UberX Malaysia revises pricing structure – base/min fare, per minute/kilometre charges all reduced

uberX

Uber passengers, good news ahead! The ride-sharing service has announced that UberX prices will be reduced effective today (January 18, 2016). The new rates are said to promote accessibility, according to Uber, where those short trips for errands in the city centre are safer, more reliable and now, more affordable.

Under the new fare UberX structure for Kuala Lumpur, the base/minimum fare is now 95 sen (previously RM2), while the running tariff is set at 25 sen per minute (previously 35 sen) or 60 sen per kilometre (previously 70 sen per km).

Referring to fare estimates provided by Uber, a ride from KL Sentral to Mid Valley is claimed to cost just RM4, which is half of the old fare structure (RM8), and even more affordable than a traditional taxi (RM12).

Similary, the fare estimate from 1Utama to Taman Tun Dr Ismail will cost just RM3 following the new UberX fare structure, RM5 following the old fare structure and RM8 for those who opt for a taxi. The cancellation fee is listed as RM5, unchanged from before.

Uber drivers are said to benefit from the increased number of riders using Uber across all hours thanks to the lower fares. In addition, the increase in the number of partners on the Uber platform allows for reduced wait times as the rider and driver are closer to one another. Uber cites its operations in New York to support this claim, where prices of Uber in the Big Apple fell by almost 30% between 2012 and 2015.

Does the new UberX fare structure entice you to use the ride-sharing service? Let us know what you think in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Killing cronies’ taxi companies.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 4
    • antiDAP on Jan 18, 2016 at 12:25 pm

selfish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 47
      • Mana Red Shirt Ketuanan? on Jan 18, 2016 at 1:39 pm

Where is the red shirt lazy teksi drivers who like to do silat now? What are they going to do now? Again going to threaten the public safety?

When Obama came 2 months ago, the red shirt silat warriors teksi drivers wanted to stage a boycott and bring shame to Malaysia infront of Obama.

Now what they want to do? Lazy fools.

• UMGGOK on Jan 18, 2016 at 1:03 pm

Been tooking uber since last december

same place same distance uber only cost me RM15.00

Taxi cost me RM25.00 somemore sometimes they refuse to alight on place i wanted to alight

uber driver ok je…most importanly is…
      the car is much more better den taxi la…
      the most low ya car i took also persona…
      civic, altis , prius , bla bla bla…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • Then u should pay the same rate as taxi drivers getting….coz of the comfort sont u think so…….its good deal for u but the uber driver

• dato vida on Jan 18, 2016 at 11:24 am

lol it’s like they only doing that to piss off the samsing taxi driver. love it

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
    • Jimmy on Jan 18, 2016 at 1:18 pm

First of all, I must say I welcome this move.
      However, I suggest, in order to give more motivation and better services, that fair charges are needed, where the old scheme seemed alright and should be thoughtfully maintained.
      To those samseng, you charge high and yet provide unsatisfactory services, your days are numbered.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • ben yap on Jan 18, 2016 at 11:34 am

Uber is going to lose more drivers and they will migrate to Grabcar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 12
    • Ollie on Jan 18, 2016 at 12:05 pm

only, Grabcar is said to make it hard for drivers to claim incentives etc. With uber, nvr had those issues. Something could be said of Msian mgmt vs foreign-owned, but I’ll not go there la.

