Petron Blaze 100 – RON 100 petrol in Malaysia soon!

Something amazing is blazing this way soon!Stay tuned for updates this 15th January!

Posted by Petron Malaysia on Sunday, 3 January 2016

Recently, Petron Malaysia revealed on its Facebook page that it will be unveiling a new product on January 15 – the image used, a blazing car at speed, suggests that it would be a high-performance version of its Blaze range of fuels, perhaps to take on Shell’s V-Power Racing.

The fuel will be called the Petron Blaze 100 – as the name suggests, it has an octane rating of RON 100, meaning that cars and motorcycles that are designed to run on RON98 and above (like the Honda Civic Type R, previous-gen Suzuki Swift Sport and Toyota 86, as well as high-end superbikes) will be able to operate without any performance or reliability issues.

Petron Blaze 100 1

The fuel will at first be rolled out at eight stations nationwide, with more set to come soon – it’s likely to be pricey, however, higher than RM2.25 per litre for standard RON97 petrol. The unregulated pricing of Shell V-Power Racing has commanded a premium of between 45 and 55 sen over regular RON97 V-Power over the past six months.

Blaze 100 will become Petron’s top premium fuel, designed to sit above the current Blaze 95 and 97 grades and will thus be offered alongside the other two. So, are you excited at the prospect of RON 100 fuel finally arriving in Petron stations in Malaysia?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• ben yap on Jan 08, 2016 at 11:24 am

for most general users, it will not bring much benefit with higher octane.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
    • JB_KIA on Jan 08, 2016 at 3:26 pm

yeah, bring ron92 back. my car needs min ron90….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • bunny on Jan 08, 2016 at 6:00 pm

Actually i dont mean to diss petron. But true story. I drove a 2012 toyota prius (my girlfirend’s and she is always out of town) and i always refuel using ron97 from petron. 1 time the car would not start the engine (thankfully there was full charge battery to get me safely to a stop at nearby toyota ctre, had to drive under 60km/h btw). So when i complaint why the engine didnt start (and i was getting tonnes of warning signs) the toyota technician told me my fuel filter is super sensitive especially in prius. Several other prius owner who use petron ron97 experience this issue due to contaminated fuel. Toyota advised me to change to either shell or petronas. Ever since then my car has been okay. Wonder y petron is like one? As i know, all fuel in malaysia is supplied by petronas and its up to the fuel brands to add their additives. Im guessing petron’s additive is lowya one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 13
  • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Jan 08, 2016 at 11:37 am

No need to introduce all this nonsense. First and foremost, our Ron 95 should be priced at about RM1.06 or below. Infact, some say, it should be even at 90 sen, back in 1997 days cause global prices of fuel has fallen.

Got many idiots will say currency has dropped. But we produce our own oil. There is no currency involved. Give your rakyat the Malaysian drilled oil that belong to Malaysians first, before exporting it for higher revenue.

The oil drilled in Malaysia belongs to the rakyat of Malaysia. We should have priority first to the high grade fuel our Malaysian tanah air produces.

So, introducing all this Ron 100 nonsense is real monkey talk. Our own petrol Ron 95 is so overpriced, we are feeding the Government free money.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 176 Thumb down 24
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 287
      • UMGGOK on Jan 08, 2016 at 2:00 pm

Singapore GDP per capita around $53000 usd while malaysia only got 11000 USD
        moron like you deserved the low quality of living life in malaysia

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 160 Thumb down 17
        • plainbullshit on Jan 08, 2016 at 4:51 pm

Dude, do you know what is “troll” means?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
          • troll is useless here.. this will cause misleading to whose the brain never run.. that kind of statement will have someone to believe it and think the country is the best of the world with the ruling of these people.. thus continue support..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
        • Dude obviously he was being sarcastic. Quite sad to see (by the number of dislikes) how many Malaysians still don’t get sarcasm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
        • Proud MCA on Jan 08, 2016 at 8:28 pm

Then you all get out la!!! U not happy to stay in Malaysia, then you all can always move out. To me, I say, Its ok to live in Malaysia because taxes in other countries are high. Is our taxes high? U better do your own research. Noob!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 32
          • Angry on Jan 08, 2016 at 10:46 pm

I don’t think people mind of pay higher taxes if standard of living is good. Here we have a problem of paying high taxes and leading lousy lives

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • CandySo on Jan 08, 2016 at 3:46 pm

Prices are higher there because they rely on imported fuel which explains the higher price and also if u convert the price from their currency, of coz its gonna be more pricey against the weak ringgit thanks to the BN you love so much (foreign exchange duhh don’t understand?? , so stupxx ppl like u oso got?)

