Perodua offers nitrogen tyre inflation – RM15.90

perodua-nitrogen

Perodua has announced that it will be offering a new nitrogen tyre inflation service. Priced from RM15.90 per fill for all four tyres, the service is said to be available at selected service centres nationwide.

But, why nitrogen? There are lots of benefits for filling your tyres with nitrogen. For one, tyre pressure is said to be retained for much longer that regular air. As a result of keeping your tyre pressures staying up, you also maintain better fuel efficiency than tyres which are under-inflated, or become that way without your notice.

However, nitrogen tyres are generally believed to be best used in performance vehicles or race cars. Formula 1 racers, for example, rely on nitrogen to fill up their tyres largely because the substance is more stable under intensely hot conditions. It doesn’t change pressure under varying levels of intense heat, and also maintains that pressure for much longer than regular air could.

According to its promotional materials, Perodua also claims that with nitrogen-filled tyres, you will also release less CO2 emissions into the air for driving with the right tyre pressures – a side effect also burning less fuel. It also lists better handling and improved braking performance, as well as longer tyre life spans.

So, will you be filling up your tyres with nitrogen? Don’t be too surprised to see a few extra Nissan GT-Rs trying to do the same at your Perodua service centres next time you’re there.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• liverpoolcapayam on Dec 21, 2015 at 9:32 am

Choi.
    Normal workshops charge RM2-3 per tayar, what lah perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 0
    • Pinky on Dec 21, 2015 at 9:44 am

My workshop charges me RM8 only for nitrogen in all 4 tyres.. And I am running on 20″ wheels :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
      • karam singh on Dec 21, 2015 at 10:40 am

still, It not pure nitrogen.
        we need pure nitrogen 100% to get all those advantages.
        Don’t get surprised if your tyres still losing some pressure in a week.
        Better handling on perodua? I don’t think so.
        this term of better handling if being used on better sets of tyres & thinner wall tyres 45 & below.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • eims perfume on Dec 21, 2015 at 10:07 am

that is perodua.. they know how to make money out of people who doesn’t read comments at paultan..

proton should do the same.. provide services/products that can give service center more money and to the proton overall.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • P2driver on Dec 21, 2015 at 10:08 am

RM2-3 per tayar? u kena cheat la..
      Some tyreshops in my town charge RM 5 for four tyres.
      And FREE for subsequent refill.

• dodgeviper88 on Dec 21, 2015 at 9:32 am

some say it’ll add 10hp :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • FIST (Member) on Dec 21, 2015 at 9:35 am

what is this crap Perodua?

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 21, 2015 at 9:43 am

NO2. On a Perodua. For 16 bux. Wow.

I want these people’s contacts. Going to sell them stickers that add 5hp each.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Steve Web on Dec 21, 2015 at 9:47 am

Is the nitrogen 100% pure. Please see link below from fifth gear experiment. Take away message is there is no difference between nitrogen and normal air fill

http://youtu.be/kmnZ4-EUbIk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Hahahahahah on Dec 21, 2015 at 9:53 am

German marque didnt even provide this. Typical-trying-too-hard-to-be-better. Poor. Period.

• oil_worker on Dec 21, 2015 at 9:55 am

is this really proven?

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Dec 21, 2015 at 10:05 am

Our air already contain 70% nitrogen. Paying 15.90 for the extra 30% nitrogen?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • No matter how to improve still a rubbish and easily buang to longkang. Furthermore, this type of car only suitable for “AUNTY” drive

• These are just the cheapest car in the country. Does the drivers need to bother if the air is nitro or carbon monoxide?

• P2 bodoh on Dec 21, 2015 at 10:46 am

First you have UMW coming up with VIOS GOD CAR SUPER RACING DRIFT advertisement educating people to drive like hooligan on a already unsafe car. Now we have P2 coming out with nitrogen to fill up the dumb customers’ beloved MyVI GOD CAR SUPER EDITION and pretend to be a super car on the road. UMW-P2 brothers forever, creating more accidents on the road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • Omastar on Dec 21, 2015 at 10:55 am

fill in nitrogen cost RM15.90 said to be fuel efficiency isn’t it the same? you save RM15 on fuel but have to pay the RM15 to perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • nabill (Member) on Dec 21, 2015 at 11:02 am

please tell me this article is a troll…!
    Axia getting nitrogen filled tyres!!! i think i have never expected to ever say that….
    on a serious note , im waiting for Perodua Jet Fuel for the Rusa!

• Mek Dee on Dec 21, 2015 at 11:18 am

Nitrogen gas wont make any difference, unless you are driver F1 car, where every split second count.

Just google and watch youtube. Many have proved that nitrogen wont make any difference.

• ayamxxx on Dec 21, 2015 at 1:58 pm

Yes now my myvi dvvt can push to 200km/h at LPT.

Thanks to this “N2” air

• Hentamajela on Jan 02, 2016 at 12:45 pm

Kalau nak cepat mati bawak myvii..kompom cepat mati punya…kalau viva lagi la…masuk axia pulak…lagi la ramai org malaysia bawak kereta terbang lepas ni sbb body ringan mcm kereta mainan…hahaha….bravo ti peruttiga….perodua,deythambihatsu ang final one is that toyol….tak

• Hentamajela on Jan 02, 2016 at 12:47 pm

Kalau nak cepat mati bawak myvii..kompom cepat mati punya…kalau viva lagi la…masuk axia pulak…lagi la ramai org malaysia bawak kereta terbang lepas ni sbb body ringan mcm kereta mainan…hahaha….bravo to peruttiga….perodua,deythambihatsu and final one is that toyol….tak

• Hentamajela on Jan 02, 2016 at 1:58 pm

Cantik lepas ni banyak la myvi terjun gaung…..keep it up perutdua….deythambihatsu ang the kings is toyoltak