New Top Gear hosts – Chris Harris, Sabine Schmitz?

Chris Harris

It seems there’s life after Clarkson, Hammond and May after all. A new report by British tabloid The Sun UK suggests that Top Gear has signed two new co-hosts to accompany lead man Chris Evans. Apparently, Evans will be joined by popular British motoring journalist Chris Harris and German racing driver Sabine Schmitz in the new show, which will start on May 8, 2016.

Car enthusiasts are certain to recognise Harris (pictured above) – a well-known motoring hack in the UK, with previous stints in Evo and Autocar. He now hosts his own popular YouTube channel, Chris Harris on Cars. Schmitz, meanwhile, has appeared on Clarkson-era Top Gear several times, and is perhaps best known for her “Queen of the Nürburgring” nickname.

Former Formula 1 driver David Coulthard will also be involved in the show, according to the tabloid. How exactly this will work, remains to be seen.

It’s not all good news for the BBC show, however. The same report revealed that the show’s executive producer Lisa Clark – taken in by Evans himself to replace long-time Top Gear veteran Andy Wilman who has teamed up with the original TG trio on their new Amazon series – has recently left her post. Script editor Tom Ford will also leave at the end of his contract, if the report is to be believed.

It has to be said, though, that none of this has been officially announced. If indeed accurate, however, what are your thoughts on the new Top Gear – can the Evans-Harris-Schmitz (and Coulthard, somehow) combo live up to the infamous Clarkson-Hammond-May team-up?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• nabill (Member) on Dec 24, 2015 at 1:29 am

chris harris….u should follow his youtube channel….hes just awesome….ive seen Sabine few times on some videos n she seems like a nutcase behind a car…! with some cold funny german humour!
    not bad…question is , they must hv some sort of chemistry among them for it to work…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • obvious on Dec 24, 2015 at 10:23 am

Well, to reinforce the obvious change of user demands of the Internet (as highlighted in your first sentence).

Users (like you and me) now just watch their respective channels (since it is content ON DEMAND).

This TG format is really old. Best left in the past.
      It is just a promo-plug-in show.

• Agreed. They are all good and experienced on their own but they need to get the vibe going as a team. Anyway good luck to them. That and the format of the show. Hope the new TG becomes not only as entertaining as the old one but better – for us motorenthusiasts’ sake.

• Chris harris, he’s good at both driving and technical knowledge about cars and driving. Among /Drive Channel’s presenters, I like him the best. Most of his reviews are well presented, and being a purist, making him the perfect choice to be the host of one of the longest series of car programs. Plus some British humor under his tongue, he will nail it.

As for Sabine, who doesn’t know the king (or queen) of nordschliffe Nurburgring, has been around that treacherous track more than anybody else. And of course she’s involved with bmw and racing, and hosting one of Germany popular car TV show, it would be a blessing for top gear’s schmuck boss if she agrees to be in it. As always being BBC, desperate at reviving top gear, probably lots of moolah will be involved to even attract Sabine’s attention.

Don’t know anything about Chris Evans, someone go wiki it and paste it here, pretty please…

• Wait, is that tiff needell looking at P1?

• GT3 (Member) on Dec 28, 2015 at 10:48 am

Yup. Tiff and Mario are special guest in that episode.
        You can search “Chris Harris On Cars: P1 vs LaFerrari vs 918” in Youtube.

• transformer on Dec 24, 2015 at 7:31 am

Chris is good. He might be my only reason to watch Top Gear UK after previous team left….

Not sure when Gear Knob(new Amazon series) will starts…..

• waxcer on Dec 24, 2015 at 7:36 am

I’ve seen Chris’s review.. But who is Sabine?..lel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Sabine's fan on Dec 24, 2015 at 9:42 am

I love Sabine. She is awesome!

• Aero (Member) on Dec 24, 2015 at 9:48 am

Not bad, BBC managed to save some face; Chris Harris is a good man, few will argue against this decision. I remember Sabine from an older Top Gear challenge, the Germany vs. Britain one, and the ‘woman in a van’ Nurburgring challenge. She has mad skills, on the track lah, but on English TV ? Who knows. Now BBC just has to reconsider on whether or not they should have Captain America on the team… lol

• John X on Dec 24, 2015 at 11:03 am

Why would you call him a motoring hack? This dude is no hack, he knows he’s talking about and more over he does it, with charisma. One of the very few presenters that conveys it as it is. He’s probably the only one who could keep up the top gear spirit, along with his mate Neil. Some BS calling him a hack.

• gaviny on Dec 24, 2015 at 11:11 am

i think many people don’t realize, a lot of the stupid jokes, comedy, slap sticks is actually from jeremy clarkson. it’s all detailed in the magazine articles, he came up with the celebrity in the car etc. etc.

• Komenggurun on Dec 24, 2015 at 3:46 pm

Awesome…Chris Harris golden word “its MEGA!!”…

• ceh i tot captain america

• Annoynimouse on Dec 24, 2015 at 11:52 pm

Chris is good with his reviews. Been following him in Autocar for a long time. Sabine is just nuts around “the ring”. Evans has always been a good TV presenter. Thing is, people don’t want another 5th gear, so they’d have to set themselves apart. As for Coulthard, he’s going to be battling the Stig for best laptime.

• Top Gear is dead, havent any of you apes learned that the trio are making a new motoring program? Jeremy Clarkson was the one who came up with the format of top gear, bbc didnt do anything. Also the top gear producer Andy Wilman will be joining the trio.

• kadajawi (Member) on Dec 25, 2015 at 3:08 am

Oh come on. I don’t want to watch the new Top Gear, I want it to fail. I want to laugh at the BBC for their stupidity.

The only reason I’d watch it would be if they had Doug DeMuro or Chris Harris. Now I have to watch it…?

I doubt there’ll be anywhere near as much humor though, without Clarkson, without Tom Ford (who can be funny at times, too). It’s going to be much more like Fifth Gear, which, amusingly, Tom Ford was on.

• andrekua on Dec 25, 2015 at 7:47 am

Just finished watching Chris’s P1 vs 918 vs La Ferrari. I must say I enjoy it. A bit too long but it really shows the inner of the car more compared to old TG for example. If there’s one thing I hate about the old trio is that May do not drive fast at all. It was a little bit dull when he did the La Ferrari test drive.

• BYE TG on Dec 25, 2015 at 9:28 am

Top Gear without the legendary trio is no more Top Gear for me. It is just another motor show for me…which means nothing. BBC should change the name of the show instead of use back Top Gear. Bye bye golden era of top gear.

• totktok on Dec 25, 2015 at 9:31 am

Chris Evan is a good tv presenter…BUT he is not suitable for top gear. Of coz what i mean is the old top gear. I doubt the popularity of this new version of top gear. BTW, where to watch the Jeremy, Richard and James’s new show? what Amazon is it?

• Sabina is cool girl, I remember she tackles the green hell in a ford transit van to beat jeremy time a jaguar sedan but she lost by merely seconds !

• Will mac on Dec 26, 2015 at 8:01 am

I hope the beeb allow Chris Harris to be Chris Harris .. Otherwise TG is doomed