Uber not in competition with taxis, says comms head

uber-x-car

Ride-sharing service Uber yesterday emphasised that it is not competing with taxi services, despite rising opposition from local taxi drivers. Uber India and South Asia communications head Karun Arya told Malay Mail Online that it is an entirely different service that aims to reduce traffic congestion.

“It’s not about Uber versus taxis, we don’t see them as a ride-sharing competition,” said Arya. He said it was Uber’s intention to provide “reliable, safe and affordable” transport services to clients, especially in major urban areas.

Uber has come under heavy fire in recent weeks with taxi drivers staging protests on a regular basis claiming the service has caused to lose customers and earnings. A protest in November saw taxi drivers threatening to block major roads in Kuala Lumpur’s Golden Triangle.

uberX

Arya said the rationale behind Uber was to get the public to maximise usage of their personal vehicles, and earn income simultaneously. “Anywhere in the world, people only use their cars four percent of the time, the other 96% the cars are parked. If you can increase that four percent utilisation to even 70% or 80%, then you can start taking more cars off the road,” he said.

Uber head of Global Trust Bhavdeep Basin said Uber was 100% compliant and regulated through local regulations that are in place and encouraged authorities to implement regulations for their business model. “When people say you are illegal and you are unregulated, we couldn’t be further from the truth,” he said.

While taxi drivers have been protesting against Uber and Grabcar, another ride-sharing service, the general public views these services as an attractive alternative to traditional taxis, citing better cars and polite drivers as the main reasons for choosing the service.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Anonymous on Dec 30, 2015 at 4:54 pm

Who r u kidding…? To the common people.. that’s just putting a spin on things.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • Don’t BS like our BN comedians. Uber and Grabcar have made significant increase of invisible taxis and traffic la.

• Drebar on Dec 30, 2015 at 5:58 pm

Karun is talking nonsense. It is in direct competition with taxis!

And it is far cheaper and also safer.

• IGP mom on Dec 31, 2015 at 3:43 pm

Itu otak buka la sikit. It is not in competition with taxi but basically about utilizing the car usage … and at the same time … indirectly becomes another option to travelers especially with better services, not only to taxi, but also basically all public transport. One more thing is, the taxis in Bolehland are too low quality, they are not even qualified as competitor in the first place.

• minibas wilayah on Dec 30, 2015 at 5:07 pm

Government should consider increasing bus fares, says Konsortium Transnasional

http://www.theedgemarkets.com/my/article/government-should-consider-increasing-bus-fares-says-konsortium-transnasional

• dodgeviper88 on Dec 30, 2015 at 5:14 pm

One key difference between uber & taxis are that taxis can be hailed anytime, thus it is advantageous in populated areas like shopping complexes, airport where once they drop off passengers another one hops in straight away. Also for the older folks getting an Uber car to them is like rocket science. It’ll be interesting for Uber to do analytics on what is the demographics of Uber riders

• Drebar on Dec 30, 2015 at 6:01 pm

You can hail Uber anytime also, it all depends if there are enough Uber drivers on the road or not. And it is much easier to call uber, just use the Uber app and press button only. You don’t need to call anyone.

Uber is now offering special price to airport and A LOT of people are using Uber to go to KLIA and KLIA2.

• Ahmad Maselan on Dec 30, 2015 at 5:30 pm

Kita patut sokong Uber… Uber boleh membantu rakyat yang ingin mendapatkan extra job, eh income. Kepada pemandu teksi : Korang ni asik2 nak komplen je, cubalah extra job, meniaga online ke apa…. Ni nak bawak teksi malas, kerja asik nak melepak2 borak and minum kopi, lepas tu salahkan gomen aje. Ptuihhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Matchy on Dec 30, 2015 at 6:28 pm

#2kerja

• Just ask the taxi driver become an uber driver. Easy. Depend on them to use the apps or just waiting the customer at taxi stand. Both can benefit them. 2 jobs maaaa…

• loveu on Dec 30, 2015 at 11:03 pm

Give me 2 trip to klia daily, if ronda ronda in city traffit jam i don want la, little money so tired maaa. Your uber fare kasi up la lagi banyak sikit, u noo live in sity mana cukup everyting buy, bye bye la

• Painter on Dec 30, 2015 at 11:40 pm

“Anywhere in the world, people only use their cars four percent of the time, the other 96% the cars are parked. If you can increase that four percent utilisation to even 70% or 80%, then you can start taking more cars off the road,”

When the guy puts it that way, it makes perfect business sense. No wonder Uber is so successful.

• BeemerFreak on Dec 31, 2015 at 1:20 am

Uber and grabcar are here to stay whether those taxi assholes like it or not. The people prefer freedom over harassment.

• Alyy8128 on Dec 31, 2015 at 7:53 am

Must support Datuk Ahmad Maslan suggestiong to take second job at night as Uber driver.

• C.P.MOHAN on Dec 31, 2015 at 10:28 am

@Alyy8128 on one hand AM “advices” get a second job but on the other hand HM said if illegal cannot-lah, so how eh!