• GrabcarGamer on Jan 18, 2016 at 1:28 pm

well.. serve you right lah.. those grabcar gamer!
        They think they can just lepak and forever ‘game’ the system! That’s the difficulty dealing with malaysian..! the mindset of wanting to cheat is at all level! when they drive taxi., they cheat customer! now.. no longer drive taxi.. cannot cari makan.. drive for grabcar, they game the incentive! whoaa! lucrative work laa weii.., boasting to customer as well. I’m one the customer they boast lah! they just need to do minimum trip.., and stay online.., if no customer.. they call friend to request, so to meet the minimum trip quota. For long haul request to airport or other far destination – (which occurs to me) they ask the customer cancel the trip, but trip still go on.. and get customer pay direct to them only..(thus no need to minus gc commision!).
        I feel pity this these people.. and mostly malay! I ask them – why u have to game the system? the answer – GC always didn’t keep their promise and delay their incentive payment – maybe there is a truth to that.. as I heard other GC driver also complaining about GC not paying incentive! and mind you – this incentive is quite big to them – RM 500.. 600.. 800! big amount for middle class people..
        So in the end – it’s a lose-lose situation. GC will see their otherwise income.. ends to GC driver.., GC driver continues to cheat the system.. let see how long GC can last if they don’t keep their promise.. and continue to lose their potential income!
        they should introduce another reward – honesty reward and whistleblowing reward to rout those rogue driver out of the system!

• Ollie on Jan 18, 2016 at 3:49 pm

You’re spot on. Except one thing: I’ve met all drivers non-Malay who do this. Its pretty sad with our culture, give a chance to cheat, sure will cheat. I’m an uber driver myself, or used to be, now I’m lazy as the money is little.

• siebel on Jan 18, 2016 at 2:35 pm

At first uber driver loves to work for uber due to the incentives. And then uber start to make it hard and grabcar open their doors for easy and good incentives. Most uber drivers migrate to grabcar. First few months was good. Now, same issue. Grabcar drivers back to uber. Let see how this works out now

• hahah… those taxi drivers will flip.

• Ollie on Jan 18, 2016 at 11:50 am

Interesting. But drivers will be in shivers, rates are low as it is. I pity the guys doing it full-time, as a part-time its just extra income, but hardly enough if full-time.

2 things,1. you don’t get paid driving from wherever to the pick up point, 2. rides to areas further out (i.e. Puchong, Cheras) often can’t get ride back. In these scenario many times drivers are paying more in petrol and wear than what they get in fares.

Great for riders. The challenge is to have as many drivers and riders, which is striking a balance between cheap fares and fair pay for drivers ; but Leon is cracking his head over that, I’m sure.

• Greedy Uber on Jan 18, 2016 at 3:12 pm

UberX basic rates are now 0.95 sen and they have reduced per min rates too. Uber is getting really greedy and selfish with the dominance in the market. It is trying to kill its competitors with its absurdly low pricing rates and also trying to destroy the health of its driver partners.

Uber drivers have to work longer hours just to make what they used to get. With the low rates and increased number of drivers on the road, getting the same number of income earlier is increasingly difficult.

I think its time the Malaysian Competition Commission come into the picture and study the business tricks of Uber. Uber business model is not healthy for our market as it destroys competition and is trying to kill off all taxi services, not the bad ones only.

The Department of Occupational Safety and health should also study the effects of excessive driving on the health of Uber driver partners. I know some are already driving up to 14 hours a day with little breaks just to get what they used to earn months ago.

This is the problem of unregulated service offered by foreign companies. At the end of the day, the main aim is to increase its bottom line as much as possible, with any means available. Uber itself has a bad repo elsewhere in the world for being win-at-all-cost company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Fair rates to the driver is a must….if the drivers feel the pinch….i think grab and uber moght not work well….

• ubercar? on Jan 18, 2016 at 11:51 am

Sad thing uber did not factor petrol, maintainance and car depreciation costs before reducing the price. Well, it never changed their 20% so yeah, drivers will migrate to grabcar or find a good second job

• noname on Jan 18, 2016 at 12:02 pm

taxi driver: barbarian mode on

• Lobak on Jan 18, 2016 at 12:10 pm

Be extra careful, Uber drivers. We all support you but safety is most important for passengers and the drivers.
    Never pick up passengers from places where groups of taxi scums are waiting, get the passengers to walk to somewhere clear. Also try to get passengers to sit in front so it looks less obvious.
    I saw with my own eyes, the samseng taxi drivers assault a uber driver, a young boy at subang parade in subang jaya.
    These taxis are now going down. Dulu sibuk buat kerja haram, sekarang terima la balasan. Berapa lama kamu boleh tipu orang. Asyik makan duit haram, bagi anak minum susu dan makanan haram.. sekarang terima lah akibatnya. Belum mampos lagi , lepas mampos, kena bakar kat neraka pulak.

