Perodua Axia goes on sale in Singapore – RM231,827

Perodua_Axia_Advance_SE_launch_ 001

The Perodua Axia has been officially launched in Singapore recently by Perocom Auto, the official dealer of Perodua cars in the country. The introduction of the Axia in Singapore comes more than a year after the small hatchback was launched in its home country in September 2014. As for the price, there’s no point beating around the bush – it is SGD$75,888 or RM231,827.

For that money, you’ll be getting a Perodua Axia 1.0 Advance (AT), which is the range-topping variant in the Axia line-up. By comparison, the same variant will set you back RM41,967 (solid) or RM42,377 (metallic) in Malaysia (OTR with insurance). Power still comes from the company’s new all-aluminium 1KR-DE2 1.0 litre mill, with output rated at 66 hp at 6,000 rpm and 90 Nm at 3,600 rpm, mated to a four-speed auto.

The price listed is inclusive of Singapore’s Goods and Services Tax (GST) and Certificate of Entitlement (COE), which explains the ludicrous amount. However, each purchase includes a five-year/100,000 km warranty, plus a free five-year/100,000 km maintenance service.

Additionally, if you opt to register the car as an off peak car, the price tag can be offset by up to SGD$17,000 (RM51,925). Doing so will unfortunately forfeit your right to the COE rebate of SGD$40,000 (RM122,177).

After a bit of researching in Carbase.my, we discovered that for the price of a Perodua Axia in Singapore, you can purchase, in Malaysia, a brand-new Mazda MX-5, BMW 120i M Sport, Volvo S60 1.6 T4, Subaru WRX 2.0 CVT and even a Mercedes-Benz A 200.

GALLERY: Perodua Axia Advance (Malaysia-spec)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• spongewai on Jan 13, 2016 at 9:57 am

who need this in Singapore?!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 158 Thumb down 6
    • kolejBoi on Jan 13, 2016 at 11:50 am

Yay I drive a 230K Axis^^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
      • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Jan 13, 2016 at 5:49 pm

Stupid people compare like this wthout comparing their pay. Normal government servant there earn about S$8000. That is RM27k. that is normal Government servants.

BMW 528i is S$200k. Malaysia BMW 528i is RM420k.

Where do you think it is cheaper for the residents to buy a luxurious car?

The Singapore Government Servant will pay off his car in 2 years if he uses all his pay to pay of the loan.

the Malaysian Government servant earning RM1500 and below will take 100 years to pay off the RM420k loan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 74
        • Wow. More dislikes than likes. Cybertroppers on overdrive? Thought they only surf the political blogs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
      • Knnccb limpeh country can afford, why u all care. I see no up Malaysial.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
      • your problem lah who care? at least people know this is cheap car

• i wonder if ppl in singapore start to curse the gov say nonsense about the country like how most of the stupid ppl here !!
      and if any stupid will come and say “who need car in singapore , singapore got the best traffic system in the world bla bla bla” i tell you a car is a must for a family of 4, imagine you, your wife and your 2 kids, taking public transportation in the middle of the night in case of emergency or going to hospital, or you travelling from singapore to johor for example.. don’t you need a car ??
      so please malaysians be grateful for what you have

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 37
      • Pontan-HairStylist on Jan 13, 2016 at 3:55 pm

it’s the new COE that made the car price shoot up so much. now the trend there is to rent-a-car whenever a need arises. that’s what we need to do to restrain car sales if we can foresee clearly how congested the road gonna be + air pollution, without one such measurement in place. i think the sing govt did a great job to overcome future issue before it’s too late.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
        • olio benzina on Jan 13, 2016 at 10:02 pm

Car landed cost + 150% tax + dealer margin + COE cost. The COE auction system is one that every govt in the world would love to have thought up. The govt collects lots of money but the blame is on car buyers for bidding up the price.

• hailthepurist on Jan 13, 2016 at 1:36 pm

patriotic malaysians working in singapore..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Sam Loo on Jan 13, 2016 at 3:27 pm

Perodua RM231K? No worry! still have good RV what!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • calcutta on Jan 13, 2016 at 7:14 pm

wait you’ll see some retards apply malaysian mentality on singapore situation

• Calvin on Jan 13, 2016 at 9:58 am

RM230,000 for Axia…..Singapore vehicle price is freaking scary

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 4
  • HafizJoe Dorifuto on Jan 13, 2016 at 10:02 am

MAHALnya…tak mampu kawe nok beli..
    Qu Sumbat…Qu Sumbat…BAru lah GOLLLL!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 12
  • noname on Jan 13, 2016 at 10:04 am

