Kia Rio Sedan officially launched in M’sia – RM72,888

Kia Rio Sedan Malaysia_ 007

Kia Malaysia has officially launched the new Rio Sedan in Malaysia. The B-segment sedan was earlier previewed during the 2015 ASEAN Auto Show with a tentative price tag of RM73,000 (on-the-road with insurance). However, the final retail price is slightly lower than the estimate at RM72,888 (OTR with insurance).

Only a sole variant is offered here, and its specifications remain unchanged from the car that was previewed earlier. Under the hood, the Rio Sedan is fitted with a 1.4 litre four-cylinder petrol engine developing 109 PS at 6,300 rpm and 137 Nm at 4,200 rpm. Power is sent to the front wheels via a four-speed automatic transmission.

As for the looks, the Rio Sedan sports the brand’s familiar tiger nose grille, new front bumper, halogen reflector headlights (with bulb-type DRLs) and 15-inch alloy wheels (with 185/55R15 tyres). Another obvious difference between the sedan and its hatchback sibling, is the addition of a tall rump, granting it a boot space of 389 litres.

Inside, you get a leather-wrapped steering wheel with audio and Bluetooth controls, and a monochrome multimedia unit with MP3 and USB support linked to a six-speaker audio system. The unit features 800 MB of on-board storage for music too. The Rio Sedan also packs an impressive safety suite, with six airbags, electronic stability control, hill-start assist and all-around disc brakes as standard.

The Kia Rio Sedan is offered in a choice of four colours – Bright Silver, Signal Red, Deep Blue and Clear White. Each purchase comes with a five-year warranty (with unlimited mileage). The introduction of the Rio Sedan places it in direct competition with the Toyota Vios, Honda City and Nissan Almera, while its hatchback sibling has the Honda Jazz and Ford Fiesta to contend with. Would you consider this instead of the established models?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• 4 freakin SPEEDS!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 8
    • nabill (Member) on Jan 13, 2016 at 4:23 pm

Its not that vios, almera giving u dual clutches or 6 speeds either!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 1
      • Dr Mamak on Jan 13, 2016 at 7:10 pm

I still won’t buy from AP King

• Albert on Jan 13, 2016 at 10:35 pm

Bradder mamak, the problem with Kia is not Korean/Kimchi….it is the “AP” Distributor……Naza in Boleh land.
          After sacking 300 staff at Gurun,Naza auto group as a whole is not out of the woods yet.
          They cant do a decent job and are losing money after 15-20 years since the tycoon died,where his sons are high flyers not knowing the trade.They are more into property business.
          Even resurgent Mazda has overtaken poor and shambolic Naza,where they depend on Delilah’s lover to helm the sales.
          Naza…its time you sell out and let another capable bumi company take over.
          It wont work.Concentrate on property business and let some honest bumi company take over.I am sure there are many out there waiting for a chance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
        • dosa tengok awek pakai skirt atas lutut. Can lead to temptation for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
        • why the girl skirt so short? Stim aku tengok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
      • seancorr (Member) on Jan 14, 2016 at 2:49 am

Well no one in the same class has tyre pressure monitoring system and this Rio has it haha!

• Where is Najib's Promise?? on Jan 13, 2016 at 5:29 pm

RM73k for a tiny tiny tiny B Segment? The car is so small, even a Myvi has more rear legroom than this car.

The question we must be asking is, where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices?
      Where is Najib’s promise? Najib promised 30 million people 2 years ago before the election that he would reduce car prices by 30 percent.

He said the 30 million people need not worry because BN always kept their word and never mungkir janji. He said if people voted for BN, he was 100% sure to reduce car prices by 30 percent.

Najib, in his speech told people that BN knew how much people suffered paying for their cars and he felt very sorry for the people, thus, he was sure to reduce car prices by 30%.
      It is a well known fact, that we Malaysians are paying 3x the global prices of cars. And double whammy, not only we pay 3x the global prices of cars, our cars are stripped down so bad, it hardly lacks any safety features. Even our top D segment cars each have about 20 less safety features than the same car costing 3 times less overseas. For example, a 10 airbag Toyota Camry CBU in the Australia cost AUD29k. (about RM90k). In Malaysia, this cost RM180k. And loads of safety spec taken out. For example Tyre Pressure Monitoring System and many others.

