Gasoline Direct Injection engine (GDI and TGDI) – what is it, what does it promise and what are its drawbacks?

ford 1.0 ecoboost

Proton Holdings today held a successful test firing of its new GDI engine at the Ricardo works in the UK. So, what is GDI and TGDI, and what does it mean in terms of engine design?

GDI stands for Gasoline Direct Injection, and the T denotes Turbo. In terms of Proton’s engine development, this means a move away from multi-point injection (MPI) where the injectors shoot fuel into the inlet tract to the more efficient GDI, with injectors firing directly into combustion chamber.

It differs from other forms of fuel injection in that fuel is delivered at a much higher pressure directly into the combustion chamber. The advantage of this is fuel is able to be more accurately controlled in terms of volume and timing, resulting in more hp from a given engine capacity.

The development of GDI is not new, having made its first appearance in aircraft engines over 120 years ago. The 1990s saw a rebirth of GDI, with Mitsubishi including it into its 4G93 engine. Other automakers followed suit through the 2000s, with BMW even trying out a low-pressure GDI in its V12.

According to Proton, its GDI engine will give a fuel savings of 25% over the previous VVT engine in the Iriz. Typically, a GDI engine will work in one of three modes. In normal running, the ECU will set the GDI to as close to the stoichiometric ratio as possible, which in theoretical terms is 14.7:1 of air to petrol by mass.

While perfect combustion is never achievable in the real-world, the engineering push towards this goal will result in better fuel efficiency and controlled emissions. For Proton’s new engines, this means working towards the forthcoming Euro 6C standard.

At low engine speeds, where the engine is turning at or near idle, the ECU sets the engine up for an ultra lean burn. While Proton didn’t say anything about how far they were going to push the limit, some engines from other manufacturers go as far as 65% lean, right on the verge of detonation.

For wide-open throttle, GDI goes the other way, enriching the mixture to ensure that power is available, and a little left over for cooling. In TGDI applications, the fuel-air mixture can be optimised to suit boost pressure, and any changes in barometric pressure – which turbos can be sensitive to – that might affect the engine’s performance.

ford ecoboost 1.6

The GDI path has the benefit of putting the fuel mixture in optimum position for the spark to propagate the flame front in the most efficient manner. This means the maximum amount of fuel is burnt during the combustion cycle for the maximum amount of power for piston speed. While MPI can do this, it is to a much lesser degree, and efficiency is subject to the porting of the inlet.

So, if that’s the way it works, and the benefits, what are the drawbacks? One is complexity. Instead of having injectors in the manifold or inlet tract, the injectors are shooting fuel directly into the combustion chamber.

This means one injector per cylinder, sometimes two, depending on design. The cylinder head has to be redesigned to accommodate this. The other is that fuel delivery is under much higher pressure. The fuel delivery system has to be upgraded to suit, and this also means high pressure hoses and fittings.

Also, GDI injectors are also more sensitive to contaminated fuel, or fuel containing too high a percentage of after-market additives in the wrong ratio. Sludging of the injectors and carbon build-up is a real possibility, since the injector orifices are much finer than in MPI.

Toyota 86 004

Because fuel is no longer sprayed on the back of intake valves, it is possible for build-up to occur on the intake ports. Stratification of the fuel mixture could also lead to carbon build-up on the chamber walls, with carbon contaminants blocking injectors and lodging in catalytic convertors, causing local hot spots and leading to the failure of the convertor.

Some engine designers get around the problem of stratification and carbon build-up by using both GDI and port injection. The ECU in such engines, such as in the Toyota D-4S and VW’s EA888, is programmed to use either, or both, injectors, depending on load and engine state.

All this costs money, and Proton says it spent RM600 million to develop the new range of engines. This complexity is somewhat off-set by the inclusion of diagnostic software to troubleshoot errors in the GDI.

