W213 Mercedes-Benz E-Class: first photos leaked

w213-e-class-leak-0014

Mercedes-Benz has been pretty generous with teasers for its next-generation W213 E-Class, giving us glimpses of how the headlamps and tail lamps look like as well as completely revealing to us the interior towards the end of last year.

Now, just a week ahead of the car’s official unveiling on January 11 at the 2016 Detroit Auto Show, a set of exterior photos of the new E-Class have made their way onto the internet. No idea how this happened, but it has. It’s pretty much as per what we expected – like the already unveiled interior, the exterior is sort of smack in the middle of the smaller C- and flagship S-Class in terms of both size and design.

w213-e-class-leak-0008

We already know the front will not feature split headlamps which was an E-Class feature since the W210, but now the rear end has gone back to the W211’s design, with the light staying clear of the boot lid. Thanks to that, the new E-Class looks like both a baby S-Class and a big C-Class.

You’ll notice two different types of exterior styling here – the grey and red car features a sportier outlook with a sport grille while the dark blue car features a more traditional outlook sporting a stately grille paired with a hood ornament.

w213-e-class-leak-0030

While the headlamps are no longer split units (gone since the W212 facelift), the design of the integrated daytime running light design sort of pays homage to this short history. A teaser video released yesterday reveals it has an 84 diode Multibeam LED module although we expect this to be optional.

The leaked interior photos are of no surprise since Mercedes-Benz has already unveiled the interior before this. The S-Class-inspired dash has twin 12.3-inch displays on higher-end models, new digital instrument cluster and COMAND Online display graphics, steering wheel-mounted touch pads to control the infotainment system as well as an impressive new 23-speaker Burmeister sound system.

w213-e-class-leak-0024

We also know the W213 will get a new key fob design. Unlike the previous fob, the new one is a lot slimmer and curvier. It features four buttons, with three traditionally being to lock, unlock and to remotely open the boot lid. The fourth button is the panic button, an alarm trigger which may be unfamiliar to Malaysians. Only the United States has this.

The push start button has also been revamped – it doesn’t look like there’s no option for a key hole behind it. The button is flush with the dashboard, and doesn’t look like it has a removable cover that would expose a slot for the key.

w213-e-class-leak-0023

The company has also detailed the technologies that will come, including expanded smartphone integration – your phone can now serve as a key, as well as guide the car in and out of parking spaces via the Remote Parking Pilot function. Safety technologies like Active Brake Assist also get a bump up, capable of scanning other lanes for cars and initiating braking earlier if it senses an evasive manoeuvre is impossible.

Other features include the new Evasive Steering Assist, Distance Pilot Distronic with Speed Limit Pilot and Active Lane Keeping Assist, semi-autonomous Active Lane Change Assist as well as an uprated Pre-Safe system – the latter now protects your ears in a loud crash, and pushes you closer to the centre of the car using the inflatable seat bolsters to provide more survival space in the event of a side impact.

We’ve also seen long wheelbase Maybach versions of the new E-Class on test with a slightly different C pillar – will it be confined to China as per the current car or will it be a global model this time?

What do you think of the new E-Class so far? Do let us know your thoughts in the comments and stay tuned for more information as we get closer to the car’s Detroit debut.

GALLERY: W213 Mercedes-Benz E-Class leaked images

GALLERY: W213 Mercedes-Benz E-Class interior

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• sudonano (Member) on Jan 05, 2016 at 5:34 am

Let’s be real here, for a moment, I thought I was looking at a minor revision of the C class.

Seriously Mercedes, the interior looks impressive, but I’m sorry, if you are going to make the exterior look like a fatter C class, what’s the whole point of spending years to design the exterior. The thing is, I’d say the front looks more C class than S class, mainly due to the headlight size (not so large vertically like the S class, which is a shame as the S class’ vertical height of the headlights make it look so much better.)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 2
    • Salute to PT crews. Upload post at 3 in the morning!

• Sinkie on Jan 05, 2016 at 4:46 pm

Jealous losers/wannabes could only admire the bling bling logo n LED lighting. Real hardworking owners so shiok enjoying their drive in super plush n opulent interior

• I concur with what you’d said bro.. C-class at first glance. The notion of one sausage, different length seem to get caught up with Mercedes Benz

• webuser on Jan 05, 2016 at 8:47 am

Agreed.

Was looking forward to seeing what the new E-Class would bring. Exceptionally disappointed to see a larger C-Class.

Now let’s hope BMW comes out with decent interiors for their 5 series.

While on the topic of interiors, I do like how the BMW 7 Series has the speedometer rings on the screen. I hate the fully flat and fully digitized screens of current gen cars..

