Bugatti Chiron now said to have 467 km/h top speed; 8.0 litre W16 engine to produce 1,500 HP, 1500 Nm

Bugatti Chiron teaser

More details has resurfaced in regards to the Bugatti Chiron, the successor to the carmaker’s record-holding car, the Veyron. A report by Magazín ProDriver CZ reveals facts and figures that appear to be for the most part, consistent with an earlier report on the Chiron.

An undisclosed source that took part in an exclusive presentation organised by Bugatti for potential customers provided the details on the upcoming supercar. The main highlight here is of course the engine. It appears the Chiron will adopt an uprated version of the Veyron’s 8.0 litre W16 quad-turbo engine that now features some form of electrification.

The engine is said to produce 1,500 hp and 1,500 Nm of torque, good for a 0-100 km/h time of just 2.2 seconds, which is 0.3 seconds quicker than the Veyron. Flat out, the Chiron will hit a claimed top speed of 467 km/h, that would eclipse the current Guinness World Record holder (Veyron Super Sport) as the fastest street-legal production car in the world (currently 430.9 km/h).

Production of the Chiron is said to be limited to just 500 units, 50 more than the number of Veyrons made. However, the supercar is said to complete its production life cycle in just five years, with 100 cars made annually until the 500 mark is met. That is half the time it took to produce all 450 units of the Veyron in both hard-top and open-top variants.

Pricing-wise, it won’t be cheap as the report claims that the Chiron will start from two million euros (RM9,373,887) before any options are listed. With an official debut set for March 2016 during the Geneva Motor Show, what do you think of the upcoming Bugatti Chiron?

GALLERY: Bugatti Vision Gran Turismo

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• BOYRACER on Dec 30, 2015 at 9:59 am

My new year resolution..Must get one.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Dec 30, 2015 at 10:09 am

I can imagine the latet advance version of chiron will hit 500km/h mark..

• GodCar on Dec 30, 2015 at 10:57 am

I am sure someone with 2.6 donated $$$ already booked one.

• Nein. Someone with 3 billion in his state piggybank alredi book one

• Ah Beng TRD Vios godcar on Dec 31, 2015 at 1:13 am

Even if you book 10 units also useless as it will all be smoked by me.

• zamer on Dec 30, 2015 at 11:58 am

crazy speed..its good to achieve the record.. shows how the engineers are working hard. 467kmh
    i dont feel safe even at 200kmh..not to say 467kmh
    that is airplane speed

• viosfan on Dec 30, 2015 at 1:14 pm

That speed is unusable on congested bolehland road. Go get Vios 1000x better, high RV summore.

• CarGuy on Dec 30, 2015 at 6:07 pm

You sure rv of vios is higher than this limited editon hypercar?

• Kancil Hybrid on Dec 30, 2015 at 1:47 pm

Ok, I have to admit. No Wira turbo from Sunway can challenge this.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Dec 30, 2015 at 6:41 pm

Can…u put 2000 speed bumps on a 1km road. The chiron will lose

• Glad to see that VAG didn’t pull out the Chiron after dieselgate.
    Hopefully this car will be more sexy than the Veyron.
    Honestly, Veyron has to be one of the ugliest supercar I’ve ever seen. It looks fat and round, like a chubby kid who is licking a candy in front of everyone (see reference from the movie ‘the interview’).