Mobile Card Acceptance Device (MCAD) to be used by the police – handwritten summons a thing of the past

Sarawak Road Traffic -01

Handwritten summonses may soon be a thing of the past, as Bukit Aman’s traffic division is set to introduce a mobile card acceptance device (MCAD), The Star reports. Said device will utilise the driver’s MyKad and will be linked directly to an online databank.

“The device will read an errant motorist’s MyKad and traffic police personnel will input the type of offence and print out the summons and send the data to an online databank,” federal traffic police chief SAC Mahamad Akhir Darus said.

Bukit Aman will also be looking to obtain and employ more MCADs with printing features on the road. “We currently have about 600 devices that can only scan the MyKad but we are acquiring 3,700 new units which will be capable of printing out summonses,” SAC Mahamad disclosed.

On another note, the Automated Number Plate Recognition (ANPR) cameras will go live by June this year, SAC Mahamad said. It will work with the new standardised license plates – to be implemented by the Road Transport Department (JPJ) soon – to capture errant motorists or uncover stolen vehicles.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• project IC on Jan 20, 2016 at 1:19 pm

my IC chip kannot read.. please improve the chip before doing this project

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 23
    • Please renew your IC before you comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 9
    • Open Letter to IGP on Jan 20, 2016 at 5:50 pm

Tuan, so how is your officers now going to tahan cars and pretend to write in their saman book whilst talking to you to give them duit kopi?

Then they will ask, “Saya akan bagi buku untuk Encik sign, tolong masukkan celah mukasurat”

Now your PDRM officers cannot do this style anymore.

Can the IGP please give a statement on this? I sure will miss seeing the officer pretend to write the saman with a pen. he will be writing writing wrting writing but you see the saman….kosong…nothing written! ha ha ha ha ha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Proton achieving 13% TIV in 2016 on Jan 20, 2016 at 1:28 pm

I smell songlap. Which cucu-cicik/anak menteri/bini pengerusi cawangan get the contract to equip PDRM to issue these “high-tech” saman?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 16
    • null3 on Jan 20, 2016 at 1:52 pm

Lol that’s only thing in your brain: songlap songlap songlap, no wonder in PT there is very few good ideas in comments. Only bad things come up, their brains are as bad as they are in real life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 19
      • U criticise them, veri soon they will accuse u as BN trooper, DK, or me. Remember this goldern rule:

Criticising BN/Najib/Melei is fair and justified comment.
        Criticising Party Hard/Dear Leader/Tokong/Puaka is racist and against democracy.

• Well he got some points.
        AES under Boustead and LTAT,
        Boustead 58% owned by LTAT
        (http://www.boustead.com.my/corporate_profile.html)

LTAT in under minsitry.
        So, actualy gov screw u up , down, front, back, left and right.

• I see most people who complain here are the jackass drivers who doesnt want to pay them fines. Hahah run while you still can. Cant pay the fine, dont do the crime. And please, learn to drive and dont be dumb. Angan angan European/Western, but like shit. Pui cermin diri la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • And Android app with most of the MCAD function is already publicly available since early 2013 : https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.causalidea.cikad.showkad

Only 99 ringgit. No printing facility though. That is extra.

• alldisc on Jan 20, 2016 at 7:52 pm

No more road blocks pls. Since police can cars on the move… And send saman online.

• Cookguru on Jan 20, 2016 at 9:06 pm

usually in gov office you see, computer down! This one how ah? What message should it be so that the usual business can carry on heheheh….

• Now Bangla can also kena saman. ok its fair. XD :’D