Automated Number Plate Recognition (ANPR) cameras to go live in June, work with standardised plates

bkk-ratchaprasong-dt

The Automated Number Plate Recognition (ANPR) system will now roll out in June this year, The Star reports. According to federal traffic police chief SAC Mahamad Akhir Darus, all 20 ANPR units will be fully utilised and will be able to work with the new standardised license plate system.

The cameras, which will be mounted onto the dashboard of police patrol cars, will be linked directly to Bukit Aman’s database. It will detect and flag passing cars with registration numbers linked to outstanding summons in the said database. The system will work more effectively once the standardised license plates are implemented by the Road Transport Department (JPJ), he noted.

It was said previously, that the police is looking to make a bigger dent against “hardcore traffic offenders” via the ANPR system. “Similarly, if a car has been reported to be involved in a crime or has been stolen and the number plate is detected by the device, it will automatically alert our police personnel to take action,” Mahamad said.

In 2015, over 6.55 million summonses were issued. Out of that number, 3.93 million were issued to speeding motorists. “We also have 419,406 outstanding arrest warrants which have not been served,” Mahamad noted. He also mentioned that Ops Warta is ongoing, advising motorists with outstanding warrants of arrests and summonses to settle it, before they get pulled over.

The 20 ANPR units use technology from the USA and are worth RM30 million in total. In an ANPR sting carried out in Johor Bahru in June last year, a total of 4,200 outstanding speeding summonses were collected from Singaporean motorists. The majority of offences were reportedly related to speeding.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Seems like more useful to abuse opposing politicians that catching traffic offenders.

• Opposhit on Jan 20, 2016 at 1:30 pm

I suggest use a bicycle to avoid being “abuse”

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 21, 2016 at 11:02 am

In another words, don’t use standard plates then you are king of the road. Bravo JPJ

• applegreen on Jan 20, 2016 at 1:29 pm

i dont believe that device cost that much. 20 units for rm30m? i thought 20 units cost max rm5m only

• alldisc on Jan 20, 2016 at 1:44 pm

Thank you for listening to my suggestion. Next phase would be to allow only designated cars into KL during the peak hours. Similar to London system. Remove all cars from the road. Allow taxis and buses free movement at all time. Those who want to drive, must buy new cars with a fee named as Luxury Tax. And it must be environment friendly cars… Hybrid or diesel. Or EV. That means government must remove the heavy excise duty on all cars. To enter city centre of the 4 biggest cities in Malaysia the camera will read number plate and let in. If reg number not approved, a toll amount of rm20 is chargeable per entry. No pay, no road tax renewal. Cannot sell car. This will make taxi drivers happier. No more jams. More passengers. And public pay cheaper taxi fares. Because not stuck in jam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
    • BeforeThat on Jan 20, 2016 at 1:59 pm

Before you can dream of living like a european. TEACH YOURSELF TO DRIVE BETTER be civil and well mannered! Cermin diri dulu sebelom bemimpi. Wtf that also so hard? Sure you can do all of those which is good but still driving like an asshole nothing will change.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
      • alldisc on Jan 20, 2016 at 7:56 pm

Wah. So many ppl butthurt with this plate system. I drive properly and have no issue at all. No worries. Except you. Peace

• skyblue on Jan 20, 2016 at 2:18 pm

How about clone car?1st, government should has 100% control on vehicle registration plates.For example, only JPJ issues high security number plate…not all the car accessories shop so people cant easily copy your car number.Additional,
    the plate permanently attached to the vehicle with a prefecture seal completely covering one of the attaching plate bolts.The plate is only removed when the vehicle has reached the end of service and has been sold for scrap.

• So, ours is rm1.5 mil a piece?!!!

In the UK, each device costs no more than Rm 220k.

http://samathieson.com/sa-mathieson/how-much-thames-valley-police-spends-on-anpr-cameras/

• Black Dog on Jan 20, 2016 at 4:33 pm

Correct. The balance is for study trip, teaching lessons, survey, dll. Kita minum di starbucks USA sikit-sikit sahaja!

• Elchino on Jan 20, 2016 at 5:31 pm

We also use ANPR system for our Condo but have to junk it later as it did not work as it was supposed to be. Apparently only vehicles with d standard number plates can be recognised by the system. Consequently, cars bearing fancy numbers could not b recognised, thus d gate will not open automatically

• Aero (Member) on Jan 21, 2016 at 4:17 am

Don’t just catch us normal rakyat, catch all those politicians and Datuk-Datin too. PDRM, I hope you all will be fair and professional in your judgement and execution. Don’t abuse your powers.

If I might suggest, PDRM should start with Cyberjaya and the MEX highway first… the majority of drivers there don’t follow the speed limit. Worse still are all those foreign drivers who drive as they please, often in poorly maintained old cars. Sometimes, I even see cars with red number plates (diplomat cars) that speed, tailgate and break the rules. Every other day, there will surely be an accident on the MEX. Cyberjaya is supposed to be our Silicon Valley… but it’s really our ‘Cowboy Alley’ thanks to all the morons who drive there.

I fear for my life everytime I get on the MEX… because my old Saga doesn’t have a single airbag or ABS, let alone ESC. Even the ‘happy face’ Axia G is safer than my old Saga. I’m no perfect driver, I’m still learning, I do my best to drive competently and courteously, but there is nothing I can do if some idiot decides to crash into me. A crash at highway speeds will probably be fatal for anyone in an old, small car… like mine. It’s sad, but I have learnt to deal with it.

• KENNY on Jan 26, 2016 at 12:47 pm

Semua projek untuk suap saja. Fasiliti sekarang pun tak hebat mana, banyak lagi guna teknologi lama zaman 90an.

Tolong naik taraf dulu pengawai, alat alat komunikasi dan cara pengawalan sebelum nak perkenalkan sistem sistem baru.

Buang duit saja.