Subaru XV facelift launched – 2.0i, 2.0i-P; from RM132k

Subaru XV facelift launch-2-1

We first saw it at the 2015 Tokyo Motor Show, then at its ASEAN debut at the 2015 Thai Motor Expo; now it’s here. That’s right – the facelifted Subaru XV has been launched in Malaysia, locally-assembled (CKD) at Tan Chong’s plant in Segambut.

First things first, the prices, which start at RM132,725 for the 2.0i – RM7,448 more than the previous XV Premium – rising up to RM137,075 for the 2.0i-Premium (2.0i-P). Both prices are on-the-road inclusive of insurance, a five-year/100,000 km warranty and three years’ free service.

The XV gains minor exterior changes for 2016, including a redesigned hexagonal grille, a new front bumper design with L-shaped LED positioning lights, an aluminium finish on the roof rails as well as a slightly revised turbine-like design for the distinctive 17-inch two-tone wheels.

Subaru XV facelift-40

Malaysian cars also now get clear LED tail lights from the XV Hybrid, along with arrow-shaped LED indicators embedded into the door mirrors, the latter only on the 2.0i-P. Six colours are available, including Pure White, Ice Silver Metallic, Desert Khaki, Tangerine Orange Pearl, Dark Grey Metallic and Obsidian Black Pearl.

Inside, changes are limited to a revised three-spoke steering wheel design from the new Legacy and Outback, LED illumination under the head unit and orange interior stitching. There has also been a change in terms of equipment – the DVD navigation system, Bluetooth connectivity, six-speaker sound system and reverse camera are no longer standard, reserved for the 2.0i-P; the 2.0i gets a Kenwood 2-DIN radio instead.

Also new for the 2.0i-P is keyless entry, push-button start, power-adjustable driver’s seat, a new instrument cluster with a larger multi-info display (controllable via new steering-mounted buttons), a monitor for the all-wheel drive system on top of the dashboard, a cargo cover and alloy pedals. Front and rear fog lights, cruise control, reverse sensors, steering wheel shift paddles and automatic air-conditioning remain standard.

Subaru XV facelift-3

Elsewhere, nothing has changed, so under the bonnet the XV retains the familiar FB-series 2.0 litre DOHC naturally-aspirated flat-four petrol engine, making 150 PS at 6,200 rpm and 196 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm. Drive is sent to Subaru’s Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive system – retaining a 60:40 split front-to-rear – via a Lineartronic CVT with six virtual ratios.

Safety-wise, dual front airbags and a driver’s knee airbag remain standard fare – this despite Japan now getting side and curtain airbags as standard. Thankfully, ABS with EBD and brake assist, Vehicle Dynamic Control (VDC) and ISOFIX child seat anchors have also been retained.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Avoid new and buy used on Jan 20, 2016 at 11:39 am

I have driven and really love the XV. I was hoping for six airbags as standard, boy I am disappointed.

Purely cosmetic changes with less specs and increased prices? Guess more stocks overloads in their Segambut Tan Chong assembly plant then. Better off to get last year’s model with discounts.

On second thoughts, I will not support the Malaysian car industry and buy second hand instead!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 3
    • littlefire on Jan 20, 2016 at 12:20 pm

Yup, i have bought the XV after test drove a few competitors car and it is a huge advantage to get the previous gen with great discount as the air-bag is still no up 6. But on the positive side, the excellent 4WD & traction control will save most people life from getting the air-bags pop up if you know what i mean.. Once you driven a Subaru car and experience the 4WD working on those twisty roads and during heavy rain.. You will know why more and more users are buying XV nowadays.. Spare part are not an issue, as half-cut are already in Malaysia now and there is 1 shop selling Subaru, VW & Volvo parts in J.Ipoh, KL..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
      • Since you mention AWD is excellent, why need 6 airbag??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
        • u buta or x paham bahase?

• No thanks, Exora turbo has more torquey engine, ESC + 4 airbags, 7 seater summore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 53
      • Henry on Jan 20, 2016 at 1:48 pm

With the 5 year manufacturer’s warranty and 5 years free service (labour & parts) there is really not much to worry about in owning this car.