For the love of god, if you wanna start currency conversion thing, take a look at the salary of their fresh graduates, then convert to MYR. By then, tell me if our Civics are affordable to them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 19
    • ben yap on Jan 13, 2016 at 10:14 am

dollar to dollar @ SGD75K for an axia, it is still more expensive than malaysia.

good for P2, go and slaughter those kiasu singaporeans!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 9
      • sick&tired on Jan 13, 2016 at 10:21 am

you do know that there are other better choices right? the only losers here are perodua!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
      • gaviny on Jan 13, 2016 at 10:29 am

true, dollar for dollar a compact car is not worth 75k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • noname on Jan 13, 2016 at 10:46 am

You do know that not all SGD75k goes to P2 right? COE for classA alone is already SGD45k based on Jan16 result.

• Bryan on Jan 13, 2016 at 12:40 pm

What are you smoking Bryan…. nobody is going to buy the car in the first place..

• Kevin on Jan 13, 2016 at 11:30 am

Those who could afford a car in SG, will not buy this..

if the axia is the only car that you can afford in SG, then you probably shouldnt be thinking about owning a car.

just in case you didnt know, the downpayment for car is minimum 50%, and loan tenure a max of 5 years.

at slightly higher price bracket of 80-85k, you can pick a decent hyundai accent 4d/5d, hyundai elantra, kia forte K3, and if you stretch it a bit further to below 90k, you can choose between a Mazda 3, or Daihatsu Copen, or Honda Grace(City Hybrid), Honda Fit, Chevrolet Cruze..

now tell me again, why would you want to buy the axia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
      • Is that true? I wish malaysia also can implement this 50% minimum & 5 years max..

• Nazee on Jan 13, 2016 at 11:38 am

for the love of god fresh grads in singapore earn 2-3+k sgd. go figure. so called govt subsidised housing there (hdbs) can still run into the millions. its by far the most expensive city in the world. how i know? i studied and stay there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • see the truth on Jan 13, 2016 at 2:58 pm

Bro, COA already cost 40k SGD.
      you really think all money masuk pocket of Perodua?

the winner still the SG GOV

• Andas on Jan 13, 2016 at 3:01 pm

Well, in MY all the taxes are included so you are going to loan total.. even its hard to get 10% downpayment but still lot people can buy a car.. in SG, COE have to pay cash.. imagine if Najib wanna implement COE.. For sure all jaws drop.. wtf???

• macromedia on Jan 13, 2016 at 10:06 am

Blame it on the very strong SGD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • I wonder who in Singapore would be dumb enough to buy this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 6
  • The exchange rate is truly an eye sore!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • lavenderguy on Jan 13, 2016 at 10:26 am

you only need BMW in Singapore
    B- Bus M- Monorail W- walking

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 4
  • Ah Pek on Jan 13, 2016 at 10:30 am

Better take Mrt..efficient and convenience..if staying in S’pore..why need this car cost 75K..crazy!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • Toyotaman on Jan 13, 2016 at 10:32 am

Now that should make us Malaysians feel better isn’t it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 8
    • Perlisian on Jan 13, 2016 at 10:57 am

If goes on sales in Thailand, will make us feel bad again.

• Oh mak lu cina on Jan 13, 2016 at 11:15 am

Sounds like gomen pay paultan to write like this!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 21
    • No it shouldnt. Because in life, you always compare with something which is better so that you strife towards this betterment. If we keep comparing with countries that are worse off than us and say to ourselves “see…we are not that bad” then we will never progress and move forward. And soon, one day, we will find ourselves at the bottom with no one else worse off to compare with.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • seriously, you have same logic as najib. if we want to move forward, we should looking for county with better car policy, like usa which have high safety standards(they kick lotus, trv and other which not complie to they safety standards), give rebate to hybrid and tax higher for car that use more fuel like Lamborghini and dodge challenger

• The main thing is that you cannot ignore the drop of the RM value against SGD. The worse our RM, the higher it is for the the comparative costs in SGD.

Also, don’t forget the fact the Singapore Govt is doing so much to discourage Singaporeans to own cars, their roads would not cope if cars were cheap to own in SG. But luckily for Singaporeans, their public transportation is light years ahead of whatever you find in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Astounding on Jan 13, 2016 at 10:45 am

Holy Moly. 231k for this piece of crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Guan yin maaaa on Jan 13, 2016 at 10:48 am

70k sgd is nothing for singaporean.The problem is you cant even buy COE, you need to BID ! Summore SG average income per capita of 50k usd. Malaysia ? only 10k usd. HAHA. Msian buy one axia need loan 7 years ? You serious ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • Perlisian on Jan 13, 2016 at 10:50 am

Singapore Axia 1.0 Advance = Malaysia New BMW 318i Luxury + RM22000..

