SPIED: New Ford Everest, S-MAX spotted in Malaysia!

2016-Ford-Everest-S-Max-Malaysia

The new Ford Everest and S-MAX have been taking their own sweet time coming to Malaysia – both seven-seater Blue Ovals were supposed to arrive here last month, but as yet there are still no sign of them. Well, until now, at least, as reader Zaki Zainuddin has spotted both cars undisguised and wearing trade plates, hinting that a launch is perhaps finally around the corner – although probably not in time before the new year.

Here, two units of the Ranger-based SUV can be seen – the white Everest in the foreground is likely the base 2.2 litre 4×2 variant, distinguished by the smaller wheels and lack of “Titanium” badging at the rear. The latter is saved, of course, for the top-spec 3.2 litre 4×4 Titanium variant, along with larger 20-inch alloys – it appears that’s the red unit at the back.

By contrast, very little can be ascertained regarding the S-MAX from the sole photo provided – in fact, it was unclear whether it was actually the all-new model and not the facelifted version of the current car, until this writer noticed the new tail light shape. Expect the new MPV to retain the current 240 PS 2.0 litre EcoBoost mill, albeit this time mated to a six-speed automatic transmission instead of the PowerShift dual-clutch unit.

Pricing is not expected to be cheap for either model. Back in August, the Everest was indicated to start from RM180k, rising to an eye-watering RM230k-240k for the Titanium – and with the ringgit’s value depreciating further since then, it’s likely that finalised prices will end up even higher. As for the S-MAX, expect it to cost a little bit over the RM200k mark, given that the Mondeo on which it’s based costs a sliver under that.

GALLERY: 2016 Ford Everest in Chiang Rai

GALLERY: 2016 Ford S-MAX

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 14, 2015 at 5:05 pm

Ford is playing hard to get and ALL their line up is going up. Good luck in selling your models here especially the ridiculously priced Mustang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
    • prolapprola on Dec 14, 2015 at 5:23 pm

If you are stupid then keep quiet.
      Perodua already, toyota honda all also going to up 2016. Your ringgit is shit paper you know?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
    • Ford Mondeo RM200k already ridiculous pricing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
      • i am pro so listen on Dec 15, 2015 at 4:30 pm

If you factor in the car is imported from europe, with additional 30% import duty, not to mention the car is so much higher in spec and feature. Those bought camry and accord is the real idiot

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 14, 2015 at 10:53 pm

Slightly better than the junk kimchi but worse than my son saga in term of RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • These 2 are actually great SUV and MPV but just hope SD don’t screw up with their after sales service..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • sleeplesseyes on Dec 14, 2015 at 5:53 pm

Indonesia already started advertising and selling and here we Malaysian haven’t event started . Congrats Malaysia for being behind time.

• Gaviny on Dec 14, 2015 at 8:44 pm

I In all of fords lineup the focus St is the most value for money

• Ridiculous price tag for a useless ford, ive owned these cars before they are rubbish in every sense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • How have you managed to own these cars even before they are launched on market? You must teach us some of your secrets.

The new Everest has been awarded one of Australia’s COTY awards recently, so although maybe not the best, but definitely not “rubbish”.

• Sammy Loo on Dec 15, 2015 at 1:52 am

Both cars will suffer bad RV

• waxcer on Dec 15, 2015 at 9:17 am

First, the everest price is high is becuz its going to rival hang cruzer prado…..and the smax , becuz a bolehland super tax+ the money has no value

• waxcer on Dec 15, 2015 at 9:19 am

Looking for Edge actually

• Mpv will be owner on Feb 13, 2016 at 7:06 am

Still waiting for the all new smax… when will it launched? Paultan.org team, can you get some info on the availability for all new smax? Thanks