14 pm

Hold on to whatever car that u have at the moment. Don’t buy new car until next GE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 9
    • Now when dealers are throwing offers & discounts, its never a better time to get a car than now. Better still in Jan 2016 when they clearing 2015 stocks.

If you need a car, get from P1, honda, kia, mazda, nissan (not-almera). Say NO to moving coffins toyota & P2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
      • Kancil Hybrid on Dec 14, 2015 at 11:18 pm

Billionaire PM will call for snap GE when things get worse for him and he cannot handle the pressure anymore. He will then announce for immediate abolishment of excise tax on cars to pancing undi. After all, this is what he had promised in the last GE. Price of cars will tumble big time. That is why I said wait until next GE. My prediction it will be held next year Q3.

• john is otak batu on Dec 15, 2015 at 9:59 am

Agree! Give you 1 like!.. by next PRU. Najis have to face 1 Mega Deep Bantai tsunami. Janji kangkong pun akan lebih murah nanti

• now i support proton because mahathir want najib undur

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
  • Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Dec 14, 2015 at 4:19 pm

Pronton Junk gain on the road. Nothing so special to draw our attention about. previous Suprima S, Persona, and Exora proven fail product. Perdana or super lotus always junk for me. Disappointment P1 product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 60
    • Accordana on Dec 14, 2015 at 5:38 pm

Who else can tell macai where to spot the car and snap the photo?

Syok sendiri betul.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
      • jiangh on Dec 14, 2015 at 7:07 pm

Who cares,p1 news attracts view more than other shiatty cars

• time are bad now till next year.

You are too late to come out with the D segment car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • The shark fin antenna anyone notices?

• Peter on Dec 15, 2015 at 4:08 am

Ewww , look at the skin. Previously we had Accordana, now … we have Anaconda.

• Better than rubbish Perodua copied other rubbish car design and sale to rubbishman Malaysian.

• No hope on Dec 14, 2015 at 4:43 pm

Back in time when Internet is still a joke, Perdana sells like hot cake where they copy straightforward from the Eterna

But now, with this kind of **** economics, and Internet dominate the world, don’t expect it sells good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
  • drMpower on Dec 14, 2015 at 5:15 pm

p1 has to understand that the game is no longer about who has the biggest space. now its about who can give big space for people to use. the size of overall vehicle is no longer a niche thing

• Rusmah on Dec 14, 2015 at 5:18 pm

I put my effort and wish on Honda, Bermaz, UMW.
    Those are my friend.

Potong? I unfriend and potong it long time already!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
  • Long butt…..

• Spy shot, syok sendiri comments, announcing imaginary booking figure….

doing the same thing and hoping for different result. Them proton……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 17
  • Proton achieving 15% TIV in 2015 on Dec 14, 2015 at 6:55 pm

Big Buhaha, media fenzy, butt licking review by all local automobile journalists, praising it like ciptaan syurga, big slogan like “comeback game”, “BMW of Asia”, “Pride of Malaysia”….bla bla bla bullshit…

In the end, many people talk about it, some people discuss about it, nobody wants to buy it. Since 2012, Preve, Suprima, Iriz… TIV figure drop from 23% to 15% this year.

Facts and figures says it all. It’s time for Proton to embrace the truth. It’s not your new model, it’s your celeka hampeh quality that drive consumers away. If you don’t improve your quality, nobody is gonna save you even if you make another 100 new models! Why is it so hard to get rid of those rent-seeking, lousy components maker? The answer: Crony didahulukan, tak kisah company lingkup pun jadilah, janji crony dilundungi! Mesti dilindungi!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 18
  • FIST (Member) on Dec 14, 2015 at 7:05 pm

It’s too damn long.

• Copycat on Dec 14, 2015 at 7:24 pm

Stupid…the donor Accord was already a vely long car and Prolong want to make it longer…and tis is not a volume seller why waste time money effort…after failed big time wit Supim Preve Iriz than want to rebadge Sukuki and Honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
  • Albert on Dec 14, 2015 at 7:48 pm

Year end and before CNY is the best time to launch new cars,cos some people want something new.BUt poor Proton is taking too much time.
    Always thinking of Fridays, holidays,extra wives…thats why they cant give what people want.
    Tun…you should sack all LAZY dead wood still hanging around cos of never ending politics in f..up Protong.

• ( . Y . ) on Dec 14, 2015 at 9:01 pm

shape of the rear part looks like bentley =D

• old dog on Dec 14, 2015 at 10:57 pm

yawn…

• Silthice on Dec 14, 2015 at 11:19 pm

The new iriz sedan substitute the current persona. But the Persona genetic is injected in this Perdana…

• Najix on Dec 15, 2015 at 1:32 am

The trend now is goin for mid size suv or crossovers.
    Their market research tido ka?
    Release a ‘new’ exora crossover variant

• Muhammad on Dec 15, 2015 at 7:31 am

Ah Pek M why take so long to launch this piece of crap? Quickly launch and sell at RM130K so ah Pek M Proton and his pride can quickly tutup shop. Najib please reduce all car prices by 30% and we’ll definitely vote for you for every GE. We don’t care about what many claim on 100 billion missing as long as we get to buy affordable non tax foreign cars we are happy.

• New Perdana on Dec 15, 2015 at 9:21 am

Recently saw the new perdana in the flesh totally uncovered during a vip visit to proton R&D Hq in Shah Alam. The car looks much more proportional in reality than these pictures here. Though fit and finish of some body panels are not great, but was told because it is the prototype car. The prototype car uses exactly the same engine K24 as the accord and transmission (CVT) except without the earthdreams tech. Gear lever looks kinda odd like the one used in a Honda City. Headlamp looks great but I think the rearlamp could be a tad bigger as relative to the car’s size. Led of the lamps are quite good actually. Rear trunk space is huge, with foldable rear seats (60:40 if not mistaken). The rear exhaust outlets are expected to be replaced with just a covered diffuser and exhaust hidden pointing downwards. Overall, the car looks great.