VIDEO: Toyota driving against traffic, causes crash

Drive otak udang. Lawan arus. TOll setia alam

Posted by Adha Coway on Thursday, December 24, 2015

Bizarre things happen all the time, apparently. Here’s a new video being shared on social media platforms showing a Toyota Corolla Altis driving against traffic flow on a Malaysian highway. Posted today, it’s said to have happened near the Setia Alam toll plaza.

As oncoming cars tried to avoid the errant Altis, one Toyota Estima on the overtaking lane lost control of the vehicle, skidding off the road. While we sure hope that no one was injured in this incident, it has to be said that this video can serve as yet another proof of how important electronic stability control system is in emergency manoeuvres like this.

Funnily enough, this is not the first (Perodua Viva) or even the second time (Myvi) we’ve seen this type of lunacy on Malaysian roads. Yet again, the why and what behind this incident is totally beyond us. Did the driver miss an exit, or is it just a silly daredevil move?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Must be Sam Loo.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 1
  • Estima wouldn’t have crashed if it had ESP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 13
    • Think first on Dec 25, 2015 at 6:42 am

Just because you assume it doesnt have ESP (which in this case you have no proof of that). ESP wont necessarily save that Estima from skidding. It would depend on the speed in which it was driving plus the driving conditions at the time and how fast they tried to avoid that altis. ESP is a tool to help keep the car stable not totally save you from a possible crash. My 2 cents.

• kington on Dec 25, 2015 at 8:41 am

Dude,

ESC doesn’t guarantee you a crash-free car in any circumstances.

• Behind the wheel must always been Japanese origin car. What the hell the driver think they were driving? God’s car? So funny la this kind of driver. Japanese car way too much overatted here. Shame on you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • Sammy Vellu on Dec 24, 2015 at 10:22 pm

Those recond Estimas has no VSC? I always thought that those recond Estimas has the full safety package (VSC/6airbags etc) as opposed to the ones UMW is selling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Moving Coffins on Dec 25, 2015 at 12:19 am

I think maybe that was low specs version(2 airbag wihout vsc) just like previa from umw toyota malaysia

• This shows that the car does not have ESC right??

• Toyota Estima should have EESC unless it’s a local unit. I recon it’s way too much speed and force for the system to handle.

• DPCraft on Dec 24, 2015 at 10:36 pm

Feel bad for Sam loor

• alldisc on Dec 24, 2015 at 10:38 pm

Waze

• Jhleo on Dec 25, 2015 at 12:00 am

WYB 7599. Brainless….

• Too many lunatic ppl around, why??? Wanna die pls go bang wall or jump from building, dun make others suffer pls…

• azuraiznil on Dec 25, 2015 at 12:18 am

Tak guna pun kalau ada stability system kalau ada pemandu tak ada otak mcm altis tu. Dia ingat jalan ni dia punya??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
    • prolever on Dec 25, 2015 at 9:25 am

but still esp can help the car from crashing to the drain.

• Hubby, I just heard over the radio there’s a car going against traffic along the Setia Alam Highway. Be careful darling.

Gosh, it’s not just a car. There’s many of them.

• that driver could be drunk on Dec 25, 2015 at 1:46 am

that driver could be crazy or drunk .
    but confirmed stupid

• BeatTheCrap on Dec 25, 2015 at 4:17 am

Someone should just pull this douchebag out and beat the crap out of him. Of course, I’m condoning violence. This guy deserves it.

• How stupid can this person be?? Even my 70 years old grand ma would know not to drive on the opposite side of traffic. I guess the driver is too ignorant or just plain stupid to be behind the wheel. Sick to see we have such dumb people in our society

• Arnold on Dec 25, 2015 at 4:33 am

The altis driver must have just committed a crime or on YOLO mode

• Must be American driver ?