Camry Hybrid in the US is US26,000. Come to Malaysia, should be tax free. CKD it using Malaysian parts should be even cheaper. But here sell RM175k. And this was last year’s price when US to the Ringgit was 3.5

Now, what happened Najib? Where is your promise?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 13
      • Dun need the price to be lowered as long as gip value for money like safety. If you wanna complain, please direct to toyota for giving moving coffins. At least almera is 60k for basic, and city gives safety and equipment for its higher price. Best bang for buck still Preve. Vios can go terbabas in longkang and die.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
        • ariff on Jan 13, 2016 at 9:44 pm

Proton salesman spotted.
          Whack everyone then try to promote Preve.
          Get lost desperate Proton salesman.
          Stop making anymore comments at PTand go work harder.
          Time to jumpship & join Naza Group

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
          • U jelly cuz ur dugong so easy turn tuttle in LGE kingdom?

• I saw ur dugong turn turtle at LGE kingdom. What happen ah?

• Albert on Jan 14, 2016 at 9:09 am

Ariff,as usual TOKOK john will protect Protong even if it is going into receivership today.He is lining up to buy the LAST SOUVENIR(kENANGAN) PROTON model before DRB call it a day.
            Just look out for the sales and profit figures come March 31,2016. He will boast protong lost another rm 500juta,bringing it to a total loss of rm 2 Billion the last 3 consecutive years.Only shambolic people glory in losses.
            Some people cant accept DEFEAT.Thats why Sam Loo calls it SYIOK SENDIRI SYNDROME.

• I am not Proton salesman. I am a BN Cybertrooper. RM10k is my gaji. Just work from home and write good things about BN and kutuk RBA John

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
          • Wow. So much unoriginality. Why u dun have balls to use ur own nick ah? Challenge pipu then hide behind other nick. U oso PuaKA kah?

• firdaus on Jan 13, 2016 at 9:34 pm

it’s very easy math.
        car prices have been reduced by 30% but the exchange rate has dropped by 40%.so the reasoning would be, thank god some of the car prices never increase!

Anyway, the only thing I like about kimchi cars are their excellent thigh support on the driver seat.this is good for tall guys like me!

• only kampung people get fooled with the exchange rate. Exchange rate just went from 3.5 to 4.4 but you are still paying 3x global prices of cars

• ben yap on Jan 13, 2016 at 6:35 pm

when i read 4 speeder, i skipped the entire news.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
      • Yet, you cared to comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
        • ben yap on Jan 14, 2016 at 12:05 am

yeah, i must tell the world that i got turned off with 4 speeder.

• Targa on Jan 14, 2016 at 1:05 am

Dude,

What sort of gearbox would you expect on a B segment 1.4 litre car? The closest we have these days are some CVT gearboxes which the Koreans have not really adopted yet.

• Jimmy on Jan 13, 2016 at 11:04 pm

That’s why you missed the 6 airbags and ESP.

4-speed is enough for ordinary driving(especially for females), provided always that the vehicle price is not high.

4-speed Vios is okay if the price is 65k for midspec, provided that there are 6 airbags and ESP.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 14, 2016 at 2:53 am

This Rio could have been sold for 70k on the dot if not for some faggot who stole 2.6bil and screwed up the nation’s entire economy.

• myname on Jan 13, 2016 at 3:29 pm

it looks like Gen2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 25
  • Jumbuck on Jan 13, 2016 at 3:36 pm

Way better than the new Proton Persona R.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 24
    • Hatred at its best…even comparing to the not yet@non-existence entity..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • Zoom Zoom on Jan 13, 2016 at 3:36 pm

At least much better than Vios TRD with 4 speed, 2 airbags without VSC for 90K+ . Safety wise also better than the kosong Camry 2.0E Rm 155k! without VSC & 2 airbags.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 126 Thumb down 5
    • Toyota free DRL on Jan 13, 2016 at 4:16 pm

Safety doesn’t matter when you have DRL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
    • alldisc on Jan 14, 2016 at 9:30 am

You can say whatever you want but Toyota is still the number 1 worldwide and also the top non national brand in Malaysia. Who cares about stupid airbags and VSC. Brand image is much more important and driving a Toyota is the top luxury brand here with highest RV of all vehicles with top notch reliability and after sales services. You will never go wrong with a Toyota!
      You will probably never get to use the airbags or VSC anyway so why bother. However with bodykit, leather seats and DRL you get to use it daily and see it daily so its actually much more worth the money. Sportivo bodykit is top notch compared to fugly design of Mugen, Modulo, Impul and Nismo. Why would anyone want lousy fabric seats like in Honda when you can have luxurious leather seats in Toyota!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 20
      • “Who cares about stupid airbags and VSC, You will probably never get to use the airbags or VSC anyway so why bother” – this make me LOL!!
        I hope one day you will come to realise the importance of airbags and VSC.

