Uber Malaysia targets 100,000 new drivers in 2016

uberX

Despite facing a number of challenges, Uber driver partners are expected to grow in Malaysia this year, The Star reports. The company expects to see a total of 100,000 new drivers in 2016 – a major reason for this can be attributed to the increasingly challenging economy.

General manager of Uber Malaysia, Leon Foong said, “these part-time opportunities just make a lot of sense in terms of increasing incomes while serving people who need rides.” He added, “we plan to create 100,000 new flexible economic opportunities in Malaysia to meet the economic challenges that Malaysians face.”

So far, there are a total of 60,000 Uber driver partners in the Klang Valley and in relation to the higher recruitment this year, Foong said, “there are seven million people living in the Klang Valley, so we’re just getting started.” According to him, new products that “maximise time and seat efficiency” are intended for a launch this year.

While Uber has clarified that it is not in competition with taxis, some 102 taxi drivers will be suing the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) over Uber, Grabcar and Blacklane. An ad hoc committee has been formed to sue the commission for alleged negligence in banning the three operators. The taxi drivers claim that their livelihoods had been affected due to said services.

uber-x-car

Klang Valley Taxi Driver Action Committee member, Kamarudin Mohd Husain stated that more legal action will follow. “We will file five or six more in stages,” he said, noting that it would not just be over the ride-sharing apps, but about various other issues in the taxi industry.

Should Uber and Grabcar be made legal, the committee was looking into a strike, or even going to the extent of blocking off the streets of Kuala Lumpur again. Kamarudin said that the government had given SPAD a mandate to improve the taxi industry, however, the committee felt that it was not doing a satisfactory job.

Earlier, SPAD said that it was being made the scapegoat over issues relating to ride-sharing services, said chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar. “Many people are just happy to point fingers at SPAD, even though that’s not our area of responsibility. In the end, we have been blamed for many things, we are like a punching bag, while the media are happy to provide space to hit out at SPAD.”

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 04, 2016 at 10:25 am

#2kerja

So why are the taxi drivers making such a piss show? Maslan said to take up part time jobs right?

• See? Uber vs Uber, Uber vs Taxi, Taxi vs Grabcar, Grabcar vs Uber. Creating congestion traffic on the road

• just abolished SPAD – we already have JPJ to do the works. government no need to waste money on SPAD

• George Abdul on Jan 04, 2016 at 12:52 pm

And Mazlan too he’s public enemy, Rakyat vote for Government to stable economic and government appointed him talk stupid statement “Truly waste of tax payers money” and “WORST HE have 3 government appointed job” !!!

• Mat 385 on Jan 04, 2016 at 10:48 am

Minister said rakyat should take 2 jobs.

Follow his advice lah!

• DonkeyKong on Jan 04, 2016 at 11:48 am

If the cabbies are smart they should quit their blood-sucking taxi companies and leave those permit holders high and dry, and switch over as Uber drivers.

But they’re too dumb to do that, which is why they’re still stuck as parasitic criminally-inclined cabbies till today.

• alldisc on Jan 04, 2016 at 12:14 pm

Please do not allow legalization of uber. It is Better to be discreet. Imagine arriving at a wedding in a Jaguar XJL costing 1 million ringgit without ppl knowing its not your car.

But hey! U are chauffeured driven as well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • ben yap on Jan 04, 2016 at 12:30 pm

too many drivers on the road will affect other uber drivers’ income as there will be less surges.

• Black Dog on Jan 04, 2016 at 3:46 pm

I had my first Uber experience last week and I must say it’s easy, convenient and most importantly the drivers are friendly. It’s a great way to make some extra cash for them. What other profession can let u work anytime and anywhere u want with no skill at all driving your own car?

• KennyTam on Jan 04, 2016 at 8:17 pm

Uber, Grabcar and Blacklane drivers risk getting their vehicles confiscated if they pick up the wrong passenger. How do the companies propose to safeguard against that?

• Alan Tan on Apr 25, 2016 at 11:04 pm

I’m a uber partner and I can say that most of my uber driver friends and friendly and have good driving attitudes. The moment you get into an uber car, i’m pretty sure that the next time you need a ride, uber will be your 1st choice of public transport.
    And for those who has not taken an uber ride before, here’s my CODE that you can get a FREE ride with uber.
    3s6ej *only valid for the 1st ride for 1st time riders.