• ariff on Dec 25, 2015 at 7:22 am

What’s stability control has to do with it when a stupid carry driver is driving towards you?! That’s not the point of this story. Do you want to blame the reckless Toyota driver or the Estima for *allegedly* not having ESC? What a weirdly written article.

• Jacqui on Dec 25, 2015 at 8:24 am

The driver’s license should be hung for at least 5 years. It is the loose law that make this thing happen again and again. Why we need to have a life lost before the police take serious step?

• Fahmy on Dec 25, 2015 at 9:18 am

Such a STUPID,LUNATIC & BRAINLESS ALTIS DRIVER!!! JUST DRIVE YOUR CAR STRAIGHT INTO A RIVER OR SEA…NOT AGAINST A TRAFFIC YOU MANIAC!!!

• Farah N. on Dec 25, 2015 at 9:30 am

Hah! Another Toyota driver. Based on personal observation, those who drive this particular brand have the tendency to drive like m#thrfckng assholes. Be it men or women. And it’s always the Altis or Camry but the most common a$$holes are Vios drivers. Ingat drive kereta jenama Toyota tu macam best sgt…..

• Same lorr on Dec 25, 2015 at 9:53 am

Yeah its me. Sorry for that istima

• Must be drunk, that altis

• a police should be made on the reckless driving of the Altis…..this is purely endangering the life of others on the road
    deliberately driving against the flow of traffic on a major hifhway when all cars are driving at high speed!

• ownere of the video should lodge a police report against the driver of the Altis. this is clearly a case of reckless driving, and endangering the life of others on the road. Civic duty.
    no point commenting here,culprit gets away with ‘murder’ and the Estima suffers.
    what idiot drives against the traffic on the major 3 lane motorway when all cars are going at high speed. and that idiot is also driving on the overtaking lane of on coming traffic.

• Probably behind the wheel is a foreigner who is not aware?

• Nak tolong proton pun agak agak la. Picking on p2 and how vsc can save your from oncoming car? This is so low.

• Ini mangkuk hayun bangang punya pemandu….ingat jln bapa dia punya!!! Nak mampus kalu…p mampus sorang2 jgn dok bahayakan org lain…

• jeritanbatinku on Dec 25, 2015 at 11:57 am

Kalau aku bwk estima tu aku hentam je head to head.. Bawak gi balai kompem aku menang punya… At least altis tu x terlepas.. Mcm skg ni altis tu lpas mcm tu yg estima kena repair.. Huhuhu

• They should arrest such drivers and charge them with attempted manslaughter. That is the only thing they deserve

• Disgusted by these criminals on Dec 26, 2015 at 11:02 am

I once experienced this on sprint near Phileo Damanasara many years ago. I can tell you that it is terrifying and if I wasn’t alert, I would’ve had a head on collision. I agree, this driver and others who do the same should be caught and sentenced to whipping and life imprisonment.

• Yeap, if the estima had stability control. I do think it wont skid out of control. But eventhough u hv stability control, u’ll need to avoid the oncoming altis first & avoid a head on collision, then ur stability control will help u not to skid uncontrollably out of control….thats what stability control do, help u regained control of the vehicle

• xoxox on Dec 25, 2015 at 4:21 pm

Lol.. paultan… do you know that ur title is insulting the whole toyota? They can sue you for that…

• Eh? No Myvi or Viva here rite?

• Trying too hard to be in USA.

• jackass on Dec 26, 2015 at 7:59 am

all 3 incidents by umw car. umw make people stupid

• karpal sanked on Dec 28, 2015 at 12:47 am

I can bet all of you the driver of the altis is 40-something year old chinese women.. not to be rasict or anything.. :p

• Amelia on Dec 28, 2015 at 2:46 am

Hafriz – any news on whether they caught the driver driving against the traffic? In all 2 cases?

• Izham on Dec 28, 2015 at 7:13 am

Esp takkan menjadikan kereta tu crash proof but again from the vid seems like the estima is equipped with esp. If not surely dah terbalik byk kali. Hope police find the culprit altis driver