• cakaptalaotak on Mar 15, 2016 at 10:45 am

next day he mati katak then only he will realise the importance of airbags and VSC

• Wah…now 72k can get 6 airbegSss :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
    • Wiwiwiwiwiw on Jan 13, 2016 at 3:47 pm

You marry 4 can get 8 airbags you know. All front, side, head and rear. Lol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 8
    • Oh mak lu cina on Jan 14, 2016 at 10:36 am

Aiya cheap car for poor people. What for need many many airbags, Only rich people takut mati, poor ppl mati or not, got too many….

• sewel on Jan 13, 2016 at 3:46 pm

Say no 2 rio..say no 2 kimchi..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 85
  • Wiwiwiwiwiw on Jan 13, 2016 at 3:46 pm

Wow 4 speeds!
    These days people turbocharged 1.4s lah
    Shame that this case will spend rest of its life on the slow lane, together with Mitsubishi Attrage 1.2
    xD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
    • so fast for what. speed limit 80 only.. aes coming back to hunt us =P. Happy new year bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • naughty volvo on Jan 13, 2016 at 5:45 pm

Spend its life on slow lane is better than spend its life at Service centre for couple of month… Rubbish 1.4 twin charger

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Hard to compete with our national car honda city

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
  • pokmang on Jan 13, 2016 at 4:08 pm

win by spec but lose by brand…only in malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • 800MB media storage???? Welcome everyone to the year 2000, where we juz settled down wit our panics of the millennium bug n everyone still thinks USB flash drives r really cool…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • i care about safety above else.thats y i’ll choose this 4speed kimchi car with 6 airbags,esc dan all disc brakes.those want more ‘speeds’ can get honda city s at same price with 2 airbag,no esc n rear drum brakes..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Ah Beng TRD Vios godcar on Jan 14, 2016 at 12:01 am

Better add 26k and upgrade to more powerful vios TRD you won’t regret. Great RV too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • guest on Jan 13, 2016 at 4:33 pm

i care about safety above else.thats y i’ll choose this 4speed kimchi car with 6 airbags,esc and all round discbrake.those want more ‘speeds’ can choose honda city s at same price with 2 airbags,no esc and rear drum brake.

• 109 PS, 4 speed – is what you get in vios but Rio
    comes with 6 airbags, hill assist and 4 disk brakes ++ for the almost same price range. I think its a good buy. How much can we speed in traffic anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • Rear design, did they just copy lancer, inspira?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • Kaki Mods on Jan 13, 2016 at 8:07 pm

China version (Kia K2) have different rear bumper design. The number plate is on upper bonnet. Wonder if it fits size-wise here for plug and play installation.

• Toyoda top salesman on Jan 13, 2016 at 6:00 pm

These kinda of cars where a boot simply added on to attract sales (especially Malaysian market) quickly faded away forgotten wit little or no resale value..example is the Pug 408 etc..btw Toyoda cars are actually safer to drive as we drive more carefully due to only 2x airbags..more airbags only gave u false sense of security..no VSC no poblem Toyoda drivers use their pure drving skill instead of relying on elecctronic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 27
    • Tin Kosong on Jan 13, 2016 at 8:48 pm

I hope you are being sarcastic. If not, your logic is seriously flawed. Having an inferior safety suite is better because the driver will be more careful? Do you really think all accidents can be avoided as long as you be more careful?

Since you are referring to Toyota, why don’t you ask the many Vios and Hilux owners that had their cars crashed into trees and lampposts in good driving condition and on their own fault. If those Toyotas are equipped with stability control, more than half of those accidents can be mitigated.

• zimly on Jan 13, 2016 at 6:18 pm

B-segment gamechanger. This Rio Sedan cause headache to H & T. 73k with full safety. It makes Vios looks idiotly overpriced.pity those vios buyers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • eggride on Jan 13, 2016 at 6:18 pm

Wait for discount, get this @63-65K, absolutely super value for money. The rear, although has smaller legroom space than City/Almera, is actually a very comfortable place to sit as the rear bench is quite long and very ergonomic. The elbowroom is actually good. Frankly speaking, its not that bad. Now if only Naza can improve its after sales & also brand equity.