• Walao BN math really like kindergarten, I work at sg as waiter salary RM4000

And I work at here malaysia is around RM1500

Use calculator pls

• Sammy Loo on Jan 08, 2016 at 6:52 pm

so where are you working now?

You may sell Toyota here to earn more than RM1500

• why need to convert and compare in RM? Compare in their own currency is fair as what people is earning and spend in the country. RM value drop like shit of course you can see the price is higher. Moron..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
      • Dont waste time talking to BN troopers. They are full of cow dunk.

• John Snow on Jan 10, 2016 at 1:53 pm

John speak like a moron, you can’t compare it with other countries fuel price. We’re petroleum producing country. I bet you don’t own a car, you probably some mat rempit only refuel 2-3L of petrol who don’t feel the pinched. BN probably pays you RM20 to say “syukur Malaysia”.

• Ollie on Jan 08, 2016 at 1:50 pm

Hi Mr intelligent. When you were 27, you might have read about the goose that laid the golden egg. Most read this story at about the age of 7, but I’m guessing you were held back. Let me try to simplify. Say you had a chicken, a glorious chicken, a high-quality Omega-3 egg laying chicken. Would you sell those eggs in the market or would you fry them every morning for your own consumption? Judging from your comment above, I think I know your answer.

Back to the point, in a country where 90% of cars are cheap crap i.e. Myvi/Wira/Waja, why in the heck would we allow Malaysians to pump high-quality Tapis into these crap? Its better to export and gain from the price premium. Petronas profits are what have given you and me the infrastructure this country has, and don’t come argue with me that we don’t have infra.

Best wishes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 52
      • Oh mak lu cina on Jan 08, 2016 at 2:59 pm

Yes, fine. Then when it is time for country need help, Proton need help. Don’t ask us for it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • You’d make a good politician, but a horrible economist.

• Bersyukur.. Without this, govt no profit to build MRT, RUMAH MAMPU MILIK, BR1M, TRX, BANDAR MALAYSIA…many many more… Bersyukuarlah…

• Lamborghini Owner on Jan 08, 2016 at 11:43 am

My Huracan this time will show its full potential. Yum Yum.

• Ah Beng TRD Vios godcar on Jan 09, 2016 at 1:55 am

My TRD twin turbo will still smoke your huracan for breakfast even if you use rocket fuel

• Ah Beng Vios Turbo TRD godcar on Jan 09, 2016 at 2:01 pm

My TRD will eat your Huracan for breakfast!!

• Having any automotive ad showing a car on fire is always not something I reckon is smart……

• Not excited at all really. With the economy in this state and car prices all time high and a lying government, I guess the filthy rich with supercars will just have another item listed into their list of “must have”.

• Pump RON100 Car can fly to Moon

• plainbullshit on Jan 08, 2016 at 11:54 am

only moron/super duper rich guy will buy this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • timbuktu on Jan 08, 2016 at 11:57 am

RON is just a marketing thing. It does not add any significant power to your vehicle. RON95 vs 97 already demonstrated that. Go for a real ECU performance upgrade if you’re serious.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
    • Ron97 same as Ron100 ? on Jan 08, 2016 at 2:34 pm

if what you said are true then why all race cars in sepang track are using ron100 ??? dont tell me this due to environment friendly for sepang track ?? if dont know then keep quiet la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
      • timbuktu on Jan 09, 2016 at 10:48 pm

lolpanda below is correct. That’s what I’m implying in my statement above. Tell me how many % of cars in M’sia will get a performance boost with RON 100? For M’sia it’s just a marketing thing.. make people feel good if they are using RON 100.

if you still don’t understand me, then talk to your gf. She will explain to you – it’s same concept when she had to fake her orgasm while doing it with you.

• lolpanda on Jan 08, 2016 at 4:11 pm

that’s only half accurate…you gain no additional performance if your engine was not tuned for a higher RON number. i.e. if you engine was made to take RON95, you’re not gonna get any benefit if you pump RON97/above.

If it was tuned for RON97 but installed with an anti-knocking mechanism to run on RON95 then yes..it makes a difference.

