Sepang to get fourth circuit layout during renovation?

Sepang International Circuit SIC (3)

Sepang International Circuit (SIC) chief executive officer Datuk Razlan Razali hinted a fourth circuit layout might be included during track resurfacing works being carried out from February 15 to May 8. Speaking exclusively to paultan.org, Razlan said the SIC team and consultants for the track layout are exploring the possibility of including a fourth track configuration.

“We are exploring whether we can reconfigure the track in two or three different configurations. Right now we have the full track, the north and south tracks, we are looking at one more in-between, a four km configuration,” said Razlan.

Razlan is aware of the magnitude of the task ahead, “We are resurfacing the track, that is a major renovation. There may be some improvement, we are waiting for the consultants to let us know what other proposed improvements are included. Of course, we still have the same number of corners, but, it should become what they call a “free-flowing” circuit rather than a stop-go type of track.”

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• transformer on Jan 14, 2016 at 6:52 pm

weekend should open up for Mat Rempit to race, just charge a minimum Rm5 per person and SIC can laugh all the way to the bank! can help to find future racer for Msia….

just get rid of these Mat Rempit off public road!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
    • Unfortunately SIC is fully booked (98% utilisation) with other races, events, private functions, and track days. Maybe the 4th circuit might help.

• alldisc on Jan 15, 2016 at 3:57 am

Make it possible to have 2 programmes running simultaneously.

Example for bike track days – north track usage for bikes below 400cc. South track above that. I am just saying. One day track rental of 50k is maybe not much for companies like BMW Malaysia but not for the ordinary ppl who drives myvi or ride a superkips bike.

• Chris Ong on Jan 15, 2016 at 10:30 am

This one won’t happen. Either south track or north track, they will share part of the track.

• Leonardo on Jan 15, 2016 at 8:39 am

Agree. A shorter and more ‘flowy’ track for amature drivers and motorcyclists would be good. Also maybe consider a stretch just for drag racing?