• Aero (Member) on Jan 13, 2016 at 6:19 pm

Is this a CKD or CBU model ? I’m guessing it’s CKD, built alongside the Rio CKD at the NAM Gurun plant. Good value buy, and a safe (no pun intended) alternative to the usual Japanese B-segment heavyweights. I look forward to the paultan.org review.

• Beilong (Lelong Kilang) on Jan 13, 2016 at 8:11 pm

Yes definitely better than the new Saga R and Persona R combined.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • wahai on Jan 13, 2016 at 6:31 pm

So much negative comment on the 4 speed Auto…
    It is not like the vehicle of the same class offer more…
    Other then City CVT, other competitors are also 4 speed mah.
    And frankly, I prefer good-old reliable 4 speed then CVT.

but this car beats others hands down in other areas.
    Why nobody complain other brand still use drum brakes??? City 4 disc brake kah??

• John Lim on Jan 13, 2016 at 6:39 pm

If I see only the interior I would think this is from a 30-year-old car.

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 13, 2016 at 6:42 pm

Wrong engine and gearbox.

Just plonk in the 1.6 and 6 speeder from the Cerato and be done with it.

• Beilong (Lelong Kilang) on Jan 13, 2016 at 8:15 pm

Still better than that nonsense combo of Campro + Punch CVT.

• andromeda on Jan 13, 2016 at 7:37 pm

why 4 speed? other than space and safety, so boring, no touchscreen, no new tech,

korean brand only sell with their latest technologies.

better buy gen 2 laa

• if only kia decided to price this at 60k , its going to be a game changer.

• Pembuli rakyat on Jan 14, 2016 at 6:57 am

Maybe Naza Kia applied that price but MITI disallow it. Proton senyum kambing lah.

• Doraemon Biru on Jan 13, 2016 at 8:43 pm

Awat laaaaaaa bumper blkg tu besaq sangat Kia oiiiiiiii… Letih lah dgn design Kia nie.. ‘:(

• Ootai on Jan 13, 2016 at 9:26 pm

What?? No touchscreen variant?? The gals won’t be happy. Hard sell.

• Better get Honda City E spec with just additional rm100 per month installment, or get the current CNY promotion with rm4k rebate. Safety equipment on par with 6 airbags and VSC, bigger interior space, bigger boot.. at least when you sell also worth it..

I owned a kimchi car before.. not fuel efficient, 2nd hand value really like shxt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Sam Loo on Jan 13, 2016 at 10:01 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• Same L0rrr on Jan 14, 2016 at 9:21 am

Buy sushi car better.. Kimchi’s car give me free also i dont want..

• Sam Loo on Jan 15, 2016 at 10:14 am

Get a Hyundai instead.

At least can trade in for RM25k after 1 year for Elantra

• kendrix lamazz on Jan 14, 2016 at 9:17 am

Korean cars still don’t have FTA benefits, I think.

thats why the price is not so competitive,
    compounded by the six-airbag policy that Naza has put in place. KIA wants to be known for safety tapi airbags mahal

Malaysians don’t want to pay for airbags, that’s what I hear from Toyota that’s why they offer two airbgs on most cars and if you want more you can always go for the 7-airbag Camry

Malaysians need to decide if we want to pay for safety or not, or do we prefer to put extra money on entertainment and big wheels and other sorts of flash

• kendrix lamazz on Jan 14, 2016 at 9:18 am

To continue, I wonder if Proton is making the right decision to focus on six airbags, maybe should just give two and cheaper cars…

any comments?

• FIST (Member) on Jan 14, 2016 at 1:24 pm

Malaysia, the dumping site for old tech.

• Sammy Loo on Jan 18, 2016 at 2:15 am

This may be able to compete with Peugeot 208, Chevrolet Sonic, not even close to Ford Fiesta yet.

• Kimchi ftw on Jan 19, 2016 at 9:26 pm

RIP vios

• Syed zackry on Mar 24, 2016 at 9:54 pm

just bought this car.. Nice interior design, smooth driving, really jimat petrol.. If compare with Nissan almera & vios.. I choose kia Rio sedan..

• 2.6Billion on Mar 26, 2016 at 4:42 pm

Can someone or anyone make a full walk-around video,acceleration and top speed?it is hard to find such video for this kia rio sedan in youtube. Paul Tan,can you make such video?

• waimenn on May 24, 2016 at 4:35 pm

Can someone give some feedback eg: FC and 1.4L 4 speed underpower? It is Hard to find information other country use different engine and transmission. Salesman offer 66K hard to resist. :)