I wonder if Singapore BMW 318i = ??

• Perodua Axia: Good reliability & fuel consumption.

Proton Iriz: Good safety rating.

I hope these two features can be combined to make a perfect national car to go international.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
  • Aboxx on Jan 13, 2016 at 10:55 am

Just slightly higher price than some of Chery cars

• There is a limit to P2’s ego and delusion but this really takes the cake.
    OTOH, Sing pipu is saying we shud bersyukur for the car prices here yet we want to be like them. How ironic!

• kapchai on Jan 13, 2016 at 11:12 am

No doubt Singapore has got excellent public transport but many still buy cars in even if they only use it on weekends and to go shopping in JB. Just for comparison, Hyundai Elantra price is S$92K (which is like RM285K), depending on monthly COE price fluctuations

• Caleb on Jan 13, 2016 at 11:12 am

What if you buy an Axia in JB and take the car back to SG? Cheaper?

• Luqman on Jan 13, 2016 at 8:27 pm

iirc, any Malaysian who got SG PR status CANNOT bring their Malaysian-registered vehicle to Singapore…

• Consumer on Jan 13, 2016 at 11:15 am

Yes, by looking only at the price(dollar to dollar), it is very expensive to own any cars in SGP. But remember, their land are small enough to have a very efficient and effective public transport coverage until a point that private vehicle is not a necessary item for their residents. We are way too far from reaching this, or even the other side.

• Singaporeans are not foolish to buy a Perodua.

• If I stay in Spore I will use the SGD75k+ to take taxi. Would the taxi cost SGD75+ for your whole life? In Singapore you could do this cos the taxi fares is still reasonable charging but not here.

• munaki on Jan 13, 2016 at 11:20 am

wow… that kinda price still apply to Perodua.. good job!

• Proton on Jan 13, 2016 at 11:30 am

Perodua has gone mad.

• alldisc on Jan 13, 2016 at 11:35 am

as a whole country smaller than the size of melaka, singapore can afford to have a very efficient public transport (imagine if it has a land the size of borneo – the public transport will sure be just as rubbish).

just use the buses or MRT (and even uber) and buy this with red plate. just for off peak usage. or everyday use in malaysia.

or…

get a picanto 6 speed 6 airbags.

a domino pizza delivery boy earns about SGD1.3k or almost RM5k once you convert to our money.

a bus captain (or driver) earns up to sgd2.5k a month. 7-8k in ringgit.

• TheDean on Jan 13, 2016 at 11:45 am

Actually, if you go visit Singapore, you’ll see how much cleaner it is, safer, developed, organized, etc etc compared to Malaysia. It truly is like another country with night/day difference compared to here. Reason being, high taxes and charges like these actually GO BACK to the rakyat. Unlike here, where it goes….. somewhere else. Personally for me, I wouldn’t mind paying high taxes like these if I actually get to see and experience the re-investments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 21
    • Ini semua salah LSL. SG pipu shud demo, protest, Bersih against their Gov. But then they wud worry LSL send his Leopard2 to lenyek all of them.

• well when u have a country that is as small as a district, piece of cake, Malaysia would probably be better than Singapore if they only have a country as small as Singapore to run.

• TheDean on Jan 14, 2016 at 10:34 am

That’s the typical excuse used by politicians. We DO have places smaller than Singapore ie. Langkawi, Pangkor, etc. but STILL very backward, dirty, impolite, etc. Wheredid the money go? It is not the size, but the people governing the place.

• ss427 on Jan 13, 2016 at 11:47 am

Gerard, why rub salt into our wounds?! sob! sob!

Hey S$75k is cheap, Altis 1.6E costs S$103k (this week, 13 Jan 2016 only)

Don’t worry, the POS Axia will be so cheap that zero is sold LOL. Just like Proton sold a grand total of ZERO cars in SG for the whole 2015.

Being a Proton Salesman is great in SG, everyday go work and sleep…

Some so called test drive report here… the reporter was showing great restraint not to curse and swear at the junk car

http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/review.php?AID=941

• ismail JB. on Jan 13, 2016 at 11:49 am

The reason why cars are expensive in Spore is bcos they already have one of the most efficient transportation system.
    No reason to own one.

GDP per capita SIN = USD 56K
    For Msia. ……………. ..= USD 11K

So what is S$75k to an average joe
    compared to an average Msian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • alldisc on Jan 13, 2016 at 2:30 pm

No, the main reason is to curb private cars usage. The island just cannot cope since 25 yrs ago. The COE was created to control the number of vehicles on the road.

