SPIED: Mercedes-Benz GLE 450 AMG on Fed Hwy

2015-mercedes-benz-gle-coupe-spyshots-fed-hwy-3

Not for the first time, here is another look at the Mercedes-Benz GLE Coupe making its rounds on Malaysian roads. Specifically, this GLE 450 AMG Coupe was sighted on the Federal Highway by yours truly who was on his way to a lunch meet.

As we’ve highlighted before, the GLE 450 AMG Coupe is the first model to come from Mercedes-AMG’s new line of AMG Sport models. You can think of them as direct competitors for the BMW M Performance and the Audi S range.

This particular unit is seen equipped with an AMG Sport bodykit, and features five, twin-blade large AMG wheels. Its exactly the same spec of car we’ve seen twice before, once at the Publika shopping mall, a second time on a highway in KL.

The GLE 450 AMG Coupe is powered by a biturbo 3.0 litre V6 engine offering 367 hp at 5,500 to 6,000 rpm and 520 Nm at 1,800 to 4,000 rpm. The car is paired with a nine-speed 9G-Tronic torque converter automatic transmission, which sends power to all four wheels via a 4Matic all-wheel drive system.

2015-mercedes-benz-gle-coupe-spyshots-fed-hwy-1

We have every reason to believe that this unit, as well as the two spied before, belong to grey market importers. We understand that several units are already in the country, courtesy of parallel importers.

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia has however said that the GLE Coupe is part of its plans for 2016. The company will be unveiling several SUV models next year, and this GLE Coupe, along with the regular GLE SUV and smaller GLC SUV, are on the list.

When this model does officially debut in Malaysia, it is set to go toe-to-toe with the BMW X6 range. Currently, the BMW X6 offers two variants in the country, the RM666,800 XDrive35i M Sport and the range-topping RM1.23 million X6 M. Which will it be for you, then?

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz GLE 450 AMG in Malaysia

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz GLE 450 AMG official images

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Trump on Dec 18, 2015 at 6:29 pm

nice to see, great to drive

• Nice to see, great to drive. Once addicted, consider it sold.

• nice to see – it just an X6 wannabe copycat.
      great to drive – driving dynamic is way below X6.

• putra_rider on Dec 18, 2015 at 6:34 pm

i saw jpj testing the grey color at putrajaya last month.

• Taylors on Dec 18, 2015 at 10:39 pm

Spotted one GLE450 with proper wilayah registration number parking just beside Taylor’s College ss15 two weeks ago!

• Jay Law on Dec 19, 2015 at 10:02 pm

UGLE

• Whether by design (pun intended) or otherwise the Merc shamelessly points to the X6. It’s an unavoidable comparison. I mean just look at it. With all their history in designing legendary cars can’t Mercedes have come up with a different, more exciting design than that Bimmer?

• Dr Mamak on Dec 20, 2015 at 3:00 pm

I’d wait for Macan GTS.