I will oppose any toll increase by PLUS, says Khairy

Khairy-Jamaluddin

Minister of Youth and Sports Khairy Jamaluddin will oppose any toll price increase by Projek Lebuhraya Usahasama Bhd (PLUS) if a proposal is tabled in Cabinet. Recognising that PLUS has the right to increase prices by 5% as outlined in its concession agreement, Khairy said final approval still has to come from federal government, The Sun Daily reports.

Khairy reminded the government that it promised the public there would no increase in inter-city toll rates in the previous general election.

“It was even mentioned toll prices will be reduced marginally, therefore, when it is tabled in the Cabinet, I hope other colleagues will agree with me that we should not increase the toll prices as it is something stated in the general election manifesto,” Khairy said to reporters, when asked to comment on PLUS’ proposal to increase its toll prices next year.

Khairy discouraged speculation on the issue as there has been no proposal tabled for Cabinet attention. “If the government decides to reject the proposal, then the government will be required to compensate them,” he said.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Sammy on Dec 15, 2015 at 5:17 pm

why only Plus? Why not all other that got increased recently. Where were you when the toll got increased lately?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 2
    • Youngest PM on Dec 15, 2015 at 7:07 pm

We all know YB. He’s all for “show” only.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 5
    • klguy on Dec 16, 2015 at 9:27 am

bcoz he will go for joyride in PLUS highway on his felali ma.

• ben yap on Dec 15, 2015 at 5:26 pm

mat rempit supporter trying to become a saint.

Born and raised in an UMNO blood will always behave like UMNO.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 8
  • Sembang boleh lah, lepas tu marhain kena tanggung.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
  • Jeffrey on Dec 15, 2015 at 5:46 pm

trust this spineless ball carrier to stop the mighty pirate ship?….hahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
    • Kay Jay on Dec 16, 2015 at 8:06 am

Hey! I may be a BC but… I will oppose your calling me “spineless”!

• BothSidesTheSame on Dec 15, 2015 at 6:08 pm

@Sammy, it’s only PLUS because it’s fully owned by the government so the government has more say in whether there’s a price increase or not, that why you don’t have any price increase for PLUS highways.

On the other hand, the “Private” toll concessionaires like LDP, Sprint etc are all owned by private companies, and at the same time Selangor govt owns about 20% in LDP and Sprint, they should be held accountable also for the price increase, and also why the Selangor government will allow KIDEX, DASH and SUKE highways to go ahead…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 10
  • zerome on Dec 15, 2015 at 6:21 pm

please KJ just take care your own biz…

• areos on Dec 15, 2015 at 6:36 pm

SAY NO TO TOLL INCREASE! ! toll is the most unbearable culprit inherited by the Mahathir regime. Its true maintenance cost has escalated throughout the year and so do the traffic. Logically the toll rates should not be increased as collection from the volume of traffic could compensate the cost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • deepamali on Dec 15, 2015 at 7:00 pm

can you trust a snake??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • Henry on Dec 15, 2015 at 7:05 pm

Wayang only. If PLUS is not allowed to increase toll then the Gomen will have to compensate them under the terms of the lopsided agreement. Either way the people still pay.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • Wee fuk yew on Dec 16, 2015 at 7:07 am

Only simpletons will believe this slick politician. At the end of the day the rakyat will still pay albeit through taxes. If you are really sincere in wanting to help the rakyat , please renegotiate the lopsided concession agreement. Everything else is just rhetoric

• john is otak batu on Dec 15, 2015 at 7:30 pm

Another Cakap Sendiri, syok sendiri

• Milliona of msian oppose also no use. What different he can make?

• Ootai on Dec 15, 2015 at 7:45 pm

This is one young macaivillain guy who once said he do not want any post until he was offered a minister post. Do you trust the words from a product of flipfloppers?? Pray hard guys so that you will live long enough to decide in 2 years time.

• Time to charge tol on superbikers on the PLUS highway, after all most they use the highway, and (some) hog the fast lane!

• 2roda Pancake on Dec 16, 2015 at 9:33 am

Some even horn you on fast lane. Anyway I always laugh when this bikers become road kills. Make our highway safer each time a biker meet their maker.

• andrekua on Dec 15, 2015 at 9:15 pm

Bila mau tukar portfolio ke Menteri Kerja Raya?

• Ah Kai on Dec 15, 2015 at 9:56 pm

Lalang…I don’t trust youuuuuuuuuuu…

• Jobless on Dec 15, 2015 at 10:34 pm

He made tis statement just to get his pic into the newspapers and tv

• transformer on Dec 15, 2015 at 11:11 pm

everything else increased
    (toll everywhere, daily necessities, GST, Serv Tax, Water & electrcity fees, IWK and many more….)

because petrol price drop 10sen(Petronas dying)….
    this is our PM economic prowess(together with PEMANDU, economist & statistician)

in actual fact, global fuel price drop more than mere 10sen…. and until todate, where is their calculation formula on whats basis petrol pump price is used?

• Isnt he sport minister?

• bakso on Dec 16, 2015 at 9:29 am

Joker. Protest….balik indon tanam jagung la. Sandiwara only pandai.

• BigBalls on Dec 16, 2015 at 9:46 am

Wayang only la

When toll increase, he will say “I’m only Sports Minister, can’t do much”.

Pathetic attempt at trying to win rakyats heart.

-BigBalls-

• Say only, Plus already announce will increase the rate 5% by next year recently!!!!

• Rusmah on Dec 16, 2015 at 11:25 am

Great son!
    I wont blame you to do this.
    It can help me to find out who will be the next in jail, eat see4.
    I shall get this chance to promote you to be Plus COO

• siputeh on Dec 16, 2015 at 11:43 am

bajet nk jdi hero lettew. Puii