Johor Causeway traffic builds as 2015 holidays begin

johor causeway jam bernama pix

Travelling into Singapore this holiday season? You may want to prepare ahead for heavy traffic heading in and out of The Lion City. The Johor Causeway has begun to back up with heavy traffic as the year’s end approaches and the holiday season begins.

According to The Sun Daily, both sides of the causeway leaving and entering Johor have been heavily jammed up since this morning, with some drivers taking as long as two hours to get from the Malaysian passport checkpoint to the Woodlands CIQ.

Lorry drivers have equally been struggling with the congestion, despite having a dedicated lane to make their ways across. It was reported that bus drivers weren’t doing much to help the situation either, illegally offloading passengers ahead of the Singaporean checkpoint where no dedicated pedestrian lanes are available for them to use.

State Tourism, Domestic Trade and Consumerism executive committee chairman Datuk Tee Siew Kiong encouraged the public to use the train services available in the area for a quicker commute across the border, the report added.

According to the Land Transport Authority in Singapore, last year’s statistics show that an average of 54,000 passenger vehicles cross the border each day. The figure was an increase over 2013’s 53,000 vehicles daily. However, only three out of 10 of these vehicles were reportedly cars.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Dec 18, 2015 at 11:36 am

Damn it and Fxxk up Lorry driver, always block the lane, should control their entry by giving them time table schedule, dun let them suka suka masuk keluar aje.

• john is otak batu on Dec 18, 2015 at 11:39 am

Sudah jam teruk sampai mati sejak 1 bulan lalu..posting ni dah lama

• It is not easy to earn 3x MYR… The price to paid is early wake up and long jammed.

• Germaine on Dec 18, 2015 at 4:33 pm

This traffic jam thing led us to cancel our Singapore trip for this time of the year.

• transformer on Dec 18, 2015 at 5:05 pm

I just can’t believe Singapore as one of the world most efficent(all their government service) country still unable to solve this border crossing issue since 90’s.

We don’t know if there is any hidden agendas that created bottleneck at checkpoint entering and leaving Singapore?

I guess Singapore Gov will still maintain this practise for years to come unless these daily traveller(workers, lorry transporter and busses) unionize and voice their concern to Singapore Gov.

• Sedarlah on Dec 18, 2015 at 6:27 pm

Kalau gahmen Malaysia kiter pandai kontrol ekonomi Negara, Rakyat x perlu bangun 3pagi redah sesak panas peluh berjam2 kat causeway semata2 nk pegi keje kat negara jiran cari rezeki sara anak bini. Wahai operator kilang, akak cleaner, adik waiter, pak guard warga Malaysia. Ini kah gahmen yang kiter mau?

• Bolehland on Dec 21, 2015 at 8:53 am

The most who work in from Malaysia is Non Bumi… Only now many malays are starting to work in Singapore. Here bumi getting lot of benefits, dividen from Amanah saham n etc2. So out gomen not going to bother to your mourning. Every non bumi shud gv their children proper education n let our children migrate to whatever country they want… Our country alredy corrupted to the max

• Ppl earning SGD talk lots of shxx here. U earn more, u deserve this. No one force u to work in Singapore. If u dont like that kind of lifestyle, just quit. Stop blaming others and acting pity, because u are earning more than double than those who working in malaysia. If u r earning lesser than that, just come back. All u guys spending lots of money during weekend, owning good car, eating good food. So what else to complaint, traffic jammed? LOL…

• Traveller on Dec 19, 2015 at 6:38 pm

Year after year , since maybe 15 years back, the traffic congestion at the causeway are not improving. You
    need to swallow this facts. And its not going to improve. Period. You get this!!! . Even when both sides of the government looked into this issues… it does not worked. More cars are growing in numbers but the lanes are not widening or counters are growing as fast as the growing numbers of people. Sad to say, its not going a smooth sailing to visit either side of the country in many years to come. What we can do , if you really need to travel, is to maintain lane discipline ( don t cut queue and create another lane ) and be patience . Do not cause anger to another driver and all citizens will travel vice versa in a more happy mood. Is n t this more appropiate ?

• Bolehland on Dec 21, 2015 at 8:55 am

If gomen not gud enuff to make infra better, chg gomen la…. Ape benda ko ckp nie… U ingat maintain lane properly can clear jam? Typical nasi lemak mind! Juz like our gomen… Minyak naek, jgn pakai kete.. Pakai basikal

• Traveller on Dec 21, 2015 at 11:39 pm

Bolehland ….cakap asal boleh saja … you ingat tukar gomen anytime boleh kah ? Pls educate your children to be a better person and hopefully one day your child can be the gomen and lead the people better than today. Ini lah car nya baru boleh buat perubahan. Lu ni jgn asal boleh huh…