• toyolta on Jan 20, 2016 at 3:43 pm

Toyota Rush sit 7 ppl better laa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
      • francis on Jan 27, 2016 at 2:59 am

I tested few times XV and kind of let me down due to the CVT whining and the boot space, same day i went to test HRV and i dont seen have issue with the CVT noises, same goes to Xtrail and the Wish. and HRV’s 1.8cc acceleration is far more responsive than the 2.0 on XV. Anyone having same thought or it just me?

Speaking about AWD, i start to wonder does Subaru makes the best AWD? Understand those Forester and Outback had a very good AWD system (we can see them plenty in Youtube) but does XV has the same ‘ingredient’ as the elder brothers?

XV AWD test > https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G5ILPvjp7tw

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 20, 2016 at 11:46 am

this tan chong mabuk? subaru xv barely can sell still want charge so high…better go buy kia sportage or mazda cx5….much better interior and safety…even if u really want this car…wait for a few months, they will give u discount until 95k….then give u free upgrade to sti bodykit version

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 18
    • Alexis Carrington on Jan 20, 2016 at 1:28 pm

And you still wouldn’t be able to afford it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 22
    • applegreen on Jan 20, 2016 at 1:48 pm

last time i saw XV price at 135k after discount and today many xv buyer got OTR price below rm120k. I’m sure this facelift model will become much cheaper by end of this year or next year, maybe around 120k

• it is a AWD and double wrist bone suspension with 2.0 boxer engines… If you think is expensive to you, just buy others option

• No real improvement over the original model. No regrets getting our XV Sport in 2014 at a price much cheaper than the facelift 2.0i!

• shawal on Jan 20, 2016 at 12:12 pm

boot is rather shallow…

• Henry on Jan 20, 2016 at 1:14 pm

Shallow and small. But you get a very spacious cabin in return. Win some, lose some. :-)

• Aero (Member) on Jan 20, 2016 at 12:14 pm

It’s a bit disappointing that they didn’t include side and curtain airbags in the facelift. And at that price (probably the result of the ringgit depreciation), it’s difficult to recommend the XV facelift over the HR-V. To be honest, the XV has never been a particularly good car to begin with, but its relatively low pricing and distinctive styling was its saving grace.

But anyway, let’s look at the bigger picture for a moment;

Malaysia is one of only three countries in the world to assemble Subaru cars (the other two being Japan and the United States). Subaru is the only Japanese car company to exclusively chose Malaysia over Thailand and Indonesia… I don’t believe most Malaysians realize exactly how important the Subaru brand is to our automotive industry.

Tan Chong Motor Assemblies (TCMA) Segambut produced 4,850 and 5,067 Subaru XV units in 2013 and 2014, and between Jan and Nov 2015, they produced another 2,930 units (a noticeable drop). The Malaysian-assembled XV is also exported to both Thailand and Indonesia. Between Jan and Nov 2015, Subaru sold 518 XVs in Indonesia and a sizeable 2,067 units in Thailand. In comparison, 2,265 XVs were sold in Malaysia during the same period. In all three countries, the Malaysian-assembled XV is Subaru’s best-selling model.

In a nutshell, Subaru Malaysia is the only large company which exports more cars than they sell domestically. Yes, there are others like Mazda and Hyundai which also export Malaysian-built cars to Thailand, but their export-to-domestic sales ratio is not nearly as high as Subaru’s.

On top of the XV, Subaru plans to build the Forester here as well, later this year. And most amazingly, Subaru Japan has announced (in 2012) plans to eventually shift Australian supply of future Subaru SUVs to Malaysia as opposed to Japan currently. If it works out, it would be an incredible honour for Motor Image, TCMH, TCMA and our entire automotive industry in general. Why ? Because aside from Proton, absolutely NONE of our local assembly plants export Malaysian-built cars to Australia. In the first few months of 2015, Australia imported 59,280 cars from Thailand, compared to a tiny 82 cars from Malaysia (all of which were Protons) and 99 units from Indonesia (only the Suzuki APV). And for the whole 2015, Australians bought 7,168 Subaru XVs, all of which were Japanese-built. Just imagine… what would happen if Subaru transfers production of the Australian market XV to Malaysia.