• Captain on Jan 08, 2016 at 4:11 pm

You must be special kind of stupid, you do realize that many luxury car dont perform well using ron95 right? I dont realize that placebo effect work on machine too. STOP using honda EX5 as your test subject

• Its inaccurate to say that luxury cars dont perform well using lower ron fuel..its just that they perform better when using higher ron fuel (provided that they are using ron rating according to the car’s spec) Most luxury cars have a spec on the range of octane rating they should run. Go below the spec, thats when significant problems start to occur.

• timbuktu on Jan 09, 2016 at 10:44 pm

Stupid Captain. Luxury cars? Pls check your facts right. Higher octane numbers need to be coupled with an engine that’s built for higher octane number. Then u may get some effect. 90% of malaysian cars are built for RON 95. RON 100 is useless for 90% of the drivers out there. Stop dreaming of owning a Lamborghini when your paycheck can’t even feed your mum.

• intermilan on Jan 08, 2016 at 12:04 pm

Should be priced no more than 30 sen per liter than RON97. 10 sen for 1 RON.

• I have to say, after I switched from using 97 to 95 on my Ducati, I do feel I slight drop in performance while at Sepang. However the difference in day to day riding is negligible. It would be interesting to give this a try.

• My Bugatti Veyron also the same. I put minyak tanah, langsung tak jalan. I think need to put RON1000.

Lets rempit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 34
    • Because lower ron fuel will limit the ability of the engine to advance the ignition timing. This will be apparent at high rpm, because the higher the rpm, the sooner the ignition timing will advance before top dead center. U can verify this by plugging in a scan tool.

When u are using low ron fuel, the engine has to retard back the advanced timing to prevent detonation. Retarded timing = less time for the fuel to completely burn = less power is produced per injected fuel = more unburnt fuel will go out through the exhaust.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • Finally, some good information after loads of Bullcrap on the comments pane here. Kudos!

• tokmoh. on Jan 08, 2016 at 12:19 pm

Wha, u mean ALL petron will carry this fuel, Jon?

Not bad, my car can go three times faster at this rate.

• oliver on Jan 08, 2016 at 2:28 pm

you must be driving a red car (y)

• tokmoh. on Jan 09, 2016 at 8:39 am

Zeonic Toyota made a special Auris for me

https://youtu.be/aI0x5rwr0SQ

On a serious note, i am awaiting my red iriz. Sieg zeon!

• nizam1402 on Jan 08, 2016 at 12:19 pm

wow…my carb Kancil will see no difference

• Maslan on Jan 08, 2016 at 12:22 pm

Bring E85 la

• Gargantia on Jan 08, 2016 at 12:27 pm

Most Rakyat Malaysian prefer RON95 because of price force… even fill choose RON97; yeah good news for the rich RON100 and RAKYAT need transparency more then greed BN Government unlogical taxes system and cronies !!!

• nabill (Member) on Jan 08, 2016 at 12:30 pm

the main question is , wd a normal car benefit from this , bcos our roads are 99% filed with cars that just run fine with ron 95….
    let me full tank my ride n get back to u!

i understand why this cost more than 97 since i believe all this is imported from philippines

• Ss3328v on Jan 08, 2016 at 12:39 pm

not excited.. My place doesn’t supply ron97, so must no hope for ron100
    Sabah sandakan tawau lahad datu only get ron95 and bio diesel

• monkeyking on Jan 08, 2016 at 12:57 pm

Its a waste of money. They should start offering less octane rated fuel like ron 92. Better economics. Help us a lot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • monkeyking on Jan 08, 2016 at 12:58 pm

Its a waste of money. They should start offering less octane rated fuel like ron 92. Should be around rm1.50 Better economics. Help us a lot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • A case of marketing hype on Jan 08, 2016 at 1:00 pm

Where is the market for this? Lets see….all the Hilux? Gives us pervasive EURO 5 diesel and stop this marketing nonsense.

• Jimmy on Jan 08, 2016 at 1:00 pm

Good. Thank you.

• sewel on Jan 08, 2016 at 1:02 pm

Such a price and just for a rich people..how fast ur regular car can go if u use this car? Can beat lamborghini meh?

• FIST (Member) on Jan 08, 2016 at 1:04 pm

Since I don’t own cars that don’t require ron 100, I’m not excited with this news. I just want euro 5 for all pumps

• sewel on Jan 08, 2016 at 1:05 pm

Such a Price and just for a rich people..how Fast ur car can go if u use this ron100 oil..can beat lamborghini meh?

