SPAD the scapegoat in Uber saga – Syed Hamid Albar

Syed-Hamid-Albar

The Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) is being made the scapegoat over issues relating to ride-sharing services like Uber and GrabCar, according to its chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar. He said said certain quarters, including government agencies, have been dodging responsibility in solving the “illegal taxi” services offered via smartphone apps.

In a report by The Sun, Syed Hamid said, “many people are just happy to point fingers at SPAD, even though that’s not our area of responsibility. In the end, we have been blamed for many things, we are like a punching bag, while the media are happy to provide space to hit out at SPAD.”

He also condemned the Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC) for claiming that it did not receive a request from SPAD to take action against the Uber app. On Nov 30, Deputy Minister of Communications and Multimedia Datuk Jailani Johari had told the Dewan Rakyat that MCMC had yet to receive a request from SPAD to take action against Uber app.

Malaysia-Taxi-02

“It is not true that SPAD didn’t contact MCMC on Uber app or request them to take action. We have had meetings with MCMC about this for quite a while. We had several discussions and they (MCMC) are not willing to do that as it may be read as interfering with the internet or censoring an app service,” said Syed Hamid.

Syed Hamid also stated that the MCMC had evaded its responsibility to take action against the ride-sharing apps even though cyberspace, tech and mobile app matters are well within its scope of operation. The MCMC currently deems ride-sharing apps a legal service.

The Transport Ministry and its supposed legalisation of ride-sharing services in Malaysia was also condemned by Syed Hamid. “This topic of legalising never arises at all. SPAD’s position is very clear from the beginning – legalising Uber does not arise and statements coming from the Transport Ministry are confusing and making us (SPAD) look bad as if we are set to execute this move of legalising Uber.

Taxi Drivers Protest Against GrabCar 1

“It was the Transport Ministry which made the statements while SPAD has yet to make any announcement or finalise our plan with regards to Uber, GrabCar or any ride-hailing apps which utilise private vehicles. And I am surprised that the Transport Ministry is getting ahead of themselves,” he stated.

The ongoing ride-sharing saga has left several taxi drivers disgruntled, with some looking to take legal action against SPAD, which Syed Hamid responded to by saying, “in the first place, they (cabbies) are taking legal action based on speculation. As far as we are concerned, we have not made any decision (on Uber). I think the taxi drivers are pointing their finger at the wrong party here.”

However, Syed Hamid stated that even though SPAD will participate in a workshop with the Transport Ministry on the possibility of regulating ride-sharing services, any proposal to revitalise the taxi industry soon still needs to be presented to Cabinet.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• What to do. U also the crocodile mah

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 0
    • Mahaguroo on Dec 28, 2015 at 3:18 pm

Gua berani bet ini hal UBER GRABCAR sampai tahun 2020 pon X leh settle laaa. Hahaha

• Who care the your “rakyat” complaints? I know you all can’t do anything, if my cronies will loss up, then your rakyat, uber and grabcar will no chance in this business. This is hopeless gov, hybrid incentive – cut, better service – cut, complaints from consumer / more gangster taxi driver – encourage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • George Abdul on Dec 28, 2015 at 12:59 pm

SPAD “don’t blame me, I do my job”… Rakyat complaints more then 10 years SPAD was doing anything??? Hope he get sack BUT to bad BN monopoly and spoil cronies !!!

• Kenneth Fook on Dec 28, 2015 at 10:56 am

Rakyat is the scapegoat in this hilarious SPAD saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • ben yap on Dec 28, 2015 at 10:59 am

no need to point fingers like what you guys did for donkey years. all these problem arise because the fault of taxi drivers. allow uber and grabcar to rule….close case…

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Dec 28, 2015 at 11:04 am

Hmm..looks like a fat goat

• Question for YB Albar on Dec 28, 2015 at 11:10 am

Yesterday i landed in klia2. Before existing at the first gate after baggage claims i bought my rm65 ticket with their official limo. It was a waja. Ride was terrible as all 4 absorbers were gone. I asked the driver he confirmed all 4 were gone and also his suspension was also rosak. I asked him why? He answered rudely, “Apa lagi you mahu, ini Proton lah “Kalau mau baik, ambik mercedes premeir limo”. Ini untuk bawak kambing” Fnally i vomitted as the ride was so bad

My question to Albar, if you give all the teksi service to crony companies, can’t they maintain their cabs? After all rm65 is a lot of money. Meter cabs are only rm40.

