UMW Toyota registers 95,861 vehicle sales in 2015, Toyota Vios and Lexus NX most popular models

2015-toyota-vios-updates

UMW Toyota Motor Sdn Bhd has announced that total vehicle sales in Malaysia for 2015 amounted to 95,861 units. Of that total, 93,760 units were Toyota models, whereas the remaining 2,101 units were Lexus models, the latter representing a new sales record.

From the 93,760 units of consisting of Toyota models, the Vios proved to be the most popular among customers, with close to 34,000 units sold. Meanwhile, the Hilux double cab registered 24,000 units, while the Corolla Altis saw 8,000 units sold. The company’s first locally assembled hybrid, the Camry Hybrid saw over 5,000 units sold to customers.

As for UMW Toyota’s premium brand Lexus, its record 2,101 units sold in 2015 was mainly contributed to by the Lexus NX that made its local debut here in January 2015. The premium compact SUV saw over 1,100 units sold, representing 54% of total Lexus sales. Other recent Lexus models like the ES and RX represented 33% and 9% of sales, respectively.

According to Akio Takeyama, deputy chairman of UMW Toyota Motor, “this past year has been an exciting year for UMW Toyota Motor, amidst the soft market environment. We rolled out new and strong reinforcement of sales and marketing initiatives which involved many activities to excite the market. Additionally, the new introduction of our first local assembly Hybrid vehicle – Camry Hybrid has also sparked excitement to our customers.”

He also said, “the newly launched Lexus models, especially the Lexus NX, Lexus ES and the all-new Lexus RX has given a give a boost to Lexus position in the Luxury vehicle segment. We would like to thank all our customers for their loyalty and support towards Toyota and Lexus brand and its products.”

Datuk Ismet Suki, president of UMW Toyota Motor added, “moving forward, UMW Toyota Motor is being a little cautious by looking at the current sales trend, but remains positive with our target for 2016. This is due to the full year sales of models being launched last year and also new model that are in the pipeline for launch this year. We will continue to bring exciting product and many interesting activities throughout the year for our customers.”

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Sammy Loo on Jan 06, 2016 at 6:29 pm

With the upcoming Innova, Hilux and Fortuner later this year, sales will be getting better especially with the Hilux………and VSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 28
    • Same L0rrrr on Jan 08, 2016 at 12:13 am

Toyota good or not, sales figure tells the truth. No need Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok like those Proton fanboys.

• vios 2014- 42k sold
    2015-34k sold

• Less than Saga sale, shame

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 08, 2016 at 12:09 am

People buy Saga simply it is CHEAP, while people buy Toyota because it is good. Let’s make the Saga Vios same price then you will see Saga 0 sales I guarantee. We can sell cheap, but your beloved government can’t allow Proton close shop.

• Leafable on Jan 06, 2016 at 6:48 pm

Only sucker buying Vios and Altis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 29
  • Same lah on Jan 06, 2016 at 7:01 pm

See city what hotdog… Bios no VSC also got sales

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • horrayooi on Jan 06, 2016 at 7:26 pm

Those dumb heads loyal customers when they see the Toyota emblem they will buy even it has only 4 speed auto. Even 3 speed they will buy. They just slot to D and drive. In fact they don’t even know how speed their transmission have.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
  • Mr. Toyo, have u see the Honda’s sale figure in every category?

• So, they are going to launch just the new Hilux, Innova and Fortuner this year?

• FIST (Member) on Jan 06, 2016 at 8:25 pm

Ismet ulam raja, don’t skip on safety features for the next car launches

• Get back jojo on Jan 06, 2016 at 8:32 pm

This report reinforces the feeling that buying a lexus is really buying a toyota

• Jimmy on Jan 06, 2016 at 11:01 pm

Good service means dark finger prints at the ceilings and walls.

Premium price but no scaff plates (kicking plates) at the entry spots: this means luxury, I supposed.

Cheapskate boot/cargo area: cost optimisation?

That UMW aftersales service in Malaysia is high in the rank, I guess, is partly because many of the buyers (I didn’t use the word majority, in case you did not notice) compared it with that from Proton (upgrade from Proton to Toyota). If you have experience with luxury brands, then you know UMW is not at the same level yet. Mind you, many buyers of luxurious brands are fastidious people.

Train your staffs and mechanics/technicians well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Tin Kosong on Jan 06, 2016 at 11:18 pm

Meanwhile, on the other end of the list sits the New Rush. Not even a thousand is sold, I believe.

• Fengtau on Jan 07, 2016 at 10:17 am

Haha, toyola should rebrand it as ‘avanza active edition’ with rear bouncing pawah!

• The sale not more than 10k per year considered that car not exist like somebody said so

• Leong Siew Hong on Jan 07, 2016 at 8:39 am

Toyota should not just boast about the sales figures. Please improve your service centres which at the present moment ranked mediocre and sickening. My new Camry Hybrid was badly stretched by the hooligans of Toyota service centre in Ipoh during the first service of 1,000 km. Obviously the manager of the service centre quickly apologised and repainted my new car. Please remember, the customers of Toyota are paying for the service. Don’t treat us like garbage. If Toyota cannot give us good service, I suggest you give us the freedom to choose other workshops of our choice without forfeiting the warranty of the car and other entitlements. If the fat cats of top managements of Toyota are only so interested in sales performance and enjoying fat incomes and do not care much to improve the aftersales service performance, for sure your loyal customers will dump you into the garbage landfill and go for other brands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
  • Same L0rrr on Jan 07, 2016 at 8:51 am

You got no wrong with the sushi cars.. Reliable & FE engine, good RV oso.. Especially Toyota..
    Kimchis & nasi lemak car no RV (Kia, hyundai & Proton)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
  • applegreen on Jan 07, 2016 at 9:09 am

let see how many dumb person buy lexus ct200h this year

• Aero (Member) on Jan 07, 2016 at 9:15 am

Not too long ago, the Camry was outselling the Corolla Altis here, now it’s the other way around. The only problem is that the current Altis is a Thai CBU import, so it’s a bit more expensive and could be a few Ks cheaper if UMWT CKD-ed it. But I doubt that will happen, UMWT already spent a lot on the Camry Hybrid CKD program, and yet they have thus far failed to surpass the Accord’s sales (close to 10,000).

Looks like luck has run out for UMWT, but every dog has his day. The 70s was Tan Chong Motor/Nissan’s and Borneo Motors Toyota’s, the early 80s was TCM Nissan’s, while the late 80s and entire 90s was Proton’s, the 2000s was a split between Proton, Perodua and UMW Toyota, and the first half of the 2010s was UMWT’s, Honda Malaysia’s and Perodua’s. The next half could be have Mercedes-Benz Malaysia in it… we’ll see.

• Toyota lousy on Jan 07, 2016 at 9:18 am

With recent unreasonable price hike, expect toyota sales to drop 50% or more especially the sale of milo kosong vios shd slump into drain

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • PRIUS 2016 on Jan 07, 2016 at 9:43 am

Since the Camry Hybrid is locally-assembled, do we expect to see the arrival of new Prius at our shore?