Uber forever. Taxi go to hell.
    Samseng taik kucing, dulu mak suruh belajar, tak mau , sekarang kerja tipu orang jer.
    Pergi mampos dengan taxi. Aku support uber!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • Reflection on Jan 19, 2016 at 7:47 am

Watch your words. It might hits back at you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • andy hafiz on May 09, 2017 at 9:10 pm

Before this i agreed with this.. When drive with uber x.. Its seem i realise now.. The fare maybe to high but with uber… Even the fuel we cant just get enough.. I think uber should provide their car to us for drive.. And let them service and maintenance.. So sad …

• Black Dog on Jan 18, 2016 at 12:14 pm

Their main competitor now is not Taxis but Grabcar and other apps. Taxis have dug their graves and now lying in them. Just waiting for someone to close the coffin.
    I have ride Uber and will continue using them because its so easy and reliable. The drivers I talked to all seems very happy making extra money during their free time.

• ben yap on Jan 18, 2016 at 12:35 pm

with the lower payout and uber still taking 20%, i the drivers will tell you how shitty it is to drive. Drivers have to camp under the hot sun to wait for a request and when the request comes in, they wouldn’t know if the trip is worth their while or not. at times, they only get RM2 per trip. after deducting their petrol and wear and tear of the car, they might earn so little or to nothing.

I bet nowadays uber drivers will not boast that they can earn RM6,000 a month. with the new fare, if a driver wants to make RM6,000 a month, he has to make 1,875 trips from KL Sentral to Mid Valley, after deducting 20% commission by Uber.

Worst case is that those full time drivers have no EPF or Socso or medical benefits. On the long run, these drivers are losing out.

Worth it meh?

• Therealmaserati on Jan 18, 2016 at 2:02 pm

Real dumb fella la u. Uber earnings is not calculated like that.

They have something called peak hour guarantees. In a way, lower fares is good because u can earn more in peak hour guarantees. Uber will too up more since ur earnings are lower.

But the thing is, now with the new scheme, drivers have to be online most of the time.

To put it simply, it benefits the full timers but kills the part timers doing it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
        • Js126 on Jan 18, 2016 at 3:29 pm

Therealmaserati,

Be a driver yourself and you will know. Most drivers i knew already switch to GC. And Uber is recruiting too many drivers. Target 10,000 more this year. There are more drivers than riders in most places except during morning and evening peak hour.

Sometimes you have to drive 4kms to pick up a guy that travel for 400m and according to the above, the minimum charge is rm2. And hourly guarantee is applicable to certain location and time only.

I will continue to support Uber, but i felt sorry for the drivers.

• uber driver on Jan 18, 2016 at 2:16 pm

Some good uber driver, did take personal insurance to cover personal and also family. After all, this is same like you become entrepreneur.. where got epf, socso. Like makcik selling goreng pisang – did she got epf, socso nor insurance? no right? same with taxi driver – do they have epf,socso?

• They less the riding charges but charging the driver same percentage. . Why dont the management less their charges to driver than give it to rider? The management think our car runs on water izzit?

• tokmoh. on Jan 18, 2016 at 12:31 pm

Harga uber turun, kenapa tak puji kera- oh waiiiiit

• dodgeviper88 on Jan 18, 2016 at 12:50 pm

Prior to price reduction the base/min/km fare was RM1.50/RM0.30/RM0.60 . All other modes UberXL/Black prices remain the same. At the same time they increased the number of hours for guaranteed payments. The incentives are structured such that it encourages drivers to commit more hours and to do it full time.

