No price increase yet for Perodua Axia, Myvi and Alza

Perodua_Axia_Standard_vs_Advance_ 001

The new year has brought about new and higher prices for Honda, Toyota, Lexus, Kia, Peugeot, Citroen and Audi vehicles, with Proton possibly raising prices after Chinese New Year. But Perodua has no plans to follow suit, yet.

Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh said at yesterday’s 2015 performance review that the company will hold on to current prices for as long as it can take it. However, he did not rule out the possibility of raising prices should the foreign exchange situation worsen.

“We will continue to monitor until the impact is so great.. then we may need to review that (price hikes). As of now, not yet,” he said in response to questions from the media.

2015_Perodua_Myvi_Facelift_Premium_X_vs_Advance_ 01

Cost and prices aside, he also mentioned the reason of Perodua’s existence. “We always go back to fundamentals, that (is) the objective of setting up Perodua is to provide quality and affordable vehicles. Whether we increase prices or not, that depends on a lot of factors. We’re very sensitive to that,” he added.

It’s not that Perodua isn’t affected by the ringgit’s slump against major currencies. While the localisation rate for P2 is high – above 90% for the Axia, Myvi and Alza – the forex situation has impacted the remaining 8-10% of imported components (P2 buys Axia engine components in USD, Myvi and Alza parts in JPY), negatively affecting profitability by 25-30%.

Aminar also revealed that consumers are increasingly opting for lower end variants of Perodua models, where profit margins are thinner. Despite this, Perodua expects demand for its cars to be robust this year, and has set a 2016 target of 216,000 units, which if achieved, will be another all time high.

Perodua sold a record 213,300 units last year for an estimated market share of 32%, completing a decade as Malaysia’s automotive market leader.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• john is otak batu on Jan 20, 2016 at 12:07 pm

Takut rakyat boycott ke??!! hati-hati. kena baru tau!!

• Shukor on Jan 20, 2016 at 2:23 pm

Cukurr lah Perodua prihatin kos sara hidup rakyat

Semoga Tuhan berkati Perodua dengan limpah rezeki dapat capai target 2016,000 kereta Jan-Dec 2016… Amin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
      • Same L0rrrr on Jan 21, 2016 at 11:01 am

Boycott your ass. Perodua sold more cars than before GST. While Proton, ppl already boycotting it. But they don’t worry, they just ask money from government. Very similar to a trophical creature: leech.

• ram Burger on Jan 20, 2016 at 2:41 pm

Apa lagi Perodua mau?!!

• hahaha on Jan 20, 2016 at 3:58 pm

all the best p1 and p2 with your price increase!

• Sacrifice New Car Smell on Jan 20, 2016 at 12:08 pm

Later engines also sourced in Seremban, most cost savings and profits made. Better not, later no bank loan approval that will contribute to lower sales!

• Be like Abbey on Jan 20, 2016 at 12:35 pm

This is Abbey.
      Abbey don’t buy new cars.
      Abbey knows the car prices here are high.
      Abbey is here just to read the comments.
      Abbey knows the government wants us to spend.
      Abbey doesn’t want to pay high duties, sales tax, take loans, insurance and suffer car depreciation.
      Abbey really don’t give a shit.
      Abbey buys good used or nearly new cars.
      Abbey have reputable and trustable mechanics.
      Abbey encourage Malaysians to do the same.
      Abbey is smart.
      Abbey do not want to support the Malaysian car industry.
      Be like Abbey.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
      • Angah on Jan 20, 2016 at 8:07 pm

Good job abbey.

Lets do this together.

When the buying stop, the killing can too.
        When we work together, we can win this

• holofanboi on Jan 20, 2016 at 10:58 pm

LOL Abbey I like your style. Best la you.

• George Abdul on Jan 20, 2016 at 12:13 pm

“Whether we increase prices or not, that depends on a lot of factors. We’re very sensitive to that,”
    He must continue to LIE until the cronies gets the best benefits. Do he dare to show transparency? Rakyat time to wakeup !!!

• Sam Loo on Jan 20, 2016 at 12:16 pm

Agree.. In Malaysia, buy Perodua for the national cars, and Toyota for foreign brand.. Both are good RV in Malaysia..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Selling expensive still want increase ka?

• jonah on Jan 20, 2016 at 1:01 pm

perodua full of bullshi* , remember when they about to lunch axia, they say it’s going to be most afordable car. will it is “technically” , but it doesn’t have radio,speaker, no wiring to install radio, they even cover the dashboard so you can’t install after market audio. plus no remote control entry and alarm no reverse sensors they make the lowest variant axis as shitty as possible so you will buy the more expensive one .

• Oh …that’s not bullsheet. You know what bullsheet is? Sending a yet to be launched car to Ncap to get 3 star safety rating, and remove the tether kit later on production car. The best thing is they still declare 3 star on their car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • Fred Astaire on Jan 20, 2016 at 2:26 pm

Thats the same company being supported by illiterate and delusional people around here.

• Proton achieving 13% TIV in 2016 on Jan 20, 2016 at 2:36 pm

Perodua tak suruh u beli pun. Perodua never lie and cheat, IT SAYS “most affordable car”, IT NEVER SAYS “most affordable car that comes with radio, wiring, remote entry and reverse sensor”. You sendiri perasan salah tafsir maksud orang lain lepas tu mancarut kat sini… aduihai macai ni…

On the contrary, some manufacturer send kereta yang ada teether pergi test NCAP, lepas tu cabut teether pulak. This shameless manufacturer even got the (empty) balls to cliam its car is on par with BMW, Volvo and etc, but quality macam hampeh. Now that’ what I call a LIE.

• Jimmy on Jan 20, 2016 at 1:13 pm

True, you need to be sensitive to price in lower end market.
    In high end market, we are looking for quality of the goods and services, both. We are less price-sensitive.

• Jemput turun on Jan 20, 2016 at 1:48 pm

Mr CEO, pls dont speculate the prices coz it is misleading to potential buyers..if u say going to raise prices pls raise, not misled buyers to buy anticipating price increase, later announce ummm not raising prices after all..can we sue u?

• Power Rangers on Jan 20, 2016 at 1:56 pm

Should rise the price so less Proton and Perodua on the road…

• john is polis is donkeykong on Jan 20, 2016 at 2:13 pm

“Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh said at yesterday’s 2015 performance review that the company will hold on to current prices for as long as it can take it. ” – read between the lines – this can mean anything from one month to one year before they up prices.

• kendrix lamazz on Jan 20, 2016 at 3:17 pm

so many haters

why lah?

• transformer on Jan 20, 2016 at 5:00 pm

when global crude oil over USD100 per barrel, everything increases price.

now oil just USD28 per barrel yet everythings still increasing price…. What is happening?

In a car, i guess at least 25-40% of its weight is made of oil derived resin(synthetic plastic).

• Citizen on Jan 20, 2016 at 6:57 pm

Tahun lepas awal awal dah naik kan harga…tahun ni takkan lah nak naik kan lagi..

• Bodoh punye bodoh on Jan 21, 2016 at 5:29 am

Bodoh, bangang, tolol, nasi lemak bodoh… Bodoh…n bodoh… Berapa kali nak increase…. Bodoh punye nasi lemak!

• Hentamajela on Jan 21, 2016 at 11:50 am

Beli la kereta jepun yg menipu rakyat malaysia ni….kat indon myvii pakai lambang daihatsu kenapa ye kata kereta nasional malaysia…ke org malaysia pun dah rojak sekarang ni….