Vietnam is doing the same thing not because of land size but the infrastructure is not ready yet. So a corolla there sells at Camry price.

:)

• zzergg on Jan 13, 2016 at 11:56 am

Oh wow…of course they can afford that…cleaners were paid minimum of SGD 1000…

http://www.payday.com.sg/Payroll-Legislations/singapore-s-government-sets-a-minimum-salary-of-s-1-000-for-cleaners-entry-level.html

• carman on Jan 13, 2016 at 12:08 pm

high price due to government taxes,car makers would not be making huge profit, that is how they control numbers of car on the road, not much land to spare for cars,of course tax is really really high there.
    we malaysian are very fortunate here….God bless malaysia!

• leonardo on Jan 13, 2016 at 12:17 pm

Good luck Singaporeans!

• azhar on Jan 13, 2016 at 12:43 pm

and the engine is not even had variable valve timing!!…hahaha

• scrap car lerr on Jan 13, 2016 at 12:44 pm

singaporean wont bother to buy this, even to look at. better buy bmw, porsche, audi, mers scrap car. very cheap but get branded car. masuk jb pun nobody knows its a scrap car, sg plate no maa. but we in malaysia, scrap car ..read: recond, harga mahal.

• hahaha

i thought it was a typo…so is really RM230k

• applegreen on Jan 13, 2016 at 1:22 pm

singaporean arent dumb. They can easily going to JB and rent an axia for much cheaper price

• Krishna on Jan 13, 2016 at 2:38 pm

rent and do what? they cant drive foreign registered cars into Singapore

• Krishna on Jan 13, 2016 at 2:37 pm

If you look at it as a foreigner, it will seem expensive. Like how we look like fools to the Europeans for paying so much for the BMWs and Mercs. But this doesn’t stop us from buying, does it? For the Singaporean, this is still among the cheapest cars in the market.

• lanjan on Jan 13, 2016 at 2:50 pm

How about comparing on the high end side of the market, BM 5 series for instance.
    Anyway it is not surprising as in the world, Spore is no 1, while M’sia is no 2 on most ridiculous car price.

• olio benzina on Jan 13, 2016 at 3:13 pm

Singapore govt very clean, no corruption and cronyism.
    But why price so high?
    Because money to pay for the salaries of the highest paid ministers in the world must come from somewhere.

• They dun have corruption and cronism cuz it has been legalised for PAP Gov servants

• why the car so cheap there compare to malaysia???

• Ideres Mohd Rashidin on Jan 13, 2016 at 4:55 pm

and there we goes again.. after reading so many comments here I forgot that this is an automotive website after all

• Aero (Member) on Jan 13, 2016 at 6:23 pm

Even more surprising is that someone actually bought one in Singapore ! I’m totally serious !

Perodua has also exported the Axia to Mauritius and Sri Lanka. Not sure about Brunei.

• only idiot person will do currency conversion, yes, SG car is damn expensive, but do you know how much is Singaporean salary and their GDP?Fresh U graduate can easily get SGD2500-3000 pay, if u want conversion, is RM7500-9000, how about Malaysian U graduate???????God bless if u can get a RM3000 job….

P/S: For your information, SG COE price Jan 16 for Group A (engine displacement up to 1600cc & engine horse power below 130bhp) is SGD45,002….simple calculation….

FOR OFF PEAK CAR @ RED PLATE
    only for weekend & after 7pm weekday use
    Selling price SGD75,888
    COE SGD45,002
    Off Peak COE rebate SGD17,000
    Initial car value = SGD13,886

If dont convert to RM, cheap!!!!
    Well, if u want convert, SGD13,886 x3 = RM41,658!!!!!

Even cheaper than local……COE just a permit, u can take back some money when u scrap your car….

see…this is typical Malaysia, export to other country still cheaper than local market…haiz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Kinny on Jan 13, 2016 at 8:17 pm

I can buy an evo 10 in australia with that money.

• I choked on my rojak mee when seeing the article title.

• Mr.Crazy on Jan 14, 2016 at 6:11 pm

That is why Singaporean rather purchase European car instead of Asian car since 3 years ago. Sales figure of Asian car in Singapore shrink for more than 80% since then.

• pondan on Jan 14, 2016 at 6:11 pm

later BN will politicize that Axia is as good as BMW… (at least from the pricing). so, don’t complain!… hahaha

• Sg is heaven on earth, according to some people

• fottoDHIA on Aug 05, 2016 at 3:07 pm

who care, your fresh grad got high income, gov servant only in malaysia, can buy honda accord 2.0 lah,