• Consumer on Jan 18, 2016 at 12:58 pm

Firstly this is surely a good news! Everyone is getting more affordable rides. But the Uber drivers will be quite pity, the original price already doesnt make that much money, now further reduce. If this causing less and lesser driver, it surely will fall into price surge mode.

• Peter on Jan 18, 2016 at 1:12 pm

Ha ha … serve you right barbarian taxi gang! Uber long live!

• Former UberXDriver on Jan 18, 2016 at 1:45 pm

Uber is going down with this! With starting rate of 0.95cents and UberX drivers have to drive far to grab this 95sen (only to get customer from Twin@Damansara condo to Ben’s supermarket!@Jalan beringin – about 2km – 95cts+60cents = that will by RM1.50cts!)I ask you – How long can driver withstand this? Petrol cost to driver from Bangsar to customers place in Damansara already cost more than what the driver will get!
    Does Uber want to lose all their driver to Grabcar? now most Uber drivers that I know already hop over or planning to drive for Grabcar.
    Maybe time for another competitor for ride sharing in malaysia??

• therealmaserati on Jan 18, 2016 at 3:23 pm

Alot of wrong info in this article.

Current base fare RM1.50
    Per KM RM0.60
    PER Minute 0.30

• frustrated_user on Jan 18, 2016 at 5:27 pm

Under the new fare UberX structure for Kuala Lumpur, the base/minimum fare is now 95 sen (previously RM2), while the running tariff is set at 25 sen per minute (previously 35 sen) or 60 sen per kilometre (previously 70 sen per km).

You got the previous pricing wrong. Previously, base rate is RM1.50, per/min rate is 30sens/min and per/km rate is 60sens/km. Kindly correct the statement above.

• Pauline on Jan 18, 2016 at 7:01 pm

YES!!

doomsday for ganster taxi!!!

• Reflection on Jan 19, 2016 at 8:11 am

Now, why would you wanna reduce your rate so much when the competitor is already more expensive and the service is presumed lousy? At current price rate Uber is highly regarded by rider, the image/brand was built and maintained by the partners. I strongly believe that Uber partner deserves a premium on this. To Uber pricing team refer to the coffee cafe case study, they priced their coffees just slightly below the benchmark/leader (i.e. Starbucks) and they make more money. If Uber Malaysia thinks they wanna piss off taxi drivers, expect that piss just splashed to their affected part time partners too. Ouch!

• Jesen on Jan 19, 2016 at 2:52 pm

Uber really should offer a option called tips. If we the service provided by that particular driver is good, we could offer RM5 or even more on top of the fare. This will also indirectly promote better service.

• Good service and clean and well maintained car should come with a higher price or at least match the current taxi fare…..good news for the riders but poor drivers.Toyota and Proton there is difference….

• Uber RATES IN PENANG

UberX

Base fare: 0.80 RM
    Cost per min: 0.20 RM
    Cost per km: 0.55 RM
    Service fee: 0 RM
    Cancellation fee: 5 RM

uberXL

Base fare: 2.5 RM
    Cost per min:: 0.40 RM
    Cost per km: 0.75 RM
    Service fee: 0 RM
    Cancellation fee: 5 RM

Uber fee: 25% from the above fare.

I am A Part-time Uber driver in Penang and I’m driving a Proton Exora. I’m allowed to receive request for Uber X & XL.

I have nothing much to complain about XL rate but for X rate they are way too low.

If you calculate the time spend on the road and sometimes with the traffic jam, it’s just not worth it.

At RM0.80 of base rate it’s not worth driving if you calculate the wear & tear of your vehicle.

I suggest the base rate for Uber X should be around RM1.80 to RM2.00. Which i think is still cheaper than the normal Taxi & Grab Car rates.

When there is not much request, you can hardly earn Rm20 in an hour with just Uber X request received.