The Subaru brand presents the most promising potential for exponential growth for our automotive industry’s exports. They have my support and gratitude, and I’d also like to wish them all the best for 2016.

P.S. I actually wrote the above comment on the ‘spyshot’ article just a few hours back, and I didn’t expect Subaru to launch the car today as well ! I doubt anyone would have read the above comment there, so for the benefit of more readers and exposure, I thought of posting it here too. Thanks for reading.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 4
    • Be like Abbey on Jan 20, 2016 at 12:29 pm

Subaru motor image employee spotted

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 25
    • Ollie on Jan 20, 2016 at 1:01 pm

You have basically defeated all your arguments for the existence of Proton with one comment. Congratulations.

• Nope he just validated that Aussie is a tough market to enter as CKD and so far only Subaru has done it. So for P1 to enter with their own cars is a badge of honour.

• Moving Forward on Jan 20, 2016 at 4:13 pm

Well said bro. I give you a like.

• Littlefire on Jan 20, 2016 at 10:33 pm

Just to add up.. Google Subaru sales in any business portal and you will be shocked how well their sales now.. Is one of Japan black horse slaying sales from those giant bit by bit..

• Be like Abbey on Jan 20, 2016 at 12:26 pm

This is Abbey.
    Abbey don’t buy new cars.
    Abbey knows the car prices here are high.
    Abbey is here just to read the comments.
    Abbey knows the government wants us to spend.
    Abbey doesn’t want to pay high duties, sales tax, take loans, insurance and suffer car depreciation.
    Abbey really don’t give a shit.
    Abbey buys good used or nearly new cars.
    Abbey have reputable and trustable mechanics.
    Abbey encourage Malaysians to do the same.
    Abbey is smart.
    Abbey do not want to support the Malaysian car industry.
    Be like Abbey.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 7
    • Stupid Msian Cars on Jan 20, 2016 at 3:53 pm

Way to go Abbey. I finally found someone who shares the same thought.

• Jambang tebal on Jan 21, 2016 at 12:28 am

Gila lame…copycat trolls from fb..

• BasicBtch on Apr 06, 2017 at 7:12 pm

is not related to the topic at all , dont try to be a joker

• FIST (Member) on Jan 20, 2016 at 12:35 pm

The current sti model is cheaper. Only missing the led, keyless start, instrument cluster and new steering wheel

• sepul on Jan 20, 2016 at 12:39 pm

Oh my, only 2 airbags for that price. They should just keep the XV into one variant only and improve the safety front. Powered driver seat should be an option.

• AWD is excellent, you dont need 6 airbag!!! Unless got ppl bang you side ways…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
      • VDC is retained though

• sepul on Jan 20, 2016 at 2:16 pm

At least they should ditch that ugly start button and use the standard start button on other Subarus. And the center console look very cheap. Should have use the built-in touchscreen instead, or at least the gloss black panel in place of this grey one.

And no Hyper Blue color. Sigh.

• saladin on Jan 20, 2016 at 2:24 pm

U think think accident happen only becos of u leh. There is a lot stupid people outside that will crash u especially drunked ones.

• Henry on Jan 20, 2016 at 1:22 pm

Who wants to pay so much more for basically the same car?

Better to buy one of the remaining 2015 stock. These cars were brought in when the Japanese Yen was not so high like now. On top of that they are giving a huge discount to clear.

The current Subarus are good cars but are under appreciated. Their numbers are growing though. You see so many on the roads now.

• You can save more than 10k by buying a 2015 full spec STI model like this one. This just shows how ridiculously priced the facelift kosong spec 2.0i model at RM133k is. http://www.mudah.my/2015+Subaru+XV+2+0+A+-43603549.htm

• Sam Loooorr on Jan 21, 2016 at 5:31 am

Subaru is a cold brand, they only have very few dealers in Malaysia because car dealers are not confident to sell their overpriced products. Some Subaru dealers also already closed their shops because could make money from the poor sales. Even car dealers also surrendered, so, you dare to buy ? Think twice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
  • Sam Loooorr on Jan 21, 2016 at 5:41 am

Even Subaru own dealers also surrendered ie closed shop due to bad sales. Why bad sales ? Because all Subaru models are overpriced. Dare to buy ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20