Coming from the “Play Station Generation” so to speak, I want to look at a real speedometer while driving, not some digital ones I had when I was growing up playing computer games….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Bravo! Mercedes hits the G-spot well & sweet. Steps ahead of perennial rivals – 5 Series, A6, Jaguar XF, Lexus GS, Volvo S80 & Camry Hybrid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Sam Loo on Jan 05, 2016 at 6:30 am

Very Nice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
  • potong fans on Jan 05, 2016 at 6:36 am

Excellent.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Donkey Kong on Jan 05, 2016 at 7:07 am

Is it just me or they making their cars all look like the S class now??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • 1200 engineers oOo same design wtf!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Typical malaysian will be just like ahh new merc lets buy -_-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Cars r us on Jan 05, 2016 at 7:36 am

No shockers here. Its an up sized c class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • TheAMG on Jan 05, 2016 at 7:39 am

I like the look of the previous E-class much more. It does not look as sharp as the previous E-Class and the C, E and S-class have almost identical rear tail lights now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • unkerjib on Jan 05, 2016 at 8:15 am

finally a poor men’s S-Class…
    #unkercar

• olio benzina on Jan 05, 2016 at 8:20 am

“The fourth button is the panic button, an alarm trigger which may be unfamiliar to Malaysians..”
    Unless you are downgrading to the new Merc from the Proton Exora which has this very same feature frequently accidently pressed at inopportune moments making your neighbours love you more.

• It used to be easy to tell Merc models apart. Now they went and did an Audi; same sausage different lengths.

As for the new E-Class, doesn’t look special at all. You would have expected Merc to have put more effort in designing the car. Now when we see a C-class or E-class on the road, both would look the same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • CarmenTung on Jan 05, 2016 at 8:24 am

If buy C-class then slapped E at the back people won’t notice meh..look same

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Anonymous on Jan 05, 2016 at 8:40 am

Mercedes seriously? you should have fired the entire car design team from now on. Basically they just use the “stretch & narrow” function from Microsoft Paint to create C-Class and E-class from the S-class.

• badman on Jan 05, 2016 at 8:52 am

Insert Pepperidge Farm Meme here:–

Remember when Mercedes c-, e- and s- class exterior designs are distinct to each other (same goes to BMW and Audi too)??
    Pepperidge Farm remembers :)

• BMW BEST on Jan 05, 2016 at 9:04 am

wow such design, much different, very individual

yeah and MB fanboys still impressed with it

• Veneno on Jan 05, 2016 at 9:23 am

after all the teasers and hypes, all we got is an enlarged C-class.. lol.. we used to recognize every MB cars based on the design but now, why the hell they all look the same..

• Kenneth Fook on Jan 05, 2016 at 9:25 am

This is as uninnovative as it gets. The best or ntg?! Seriously?!

• gaviny on Jan 05, 2016 at 10:00 am

too much C and S class, i like the old version so much better with angular lines but that curve silhouette from front to back

• Zoom Zoom on Jan 05, 2016 at 10:19 am

Expect better design than this… 95% looks like C-Class.
    Zzzzz

• current e class is nicer with its sharper front look…

this front looks like mini size old s class with butt of current c lass

• sick&tired on Jan 05, 2016 at 10:35 am

want to see the new e class in real life!? go to any mercedes showroom and look for the c class! both are essentially the same car! potong stim!

• kyosho on Jan 05, 2016 at 10:40 am

Don’t bluff! this is C Class!

• DPCraft on Jan 05, 2016 at 10:59 am

Current Facelifted E-Class have much more sharper and nicer looking front headlights, this one is too small. However is interior is better. Exterior – current
    Interior – 2016 E-Class

• kereta_lembu on Jan 05, 2016 at 11:26 am

Looks like kereta potong…first half taken from a C class and last half from and S class. It does make sense coz the E class sits in between those 2 models but they didn’t have to make it a combination of both! The E class used to have its own identity (4 eyes) and it was the C class that looked more like a scaled down version of the S class. I don’t think the new E is ugly but its just not exciting or unique anymore.

• frossonice on Jan 05, 2016 at 11:50 am

Oh, hi grown up C-Klasse.

• KC Tong on Jan 05, 2016 at 11:58 am

It should be named “A Luxury C Class” !

• hilmy81 on Jan 05, 2016 at 12:03 pm

After seeing the new E in all its glory, makes me want to get the current model even more. The engine options will be a carry over at least for now till the next facelift and what you’ll be missing is the new interior. The exterior is better on the current FL model.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 05, 2016 at 2:03 pm

Holy moly is that a S-class or a C-class? Cheap it’s an E-Class!

• old dog on Jan 05, 2016 at 2:30 pm

at last the ugly ipad-stick-on design is gone..

• KLoh11 on Jan 05, 2016 at 3:37 pm

lol nw C-class,E-class,S-class looks similar.Whats going on merc?? where did all your designer goes??

• KLoh11 on Jan 05, 2016 at 3:39 pm

lol nw C-class,E-class,S-class looks similar.Whats going on merc?? where did all your designer goes??
    Really dissapointed on this design

• basically the C-Class Long Wheel Base, pity the S Class owners cause now people with C, E, and S Class will all look the same, non petrol heads would look at them and be like ‘ohh another merc’ now where’s the joy in driving a 588k car? might as well get the 250k C Class

• iiAMGPackage on Jan 05, 2016 at 6:50 pm

I’m pretty disappointed how the new E-Class looks to be honest. Love the interior but exterior just puts me down. My C200 looks identical to this. MB designers should put some effort into making each model unique.

• kelvin on Jan 05, 2016 at 8:33 pm

Why it looks so feminine to me?

• choha on Jan 05, 2016 at 8:50 pm

it’s getting harder to distinguish these mercedes nowadays