VIDEO: Leona Chin pranks Mitsubishi Triton buyers

Mitsubishi, looking to do something a little different for its potential customers, turned to one Leona Chin to spice up the overall shopping experience. Leona, no stranger to the ways of the power slide, appears all too happy to play along.

The prank starts off with Leona playing a shy and inexperienced sales girl. She greets several customers, but fails to impress them with her knowledge of the new Mitsubishi Triton. Naturally, the guys start to get a bit cocky – one even suggests that the Triton is no place for a woman.

Determined to do well on her “first day,” Leona tags along as the drivers head out for test drives. It doesn’t take long for her to get behind the wheel of the truck, though. Mind you, the pick-up in question is the new Triton Phantom variant we uncovered a while back.

A quick word about the range-topping Phantom, first, and what you get here is effectively a Triton Adventure that has been treated to more goodies. The truck features unique decals and trim pieces on the exterior, HID projector headlamps with LED daytime running lights, black-painted multi-spoke 17-inch wheels, and chromed sport bars and a flatbed hard cover.

Inside, the leather seats feature red stitching, “Phantom” badging, and a carbon-fibre motif on the side bolsters. Performance wise, this variant also gets a 2.5 litre variable geometry turbo engine that provides 178 PS and 400 Nm at 2,000 rpm, coupled to a five-speed automatic gearbox and an all-wheel drive system. Sitting just above the Triton Adventure in the range, the Phantom retails at RM119,200.

We’ll let you find out just what else Leona had in store for her customers that day by watching the video above. We promise, no regrets getting through the whole thing. If you’re looking for more pick-up truck videos, don’t forget to check out our episode of the Driven Web Series 2015 where we pit the Mitsubishi Triton, Nissan Navara and Ford Ranger together to find out which is best.

Mitsubishi Triton 2.5 VGT Adventure

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• azhar on Jan 05, 2016 at 9:44 am

hahaha..that fat guy was cool!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 171 Thumb down 0
    • IGP mom on Jan 05, 2016 at 10:47 am

Yeah, I bet he drives and turn corners fast too, thus not too surprising with such speeds :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • All those “men” that goes to the GYM …. HAHAHAHA. How foolish you look and sound now eh !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
  • Typical Malaysians always looking down on women in general. Gender inequality, race inequality, ethnicity inequality, income inequality. Too bad even after this video the Triton is still a car for those who want to make up for their small cahones.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
    • Gargantia on Jan 05, 2016 at 9:57 am

The men’s are good actor lol screaming like shit !!! But Leona Chin she ROCKS BABY !!! And Paul tan crew she will be a good addition on Driven :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
    • Nalsam on Jan 05, 2016 at 10:23 am

No doubt womens are good with steering. Just they dont know how to use signal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
  • yazeed on Jan 05, 2016 at 9:51 am

kudos to Leona…I admire ladies with this sort of driving skills.. And to the guy who quoted “this is man’s car” go eat your words!!!..hahahha

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 2
  • takNakP1 on Jan 05, 2016 at 10:01 am

nvr look down on anyone regardless of gender, age or race…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • michaelooi on Jan 05, 2016 at 10:02 am

The fat guy’s da mannn!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 2
  • superbird #43 on Jan 05, 2016 at 10:52 am

ford ranger/mazda bt-50 = competent and capable
    toyota hilux = solid and reliable
    isuzu d-max = economical and practical
    chevy colorado = powerful and stylish
    nissan navara = spacious and comfortable

mitsubishi triton = sports car like suspension system?

• verneh on Jan 05, 2016 at 10:53 am

Cool idea. But planted passengers so not so cool after all.

• John X on Jan 05, 2016 at 4:13 pm

Most of these videos are extremely fake. There was once where this girl or another girl was learning how to drive in a drift car and had a driving instructor with her. In one of the scenes was a white guy as a driving instructor. Where in Msia we have white instructors. Completely right when it is all an act.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • iamthefatguy on Jan 05, 2016 at 10:54 am

The fat guy wins!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • Does any triton can slide without topple?