For Proton, the numbers it is looking for in the 1.5 TGDi are 180 hp and 250 Nm, already much higher than MPI 1.6 CFE, 138 hp, 205 Nm and 25% more efficient. In the short-term, GDI engines promise better fuel efficiency and more power per litre of fuel, while in the long-term, the reduced emissions will benefit the environment.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Nabei on Jan 18, 2016 at 7:42 pm

Tun m and his senile engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 92
    • Same L0rrrr on Jan 18, 2016 at 11:38 pm

Better move your house to the shop lot above garage when you get these engines.Don’t play play with Proton quality.Mark my words

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 29
  • alldisc on Jan 18, 2016 at 7:55 pm

UK? What happened to Lotus. Where are Proton engineers??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 29
    • Lotus is from uk right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
      • They are with ricardo… my friends are there.. they are young and passionate about making PROTON better…
        so, stfu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 24
        • Petrodollar on Jan 19, 2016 at 12:33 am

Kinda agree with ur statement. Mat salleh don’t care abt us Asian, in fact they look down upon us! Been there.. Got couple of them at my workplace.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
          • TurboMan on Jan 19, 2016 at 8:08 am

Mat Salleh’s culture is usually more direct. So they respect those who tells it to their face what you are thinking. If they messed up, tell it to their face & they will respect you for it. Those that are based in Asia for a couple of years learnt our culture. But if you work there, or one that just came in, expect this. Generally the first few months would be the adjustment phase, both for you and them.

I know cause i worked abroad for way too long in environments that ain’t too friendly ( Think oil rigs in Alaska, North Sea, Russian Caspian ). Recently came back and got a mini culture shock everyday in the office.

Whether they care about us or not, do you care about GM in US, whether it fails or succeed? Do you care about oldsmobile? I guess not. I know I don’t, at least until they sell their Camaros and Corvette here in Malaysia and priced it the way it should be, a working man’s sports car.

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 20, 2016 at 12:48 am

Young and passionate lol. UK is never a car country, even Rolls-Royce not owned by British. Purely Sendiri cakap Sendiri Syok. Last time also send our national soccer team there training, so they can eat defeat 0-10 now.

• alldisc on Jan 18, 2016 at 10:33 pm

Why need to source from a different company when Proton have engineers and lotus. Even when Proton pay to lotus, its like money from left pocket to right pocket.

It’s hard to understand Proton. And BTW, thnx to Proton blind supporters who thumb down me. Useless engineers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 74
      • Syer1n on Jan 19, 2016 at 1:07 am

No actually you deserve the thumb down for not understanding why Ricardo is part of it and type like you do. Petronas engine originally co-developed with Ricardo so proton just go with the ones who originally made it. So here’s another thumb down for keyboarwarrioring.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 4
        • Rusmah on Jan 19, 2016 at 8:45 am

Potong is not my hubby project.
          There are no lobang for me too.

Hey all Malaysian, support UMW lah..
          U help me, I help u!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
        • john is otak batu on Jan 19, 2016 at 8:58 am

Wow u speak like human rights activist with nuclear brain…thumbs up & down. …best of the best… keyboard warior my a$$

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
          • syer1n on Jan 19, 2016 at 9:45 am

are you civilized? wasnt he clueless while also insulting people without knowing the true fact in one post? if Darwin theory was right, you should take more time evolving.

• alldisc on Jan 19, 2016 at 10:47 am

I have no issue if Proton is doing very well and earning healthy profits every year. That is my concern. Don’t let money flow out necessarily but look at alternatives. Proton was taken over by DRB from hicom in late 90s, then taken over by khazanah and petronas. Then again by DRB. All because of poor planning and mismanagement. I am not questioning the technical aspects, just the method of doing things when financial does not permit. Oh well, its your grave

• syer1n on Jan 19, 2016 at 1:42 pm

now the weight is on me? your total clueless world never fail to fascinate me. i’ll make this engine timeline in kindergarten style for you.

Step 1) Petronas co-operate with Ricardo to develop an engine.

Step 2) Proton bought the engine along with the technological pattern from Petronas.

Step 3) Proton return to Ricardo with the original engine and pattern to further develop the engine to suit road use instead of racing.

Step 4) You argue to ask Lotus to develop Petronas engine which clearly out of their knowledge so they will take time to reverse-engineer it. time is money.