What would tourist also think?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 0
    • Sam VHL Loo on Dec 28, 2015 at 12:47 pm

If the rider was Same Lorrrr, he will reply in a cool manner:

Taxi driver: “Apa lagi you mahu, ini Proton lah “Kalau mau baik, ambik mercedes premeir limo”. Ini untuk bawak kambing”

Same Lorrrr: “mau baik punya ah, itu Wajunk kasi tukar sama itu Vios/Altis atau Innova pun bolehlah, tahan lama oh, lagipun harga jual balik @ RV pun baik punya, ini brosur, harga dan kad nama saya, saya boleh bagi fleet discount utk encik punya boss klu berminat”

• Lol… i had taxi yesterday in JB. I was so suprise they are still lousy piece of shix milo tin proton iswara as a taxi. I believe iswara is more than 10 years right? How come spad still allowing them to do business. The name of taxi company is Comfort…07-3322852. Shame on u comfort.

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 28, 2015 at 11:12 am

LOL. Scapegoat?

If SPAD was actually doing its job, do you think UBER would get a foot hold here in the first place?

Go control your taxi permits holders and the taxi drivers better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • V r in land of dump n dumpers.to make matter worse these dump n dumpers r got so call power to show how much they r dump n dumpers n make laugh on Malaysians

• Painter on Dec 28, 2015 at 11:48 am

I think we have over 30 cabinet committees on various issues. It is puzzling as to why this particular matter has been dragged on for ages.

• First, dont get MCMC involved. This has got nothing to do with MCMC. SPAD should tell the taxi gangster to do write direct to MCM is they want. Hell they can write to Obama is they want. Dont ask SPAD to contact MCMC and SPAD shouldnt have to either.

On the approval issue, if SPAD have the power to either allow or disallow Uber, etc…..then make it happen. Yes or No. Simple. Dont ding dong around. This is typical Malaysian government red-tape. How the public what you are made off. Your decisions will be the judge of it.

If SPAD have no authority. Then make a press statement and say this is not our jurisdiction. Stop harassing us.

• Professional on Dec 28, 2015 at 12:10 pm

MCMC deputy minister Datuk Jailani Johari

what shit is this? MCMC got dept minster hahaha

• Thorpedo on Dec 28, 2015 at 12:45 pm

Jailani is a smart and capable guy. He got sucked into politics because the ministry have no choice but to get someone who knows telecom and internet. Most of the ministers won’t know the difference between an app and DAP.

So all the mess spewed by dumb ministers have to be cleaned up by this guy.

• spade on Dec 28, 2015 at 12:58 pm

tutup jelah SPAD. no decision, no power, nothing. makan duit saja tau.

• Apasal Tanya on Dec 28, 2015 at 1:02 pm

Typical of a top-heavy government, way too many ministries, ministers and its minions. First of, none of them knows where their own responsibilities or boundaries.When an issue arises, a pass the buck game starts. Typical !

• Anonymous on Dec 28, 2015 at 1:10 pm

WTF…?! There’s 2 parts to this Uber & GrabCar service; THE APP where consumer call up or book the ride; THE VEHICLES that provide the transportation.

The app is not the problem and MCMC can deal with it if there are any complaints on the app. SPAD needs just to control and regulate the vehicle part of the service combination. The app would be useless if the vehicular component of the service is grounded or be made illegal. SPAD just need to fix the part which is in its jurisdiction and authority to begin with. If SPAD decides to OK the service, only it can regulate the vehicular part of the service and not MCMC.

I honestly don’t see why it is taking too long to find a solution. Is SPAD management too dense to understand any of this? If TSHamid Albar or your managemnet team by now, unable to bring conclusion to this predicament and yet we hear voices blaming other agencies… then i ask you to honourably step down and let brighter people run the show.

No more talk… do your job!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • seancorr (Member) on Dec 28, 2015 at 2:19 pm

Haha he dare mention SPAD has not made any comment on the legalising Uber. They are also to be blamed for taking their bloody time!

• tinmilo on Dec 28, 2015 at 5:47 pm

Fine…fine… Tan Sri, I hear you… I feel you..
    Uber Grabcar are not your problem and you are made the scape goat…

The existing Taxis? Are they your area of governance? yes?
    Look at the sorry state of Malaysian’s taxi…. Voted the worst in the World.

None of today’s drama would happen if SPAD is doing the job of reforming this bunch of useless public transport. It is a national disgrace as we speak…

The media would give space to praise SPAD too, if you have done anything worthy so far.

• abang dol on Dec 28, 2015 at 8:58 pm

MCMC got nothing to do with the issue. The aps is merely a tool to book for the service, put it this way if the aps is used to book a taxi does it make any difference…

The legalising body is the one who should make the stand! If they say it’s illegal than any form of such business should be stopped and deemed illegal.

What so hard about making such decision…

• Rakyat Biasa on Dec 29, 2015 at 9:21 am

SPAD is not doing anything good to Malaysia taxis (taxis are old and taxi drivers are rude). Overall national public transportation also kelam kabut… You are not capable to lead SPAD. Please RESIGN.