• The biggest advantage V-Power Racing is not the Ron rating but the source of the fuel which is has a generous proportion from our local wells and Brunei’s which is low in sulphur and other contaminants.

Octane rating doesn’t matter if the base fuel is still the high sulphur gunk from Saudi.

But because the number is bigger all will think it’s better automatically…haih…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • Regardless whether light sweet or heavy sour, all crudes will be refined to the SAME SPEC for Mogas. Essentially, end product is the same. Oil companies blend proprietary additives later.

• Andrew Hoo on Jan 08, 2016 at 1:30 pm

Am not excited on this RON 100 as it will be for those newer cars.

Still waiting for the nationwide launch of Euro 5 diesel. Why it is limited only to BHP until now ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • seancorr (Member) on Jan 08, 2016 at 2:47 pm

Shell is already rolling out euro 5 diesel in Selangor for a while now if u didn’t catch the news

• For general users it wont have any effect .. only performance oriented cars or bikes with high compression engine eg. 11:1 and above will need RON100 ..

Like myself, my toyota Red Beams 3S-GE engine from Japan halfcut was recommended to run at RON100 from factory .. but can only run at 95/97 here in Malaysia .. so it caters the market for the motorhead only … for others dont buat bising … use back ur 95

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Yes, we have engines with high compression here. Both my car and bike are running high compression and Ron 97 don’t cut it. Especially for my car. .

• sam loer on Jan 08, 2016 at 2:06 pm

My altis sure suit this ron100

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • SC Lee on Jan 08, 2016 at 2:46 pm

No point of using RON 100 gasoline fuel unless the engine management systems are tuned for this fuel. Depending of the year of car production, normally carbureted car can run fuel of around RON 90 to RON 92 and as for electronic control car can run fuel of around RON 92 to RON 95 depending on how the engine management systems are tuned

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 08, 2016 at 2:46 pm

Wow that’s good now Shell will have to up their game and improve their racing fuel too. I guess u will be seeing a lot of supercars going there to fuel up.

• I prefer ron96.isi ron95 rm10 isi ron97 rm10.dpt ron96 rm20.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • High ron fuel will only benefit if u are running at a very high rpm, or if your engine has very high compression ratio. For normal day to day driving where ur rpm only goes to 3500 max, its not gonna make a big difference.

• kapchai on Jan 08, 2016 at 3:01 pm

Why is RON so expensive to produce. From RON97 to RON100, how come cost RM0.30 per litre? What is it that is so expensive to add in

• You think petroleum refining and blending is like blending teh tarik?

• RON2016 ultra unleaded super fuel on Jan 08, 2016 at 3:43 pm

to those who say we produce our own oil, no currency evolve, oil need to be 10sen per litre and shitz like that

no, we dont produce our own oil entirely. the refinery engineers design team sure got angmo, the distillation towers, furnace, valves pumps and shit also are imported, or design by foreign company, also, price of crude oil is only fraction of the cost of running the refinery, they still need to cover high utility costs, high taxes, premium insurance and all staff’s salary, then you will still need to transport the ron95 97 98 100 to stations from storages.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • plainbullshits on Jan 08, 2016 at 5:41 pm

dkt paultan ni ramai sgt pakar ekonomi, pakar minyak, pakar performance, ramai pakar2 zaman skang ni duk depan pc menaip bla3,

• Just because its not their profession, it does not mean that they have no knowledge about it.
        Take ahmad maslan for example. He is a minister. Does that mean that no one is more capable than him for his seat?

• jammed on Jan 08, 2016 at 10:34 pm

They have NO knowledge about it.. Most of them only talk c*ck as if they know everything.

• Malik on Jan 08, 2016 at 6:18 pm

If its expensive, just don’t buy. It applies to anything. All business man is drooling for their dream car.. Where do you think that money will come from? Stop the greediness.

• Engineer on Jan 08, 2016 at 6:49 pm

unless this fuel has more internal energy than Ron97. Its just another knocking reducing fuel. – pepatah mechanical engineer.

• Jb Volks on Jan 09, 2016 at 12:01 pm

Ada lg yang bodoh support BN. Apa nak jadi Malaysia ni…..

• Yes Ron 100. .. need to test it soon as possible. .

• Wak lu…
    Opposition party pun tak bole percaya..semua politikus x bole percaya laa.

Ron 100?? That is super awsome…I suppose it can give more mileage for long distance travels