• Nenek Kau on Jan 05, 2016 at 1:55 pm

they pour water on the tarmac to make the surface slippery with some loose gravel. If they did on normal street, i betcha it will end up upside down.

• Joker on Jan 05, 2016 at 3:31 pm

At least it didn’t rolled over. If they do this with the current Hilux for sure it would tipped over. Hilux is by far one the most unstable pick-up truck if you push it off limits. Already seen 2 Hilux rolled over on an intersection and another 2 on a normal straight road. Not sure if it’s the drivers fault or not but for sure I’ve never seen a Triton, Ranger or Navara lose its control on the road. I saw one Dmax rolled several times but thats because an impatient Saga driver decided to hit the back of the Dmax.

• Nenek Kau on Jan 05, 2016 at 1:56 pm

they pour water on the tarmac to make the surface slippery with some loose gravel. If they did on normal street, i betcha it will end upside down.

• The racer wannabe guy is the nicest person there!
    Get her to start a drift section for cars revised in driven! Sure good one!

• MeToo on Jan 05, 2016 at 11:10 am

Decent video, entertaining.

But is it me, or are those “customer” hired actors? So this is more like a staged movie rather then a prank.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Gender Equality on Jan 05, 2016 at 11:58 am

Aiyo! Men screamed like school girls. Hehehe!

• Merce on Jan 05, 2016 at 12:15 pm

“lets do it again!”

i love that guy! xD

• ben yap on Jan 05, 2016 at 1:23 pm

tengku djan vs leona chin in time attack, who will win?

• Philchin on Jan 05, 2016 at 11:20 pm

If i can get leona to sit in my sti.
      I bet u , i will take revenge for the guys.
      I am going to shock her what real driving is about.

• Ah Beng TRD Vios godcar on Jan 06, 2016 at 1:37 am

STi? You will surely shit in your pants once you sit in my TRD quad turbo!

• pautan on Jan 05, 2016 at 1:27 pm

advertisement for triton only lah :-(

• FatGuysAreRealMen on Jan 05, 2016 at 2:34 pm

Cayalah bro. Fat Guy wins.

• Kimchi ftw on Jan 05, 2016 at 3:19 pm

Ohh damn, I would like to sit beside Leona Chin if I have the chance. Definitely will enjoy the ride ….

• In early days I don’t quite like pickup truck cos they are under power. What’s the point having high torque and low horse power when driving in the city? But after I drove a Navara it totally change my mind.

• wilson on Jan 05, 2016 at 4:07 pm

i not doubt female cant drive well.

just their uncertain decision ruin them.
    if female can make decision firmly, driving is not a difficult for them.

peace. :)

• Danny on Jan 05, 2016 at 4:13 pm

Hey Leona, you ain’t gonna touch my flatbed hard cover HiLax :-D

• JonLabu on Jan 05, 2016 at 6:19 pm

that’s why fat people are always the coolest!

• Paul Wong on Jan 05, 2016 at 7:16 pm

Hat’s off to You Leona Chin, How Long did it take you to get used to The Phantom?

• Amelia on Jan 05, 2016 at 9:02 pm

So fake lah – expect people to believe these were real customers? Come on Mitsu…

• Jude A. on Jan 05, 2016 at 9:04 pm

Try to look on that one cheating man, already with a gf..haha..try his chance on Leona..he want to buy car or get random girl?..”soft hand”, “what beautiful girl like you doing here”..obvious pick up lines..haha

• firdaus on Jan 06, 2016 at 12:31 am

very FAKE!!

• Hahaha on Jan 06, 2016 at 11:27 am

Girls always good in anything and everything…you just need to know the way to get out her best…and they always do better than man @_@ She is beauty lol…

• Wonder that test drive Triton has gone through any modification for Leona to drive like that