• firdaus on Jan 18, 2016 at 8:16 pm

they probably used the ‘proven and reliable’ campro engine and tebuk one lubang to fit in the nozzle…..which will find it’s way into the production cars.

then they’ll claim it’s the ‘all new’ engine…

i remember when satria was launched in 1995, it was claimed to be designed by proton itself locally.it was even wrote this way in a auto column of a well known local newspaper.

then i was in singapore in ’96 and saw a couple of mits colt with the same design.u get what i mean…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 73
    • No they wont. There is no space to put a hole for the nozzle in campro engine. Even if they do like u said, it wont based on campro. Try barai the campro engine. U will understand what im talking about

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
      • He dunno how to disassemble an engine cuz he onli keybod warrior

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
      • Firdaus on Jan 18, 2016 at 10:31 pm

Proton engineers will make one…by widening the head.go and look at the extension job they did on the cps engine.i own a cps exora, so I know.half of you here dont even own a proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
        • syer1n on Jan 19, 2016 at 9:06 am

kalau benda senang dah lama orang buat. seems like playing with cardbox eh? just tebuk2 and cucuk2 new component. pergi engineering school pun tak guna. just take ferrari block and put into prius suddenly can already go 300kph. my life is a lie.

• Ufoma on Apr 26, 2018 at 2:17 am

its been more than 2 years already, and i am still waiting for this bugger firdaus to reply. probably trying to match his plastic made piston into his cardboard engine. brilliant.

• Lan the trainer on Jan 18, 2016 at 11:33 pm

It’ not simple as that, GDI needs higher compression firing chamber and different design engine. Means that it need different engine design to run the whole thing. Please check facts. Campro block not designed to accept GDI concept

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • TurboMan on Jan 19, 2016 at 8:17 am

Doesn’t matter if they tebuk one lubang. I won’t care one bit.
      The key is knowing where to tebuk and what to do once the lubang is there. Fitting the right injectors running it at the right pressures, modelling the fuel flow/position in the cylinder to give the largest bang per drop of fuel. Doing it in such a way that it doesn’t cause carbon buildup. That is the art.

Engineering doesn’t have to be complicated. It needs to work. The best engineering solutions are usually the simplest.

There is a story about a factory that has to shut down and nobody knows how to fix it. An engineer was brought in, spent a day walking around the factory, finally took a hammer and hit a pipe hard. Within 5 sec, the factory springs back to life.

He charged RM10000 for that service. The factory manager said, just one bang for RM10000? Please provide me with an itemised bill.

So the bill goes like this, RM1 for banging. RM9999 for knowing exactly where and how hard to bang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Gaviny on Jan 18, 2016 at 8:19 pm

Another drawback is the engines are slightly noisier as you hear the injectors firing almost like a diesel engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
    • What? Never heard of that kind of noise in any gdi engine

• Oh mak lu cina on Jan 18, 2016 at 9:53 pm

Yes, all direct injection engines are very noisy. It will clatter like diesel engines. Go see any peugeot, Mercedes, BMW, VW direct injection petrol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
        • Same L0rrrr on Jan 18, 2016 at 11:40 pm

Good, Proton drivers love noise, thus we see so many proton with big exhaust pipe crawling on the road.they need the loud sound to self hypnosis they are on a Lotus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
    • You’re kinda right bout the slightly obvious “tak tak tak” sound but not to the extend of being similar to that of diesel engines lah..haha

Try listen to some like the 2.0l on CX5 starting with a cold engine and you’ll understand what he’s talking about.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Queue Bashers

• Bugbear1986 on Jan 18, 2016 at 9:08 pm

Carbon buildup at inlet port isnt caused by the injection in the combustion chamber of GDI engines, it’s due to engineer trying to increase the volumetric efficiency of the particular cylinder by retarding the inlet valve closing time… (therefore fuel particle being suck back into inlet valve, sooner or later.. carbon deposit build up there and causing reliability issues)
    Therefore such problem is widely to be seen and happened at many GDI engines… such as BMW Prince Engine (Peugeot/Citroen/Mini Cooper’s) and also Mazda’s Skyactiv (as early as 50k km at some local models, Mazda3)
    Downside of the GDI engine, is emission. The carbon particles

• Oh mak lu cina on Jan 18, 2016 at 9:55 pm

You are WRONG. It is caused by the inability of fuel to wash the back of the intake valves. The extra port injectors help solve that problem on engines with both direct and port injection system.

• Actually, carbon buildup at the back of intake valve are caused by EGR. MPI engine wont have issues because the fuel will wash it off when it travels through the intake valves into the combustion chamber. GDI engines lose this feat.

