SPYSHOTS: Mercedes-Benz GLC 250 in Malaysia

2015-mercedes-benz-glc-suv-spyshots-1

In what could be the very first sighting of the SUV in Malaysia, here is the new Mercedes-Benz GLC. This single picture of the vehicle was sent in to us by a reader – choosing to be known simply as “AL” – who spotted the GLC at Hap Seng Star’s Mercedes-Benz dealership in Balakong.

The car in the picture is clearly the GLC 250 4Matic variant. The variant matches a previous listing for the GLC on our sister classifieds site, oto.my, which opened the order books for a GLC 200 and GLC 250.

The GLC 250 4Matic here features the same engine from the local-spec W205 Mercedes-Benz C 250, but has the addition of an all-wheel drive system and a new nine-speed 9G-Tronic torque converter automatic transmission. The 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbocharged engine is good for 211 hp and 350 Nm of torque.

Mercedes-Benz GLC (X 253) 2015

We can also see that this model is equipped with the AMG Line styling kit – distinguishable through a diffuser-like insert in the rear bumper – much like its smaller sister, the GLA 250 4Matic. AMG multi-spoke alloy wheels and integrated dual tail pipes are also noticeable. The front end of course isn’t visible from this angle, but it should feature the more aggressive air intake design of the AMG kit.

The Mercedes-Benz GLC is essentially a replacement for its GLK-Class, which was strictly available as a left-hand drive model, for markets like the US, Europe and China. The new GLC instead is a global model, offering a right-hand drive version too – one that debuted at the recent Indonesia International Motor Show.

A GLC Coupe has also been spied in the past, but Mercedes-Benz has yet to reveal any official information about the model just yet. Could we see it debut alongside the new W213 Mercedes-Benz E-Class at the coming Detroit Auto Show?

As mentioned before, this Mercedes-Benz GLC will be a part of Mercedes-Benz Malaysia’s SUV assault in 2016. Along with this model, we are also expecting to see the new Mercedes-Benz GLE and GLE Coupe SUVs launched in Malaysia.

The GLC is primed to compete with the BMW X3 when it does arrive here. Comparatively, the X3 is offered in two all-wheel drive variants – the RM326k petrol-powered xDrive20i and the RM346k xDrive20d oil burner. Based on our previous report, we expect the GLC’s variants to be priced similarly, although there is the possibility of more locally-available variants coming here than initially expected.

Which will it be for you, then? Would you be aiming for the Mercedes-Benz GLC, BMW X3, or the Audi Q5? Share your thoughts with us in the comments below.

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz GLC at Indonesia International Motor Show

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Dec 22, 2015 at 2:57 pm

This spyshot is definitely much much better than Perdana spyshot done few days ago. Those P1 are junk, this is plane.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
    • I don’t like the lazy copy-n-paste of MB. But this SUV is undeniably CUTE!

• Bimmer Beemer on Dec 22, 2015 at 5:35 pm

BMW X3 still the king in driving dynamics of all premium compact SUVs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
        • zamer on Dec 22, 2015 at 6:36 pm

i thought X3 is the most ugliest BMW ever produce

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
        • policeman on Dec 22, 2015 at 7:35 pm

Don’t keep on comparing driving dynamics, need to realise, BMW is for youngster, mercedes is for uncle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
        • Krishna on Dec 23, 2015 at 9:46 am

how do you that even before test driving GLC? GLC is a new product. X3 and A5 are so boring…they call it new gen but all they have really done is facelifts

• Why dragged in p1 name here?

• Machismo on Dec 22, 2015 at 2:58 pm

Porsche Macan rules. period

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • question; the M-class is now the GLE wagon right?

• Sammy Loo on Dec 22, 2015 at 3:52 pm

Definitely the Lexus NX is the best in the segment.

Good reliability, brand image and RV. That is the reason why Lexus NX leads the sales chart for the segment in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
    • W204 C63 AMG on Dec 22, 2015 at 4:40 pm

The NX definitely do wonders for Lexus. The NX sales alone in the US is more than the collective sales of all of BMW’s SUVs.

• policeman on Dec 22, 2015 at 7:33 pm

A joker mercedes salesman!!!
        US NX sales YTD sept 2015 32k unit
        US X5 sales YTD sept 2015 40k unit
        See a lot of poster with mercedes related name giving stupid comment, just wonder why?

• upyours on Dec 23, 2015 at 8:02 pm

Hahaha..leading in wat segment?! Probably when u sell 2 cars a month just like land rover

• In and Out feels like a fat oldies design.

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 22, 2015 at 10:02 pm

The X3 looks better to me but I’ll wait for the new Q5 which should be unveiled next year

• Krishna on Dec 23, 2015 at 9:48 am

looking at the A4 and Q7….I am not very excited about the Q5.

• Can’t wait to get my hands on it soonest. A definite addition to the family in ’16.

• unkerlim on Dec 23, 2015 at 8:23 am

Unker lim rejoice…he can finally upgrade his CR-V to this..