GALLERY: Proton Iriz Petronas Primax Edition, 1 of 8

Proton Iriz Petronas Primax Edition 2

At the launch of the Petronas ‘Pump & Win’ contest, the range of prizes to be won was on display – the one that most caught our eye was a Proton Iriz 1.6 Premium, replete with black and green stripes as well as ‘Petronas Primax Edition’ badging, of which there are eight to be won.

The front fascia sees the slim upper and large lower grilles joined visually by black vinyl, while the usual chrome “wings” that hold the Proton badge have also been wrapped in matte black. The front spoiler is covered in the signature Petronas green, as are the surrounds for the LED daytime running lights.

Green stripes, beginning from the leading edge of the bonnet, run along the A-pillar and cant rails; the C-pillar and rear spoiler and tail light surrounds are finished in matte black, while the tail gate is wrapped in green. Finishing off the unique look are black-and-green stripes along the sides and rear of the car, green rear diffuser highlights and green trim on the wheels.

Elsewhere, it’s unchanged from every other Iriz 1.6 Premium – that includes the interior, which retains the standard black leather upholstery with white stitching. So that’s the Proton Iriz Petronas Primax Edition. What do you think about the looks, and are you looking for winning one in the ‘Pump & Win’ contest?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Petrodollar on Jan 05, 2016 at 4:00 pm

Win this car sure people stare at the driver whenever fill up fuel at other petrol station

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 1
    • Same L0rrrr on Jan 05, 2016 at 11:46 pm

No matter what sticker what colors you put on it, it is still a junk. It is still a proton after all. Good luck to the sozai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 46
    • Same L0rrr on Jan 06, 2016 at 9:03 am

Whatever.. even have petronas or shell sticker or any brand or stickers.. The proton with campro engine still have no RV!
      Please wake up proton, put in 1.5 ivtec engine in this Iriz, for sure hot as goreng pisang! And for sure have good RV too!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 28
      • donno on Jan 06, 2016 at 10:19 am

To hell with the resale value. It is a free car to the lucky winner lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • HEYY!!Its PROTON..and also PETRONAS!! lets start a new bashing session here!! *if u know what i mean.. :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 31
    • Albert on Jan 05, 2016 at 9:07 pm

Bradder R, Nobody in his right frame of mind will bash up anything or anyone,Right?
      However,Proton being a laggard behind Perodua,has run out of promotional ideas….henceforth a repaint job for the Iriz. Whether I or you or a chimp do the bashing,does not change the FACTS :Proton has a terminal disease and sales has plunged to about 102,000 units in 2015.
      Give it another 2 years,sales will only hit around 50-60,000 units……it either close shop or bring in exotic APs to sell AP cars….right?
      Come on….our failing economy and better educated car enthusiasts do not favour MEDIOCRITY AND EVERLASTING PERLINDUNGAN anymore. Proton do not seem to get market sentiments staright,It is always in a state of KHAYALAN AND SYIOK SENDIRI SYNDROME.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
      • leonardo on Jan 06, 2016 at 9:09 am

Errr…Albert…this limited edition is done by Petronas, not PROTON. So i guess you don’t read before you comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • Ok..my apology for the sarcasm..its only aim for uneducated car enthusiasts..the educated car enthusiasts will understand my sarcasm. However, if u believe that by closing down P1 will make other car brand price reduced by 50%, well that’s not going to happen my friend. The price will be the same because the tax impose are one of the government source of income. P1 also paid tax to the government. For me it is not a crime for gov to inject some funds to P1 because it will give back to the rakyat in term of affordable and reliable car. Yes they are using rakyat tax money but are all rakyat tax money goes to P1??We have to admit that Malaysian reluctant to support their local brand and worship outside brand but when the economy falls, they will accuse the gov as failing to rule.

• FIST (Member) on Jan 05, 2016 at 4:09 pm

Front not bad, but rear 3/4 just no

• Wow

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Noob Mod Car on Jan 05, 2016 at 4:25 pm

Ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
  • Shut up and take my money ….. hahaha … them proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Random Citizen on Jan 05, 2016 at 4:40 pm

Would u drive with this livery on the road? I dont think so. Looks more like a Petronas company car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
    • rosdi on Jan 05, 2016 at 6:27 pm

I will drive it… grinning ear to ear while staring at your shiny car with 9 years loan…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 4
  • ben yap on Jan 05, 2016 at 4:43 pm

ok, this is what we call an ugly paint job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Fail

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • melakaboy on Jan 05, 2016 at 4:46 pm

do they have any graphic designers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • whoa??

• Mozilla Chrome on Jan 05, 2016 at 5:07 pm

Saw one yesterday around USJ area. Nothing special..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • thebosssedangbercakap on Jan 05, 2016 at 5:29 pm

whoever approved this project should work in brothers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • omegle on Jan 05, 2016 at 5:49 pm

win a car to be our free advertiser.

• If these had LH or NR signatures then its even more special.

• tokmoh. on Jan 05, 2016 at 5:52 pm

Hatsune Miku’s ride

• omg,its an amg 45 petronas version but with proton badge….buy

• karipap 1malysia on Jan 05, 2016 at 6:36 pm

a turd cannot be polished….

• albag on Jan 05, 2016 at 6:45 pm

help petronas to advertise… bodoh sial

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Free ok lar….just spend some money at accessory/paint shop to change it back to normal iriz OR just change to bigger rims so doesnt look like Petronas company car…

• clearcase on Jan 05, 2016 at 8:51 pm

They should’ve make it more tasteful like that special A45 Petronas edition

• Annoynimouse on Jan 05, 2016 at 10:18 pm

I think it looks cool. But agree with some comments that people might mistake it for a Petronas company car. I believe I’ve also seen a Merc with similar paint theme. In any case, it’s better than having a Waja with Mitsubishi livery all over.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 05, 2016 at 10:22 pm

Yep the owner will be a free Petronas moving advertisement board and I call this a limited sticker edition Iriz.

• Actman on Jan 06, 2016 at 12:52 am

Only half eco mode spotted!

• too much green at the back

• superman on Jan 06, 2016 at 9:28 am

BIG FAT HAIRY DEAL… what is so special about the Iriz which we all know is the biggest failure in proton…

• in my personal view, the decal will looks better if they put it on white iriz

• chin peng on Jan 15, 2016 at 10:20 am

for some reason i hate samelorr,but when it comes to “put in 1.5 ivtec engine in this Iriz, for sure hot as goreng pisang!” who knows rite?lol

• A.T.Sylvester on Jan 29, 2016 at 2:53 pm

The sale advertisement for modern vehicle is the quality : the safety, the look both inside and outside, the quiet drive as sound/noise is part of safety too, durable material use for accessories, electrical wiring almost perfect, the rim size and design include tyre brand,gearbox, steptronic H.Jazz, H.City, H.HR-V,need very little adverts but selling very well. Mazda SkyActive technology doing better than expected. …more
    The support services 3S or 4S must be of quality and friendly with highly qualified, dedicated and well mannered mechanics 4stars/5stars ratings with fast delivery. Professional adverts Co is going to be one of the many termites eating bleeding the national cars financial constraint.

• A.T.Sylvester on Jan 29, 2016 at 3:02 pm

The answer is not people perceptions it is real : Total quality right down from products to service delivery must be of four stars / 5 stars ratings. The adverts does not sell.