• intermilan on Jan 19, 2016 at 1:54 pm

As long as they engineer it not to suffer from carbon build up like what happening to BMW-PSA Prince engine..

Thay can add injector to the inlet to ‘wash’ any blowback carbon but if not mistaken this solution was patented already.

• Fazley on Jan 18, 2016 at 9:11 pm

Why people have to be negetive in every proton news?? It’s your national brand so be proud of it guys.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 7
    • Jaguh Global on Jan 18, 2016 at 9:32 pm

Yes Proton now as good as VW so why not Proton selling price here same as VW .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 26
      • U sure vw is good? Like seriously key warrior?

• BuyBrand on May 18, 2016 at 2:43 am

If you love vw so much go and buy one, and you will very very proud of its, German engineering . Vw service centre is a good place to find new friends, a friend a vw owner told me it is crowded daily

• Becoz they been well trained by DAP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 12
  • potong on Jan 18, 2016 at 9:38 pm

Potong ? Nobody cares !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
  • sudonano (Member) on Jan 18, 2016 at 10:03 pm

GDI is great, if done right.

You see, one of the things with GDI engines is carbon build up. If not properly addressed (read early Prince THP 1.6 engines, as per 308 Turbo, 408 Turbo), the carbon buildup saps off performance and fuel economy. However it’s not all bad news. Many of the large manufacturers, like BMW’s High Pressure Injection, Mercedes’ BlueDIRECT, VAG’s FSI engine technology all have become very mature, that now, stories of carbon build up is almost non existent.

If at all, I personally think it’s not the best move to dump the money into building engines only, instead, they should consider the entire powertrain. I was genuinely shocked to hear they were actually sticking to the CVT transmission. Like really, we all know how badly the CVT performs when driven somewhat enthusiastically. If Proton really wants to put those engines to good use, dump the CVT, give us a real automatic instead. No amount of flappy paddles and fancy ProTronic branding is gonna make that CVT any better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • Consumer on Jan 18, 2016 at 10:28 pm

No surprise that PROTON to employ CVT transmission, since it has been proven a good CVT can do better fuel economy than a manual transmission. While for the ‘fun to drive’ subject,it should not be a bad idea if they use 6 forward speed manual transmission for the performance orientated and a fix-ratio paddle shifter should able to cover those who want some fun for sometime on top of CVT.

• Carefree on Jan 18, 2016 at 10:56 pm

Proton is sticking with CVT. But they are getting the CVT from Jatco. Jatco is supplying CVT to Nissan and Mitsubishi, among others. And Nissan boasts one of the best CVT in the business today. So, there is a good chance the CVT on upcoming Protons will be enjoyable rather than making you want to Punch somebody.

• S.Roma on Jan 18, 2016 at 10:13 pm

i remember when i proton iriz user said…

“if they change the logo to VW, they will beliv that this is VW”

means that the car is already good, but the mindset of malaysian cant bare with it

i don deny that proton still got some minor issue to settle, cause im persona user, 1st day got the car already got issue, but minor, settle when sent to sc

• Ford Power on Jan 18, 2016 at 10:22 pm

Heartening to see less bashing and more informative discussions here. Good job with filtering the comments guys!

• DonkeyKong on Jan 19, 2016 at 4:11 pm

Is this a joke? ‘Cause I still see the long essay spammers all the time whenever news of Proton crops up.. still talking about songlap, still talking about RM1 trillion gone in the 30 years of Proton’s existence, etc.

• frank on Jan 18, 2016 at 10:57 pm

Wow! interesting news.
    GDI is the way to go to improve efficiency.
    Perhaps they could hike up the compression ratio with GDI and achieve higher efficiency.
    Am glad to see petronas engine coming to production. They have been in F1 for long enough to learn a thing or two about engine technology.
    cheers

• olio benzina on Jan 19, 2016 at 9:52 am

Tak boleh la.. Too high compression must use higher octane fuel. Penjimatan dari fuel efficiency pergi kat kos RON 98 atau 100. Tak balek modal.

• Tau ker x? on Jan 19, 2016 at 12:53 pm

Bro, GDI injects fuel in compression cycle bro. mane leh fuel tu autodetonate. The compression work doesn’t increase the air fuel mixture temperature for it to self detonate (knock), just because there’s no fuel to compress in the first place!

Too high of a compression , too much work engine needs to compress, so there’s a fine line where you’d benefit from the efficiency in higher compression ratio and actually needing additional compression work to even compress to TDC.

• Amelia on Jan 18, 2016 at 10:58 pm

Loved the details in the article.

• Excellent and informative article. Keep up the good work paultan team!
    Just one comment. The engine management system is not from Bosch this time: it’s from Continental and they also supply to BMW, Daimler, Porsche and VW group etc

• Rusmah on Jan 19, 2016 at 9:59 am

tutup kedai, harga kereta turun.
    Kurangkan beban kita dan potong/rendahkan kos kita.

• Rusmah on Jan 19, 2016 at 10:12 am

Most maker yet overcome carbon build up problems.
    The latest Toyota GDI 2.0t seems may overcome it by extra injector close to the intake valves.

• Ollie on Jan 19, 2016 at 11:06 am

Firstly, excellent technical writeup. But to put it simply, a car company that is losing market share by day, and is facing cash flow crunch is not in the position to spend RM600mil on engine development, not even RM 6 mil!

Secondly. Bashers/haters/condemners. Lovely labels by blind supporters.

If you read properly, all negative comments about Proton are constructive. Re: modular design, lower procurement complexity, rely on ready-made modular parts just as all developed car makers to lower development costs (i.e. even Ferrari, Porsche, Bentley use modular parts from their parent companies!), cut losses (i.e. not spend RM 600 mil on new engines when you are losing market share), reduce design complexity, create a rational model line-up (i.e. Inspira and Accordana are basically competitors in the same market, as Waja/Gen2/Persona), make rational business decisions as in focus on further developing models that sell (as in focus on the Saga, its the best-selling model, but no, no glamour in Saga, must develop GDI 2.0 T only baru glamour, no sell nevermind, janji glamour), develop business rationalisation plans as the business is losing money every month!

The last point is most critical. I want to see the faces of the so-called die-hard Proton supporters when thousands lose their jobs due to VSS and retrenchment when Proton faces bankruptcy.

Proton is to face bankruptcy by Oct 2017. That’s in around 18 months time based on current free cash flow and net assets. Be ready to cry for all the workers, dealers, distributors who are going to lose livelihoods.

That’s the truth, stop supporting blindly, and listen to the so-called Proton bashers instead of just talking nonsense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • ford.focus.mk2 on Jan 19, 2016 at 12:32 pm

‘engineer’ perodua konfem tak paham ape2 pasal artikel ni

• staff p2 on Jan 19, 2016 at 2:29 pm

che satff p1 ni lebih2 pulak. selama ni engine siapa lagi reliable, jimat minyak. p2 kan . tu sbb kami guna engine berteknolgi dr japan yang da terbukti reliable. satu lg engine hybrid yang kata nak keluar production tahun 2014 kat mana. rnd berjuta2 , proton iriz pun susah nak jual

• ford.focus.mk2 on Jan 20, 2016 at 10:43 am

bile perodua ade buat engine? bezakan buat engine dgn pasang engine.

aku takde kaitan dgn mana2 company kete. period.

• proton stop with you engine bullshoit , people has trust issues with you campro. you should just use engine from Japanese, like toyota or nissan. I’m pretty sure that will be more cost effective. rather than spen hundred of millions to develop engine while you can only sell few hundred thousand car coz.

• James Bond on Jan 19, 2016 at 2:55 pm

Proton—> lousy car company

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Update la weii on Mar 17, 2016 at 6:40 am

Proton kena sebarkan perkembangan enjin ne01 kat media massa kalau xnak peminat LALLI dan ilang minat…aku pun dah beransur2 ilang minat

• Lansiliew on May 18, 2016 at 2:24 am

Proton will be respected if they manage to produce the GDI engine that not suffered like those vw/audi, GM’s Hyundai and others that had tons of problems mainly carbon build up that need the valves to be manually clean and worse in hyundai case the fuel leak into the engine and cause the engine to seize which pose a safety risks. Action class law suit have been taken on hyundai in the US, VW/Audi and ford ecoboast owners are emptying their pocket like money is out of fashion. Will Proton manage ? Testing an engine on a test bed is not the same as everday life with stop and go and uncontrol enviroment